SOFTBALL: Colfax fast pitch tourney to celebrate 50 years |

SOFTBALL: Colfax fast pitch tourney to celebrate 50 years

The upcoming 50th annual Colfax Recreation Association Men’s Fast Pitch Classic promises to be a gala event with quality softball competition mixed in with the golden celebration of what is believed to be the longest running tournament of its kind in Northern California, if not the entire state.

The tournament, started by the Colfax Recreation in 1966 as a one-day four team event, is slated for Aug. 21-23 on the same Living War Memorial Park diamond that it began on 50 years ago.

Eight teams from Grass Valley, Auburn, Stockton, Hayward, Sonoma, Oroville and Chico will make up this year’s field. The tourney will be split into four teams playing in a C division and four more playing in a B division.

The Roseville Eagles, last year’s tournament champions, will be back to defend their title. The Eagles are also the defending North America Fastpitch Association (NAFA) A division champions from a year ago.

The Eagles have a Colfax connection to fast pitch as Kevin Fontana and Tyler Phillips, a pair of 1999 Colfax High graduates are on the Eagles’ roster. Fontana, in fact, is the grandson of Ed Fontana, who the tournament’s most valuable player award is named after.

As a special addition to this year’s tournament, a Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on Aug. 22 at approximately 7 p.m. Hall of Fame returnees Jim Ford, Mike Fouyer, Bud Barnes and Ken Barnes will help kick off the ceremonies with “First Pitch” honors. A tournament street dance featuring the Kenny Fry Band will then close out Saturday’s activities.

Here’s a list of this year’s tourney HOF honorees:

Colfax – Ed Bernard, Tony Puzo and Tim Harrison. Grass Valley – Cecil Terronez, Ken Brose, Dave “Bucky” Brackett, Greg Hunt, Ray Thompson, Phil Shimmin, Steve Barney, Dave Sobolewski, Darren Selleck, Rusty Newnan and Jimmie Brock. Roseville – Mark Summers, Dave DeCarlo, Butch Morrill, Paul Mize, Lou Mullikin, Rondol Moss, Ray Cervantes, Stan Fay. Sacramento – Dan Burris, Dave Burris and Ed Burris. Reno – Jim Pace, Todd Garcia and Jeff Garcia. Sonoma – Mya Flores, Mike Hadden and Dino Minatta.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User