Opinion Letters Grass Valley California | TheUnion.com

Letters

Mary Jean Heltsley: Vote for Bill Smethers for sheriff of Nevada County

April 25, 2018 — Nevada County is well under way with our political season. The signs are up, showing the tremendous support and the passion this community has for the candidates that are running. The public forums have allowed the candidates to share their vision for the office they

Learn more »

Horti Davis: Don’t miss ‘South Pacific’

April 25, 2018 — The excellence of CATS (Community Asian Theater of the Sierras) remains astonishing. How to make the old gem, South Pacific, "fresh" seemed an insurmountable challenge for them to take on. But once again they have exceeded even their high standards. Accompanied by live orchestration, led

Learn more »

Mike Ferguson: In support of Cliff Newell

April 24, 2018 — As the former district attorney for Nevada County, I have a good understanding of what it takes to do the job well. The cornerstones of what makes a good district attorney are the very same things which have defined Cliff Newell's time in the position.

Learn more »

Support forward-looking candidates

April 23, 2018 — As we fight and fume over the antics in Washington, it is important to remember that progress and positive growth often start at the local level. A strong structure for making broader change can only come from an active, involved and functional community base. We

Learn more »

Rick DeKnoop: Southern water districts want Delta water, and won’t take no for answer

April 23, 2018 — Am I the only one but do I hear a giant sucking sound to the south? That insatiable area to the south will not be satisfied until all the water is down there. I remember the fertile area known as the Owens Valley, which was

Learn more »

Kent Gallagher: Vote for John Foster

April 23, 2018 — I encourage you to support John Foster for sheriff. As police chief of Grass Valley for 17 years he has proven experience and has had abundant opportunity to interface with the sheriff concerning all of the issues that help create a secure community for all.

Learn more »

Edward Taylor: What’s LaMalfa’s stand on guns?

April 22, 2018 — I would ask The Union, as our only local published news, ask our representative Doug LaMalfa to share is position on assault rifles, large capacity magazines, background checks, and basically all gun issues. I would also ask that you request from Mr. LaMalfa how much

Learn more »

Richard Johnson: More in-depth coverage of candidates

April 20, 2018 — Congratulations on your recent journalism awards. Your excellence wasn't really on display, however, in your coverage of last week's town hall forum for District 1 candidates for Congress. Other than observing that the atmosphere was friendly, what could one learn from this too brief article?

Learn more »

Kathryn Davis: Marty Walters the best candidate

April 20, 2018 — Why would anyone vote for Marty Walters? Because this year we can elect a real problem solver into Congress. Marty's education and experience have prepared her well to be our representative. She is a scientist with over 30 years of experience finding practical solutions to

Learn more »

Elany Prusa: ‘South Pacific’ — I’d see it again

April 20, 2018 — The recent CATS production of "South Pacific" was such a joy to watch! The orchestra playing the beautiful songs at the beginning was entertaining enough that I didn't feel I even needed to see the play! But then the play combined with the very professional

Learn more »

Don Joy: A vote for Cliff Newell

April 19, 2018 — In Stephen Munkelt's April 16 Other Voices opinion of the Mackey situation, we continue to beat a dead horse. In Munkelt's opinion, the misconduct motion was filed to show the "dishonesty, corruption and incompetence of District Attorney Cliff Newell (and) Sheriff Keith Royal." It appears

Learn more »

Judy East: ‘A Day for Women’ a success

April 19, 2018 — Soroptimist International of Grass Valley and Sierra College Foundation, Nevada County Coordinating council would like to thank the speakers and sponsors who made A Day for Women a huge success. The following speakers presented 18 workshops of valuable information: April Reese, Lisa Boulton, Melisa Mistler

Learn more »

Steve Roddy: A vote for John Foster

April 19, 2018 — John Foster is a proactive leader who we need as our next sheriff. He is a true community treasure. John helps in many ways. Numerous nonprofits in Nevada County enjoy John's volunteerism. He is educated, active, and builds relationships. As a 30-year teacher in Grass

Learn more »

Don Daniels: Re-elect Dan Miller

April 18, 2018 — I strongly encourage all voters in District 3 to vote to re-elect Dan Miller as county supervisor, and here's why: My wife, Anita, and I have known Dan for many years, having grown up in Nevada County. He is definitely trustworthy, honest and cares about

Learn more »

Sarah Daley: Elect Hilary Hodge for supervisor

April 18, 2018 — Hilary Hodge and her family have lived in Northern California for six generations. With her family background she understands the need for rural representation that also encourages young families to move and grow roots in Nevada County. Her plan to do this is the following:

Learn more »

John Watson: Hilary Hodge for county supervisor

April 18, 2018 — I attended the April 17 Food & Farming Candidate Forum at the Nevada Theatre, and I thought Nevada County District 3 supervisor candidate Hilary Hodge really stood out for all the right reasons. The topic was the local food and farming economy, and Hodge eloquently

Learn more »

Lisa Thane: Dan Miller, a man of integrity and honesty

April 18, 2018 — Mark Johnson (not the former Grass Valley mayor), whose Other Voices appeared in The Union on April 5, needs to get his facts straight. First of all, $70,000 in taxpayer dollars was not wasted on Measure W. Measure W was put on the ballot at

Learn more »

Donna Burley: Be a Dan fan

April 17, 2018 — Dan Miller is the man to continue his good work as District 3 Supervisor. The man who takes the heat and keeps on going. The man who knows Grass Valley and Nevada County. He works hard, he is a man of trust, he is the

Learn more »

Lawrence Gold: Opinions versus facts

April 17, 2018 — In the name of free speech, I guess, The Union chooses what appears on the editorial page. Would The Union print letters to the editor that asserted that the earth was flat? Would you print that the sun rotates around the earth or that diseases

Learn more »

Karen Koskey: Some facts about owls

April 16, 2018 — In response the Other Voices column, "An Owl What?" — I commend Mr. Knaus for his commitment to take elementary students on nature field trips. However, as a raptor team member and chair of the education committee of Wildlife Rehabilitation & Release, I must point

Learn more »