PREP FOOTBALL: Three Miners land on All-FVL First Team |

PREP FOOTBALL: Three Miners land on All-FVL First Team

Nevada Union’s Jaxon Horne earned All-Foothill Valley League First Team honors for his work at safety this season.
Photo by Elias Funez

The football teams from the Foothill Valley League are loaded with talent. It’s a big reason all six teams which make up the FVL made the playoffs, a first for any league in Sac-Joaquin Section history.

Making their impact felt in the powerful league were three Nevada Union Miners, who earned All-FVL First Team honors for their play this season.

Miners who earned All-FVL First Team spots were senior defensive end Mathew Dal Bon, senior linebacker Tino Sanchez-Lane and junior free safety Jaxon Horne. Dal Bon impressed off the edge of NU’s defensive line, notching 34 tackles, 12.5 tackles for a loss and 3.5 sacks. Sanchez-Lane, a hard-hitting defender, tallied 35 tackles, 7.5 tackles for a loss and grabbed three interceptions. Horne, a play making safety, landed on the first team after making 43 tackles, nabbing two interceptions, forcing three fumbles and causing three fumbles. Horne was also a standout on offense, leading the Miners in rush yards, receiving yards and touchdowns.

Taking home the FVL Player of the Year Award was Rio Linda senior quarterback Abraham Banks (723 pass yards, 8 passing TDs, 1,282 rush yards, 16 rush TDS), Earning the Offensive Player of the Year Award was Placer running back Hans Grassman (1,361 rush yards, 22 TDs). The Defensive Player of the Year is Placer outside linebacker Ethan Robinson (72 tackles, 2 sacks, 2 interceptions). Lineman of the Year went to Placer’s Kyle Christensen.

League coaches only vote on the list of First Teamers and award winners. All-FVL Second Teamers and honorable mentions are doled out to each team by their respective head coaches.

Earning All-FVL Second Team nods for NU are David Rueckert (offensive line), Sam Slay (offensive line), Landon Low (defensive line), Drake Schlachter (cornerback), Zach Ehrlich (cornerback), Duke Morales (linebacker), Gabe Baker (linebacker) and A.J. Meyer (safety). Honorable mentions went to Isaiah Carter (offensive line), Ezra Tout (offensive line), Johnny Patterson (defensive line), and Nathaniel Ward (offensive line).

Coaches may submit game reports by email at or by phone at 530-477-4232.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User