Opinion Letters Grass Valley California | TheUnion.com

Letters

Linda Schulyer Horning: Trump and Russia dates back to the ’80s

January 17, 2019 — Donald Trump's obsession with Russia reaches back as far as 1986, according to Nobel Peace Prize winner Bernard Lown, a Boston-area cardiologist who shared his 1985 Peace Prize with a top Soviet physician. Both were honored that year for their efforts to promote denuclearization. In

Learn more »

Nancy Brost: Border wall crisis shows priorities of two opposing views

January 17, 2019 — President Trump has asked for $5 billion to build a wall along our southern border in those locations where it will be most effective in preventing crime, sex-trafficking, and drugs from coming into our country, which will also assist in combating the billions spent on

Learn more »

Donna Frandsen: Presidential grudge behind threats to cut FEMA funding?

January 16, 2019 — Question: If Nancy Pelosi's residence was Texas or Florida, would Trump announce FEMA would no longer help in cases of hurricane disasters because the residents don't manage the weather well enough? Donna Frandsen Grass Valley

Learn more »

Barbara Larsen: Insurance rate increases unfair

January 16, 2019 — For those of you who are 65 or older, have you received your new increases for your supplemental Blue Shield medical insurance yet? Well, dear friends, I have. In early December I received a letter from Blue Shield stating that my insurance rate would increase

Learn more »

Chris Pasles: Lack of insurance could threaten housing options

January 16, 2019 — How about a follow-up story on the fallout of the Merced Property & Casualty Company liquidation, effective Jan. 2, 2019? I was lucky to get new home insurance through the advice of Ryan Harris (thanks, Ryan!), my former agent at Harris Insurance Services, who sent

Learn more »

Rick Kraus: Shutdown totally unnecessary

January 15, 2019 — We've had three previous extended government shutdowns in the last 30 years. The previous three shutdowns were all due to Republicans wanting to shrink government spending. Isn't it ironic that this bizarre, and totally unnecessary, shutdown is exclusively due to Republicans wanting to spend $5.7

Learn more »

John Bohnert: Voting for judges — why?

January 15, 2019 — Why do we vote for judges? Every election I leave that section blank. I don't know anything about our local judges. How can the average voter cast an informed vote about judges? I take voting seriously as a citizen. However, I cannot vote for any

Learn more »

Bob Riopel: Not smart enough leadership

January 15, 2019 — The CEO of a Japanese company I was negotiating with years ago gave me very sound advice. He told the person I was negotiating with and me that if we could not solve any outstanding differences, we just weren't smart enough. That was all the

Learn more »

Robert Wolaver: Trolls add nothing to the online conversation

January 14, 2019 — Trolls add nothing to the online conversation I am a daily reader of The Union, especially the opinion page, even when traveling. I appreciate the local news and exchange of differing opinions as expressed by those who post opinions and comments, as I have in

Learn more »

Arthur Krugler: What are we waiting for?

January 13, 2019 — California's new governor could solve the crisis over open borders immediately. Just think, there are about 20 sanctuary cities and counties in California; there are also about 130,000 homeless people, per census. California can send buses and trains to bring the 5,000 to 10,000 homeless

Learn more »

Simon Gates: Border wall a medieval solution

January 9, 2019 — It is hard to believe that anyone in this country would support the idea of a border wall. It is a medieval solution to a modern problem. There are many famous walls around the world that have long ago become obsolete. Are you aware that

Learn more »

Polly Bacich: Preserving pubic education

January 9, 2019 — In his column, Terry McAteer's concerns about the state superintendent of education was interesting, but I don't agree that the job demands a background of classroom teaching. A background of experience in the public schools is important, but the job demands political skills in addition

Learn more »

Bill Murdock: Holiday Kool-Aid cartoon a poor choice

January 8, 2019 — I am confused by the political cartoon in the Dec. 24 issue of The Union. The president made a campaign promise that I, as a taxpayer, would not have to pay for a border wall. The president promised that he would be responsible for shutting

Learn more »

Dianna Suarez: Horse keeps chasing the cart at NID

January 8, 2019 — Regarding The Union article, "Water district OKs new budget," fiscal responsibility was the Clarion Call that came out of the last election. The proposed water rate hike comes after five years of a 6 percent annual increase from 2013-2018, that exceeded 30 percent overall. There

Learn more »

Dale Hafelfinger: What’s next, Nevada County?

January 7, 2019 — It happened again this year! Greedy Nevada County "Inviramental Health" threaten to shut down the candy sales of one of the Lions Club's longtime efforts to raise funds to give back to the community. Reason? No running hot water. Go figure. The candy comes enclosed

Learn more »

Margaret Munson: Our security at the mercy of an ignorant egomaniac

January 7, 2019 — If the United States withdraws from Syria, Trump has condemned thousands of Kurds who have loyally and courageously fought with American troops to torture and death, all to placate yet another dictator. It also diminishes the deaths of our valiant military. How soon will there

Learn more »

Dave Wilzbach: Powerful nozzles to fight fires

January 6, 2019 — President Donald J. Trump and First Lady Melania Trump sent quite a present. What a wonderful Christmas card and calendar surprise in the mail. Thank you! California needs to control our mountain fires that are near to the Pacific Ocean. Water pipes could reach the

Learn more »

Pat Cohan: Christmas Eve cartoon a disappointment

January 6, 2019 — To the editorial staff; the choice of your appalling editorial "cartoon" for Dec. 24 shocked and saddened me. Instead of a message of love, joy and togetherness on Christmas Eve, it pushed a blatantly partisan one of mockery, intolerance and divisiveness. Smearing your opponent and

Learn more »

Thom Staser: More ‘Toy Run’ thank yous in order

January 6, 2019 — In the Nevada County Food and Toy Run's "thank you" ad of Christmas Day, there were some omissions. S.P.D. Market of Nevada City, a sponsor of the Toy Run since we began, wasn't mentioned. The Lake Wildwood Motorcycle Club, who has been with us for

Learn more »

Frank Richmond: Cheap shot

January 6, 2019 — I take exception to the editorial page cartoon published on Christmas Eve. Didn't anyone at The Union witness the recent childish temper tantrum in the Oval Office where the "elephant" stated that if he did not get his way he would be proud to shut

Learn more »