Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Rich Howell: Republicans should withhold vote for LaMalfa

October 23, 2018 — As might be expected, Doug LaMalfa, without a list of accomplishments of his own, has attacked his opponent with a series of misrepresentations and half-truths. LaMalfa, no longer wishing to be tied to the Republican tax give-away, written by lobbyists and hedge fund managers to

Learn more »

Jinx Larive: Regarding Brett Kavanaugh

October 23, 2018 — Senator Hirono, Thanks to you, we have made our last trip to Hawaii. Your comments about Brett Kavanaugh and men in general are pathetic. Maybe we should go back to 49 states. Impeach Hawaii. I do believe your actions will help the Republicans maintain the

Learn more »

Brent Hastey: Proposition 3 deserves your attention

October 23, 2018 — In November, voters will face a string of initiatives. As the chairman of the Yuba Water Agency and the president of the Association of California Water Agencies, I encourage you to take a good, hard look at Proposition 3, the Water Supply and Water Quality

Learn more »

Karen Perry: NID can’t have my fire egress

October 23, 2018 — Raise your hand if you've smelled and breathed smoke in the air this summer. How about heard or seen a Cal Fire plane flying overhead? Anyone lived in the area long enough to have started packing the car at least once because a fire was

Learn more »

Fran Freedle: Support Smethers for sheriff

October 23, 2018 — There is an easy choice in the race for Sheriff. Bill Smethers is the one who has the overwhelming support of the women and men who work to keep our community safe. He has the endorsement of the Deputy Sheriff's Association, Correctional Officers Association, Fire

Learn more »

Jeff Kane: Let’s name it: bullying

October 22, 2018 — Some of the online comments that follow The Union's opinion columns seem written not to discuss, but only to attack. A few writers evidently intend to "win" arguments by arrogantly and childishly insulting adversaries. Staying on the offensive doesn't make them effective, just literally offensive.

Learn more »

Robert Lobell: We draft jurors; why not judges?

October 22, 2018 — The executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government are meant to act independently, and to check and balance each other. However, the president appoints federal court judges and nominates judges for the Supreme Court, but they're invariably members of the same political party. Furthermore, SCOTUS

Learn more »

Cynthia Hren: District 1 needs a true conservative record

October 22, 2018 — Have you noticed all the Audrey Denney for Congress signs that have been sprouting up all over Nevada County? Ms. Denney, a 34-year-old agricultural educator, is very enthusiastic and persuasive about her idealistic socialist agenda. Her campaign slogan is "People over Politics" on her website.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

October 22, 2018 —

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: If there really is a blue wave, which seats go Dem?

October 22, 2018 — Nowhere has talk of an impending "blue wave" sweeping Democrats into Congress and Republicans out been louder and more constant this fall than in California, where the GOP held only 14 of the state's 53 House seats even before election season began. But as the

Learn more »

Lindy Schasiepen: Big Brothers Big Sisters gets a new look

October 21, 2018 — Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nevada County and North Lake Tahoe, which creates long-lasting, meaningful mentoring relationships for youth, rolled out a new brand look. This new brand helps the organization to remain relevant and make an impact through mentoring in North Tahoe, Truckee, Grass

Learn more »

George Boardman: Brave new world it isn’t ready for you either

October 21, 2018 — The brave new world is coming your way whether you want it or not, but that doesn't mean you have to be in a hurry to embrace it. In fact, you'll be better off if you resist the urge to be the first kid on

Learn more »

Karen Koskey: Missing Gretchen Serrata

October 21, 2018 — Andy Lovato wrote a wonderful tribute to an amazing woman and asked others to share memories. I met Gretchen Serrata at a Wildlife Rehabilitaton & Release fundraiser at WildBirds Unlimited. We were there with our wildlife ambassadors, when a young boy walked up. He immediately

Learn more »

Margaret Carr: Thanks to Tri Counties Bank

October 21, 2018 — Dear Julie McEnroe and Georgie Geiger of Tri Counties Bank, On behalf of Soroptimist International of the Sierra Foothills, I'd like to thank you both for allowing our club to use the Tri Counties Bank parking lot in Brunswick for our Annual Vintage and Yard

Learn more »

David Briceno: SCOTUS saved California

October 19, 2018 — What initiatives are on the November ballot most certainly matter. But sometimes what didn't make it on it can be just as significant in importance. A politically motivated, California-hating billionaire financed the entire required signature-gathering process required for the "3 Californias" initiative to qualify for

Learn more »

Lynn Mehren-Costa: Soroptimists’ sewing event needs your help

October 19, 2018 — Calling all sewers! Soroptimist International of Grass Valley will be sewing dresses for the "Dress A Girl" and boy's shorts for the "Dress A Dude" projects on Nov. 17. These organizations feel that a better dressed child will deter sex traffickers from taking that child.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

October 19, 2018 —

Learn more »

Craig Steiger: Save historic and scenic Highway 174

October 19, 2018 — Regarding the proposal to widen and straighten Highway 174: are we going to have 174 reflect the character of that wonderful countryside or raise the speed, straighten the road, put in passing lanes and make it reflect the character of the speeders? So you can

Learn more »

Tom Behlmer: LaMalfa’s voting record says it all

October 19, 2018 — The November elections will be here soon. Want to know where your Congressman Doug LaMalfa stands on the issues? Below is a brief summary. A reminder that just because a congressman votes a certain way on a bill, does not mean it will become law.

Learn more »

Mike Pasner: The change Nevada Irrigation District needs

October 19, 2018 — The upcoming election to fill spots on Nevada Irrigation District's board of directors is the most important election in the 32 years that I have been farming in Penn Valley. On Nov. 6, we will have the opportunity to fundamentally change "business as usual." The

Learn more »