Smith, Haverty chosen as MVPs |

Smith, Haverty chosen as MVPs

Western Nevada County schools had impressive basketball seasons, at least according to the All-League selections for the 2003-2004 season.

Two of the six area squads had league MVPs as NU sophomore Tyler Smith and Bear River senior Chelsea Haverty won the awards.

Nevada Union’s boys team had two first-team selections and an honorable mention, led by the 6-foot-4 point guard Smith.

Smith was joined by 6-0 senior guard Zane Edwards on the first team and Brennan McFadden as an honorable mention selection.

This is the third straight year NU has had an MVP, although the past two seasons the honor was shared. Tony Parilo won two years ago while Jon Sheets took home the honor last year.

Smith won outright this season.

“Both that won before were seniors and had tremendous upside to their potential,” Miners head coach Jeff Dellis said. “In boys basketball, it’s very unusual for a sophomore to get such a prestigous honor.”

Still, Dellis said he wasn’t surprised by the choice.

“He was certainly our MVP,” Dellis said. “There were times during league play that he put us on his back and carried us. It must have been apparent to other teams that if they wanted to stop us, they had to stop him.”

Smith was good for 11.6 points per game and racked up 66 assists, 36 steals and 16 blocks this season.

“Scoring is only one facet of his game,” Dellis said. “He leads the team in assists and blocks and is one of our leaders in steals.

“The prospect of coaching him for the next few years is really exciting.”

The Nevada Union girls team also had a strong showing on the Metro Conference All-League list.

Senior Kayleigh Correll and sophomore Heather Gore were both named to first team. Junior Ali Daley, junior Tanya Noe and senior Ali Parrott were picked as honorable mentions on the squad.

The Bear River girls team, meanwhile, dominated the Division III Pioneer Valley League with a first-place finish. The choices for the All-League team reflected that with all five starters on the first team and a reserve as honorable mention.

Seniors Allison Cooley, Kayla Smith, Chrysten Cotney and MVP Haverty were all named first team as was junior Julie Fry.

On the honorable mention was Karli Kephart.

The Bear River boys, which struggle this season, earned one spot on the team as Jacob Lazor made it to a first-team spot.

Like the Bear River girls team, the Forest Lake Christian girls team earned a first-place league finish and six players on the All-League team.

Earning first-team honors in the Division V Central Valley Christian League from the Falcons team were Brooke Hodges and Brittany Allen. On the second team are Olympia Jacobs and Taylor Kilgore. Honorable mention went to Lauren Jackson and Julia Hall.

For the Forest Lake boys, Mark Boatman and Sam Metteer were second-team selections while Chris Keller was honorable mention.

Boatman was the top vote getter on the second team.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User