With Honors – Bruins, Miners celebrate stellar football seasons | TheUnion.com

With Honors – Bruins, Miners celebrate stellar football seasons

Both Bear River and Nevada Union high schools recently honored the football players who provided western Nevada County with a season to remember in 2004.

On Friday, Nevada Union hosted its annual awards banquet at the Nevada County Fairgrounds. On Monday, Bear River took a look back on its season during its awards banquet at the Grass Valley Elks Lodge.

The Miners, who went 9-4 on the year in capturing the Sacramento City Championship and advance to Sac-Joaquin Section Division I championship game, presented the program’s Most Valuable Player honor, the Jim Brown Award, to senior quarterback Nick Cartan.

The Herrera twins, seniors Rich and Ryan, shared the team’s Offensive MVP award. James Brindley, a junior, was named Defensive MVP.

Senior Bo Cassel earned the Most Improved Player honor, while the team’s Hitter of the Year award went to senior Nathan Basso.

Junior Ty Smith was presented the Coaches Award. Brennan McFadden and Josh Noxon were co-winners of the Most Courageous Award, after each endured potentially season-ending injuries. Junior Andrew Jackson earned the Lineman of the Year.

Gary Wilmoth, a senior, earned the Wildman Award, presented to the top scout team player.

Senior Chris Potter was presented the Ryan Mello Award, which is presented to an outstanding running back who, NU head coach Dave Humphers said, displays passion for “Miner Magic.”

Zach McCasland, also a senior, earned the Perfect Attendance Award, after four years of perfect attendance at team events.

The Bruins, who went 7-5 and advanced to the Division III section semifinals for the second-straight season, honored its players on Monday.

Senior Brock Boyle was named the Bruins’ MVP and also shared the Captain Award with classmate Matt Mocek.

The Most Valuable Offensive Lineman honor went to senior J.D. Moore, while classmate David Hudson earned the Most Valuable Defensive Lineman award.

Landon Savoie, a junior, earned the Most Valuable Linebacker award, Most Valuable Offensive Back went to senior Michael Fredrickson and the Most Valuable Defensive Back was presented to senior Lance Welch.

Senior Anthony Welz won the Most Improved Player award, while classmate Cody Chicourrat earned the Desire Award. Seniors Jeremiah Bennett and Matt Oates were co-winners of the Coaches Award.

Six Bruins voted All-PVL

Six Bear River football players were recently named to the All-Pioneer Valley League Team, including one co-most valuable player.

Boyle was selected at the running back position, Hudson from the defensive line, Moore from the offensive line, Chicourrat as a defensive back, Welch for the all-purpose team, and Savoie was named co-defensive MVP.

Although the PVL does not select a second team, as many other leagues do, it does name honorable mentions, five of which were Bruins.

Wide receiver Anthony Welz was an honorable mention, along with quarterback Michael Fredrickson, tight end Matt Mocek, defensive lineman Alex Wolosz, offensive lineman Evan Jensen and kicker Matt Grimes.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User