Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Ron Lowe: Pence poised to replace his boss

November 14, 2018 — Vice President Mike Pence is setting himself up to replace his boss if Trump leaves office early or does not seek re-election. Pence would never admit this. He plays the part of unctuous toady so fully that conservative writer George Will called him "America's most

Learn more »

Carole Carson: Trump demonizes ‘the other’

November 14, 2018 — It is difficult to describe accurately the deeply tragic nature of the assassination of Jews worshiping at their synagogue. During his campaign and continuing into his present, Trump has inflamed passions with his attacks on the "other." Despite the inevitable carnage that will result from

Learn more »

Lee Ridenour: Media ‘reporting’ on Election Day should not include opinion

November 14, 2018 — Some states have laws against campaigning on the day of elections, so why is it that all the media are allowed to continue their campaigning for politicians? If you watch the news, the media is doing the same basic thing the politicians are doing, the

Learn more »

Hits & Misses: Passion for preserving Nevada County history is an absolute HIT

November 14, 2018 — Each week we'll run through the sublime, the trivial and profound issues, decisions and goings on that strike us as Hits or Misses. You can join in, too, by emailing your Hits & Misses to editboard@theunion.com. HIT (from author Gage McKinney and Editor Brian Hamilton):

Learn more »

Terry McAteer: California a model for voting

November 14, 2018 — It always amazes me, watching television on Election Day, where we see long lines, voter ID requirements and polling place snafus in many states throughout the country. I've voted in every California election for the past 44 years and have never been asked for my

Learn more »

Mary Johnson: United Trails Day 2018

November 13, 2018 — On a beautiful fall day on Oct. 13, 80-plus volunteers from local trail groups gathered to work together on trail maintenance and construction in the Tahoe National Forest along the Highway 20 corridor. The annual event spearheaded by the Tahoe National Forest Service's Yuba River

Learn more »

Ginny Kirkley: The presumption is innocence unless proven guilty

November 13, 2018 — In Simon Gates' letter to the editor on Oct. 31 regarding Judge Kavanaugh, he stated that "It is just as bad to assume innocence as it is to assume guilt." Excuse me, did I really see those words in print? I read this sentence in

Learn more »

Ted Gaines: More government spending equals more taxes

November 13, 2018 — This year's legislative session ended in September but you'll feel the damage to your pocketbooks for years to come. I will give my Democrat colleagues credit for consistency, at least, because every year they come up with new and creative ways to spend taxpayer money,

Learn more »

Kurt Reynolds: About that sinking ship

November 13, 2018 — This last week my mom and I drove to San Jose to visit family, as I expected, all one sees is the same endless sea of single passenger vehicles. And as usual folks like Robert Wolaver blame others for their own failure. And like clockwork,

Learn more »

Dick Tracy: What are we so frightened of?

November 13, 2018 — As a child I was scared of the dark. Really scared. Just like other kids were, who told me about ghosts, goblins and the Bogeyman ready to pounce from the shadows and carry us off. I slept with my fists clenched on my chest, ready

Learn more »

Debbie Chapman: Remembering Gretchen Seratta

November 12, 2018 — Thank you, Andy Loveto, for your heart felt words about our dear friend Gretchen Seratta. She was passionate about helping others and always led by that example. There was never an underdog in her book. In all the years I knew her she never said

Learn more »

Peggy Wardle: Anybody listening?

November 12, 2018 — I hear a lot of nonsense about how homelessness is caused by drug or alcohol addiction, mental illness, or, more recently, by choice. No one wants to be homeless. Human beings are homeless because there is no affordable housing, plain and simple. The homeless are

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

November 12, 2018 —

Learn more »

Shanti Emerson: Celebrations of life

November 12, 2018 — Now that I've hit a certain age milestone (never mind which one), I go to more and more memorial services. How they have changed during my lifetime … and for the better. Funerals used to be done only in church with an organ droning out

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Fire insurance crisis almost upon us

November 12, 2018 — Californians already know about the wildfire crisis that's been afflicting this state for the last few years, highlighted by a rash of huge blazes and the evacuations of at least 250,000 persons. It's caused by a combination of climate change, forestry practices and the seemingly

Learn more »

Cheryl Miller: More tolerance needed for those who disagree

November 11, 2018 — I would like to agree with Margaret Munson's headline in Saturday's opinion piece, "Enough with hate and indecency." Just a short read into the article I recognized her mission, however, when she said, "Why isn't Dr. Ford presumed innocent until proven otherwise?" Dr. Ford was

Learn more »

Paula Orloff: Are Scrabble players smarter?

November 11, 2018 — Are Scrabble players smarter? Smarter than who, you might ask. For the sake of comparison, let's ask if Scrabble players are smarter than the rest of the adult population. I'd say no, but since I'm a fairly avid player, I'm amused that some show a

Learn more »

George Boardman: Both political parties were winners and losers in last week’s elections

November 11, 2018 — Both major political parties achieved stunning victories in last week's midterm elections. If you don't believe me, just ask Donald Trump ("A tremendous success") and Nancy Pelosi ("Tomorrow will be a new day in America"). Each party can claim some success, but neither achieved as

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: How a brother prompts enormous pride

November 9, 2018 — My brother has Alzheimer's disease, and it tears at my heart to watch the waning of such a fertile and thorough mind as his memories and ability to communicate decline. Writing about my brother and his accomplishments is easy — because words erupt like a

Learn more »

Our View: Honoring our heroes, the least we can do

November 9, 2018 — Extra! Extra! Read all about it … "WAR ENDS … Germany Army to Be Demobilized, All Occupied Territory Evacuated and Representative Government Set Up; President Wilson Says: 'Everything for Which America Fought Has Been Secured'" Imagine a newsie shouting those words printed in The Morning

Learn more »