Opinion Letters Grass Valley California | TheUnion.com

Letters

Joan Lewis Szalay: Fly the flag low or show no respect

September 23, 2018 — Well I have to say this! Mr. Trump (The Man For America) will not allow the American Flag to fly at half staff for John McCain until his is laid to rest. What kind of man would show such disrespect for one of America's greats?

Learn more »

Louise Johnson: Seeley has record of education success

September 23, 2018 — Appointed unanimously by the Board of Trustees in 2017, Pat Seeley is the current Nevada Joint Union High School Board Trustee for South County, District 5. Running for re-election to continue to positively impact the education of our youth, Pat is widely endorsed and supported

Learn more »

Kurt Reynolds: Petty and small? How about deplorable and despicable?

September 23, 2018 — OK Paul Elias, I read your letter about petty and small. There isn't much prettier or smaller than complaining about President Trump being exactly who he is. Especially almost two years after the election. How petty was President Obama to feed America horrible lies about

Learn more »

Marshall Leve: No Party Preference is liberating

September 21, 2018 — After 62 years as a registered Republican, I needed a change – where to go? No Party Preference allowed me to consider all party positions and all candidate options. I now recommend NPP. I reviewed the First Congressional District incumbent's recent actions. I was not

Learn more »

Kate Laferriere: Interfaith Food Ministry appreciates the summer support

September 21, 2018 — During the summer, donations of food and funds are traditionally at their lowest. However, Interfaith Food Ministry knows they can depend upon Grocery Outlet. For the third year in a row, during the month of July, generous shoppers, inspired by enthusiastic cashiers and the passion

Learn more »

Don and Sandra Kewman: Reaching across the aisle for the greater good

September 20, 2018 — In today's political climate, rarely does one come across an issue that is truly bipartisan. This just happened when Senator Feinstein (D) cosponsored the Senate version of a bill that Congressman LaMalfa (R) cosponsored in the House: the BOLD Infrastructure for Alzheimer's Act. We are

Learn more »

Robert Wolaver: Words of wisdom

September 20, 2018 — Concerning our represent political situation, here are some eternal words of wisdom from one of our highly distinguished and respected Founding Fathers, Alexander Hamilton: "The truth unquestionably is, that the only path to a subversion of the republican system of the Country is, by flattering

Learn more »

Jane Pelton: When will they ever learn?

September 19, 2018 — Yet another Canadian junior mining company wants to re-open the old Idaho-Maryland mine in Grass Valley. Rise Gold has begun exploratory drilling, and at this early stage they have already been called to account for violating the 100-foot setback from South Fork Wolf Creek and

Learn more »

Judy East: White Barn Project a success

September 19, 2018 — Soroptimist International of Grass Valley instituted a new project this year to benefit 4-H and FFA families, called the White Barn Project. It was an overwhelming success, providing a free clothing exchange for those students who showed at the Nevada County Fair. We helped over

Learn more »

Elaine Meckler: Don’t drop the ball: vote

September 17, 2018 — We have much to be hopeful about in the upcoming November election. John Cox has moved closer to his goal of becoming the next governor of California. A new poll just released by SFGate on Sept. 7, shows Gavin Newsom ahead of John Cox by

Learn more »

Viv Tipton: Sierra Presbyterian’s yard sale a boost to area nonprofits

September 17, 2018 — Did you go to Sierra Presbyterian's 38th Annual Community Yard Sale? If not, you are one of the few! I think every community member participated either as a recipient, a donor, a shopper, or a member of the large volunteer team spearheaded and inspired by

Learn more »

Pamela Meek: Thanks for being so thoughtful

September 17, 2018 — Many thanks to the thoughtful person who wrote "Grass Valley Ladies Relief Society" as the recipient of a winning 49er Rotary Duck Race ticket. We will put it to good use locally while smiling because of your generosity! Pamela Meek, president Grass Valley Ladies Relief

Learn more »

Linda Schuyler Horning: Enough foolishness

September 16, 2018 — Let's not kid ourselves. The reason we must vote on Nov. 6 has little to do with how much we like the candidate who will fill a House seat for California Congressional District 1. Recent revelations about an amoral and unstable man in the White

Learn more »

Nora Nausbaum: Nevada County needs Bruce Herring

September 16, 2018 — The recent large NID expenditure of $811,000 for a Raw Water Master Plan consultant is very concerning. The public and the shareholders do not know the selection process which was used to hire this consultant. He was hired without current data on water usage and

Learn more »

Mieke Olswang: On the Dignity Health proposed corporate merger

September 13, 2018 — I am writing to you today, first as a concerned member of our community and second as a registered nurse advocating for our local community hospital, the services it provides and the patients who rely on the hospital being there for them. A proposed corporate

Learn more »

Diane Houston: What gives with recycling confusion Waste Management?

September 13, 2018 — Upon moving here two years ago from Long Beach, it was quite an adjustment to have to have to haul my trash containers a quarter of a mile down to a county road for pick up. But, I was glad it included recycling service. I

Learn more »

Scott Kellermann: Thanks for supporting the Kellermann Foundation’s Batwa Challenge

September 12, 2018 — The Kellermann Foundation would like to thank all those who helped make this year's Batwa Challenge 5K/10K race our most successful fundraiser yet. While there are too many participants, sponsors and volunteers to name here individually, we sincerely thank all of you for your time

Learn more »

George Olive: Vote for change at NID

September 12, 2018 — Two important events occurred Sept. 4 and 6. On Sept. 4, four candidates for Nevada Irrigation District Director seats spoke to voters at Peace Lutheran Church. On the Sept. 6, the current NID Board held a critical special meeting about NID's Raw Water Master Plan.

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: On Donald Trump’s ‘fake news’

September 11, 2018 — On Donald Trump's 'fake news' The Donald Trump prime directive: Lie, lie, lie; deny, deny, deny. As long as you don't get caught, it ain't a crime. And if Donald does get caught, he uses the bully pulpit of the presidency and White House to

Learn more »

Lew Sitzer: In-depth info on the Centennial Dam

September 9, 2018 — Thank you to the Editorial Board of The Union for calling attention to the issue of the Centennial Dam and the November elections for the NID Board. More in-depth information on Centennial Dam is available to be viewed anytime on NCTV's YouTube channel at https://tinyurl.com/NCTV-Centennial.

Learn more »