Opinion Letters Grass Valley California | TheUnion.com

Letters

John Deam: Vote LaMalfa

June 22, 2018 — I, like Lia Lorton's recent letter to the editor, would like people to remember that Congressman LaMalfa wanted to nominate our president for the Nobel Peace Prize. Remember when you cast your vote that President Obama was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2009 "for

Learn more »

Constance Holtz: An open letter to the Roamin’ Angels

June 22, 2018 — Dear Roamin' Angels, I accompanied my daughter, who took your 'Survive the Drive' course this year. I cannot thank you enough for organizing and putting on this wonderful course to help keep our local kids safe. This program — or one similar — should be

Learn more »

If you’re informed you care, then you vote

June 21, 2018 — The day after the recent primary election I had to take a long drive and consequently spent considerable time listening to various commentators on the car radio dissecting the results. Low voter turnout was a frequent subject. In Nevada County only 53 percent of registered

Learn more »

Dippy

June 21, 2018 — I would like to thank The Union for printing Mr. Berkheimer's enlightening opinion piece on June 9. I must be "dippy" but I didn't know that when Obama left office that there wasn't any poverty, homelessness, no full prisons, all undocumented immigrants were welcome and

Learn more »

Linden development a terrible idea

June 19, 2018 — Linden development a terrible idea There are many reasons why it is a terrible idea to build 28 homes on the property at 652 Linden Avenue. The most significant is the fact that this land is wetlands with many underground springs which supports a very

Learn more »

‘The New Art Of The Deal’ By Kim Jong Un

June 18, 2018 — This is what happens when you go into a summit with very little preparation, depend on "feel and gut," and fly by the seat of your pants. Nothing. By nothing I mean nothing new that past presidents haven't already done, or what South Korea's President

Learn more »

The ‘acceptable’ way to die?

June 18, 2018 — In the June 8 issue of The Union there appeared an obituary dedicated to the life of Bill Walker. It describes a difficult early life and later on one of homelessness and alcohol abuse but eventual recovery and 24 years of being clean and sober.

Learn more »

The power of Aikido

June 17, 2018 — Thank you for the excellent article about Molly Hale. I've known Molly for many years and I can assure you that she is the incredible person described in the article. A couple more things you may wish to know: Molly attributes a large degree of

Learn more »

The gift of mulch

June 17, 2018 — A truckload of thanks to NID and their enthusiastic employees at the Nevada County Fairgrounds recently. This load of mulch was just what we needed to top off our garden areas. We'll conserve water and beautify the yard for the hot summer months. We really

Learn more »

Slow election results

June 15, 2018 — So we are three days past the election and a huge amount of votes are unrecorded. This seems so much slower and perhaps costlier than the 'old fashioned' way. We will really be in the dark during the higher turnout general election. I blame our

Learn more »

Bike safety suggestion

June 15, 2018 — With sunnier weather here, I would like to suggest that bike riders consider riding with their bicycle lights on for safety during daylight hours while using Nevada County roads. Having a headlight and rear light on during the day dramatically increases visibility of bicycle riders

Learn more »

Margaret Bryan: All scoliosis patients benefit from advanced technology

June 14, 2018 — I read the May 28 article about Addison Haller with great interest. Stories of children living with scoliosis strike a sensitive chord with those of us at Shriners Hospitals for Children – Northern California. Millions of children in the United States are diagnosed with scoliosis

Learn more »

Rudy Udarbe: Village Market Day a success

June 14, 2018 — The first Village Market Day was a great success because of the media support of The Union, The Advocate, KNCO and KVMR and the financial support of The Chamber and the City of Nevada City. We appreciate this teamwork and support and look forward to

Learn more »

Jo Ann Rebane: SB 993 a bad bill

June 14, 2018 — SB 993 is an amendment to the Revenue and Taxation Code. If this bad bill is allowed to proceed through committee and make its way through the legislative process it would require everyone who provides a service, (gardener, barber, computer guru, lawyer, personal trainer,,,) to

Learn more »

Tim Stokes: Government control of the media?

June 13, 2018 — With all due respect to the author of the opinion piece "In search of common sense," there is no way that government control of the media's reporting on school (or other) mass shootings will have any effect other than the erosion of yet another freedom

Learn more »

Douglas Bianchi: Poor election coverage

June 13, 2018 — Your June 5 election day coverage was a disappointment. The new Voter's Choice Act effectively changes "election day" into the last chance to vote during "election month." After your early editorial suggestion that we should wait until the end of this period to cast our

Learn more »

Jackie Turner: Can homelessness be ended? I see it happen every day

June 7, 2018 — Homeless women and children is a set of words no one wants to hear. It's hard enough being alone in homelessness, but then imagine having the added responsibility of fearing how you will provide for your children. Some people will jump on the bandwagon with

Learn more »

Carolyn Feuille: Make elimination of TB a priority

June 4, 2018 — Tuberculosis, the leading global infectious killer disease, is spreading despite the fact that it's preventable and curable. So, why do we allow it to remain a major cause and consequence of poverty around the world? It's because we simply haven't made the eradication of TB

Learn more »

Karen Johnston: Who is really responsible for Fire Safe Council of Nevada County director’s departure?

June 4, 2018 — Regarding the May 25 article on the Fire Safe Council, boy, did that article sound like a white wash for a very arbitrary Fire Safe Board that lacks transparency and accountability to the community. I am part of the Fire Safe Community on Lower Colfax

Learn more »

Walt O’Dwyer: Safety first, even on four wheels

June 4, 2018 — I had to bring this to your attention: on the front page of the April 30 edition of The Union is an individual riding a 4-wheel vehicle during the "Survive the Drive" event at Sierra College, a "safety first event." The rider did not have

Learn more »