Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Robin Diel: Teens are developmentally different than adults

February 17, 2019 — An odd social dichotomy: Many states expanded juvenile court jurisdiction for young adults up to at least 17 years of age. "Raise the Age" reforms argue young adults are developmentally different than adults and should be treated accordingly. Louisiana State University highlighted modern brain science

Learn more »

George Boardman: Get ready for more empty slogans, shallow thinking in 2020 race

February 17, 2019 — It has become standard operating procedure in political races for candidates to fess up to past transgressions in the early stages of the race, mainly to take away the ability of the opposition to use those shortcomings as an October surprise in the late stages

Learn more »

Denise Bellas: Bureaucratic run around a dangerous game

February 17, 2019 — Last week I placed a call into the Bureau of Land Management and requested information on how and when they maintain BLM land, as most of us are concerned with fire dangers. Most of us are spending a great deal of cash weed-whacking and maintaining

Learn more »

Joan Merriam: The Trump tax fairytale

February 17, 2019 — I guess I didn't get the memo about how President Trump's tax bill would make such a huge difference in our middle-class lives. Instead, I had an extremely rude awakening when I finished my taxes yesterday. Thanks to this "innovative," "great" tax plan, even though

Learn more »

Terry McLaughlin: Heartbeats should be heard

February 15, 2019 — The most memorable moment in the 15-year history of the Walk for Life West Coast occurred in San Francisco on Jan. 26, when seven pregnant women and their unborn children ascended the stage, put microphones to their swelling bellies, and filled San Francisco's Civic Center

Learn more »

Jan Tache: Regulating telecommunications

February 15, 2019 — Congratulations to Nevada City, Reinette Senum and the others who have acted to protect the people of Nevada City from being run over by the telecommunications industry. Objective studies show that even 3G and 4G are damaging to the cells of our body. The latest

Learn more »

Our View: Ready Nevada County?

February 15, 2019 — For decades, the mantra has been "Only you can prevent forest fires." That's certainly still true, but there is a whole lot of work underway toward a shift in the paradigm, and you will soon be hearing a whole lot about it. Yes, each of

Learn more »

Ginny Knott: Thanks, Miriam, from all of us

February 15, 2019 — I have observed in awe Miriam Morris beautifying our town. I especially say to myself, "thank you," when the red poppies bloom at the Post Office. I admire the fire hydrant bench that is so darn creative. And then I read her Other Voices piece

Learn more »

Cheryl Miller: Fanning the flames of division

February 15, 2019 — I'm not surprised to see Mr. Berkheimer's rambling letter of hate against our president. I am still waiting to hear a valid reason from the RESIST cheerleaders for our president's impeachment. An article by Yoni Appelbaum of The Atlantic magazine, is his main argument. An

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Harris as prez? Stranger things have happened

February 15, 2019 — There's a tendency among some pundits, political consultants and other so-called "experts" to label the presidential candidacy of Kamala Harris as a fanciful, wishful-thinking effort by a first-term senator better known for hectoring presidential appointees than almost anything else. And yet … it might not

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: Is AOC the bellows to a flaming white wave?

February 15, 2019 — There's a certain excitement — and apprehension — in the air in Washington, D.C., and it's emanating from the halls of Congress. A new deputy sheriff is in town — someone who's unhinging the establishment. And the excitement has corralled a like-minded group. But they're

Learn more »

Dan Miller and Lisa Swarthout: Better together — a community approach to homelessness and housing

February 14, 2019 — Homelessness is a pervasive problem that affects everyone in our community. In addition to the personal toll homelessness takes on those experiencing it, homelessness can strain public safety resources, increase fire danger, and disrupt commerce and tourism. Our community can't successfully address homelessness unless local

Learn more »

Don Rogers: News throes just progress

February 14, 2019 — It's not Google or Facebook's fault they're killing journalism while punditry disguised as news overtakes disturbed ground. This simply is progress, which in its turn produced the printing press and a revolution in communication, not to mention religion, science and literature. Progress, like the stock

Learn more »

Don Joy: Commercial Street in Nevada City

February 14, 2019 — A recent article in The Union discussed proposed changes to Commercial Street in Nevada City. This section of Commercial Street has always been a quaint, gas-lit throughway in our historical district and was part of the Chinese Quarter during the Gold Rush era. It pays

Learn more »

Love: Is it all Greek to you?

February 13, 2019 — Valentine's Day means a rush for any romantic gesture that could possibly be imagined. Love letters, carefully tucked away until this day will emerge with poems, hearts and declarations of "love." In English, love has many meanings; there is a love for friends, partners, family

Learn more »

Karen Brazas: Make someone’s (Valentine’s) day, and yours as well

February 13, 2019 — It's Valentine's Day! So if you want to match the "national average cost" for sharing your love, and if you have that $150 burning a hole in your pocket, go out and spend it on someone you love. But what if you're running a bit

Learn more »

Hits & Misses: Nevada County’s Independence Trail, and access it provides, a HIT

February 13, 2019 — Each week we'll run through the sublime, the trivial and profound issues, decisions and goings on that strike us as Hits or Misses. You can join in, too, by emailing your Hits & Misses to editboard@theunion.com. HIT (from Editorial Board member Paul Matson): To the

Learn more »

Martin Gilbert: To Trump haters

February 12, 2019 — For all those Trump haters I read every day in The Union I have only one thing to say: "It's the economy stupid." Martin Gilbert Grass Valley

Learn more »

Craig Silberman: We’re better than this

February 12, 2019 — This morning I'm reading that the school and many events are canceled because of snow — one inch of snow. The foothills of the Sierra used to measure snowfall in feet, not fractions of inches. Most of the vehicles around here are SUVs, pick-ups, and

Learn more »

Jeffrey Dupra: The complexity of white privilege

February 12, 2019 — Recently this paper featured a write-in regarding the existence and influence of white privilege in our country, and culture. The piece laid out examples such as the increased likelihood that a white person preparing to confront an employer would be entering into a conversation with

Learn more »