Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Mary Johnson: United Trails Day 2018

November 13, 2018 — On a beautiful fall day on Oct. 13, 80-plus volunteers from local trail groups gathered to work together on trail maintenance and construction in the Tahoe National Forest along the Highway 20 corridor. The annual event spearheaded by the Tahoe National Forest Service's Yuba River

Learn more »

Ginny Kirkley: The presumption is innocence unless proven guilty

November 13, 2018 — In Simon Gates' letter to the editor on Oct. 31 regarding Judge Kavanaugh, he stated that "It is just as bad to assume innocence as it is to assume guilt." Excuse me, did I really see those words in print? I read this sentence in

Learn more »

Ted Gaines: More government spending equals more taxes

November 13, 2018 — This year's legislative session ended in September but you'll feel the damage to your pocketbooks for years to come. I will give my Democrat colleagues credit for consistency, at least, because every year they come up with new and creative ways to spend taxpayer money,

Learn more »

Kurt Reynolds: About that sinking ship

November 13, 2018 — This last week my mom and I drove to San Jose to visit family, as I expected, all one sees is the same endless sea of single passenger vehicles. And as usual folks like Robert Wolaver blame others for their own failure. And like clockwork,

Learn more »

Dick Tracy: What are we so frightened of?

November 13, 2018 — As a child I was scared of the dark. Really scared. Just like other kids were, who told me about ghosts, goblins and the Bogeyman ready to pounce from the shadows and carry us off. I slept with my fists clenched on my chest, ready

Learn more »

Peggy Wardle: Anybody listening?

November 12, 2018 — I hear a lot of nonsense about how homelessness is caused by drug or alcohol addiction, mental illness, or, more recently, by choice. No one wants to be homeless. Human beings are homeless because there is no affordable housing, plain and simple. The homeless are

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

November 12, 2018 —

Learn more »

Debbie Chapman: Remembering Gretchen Seratta

November 12, 2018 — Thank you, Andy Loveto, for your heart felt words about our dear friend Gretchen Seratta. She was passionate about helping others and always led by that example. There was never an underdog in her book. In all the years I knew her she never said

Learn more »

Shanti Emerson: Celebrations of life

November 12, 2018 — Now that I've hit a certain age milestone (never mind which one), I go to more and more memorial services. How they have changed during my lifetime … and for the better. Funerals used to be done only in church with an organ droning out

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Fire insurance crisis almost upon us

November 12, 2018 — Californians already know about the wildfire crisis that's been afflicting this state for the last few years, highlighted by a rash of huge blazes and the evacuations of at least 250,000 persons. It's caused by a combination of climate change, forestry practices and the seemingly

Learn more »

Paula Orloff: Are Scrabble players smarter?

November 11, 2018 — Are Scrabble players smarter? Smarter than who, you might ask. For the sake of comparison, let's ask if Scrabble players are smarter than the rest of the adult population. I'd say no, but since I'm a fairly avid player, I'm amused that some show a

Learn more »

George Boardman: Both political parties were winners and losers in last week’s elections

November 11, 2018 — Both major political parties achieved stunning victories in last week's midterm elections. If you don't believe me, just ask Donald Trump ("A tremendous success") and Nancy Pelosi ("Tomorrow will be a new day in America"). Each party can claim some success, but neither achieved as

Learn more »

Cheryl Miller: More tolerance needed for those who disagree

November 11, 2018 — I would like to agree with Margaret Munson's headline in Saturday's opinion piece, "Enough with hate and indecency." Just a short read into the article I recognized her mission, however, when she said, "Why isn't Dr. Ford presumed innocent until proven otherwise?" Dr. Ford was

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: How a brother prompts enormous pride

November 9, 2018 — My brother has Alzheimer's disease, and it tears at my heart to watch the waning of such a fertile and thorough mind as his memories and ability to communicate decline. Writing about my brother and his accomplishments is easy — because words erupt like a

Learn more »

Our View: Honoring our heroes, the least we can do

November 9, 2018 — Extra! Extra! Read all about it … "WAR ENDS … Germany Army to Be Demobilized, All Occupied Territory Evacuated and Representative Government Set Up; President Wilson Says: 'Everything for Which America Fought Has Been Secured'" Imagine a newsie shouting those words printed in The Morning

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

November 9, 2018 —

Learn more »

Adrienne Marks: Gift from the heart

November 9, 2018 — I wish to extend kudos to the Nevada City School of the Arts on Bitney Springs Road. My husband passed away in October and we live near the school. The administration called and asked if there was anything they could do to be of any

Learn more »

Miriam Limov: Sierra Harvest volunteers brighten up the office

November 9, 2018 — The staff and board of Sierra Harvest are overwhelmed with gratitude for all the volunteers that stepped up this fall to help with upgrading our office space to be more user friendly for expanded staff. Because of their time, commitment and talent, we can improve

Learn more »

Terry McAteer: What will this next American century look like?

November 8, 2018 — The end of the American century is upon us. This is fact, not some form of "fake news." One hundred years ago this month, the United States emerged for the first time in its history as "the" world economic power, which it has since retained.

Learn more »

Kent Treiber: Reject tribal combat

November 8, 2018 — I won't defend Democrats' actions on Kavanaugh's nomination because it was largely tribal, in the two-way warring tribal environment of our Congress. Jo Ann Rebane's Oct. 10 column on the subject was pure hypocrisy because any independent observer would know that the Republicans would do

Learn more »