Nevada Union Athletics Hall of Fame adds 18 new members |

Nevada Union Athletics Hall of Fame adds 18 new members

The Nevada Union Athletics Hall of Fame announced the 2017 class of inductees recently, welcoming 18 new members.

The 14 athletes, two coaches and two community contributors will be inducted at a ceremony scheduled for April 22 at the Nevada City Elks Lodge. Inductees for the second ever Nevada Union Athletics Hall of Fame include: Armin Anderson (graduated from Nevada Union in 1981), Patrick Birdsong (1986), Randy Blankenship (coach), Chris Bray (1987), Wayne Brooks (1955), Chris Cota (1982), Shari Fisher (1978), Kele Fitzhugh (1981), Steve Gordon (1987), David Heppe (1979), Dennis Houlihan (1989), Jackie Randall-Poteet (1980), Durelle Schimick (1986), Janet Soule (1978), Brett Taylor (1974), Kermit Young (coach) and community contributors Caseywood and SPD Market.

“With the first group (of inductees), we were struck by their humility of being honored,” said Nevada Union Athletic Director Jeff Dellis. “We thought with the next generation coming in and the fact that we’ve done this once before, we wouldn’t see the same level of being honored. But, to a person, everyone we talked to is just so honored and humbled to be inducted. The humility that these guys have after having done such great things is pretty impressive.”

Outside of Brooks, all the incoming inductees are from the 1970-1989 era of Nevada Union athletics. The inaugural class, which was inducted last year, featured athletes and coaches from the year Nevada Union opened in 1953 through 1969.

“This was strategic,” said Dellis. “We couldn’t wrap our minds around 60 years of Nevada County athletic history. So the strategy was to put it into reasonable chunks of time. The first one was ‘53 to ‘69, and now ‘70 to ‘89. These are periods of time that we can deal with and wrap our minds around. It also gives each generation an opportunity to be highlighted. Thus far, its worked out really well.”

Dellis added the selection process is an arduous one in which he and the Hall of Fame committee puts a lot of thought and consideration into.

“It’ a difficult process,” he said. “We had some really worth while applicants that didn’t make it. That’s difficult because it’s not that they weren’t a great athlete in their own regard, but we try to keep the bar high.”

This year’s crop of inductees also features the Hall’s first female members in Schimick, Soule, Randall-Poteet and Fisher.

The induction ceremony is scheduled for 6 p.m. April 22 at the Nevada City Elks Lodge.

To contact Sports Editor Walter Ford, call 530-477-4232 or email

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User