Ely wins; Nevada Onions second at state | TheUnion.com

Ely wins; Nevada Onions second at state

Sarah Ely rode to a gold medal and led the Nevada Onions to second-place in the Division I team standings Sunday during the NorCal High School League Mountain Bike State Championships at Bogg’s Mountain.

Sir Francis Drake (San Anselmo) won the Division I team title with 7,154 points, followed by Nevada Union with 6,700 points. Redwood (Larkspur) was third with 6,564 points and Berkeley fourth with 6,442 points.

Ely won the varsity girls race in a time of 1 hour, 30 minutes and one second on the two-lap course (an approximate distance of 27 miles), more than six minutes ahead of Drake’s Kirsten Moore in the runner-up position. Ely passed the first lap in 44:46, good for a three-minute lead, and didn’t let up on her way to a time of 45:15 over the second circuit.

Nicole Teichmann placed fifth in the J.V. girls race with a 1:47:39 clocking. She passed the first lap in 52:32 and was less than two minutes out of the lead at that point.

In the varsity boys race, Sebastian Pierer finished 15th in 2:12:47 on a three-lap tour of the challenging and technical course and teammate Travis Mills was 16th in 2:14:20. Nick Kintz of Calvary Chapel won the race in 1:49:03.

Josh Smith and Evan Smith placed seventh and eighth in the J.V. boys race, clocked at 2:02:03 and 2:02:10 respectively for two laps. Ty Zwick also finished 19th (2:43:27), Lyle Wilson 26th (2:43:47).

Brian Talbott placed fourth in the sophomore boys race in 1:22:02. Talbott was eighth after the first lap in 41:48, but past four riders with a 40:14 effort over the second circuit.

Colin Raynor finished 34th (1:43:21), Graeme Pitts 35th (1:46:19) and Max Ramos 41st (2:00:36) for the Onions.

The Onions also had three riders crack the top 10 and had five riders among the top 16 in the freshman boys race. Nate Byrom led the way as he placed fourth in 1:20:00. Teammate Chris Convis used a strong surge over the second lap to finish close behind in seventh-place with a 1:25:25 effort (41:29 on the second lap) and Greg Hermansen placed 10th in 1:28:23.

Buddy Newman finished 14th in 1:34:58, Lawrence Saiyo 16th in 1:35:25. Chris Hepp finished 28th in 1:41:41, Casey Sanchez 29th in 1:42:16, Trevor Thomassen 37th (1:45:06), Kristian Hamilton (1:46:07), Peter DeMartini 39th (1:47:20), Dakota Blankenship 43rd in 1:49:28 and Cory Emmett 50th in 1:57:16.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User