Opinion Letters Grass Valley California | TheUnion.com

Letters

Mary Johnson: United Trails Day 2018

November 13, 2018 — On a beautiful fall day on Oct. 13, 80-plus volunteers from local trail groups gathered to work together on trail maintenance and construction in the Tahoe National Forest along the Highway 20 corridor. The annual event spearheaded by the Tahoe National Forest Service's Yuba River

Learn more »

Ginny Kirkley: The presumption is innocence unless proven guilty

November 13, 2018 — In Simon Gates' letter to the editor on Oct. 31 regarding Judge Kavanaugh, he stated that "It is just as bad to assume innocence as it is to assume guilt." Excuse me, did I really see those words in print? I read this sentence in

Learn more »

Kurt Reynolds: About that sinking ship

November 13, 2018 — This last week my mom and I drove to San Jose to visit family, as I expected, all one sees is the same endless sea of single passenger vehicles. And as usual folks like Robert Wolaver blame others for their own failure. And like clockwork,

Learn more »

Debbie Chapman: Remembering Gretchen Seratta

November 12, 2018 — Thank you, Andy Loveto, for your heart felt words about our dear friend Gretchen Seratta. She was passionate about helping others and always led by that example. There was never an underdog in her book. In all the years I knew her she never said

Learn more »

Peggy Wardle: Anybody listening?

November 12, 2018 — I hear a lot of nonsense about how homelessness is caused by drug or alcohol addiction, mental illness, or, more recently, by choice. No one wants to be homeless. Human beings are homeless because there is no affordable housing, plain and simple. The homeless are

Learn more »

Cheryl Miller: More tolerance needed for those who disagree

November 11, 2018 — I would like to agree with Margaret Munson's headline in Saturday's opinion piece, "Enough with hate and indecency." Just a short read into the article I recognized her mission, however, when she said, "Why isn't Dr. Ford presumed innocent until proven otherwise?" Dr. Ford was

Learn more »

Adrienne Marks: Gift from the heart

November 9, 2018 — I wish to extend kudos to the Nevada City School of the Arts on Bitney Springs Road. My husband passed away in October and we live near the school. The administration called and asked if there was anything they could do to be of any

Learn more »

Miriam Limov: Sierra Harvest volunteers brighten up the office

November 9, 2018 — The staff and board of Sierra Harvest are overwhelmed with gratitude for all the volunteers that stepped up this fall to help with upgrading our office space to be more user friendly for expanded staff. Because of their time, commitment and talent, we can improve

Learn more »

Kent Treiber: Reject tribal combat

November 8, 2018 — I won't defend Democrats' actions on Kavanaugh's nomination because it was largely tribal, in the two-way warring tribal environment of our Congress. Jo Ann Rebane's Oct. 10 column on the subject was pure hypocrisy because any independent observer would know that the Republicans would do

Learn more »

Ken Kligerman-Savercool: No voice on the Centennial Dam

November 7, 2018 — Maybe I am showing up late to the dance. But filling out my ballot I came to the realization that although I have very strong opinions about the Centennial Dam project I was not able to vote for candidates of my choice, despite the fact

Learn more »

Mary Abbot: ‘It’s an invasion; it includes terrorists’

November 7, 2018 — "There's no proof of anything …," said President Trump after stating "criminals and unknown Middle-Easterners," possibly including ISIS, are arriving among poor immigrant families from Central America at the U.S. southern border, "but they could very well be." Sounds to me like what I've heard

Learn more »

Craig Steiger: Why not just leave earlier, rather than reroute Highway 174

November 5, 2018 — Regarding the proposal to widen and straighten Highway 174, are we going to have 174 reflect the character of that wonderful countryside or raise the speed, straighten the road, put in passing lanes and make it reflect the character of the speeders? So you can

Learn more »

Ashlyn Rhodes: It’s time to stop vilifying dog breeds

November 5, 2018 — I recently read John Thomson's opinion piece on why pit bulls are dangerous, and agree wholeheartedly with one of his statements: Facts matter. Too bad his letter didn't contain a single one. Mr. Thomson's letter was simply a series of skewed statistics pulled from a

Learn more »

Keith Johnson: For Gretchen

November 5, 2018 — It is my honor to accept Andy Lovato's invitation to share my memories of the late Gretchen Serrata. I acknowledge that others knew Gretchen better than I, but when I think of Gretchen I am reminded of three things: a generosity of spirit, a passion

Learn more »

Susan Rogers: Intelligent people can be in denial

November 4, 2018 — In Lori Marie Murray's Oct. 3 opinion piece, she said, "I know (Nevada County residents) are intelligent enough to keep your property safely cleared of vegetation that would be a hazard without interference from PG&E." Actually, they are not. I do not mean they aren't

Learn more »

Julie Becker: ‘Hits & Misses’ misses the mark

November 4, 2018 — I generally look forward to reading your 'Hits & Misses' column on Thursdays, feeling that it provides insight into the happenings of our community. However, in the last couple of weeks, seems to me that some of your Editorial Board members crossed the line by

Learn more »

Tamara Zuromskis: Campaign signs damaging trees

November 2, 2018 — Whomever keeps nailing Doug LaMalfa signs to trees by the side of the road or highway, please stop. Putting holes in trees makes them more susceptible to bark beetles. Bark beetles can ultimately kill the tree and it becomes tinder for wildfires. Also, unless those

Learn more »

Wanda Burleson: LaMalfa not looking out for those in need

November 2, 2018 — During the health care debacle, Rep. LaMalfa heard constituents plead to not take their health care away. Did he care? No, he did it anyway and celebrated. The politics of health care have been turned upside down and LaMalfa, is peddling what the Kaiser Foundation

Learn more »

Glen Garrod: Global warming deniers need to be voted out

November 2, 2018 — "The good thing about science is it's true whether or not you believe in it." — Niel deGrasse Tyson, astrophysicist. A major United Nation's report by 91 scientists, from 40 countries, analyzing 6,000 scientific studies, was recently released stating nations have 12 years from today

Learn more »

Paul Boisvert: About that gas tax editorial

November 2, 2018 — Regarding your gas tax editorial, we must acknowledge that we do not live in a pure democracy. We elect representatives for governance. We curtailed their authority by requiring a two-thirds super-majority to pass taxes — a requirement they met. Are you really suggesting that there

Learn more »