Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Virginia Whitehead: Promising piece of climate change legislation

February 20, 2019 — With recent news of weather extremes effecting people around the globe, it is easy to fall into a state of hopelessness. If you are a person who is anxious to see a solution, or interested in being part of a solution to fossil fuel pollution,

Learn more »

Hits & Misses in Nevada County: Using traffic apps in weather events is a MISS

February 20, 2019 — Each week we'll run through the sublime, the trivial and profound issues, decisions and goings on that strike us as Hits or Misses. You can join in, too, by emailing your Hits & Misses to editboard@theunion.com. MISS (from reader Walt Stickel): To all those drivers

Learn more »

Jacqueline Finley: American ignorance is our downfall

February 20, 2019 — A British friend recently sent me a link to an interesting article in the London Times. I read the article and while it initially appeared to be a write-up about Kamala Harris' entry into the presidential race, I found it was a lengthy and insightful

Learn more »

Robert Smail: Bear Yuba Land Trust looking for outdoor lovers

February 20, 2019 — Do you enjoy the outdoors? Looking for a way to support the community and be out in nature? Then volunteering with the Bear Yuba Land Trust may be a good fit for you. The Bear Yuba Land Trust has preserved more than 15,000 acres of

Learn more »

Terry McAteer: Casinos are just a Band-Aid to solving real issues facing Native Americans

February 19, 2019 — One of the most fascinating parts to living in Inyo County for eight years was working with five tribal nations. Inyo County, the second largest county in area in the state, is located on the eastern side of the Sierra Nevada and has the highest

Learn more »

Gary Hammer: Can our country survive?

February 19, 2019 — So you say you hate President Trump? Will do anything to bring down his presidency? He is not on my guest list either. As much as I respect the office, I have to say Donald Trump is a jerk. His tweets make very little sense.

Learn more »

Lindi Pagan: Nevada County businesses give Camp Fire families a boost

February 19, 2019 — I am kind of blown away by the kindness of many businesses in our local area. We have six families we know that lost everything in the Camp Fire. They have all relocated to our area. We are making up some gift bags for them,

Learn more »

Alice Root: No waiver on wrong word usage

February 19, 2019 — I understand newspapers are on a tight budget and The Union has decided to send the printing job to Auburn. Has anyone else noticed the fairly frequent blotchy print, and lack of print in some areas so you have to guess at the wording? Also,

Learn more »

Linda Schuyler Horning: Puppet politicians

February 19, 2019 — Ever wonder why every Republican politician supports Donald Trump? Forget about the Access Hollywood tapes, Stormy Daniels and multiple indictments of his co-conspirators. They falter for a day or two, but always fall back into line like penitent children. What makes these politicians put up

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Brown’s legacy projects growing less likely

February 18, 2019 — The farther four-term Democratic Gov. Jerry Brown gets from the state Capitol's "horseshoe" office suite, the less likely it seems that either of his two would-be legacy projects will ever be completed. The fate of the high speed rail "bullet train" project authorized under a

Learn more »

David Retzler: Let boys be boys and girls be girls: take 2

February 18, 2019 — I recently read a column lamenting the fact that girls are now being allowed into Boy Scouts, muddying the single-sex developmental waters. I have a slightly different take on it. First some cred … I was a Boy Scout growing up, as were my three

Learn more »

John Palmer: Who should our next president be?

February 18, 2019 — As the 2020 election campaign cycle begins to warm up, it's time to think about what we want in a president. My answer: someone who has experience in politics and leadership. Someone with a well-rounded education; with knowledge about world affairs and how our government

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

February 18, 2019 —

Learn more »

George Boardman: Get ready for more empty slogans, shallow thinking in 2020 race

February 17, 2019 — It has become standard operating procedure in political races for candidates to fess up to past transgressions in the early stages of the race, mainly to take away the ability of the opposition to use those shortcomings as an October surprise in the late stages

Learn more »

Joan Merriam: The Trump tax fairytale

February 17, 2019 — I guess I didn't get the memo about how President Trump's tax bill would make such a huge difference in our middle-class lives. Instead, I had an extremely rude awakening when I finished my taxes yesterday. Thanks to this "innovative," "great" tax plan, even though

Learn more »

Robin Diel: Teens are developmentally different than adults

February 17, 2019 — An odd social dichotomy: Many states expanded juvenile court jurisdiction for young adults up to at least 17 years of age. "Raise the Age" reforms argue young adults are developmentally different than adults and should be treated accordingly. Louisiana State University highlighted modern brain science

Learn more »

Denise Bellas: Bureaucratic run around a dangerous game

February 17, 2019 — Last week I placed a call into the Bureau of Land Management and requested information on how and when they maintain BLM land, as most of us are concerned with fire dangers. Most of us are spending a great deal of cash weed-whacking and maintaining

Learn more »

Terry McLaughlin: Heartbeats should be heard

February 15, 2019 — The most memorable moment in the 15-year history of the Walk for Life West Coast occurred in San Francisco on Jan. 26, when seven pregnant women and their unborn children ascended the stage, put microphones to their swelling bellies, and filled San Francisco's Civic Center

Learn more »

Our View: Ready Nevada County?

February 15, 2019 — For decades, the mantra has been "Only you can prevent forest fires." That's certainly still true, but there is a whole lot of work underway toward a shift in the paradigm, and you will soon be hearing a whole lot about it. Yes, each of

Learn more »

Cheryl Miller: Fanning the flames of division

February 15, 2019 — I'm not surprised to see Mr. Berkheimer's rambling letter of hate against our president. I am still waiting to hear a valid reason from the RESIST cheerleaders for our president's impeachment. An article by Yoni Appelbaum of The Atlantic magazine, is his main argument. An

Learn more »