Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Joan Lewis Szalay: Fly the flag low or show no respect

September 23, 2018 — Well I have to say this! Mr. Trump (The Man For America) will not allow the American Flag to fly at half staff for John McCain until his is laid to rest. What kind of man would show such disrespect for one of America's greats?

Learn more »

Louise Johnson: Seeley has record of education success

September 23, 2018 — Appointed unanimously by the Board of Trustees in 2017, Pat Seeley is the current Nevada Joint Union High School Board Trustee for South County, District 5. Running for re-election to continue to positively impact the education of our youth, Pat is widely endorsed and supported

Learn more »

George Boardman: Isn’t it time for the Sheriff’s Office to start using body cameras?

September 23, 2018 — Residents of Nevada County say they want more transparency from public agencies, but the willingness of these bodies to shine more light on their activities has been mixed at best. The Board of Supervisors and the Grass Valley and Nevada City councils provide more information

Learn more »

Denes McIntosh: Darkness illuminates the stars in the sky

September 23, 2018 — Early one morning a friend of mine said, "I feel sorry for anyone who is not me today." Well now, that can certainly be construed as an egocentric, vain, and self-righteous statement if one were looking to criticize my friend. It could certainly be translated

Learn more »

Kurt Reynolds: Petty and small? How about deplorable and despicable?

September 23, 2018 — OK Paul Elias, I read your letter about petty and small. There isn't much prettier or smaller than complaining about President Trump being exactly who he is. Especially almost two years after the election. How petty was President Obama to feed America horrible lies about

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Credibility of recalls makes life tougher for pols (as it should)

September 21, 2018 — Something has changed in California politics as the political class gets serious about this fall's statewide election: Despite what has lately amounted to single-party rule in America's most populous state, there's a new insecurity in the air. That's because of two successful recall moves against

Learn more »

Becky Goodwin: Help wanted: therapist for the nation

September 21, 2018 — Sometimes I think this entire nation needs therapy! We wound each other daily with both passive and aggressive attacks, from snarky comments behind other's backs to screaming road rage. We are in a nightmare of family feuds, political divisions, theological conflicts, economic disparities and environmental

Learn more »

Pauli Halstead: Housing, not handcuffs, for homeless

September 21, 2018 — "The use of the criminal justice system to punish those whose only crime is being poor and without housing is not worthy of our great nation. It is unconstitutional and, moreover, it is bad public policy. "Such policies only reinforce and strengthen the vicious cycle

Learn more »

Marshall Leve: No Party Preference is liberating

September 21, 2018 — After 62 years as a registered Republican, I needed a change – where to go? No Party Preference allowed me to consider all party positions and all candidate options. I now recommend NPP. I reviewed the First Congressional District incumbent's recent actions. I was not

Learn more »

Kate Laferriere: Interfaith Food Ministry appreciates the summer support

September 21, 2018 — During the summer, donations of food and funds are traditionally at their lowest. However, Interfaith Food Ministry knows they can depend upon Grocery Outlet. For the third year in a row, during the month of July, generous shoppers, inspired by enthusiastic cashiers and the passion

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

September 21, 2018 —

Learn more »

Feedback

September 21, 2018 — The following comments were posted at TheUnion.com or The Union's Facebook page: On "Coverage of 1st District congressional debate between Audrey Denney and Doug LaMalfa": Wendi August — Audrey is up to date with issues and has clearly done her research. Doug sounds like a

Learn more »

Mikos Fabersunne: Conflating campus activism with anti-Semitism

September 21, 2018 — Thomas Elias, as he has done in past columns, conflates campus activism directed against Israel with anti-Semitism (Sept. 7). He represents the movement of Zionism, which from the late 19th century has promoted founding a Jewish state in Palestine, and since the 1920s has recognized

Learn more »

Our View: We’ve got a lack of forums in 1st Congressional District race

September 21, 2018 — Graeagle, a great outdoors resort area, is a poor place for a political forum. This isn't a knock to the League of Women Voters of Plumas County, which did an outstanding job hosting Monday's forum between Audrey Denney and U.S. Rep. Doug LaMalfa. It's instead

Learn more »

Mark Wilson: Get represented in Congress

September 20, 2018 — Since 1789, when the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives were established, the House was designed to represent the will of the people. In those early days, Senate members were elected by the state legislatures, but members of the House have always been elected

Learn more »

Don and Sandra Kewman: Reaching across the aisle for the greater good

September 20, 2018 — In today's political climate, rarely does one come across an issue that is truly bipartisan. This just happened when Senator Feinstein (D) cosponsored the Senate version of a bill that Congressman LaMalfa (R) cosponsored in the House: the BOLD Infrastructure for Alzheimer's Act. We are

Learn more »

Robert Wolaver: Words of wisdom

September 20, 2018 — Concerning our represent political situation, here are some eternal words of wisdom from one of our highly distinguished and respected Founding Fathers, Alexander Hamilton: "The truth unquestionably is, that the only path to a subversion of the republican system of the Country is, by flattering

Learn more »

Don Rogers: The secret to life, and shoes

September 20, 2018 — Does the "I'm not worthy" voice ever go away? Alas, not for me. So my strategies and tactics for myself concern forging ahead anyway. Into the water, into the fire, into new towns, writing and sometimes performing the task that frightens some people more than

Learn more »

Jo Ann Rebane: On the Pneumonia Cruise

September 19, 2018 — When you think of taking a cruise, then whale sightings, castles along the Rhine, or an island paradise come to mind. Just a couple of months ago I unexpectedly became a guest on the great ship HMS Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital, to enjoy their Pneumonia

Learn more »

Hits & Misses: Betty Ford representation a MISS in Nevada City’s Constitution Day Parade

September 19, 2018 — Each week we'll run through the sublime, the trivial and profound issues, decisions and goings on that strike us as Hits or Misses. You can join in, too, by emailing your Hits & Misses to editboard@theunion.com. MISS (from reader Charlene Gomes): To Betty Ford being

Learn more »