Opinion Columns Grass Valley California | TheUnion.com

Columns

Dan Howell: Living in the forest, but not taking responsibility

December 10, 2018 — On the morning of Thursday, Nov. 8, a wildfire ignited near Pulga, Calif. What followed was the burning destruction of the town of Paradise. This led to 153,336 acres burned, 13,954 homes and approximately 2,500 other buildings destroyed. Sustained winds of 32 mph and gusts

Learn more »

Chuck Frank: CensorShop: Alive ’n’ kickin’

December 9, 2018 — How did Silicon Valley and those rogue high-tech giants, Google, Facebook, Twitter and YouTube, become a de facto media platform, yet, unrelated to news outlets which are either television, radio or newspaper publishers? Very interesting. The back story begins with those decades past and the

Learn more »

Diane Dean-Epps: Going home

December 7, 2018 — Home. What an image that evokes. We often think of it as a physical structure; home ownership being an element of the American Dream to which many of us aspire. Home. It's not just a word, but rather an entire frame of reference. An experience.

Learn more »

Sean Gilleran: There’s room, and compassion, at the inn

December 7, 2018 — There's room at the inn this holiday season. In fact, there are several rooms and Gold Miners Inn is giving them away. Free overnight stays at our boutique hotel are being offered in random drawings to those who donate to charity fundraisers here at the

Learn more »

Gerald G. Doane: Armed security in non-violent places?

December 6, 2018 — I have concluded that the only way to more thoroughly prevent mass killings at populated locations, such as schools, bars, workplaces, places of worship, and entertainment venues is to include armed security, either uniformed or undercover. But only on a temporary basis until we, as

Learn more »

Stan Thomas-Rose: Authentic Christian values

December 6, 2018 — "Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and love your neighbor as yourself." – Luke 10:27 It is a sad state of affairs that so many of my

Learn more »

Hits & Misses in Nevada County: Search and Rescue volunteers are a HIT

December 5, 2018 — Each week we'll run through the sublime, the trivial and profound issues, decisions and goings on that strike us as Hits or Misses. You can join in, too, by emailing your Hits & Misses to editboard@theunion.com. HIT (from reader Sandra Rockman): To our Nevada County

Learn more »

Steve Orlik: Is it time for Medicare for All?

December 4, 2018 — Harry Truman announced a vision for single-payer health care more than a quarter of a century ago, a vision that the government would pay all costs. Bernie Sanders would like to achieve Truman's vision by enacting a single-payer system under the banner of "Medicare for

Learn more »

David Moyer: Appeasing the climate gods

December 3, 2018 — Our distant ancestors faced threats such as fires, droughts, famines, diseases, floods, wars, earthquakes and volcanoes. One way to control the vagaries of their fragile existence was to provide sacrifices to the gods, human sacrifices that is. Evidence of these sacrifices has been found in

Learn more »

Cheryl Cook: ‘Do you see what I see?’

December 2, 2018 — "Do you know what I know? "Said the shepherd boy to the Mighty King "A child, a child, shivers in the cold "Let us bring him silver and gold." At one time in history, a family wandered in search of a place to rest. But

Learn more »

Becky Goodwin: Paradise re-imagined, and everything else too

November 30, 2018 — Pondering Paradise, the town in its historic glory and in its current ashes, I have a clear vision of its renewal, and more: I see potential renewal for all of us, wherever we live. I first saw Paradise from the back of a motorcycle in

Learn more »

Jo Ann Fites-Kaufman: What we and Nevada County can do now to make fire evacuations safer, quicker

November 30, 2018 — Seeing what happened in Paradise is heartbreaking and scary to those of us living in a similar environment in the Sierra Nevada foothills. There are actions that we and the county can take now to be better prepared for such an event here. Recent opinion

Learn more »

Ricardo Fuentes: Science is only ‘true’ when the data is true

November 30, 2018 — Concerning the letter to The Union dated Nov. 2 by Glen Garrod, under opinion, I feel sorry that Mr. Garrod probably cannot sleep at night. The earth and humanity are not going to end in your lifetime, or anyone else's. I am old enough to

Learn more »

Jackie Turner: The monster: escaping the trauma within

November 29, 2018 — "There is a coldness that surrounds me, as the shivers ripple through my body. Its voice makes me go numb, its footsteps makes me tuck as far inside of myself as I can go. "I am afraid. No matter where I go everything turns to

Learn more »

Alicia Vandevorst: The enduring magic of ‘Clara and The Nutcracker’

November 28, 2018 — Once again, 'tis the season of "Clara and the Nutcracker." The dancers are preparing at Holt Ballet, and my daughter is one of them. Though I have heard this music since I was a child, and now hear it all the time, I can't deny

Learn more »

Robert Stepp: Consider the ramifications of your vote

November 28, 2018 — Will Rogers observed, "It's a good thing we don't get all the government we pay for." The last election proves him mistaken. We are getting every bit of what we pay for, plus. Prop 11? What did the measure resolve or address? American Medical Response

Learn more »

Dave Finch: Global Commission again calls for legalizing all drugs

November 27, 2018 — The Global Commission on Drug Policy was formed in 2011 to study and make recommendations for dealing with drugs in society. For the past several years it has recommended we move toward some form of decriminalization or legalization. In their just-released 2018 report they call

Learn more »

Kellye Chapman: Autumn outing turned full moon fiasco

November 27, 2018 — Harvest moons. Crisp, autumn-hued leaves. Brisk temperatures. The delights of the season lure me into a bakery to splurge. I wished to savor yet another fall pleasure: pumpkin spice coffee. Little did I know, my autumn outing was about to enter "The Twilight Zone." As

Learn more »

Denes McIntosh: No longer alone

November 27, 2018 — I recently spent a day and evening in San Francisco. Hadn't been back there in awhile. I do get down out of the mountains fairly regularly, so it's not as if I'm completely out of touch with the greater culture going on in our world.

Learn more »

Pete Williams: The presumption of innocence

November 26, 2018 — Ginny Kirkley's letter to the editor on Nov. 14 regarding "The presumption of innocence until proven guilty" illustrates a common misunderstanding of the Constitution and the law. She states, correctly, that, "The legal concept is that the guilt of an accused person cannot be presumed

Learn more »