For the public, Regina Reno | TheUnion.com
YOUR AD HERE »

For the public, Regina Reno

The Union photoRegina Reno
ALL | GrassValleyArchive

My job title: City of Grass Valley administrative clerk for public works, engineering, and parks and recreation.

What I do in my job: Public Works – I assist the public with streets, parks, and water concerns. Engineering – I assist the public with submittal of encroachment and grading permits, plan checks and inspections, and tree removal requests. Parks and Recreation – I provide information regarding city recreational programs and parks. I schedule facility reservations for private rentals and group organizations.

Why my job is important to the public: So that we have the means to offer these services to the citizens of our community.



The special skills and talents I bring to my job: I bring five years of public agency service and that, with my educational background, has given me the opportunities to learn many aspects of a public agency which enables me to support this organization and its citizens.

The best part of my job is: I’m learning something new every day, and the City of Grass Valley employees have welcomed me with open arms and are my second family. What can be better than that?!




How I got my job: I submitted an application from an advertisement in The Union, was selected to take a placement test, then selected for the eligibility list in which my name remained for just under a year when I received a phone call for an interview.

How long I’ve been working here: I’m a new face at City Hall. I’ve only been with the city for two months.

My dream job would be: Working with children in a capacity to make sure every child in school feels welcome and an important part of society.

My family: Consists of a husband, Brian, and twin 18-year-old sons, Tony and Dan. Tony has joined the Army as a psychological operations specialist and leaves for basic training in a week. Dan received a college scholarship and has been accepted to Sacramento State.

My hobbies: Motorcycle and ATV riding, outdoor activities, and volleyball.

When I was a kid, I … : Was always attentive to others to make them feel special and important. Even though I was popular, I made friends with everyone.

My dream vacation: Would be to visit Greece, New Zealand and the Cayman Islands.

If a movie were made of my life, I would be played by: My husband would say “Lucille Ball” because if there’s a way, I will make it happen.

The people who have made the biggest difference in my life: My

entire family. I have a wonderful support system and they have helped me become the person I am.

My hero: My mother, Debi, and father, Tom. They are loving, supportive, intelligent and courageous. They have instilled in me good morals and values and have given me the tools necessary to be successful and happy both personally and professionally.

The best book I’ve read lately … : Since I’ve just recently graduated with my bachelor’s degree, I haven’t had much time to read for pleasure, but I feel that the college material has increased my knowledge and impacted my life positively.

I like living in Nevada County because … : It is a beautiful place that offers a wonderful quality of life with a community that is amazing.

“For the public” appears each Wednesday. To suggest a person to be profiled, call The Union newsroom at 273-9561.


Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

 

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User