Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Syd Brown: NID’s sham of a ‘special meeting’

October 14, 2018 — On Oct. 9, I had a memorable theater experience. I was reminded of the shocking shredding of the recently-auctioned Banksy art piece that self-destructed after the closing of the sale. NID hosted a special board meeting at the capacious Grass Valley Veterans Memorial Building, ostensibly

Learn more »

George Boardman: If you want to become misunderstood, become a senior citizen

October 14, 2018 — I will turn three quarters of a century old later this week, a significant event in some families but no big deal in mine, where nobody takes you seriously until you pass 80. When I reached my mid 30s, I started saying I've had too

Learn more »

Stephen Carlton: Vote for Herring

October 14, 2018 — Please join me in supporting Bruce Herring for the NID Board. Bruce has been a member of our community for decades and has shown a deep appreciation of our Nevada County water resources for just as long. Working as a hydrologist for over 35 years,

Learn more »

Evelyn Davis: A new sheriff in Nevada County

October 12, 2018 — Very soon we will have a "new sheriff in town." After 20 years of service, Sheriff Royal is stepping down. Nevada County has an opportunity for new leadership and a new direction for the sheriff's department. It's interesting that many of the same organizations that

Learn more »

Robert Wolaver: Party while the ship is sinking

October 12, 2018 — The latest Draft Environmental Impact Statement produced by President Trump's own EPA dated July 2018 clearly states that the EPA has determined and accepts that human activities are actually driving climate change and that we should expect a 7-degree increase in average world temperatures by

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Newsom: Expect some changes, but no clean slate

October 12, 2018 — A few feet behind Gavin Newsom as he sipped a drink in a coffee shop near Los Angeles International Airport, a tall man with a wet paint roller wiped a menu blackboard clear, giving the store a clean slate. But Newsom's words and attitudes in

Learn more »

C.J. Brady: If Centennial Dam damages local wells, who’s got our backs?

October 12, 2018 — Two years ago, at one of our county supervisor's town hall meetings, I first heard the question: "Will Centennial Dam damage local wells?" At that time, the supervisor didn't know the answer, but a couple of voices piped up from the back of the room,

Learn more »

Dan Baldwin: Kudos for pickles, flowers and the wonderful people of Grass Valley

October 12, 2018 — On a shopping trip to the Safeway market on Neil Street in Grass Valley today, I had yet another Safeway employee notice that this 72-year-old man was once again lost in the market. I am an old man who has rarely ever shopped for groceries

Learn more »

Our View: We must keep the integrity of our elections and vote

October 12, 2018 — The problems with California's voter registration system would be laughable if they weren't so serious. A series of state Department of Motor Vehicle errors resulted in problems with 23,000 voter registrations, which were revealed last month. Earlier this week the DMV announced that some 1,500

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

October 12, 2018 —

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: ‘Whether we like it or not, we’ve got to do it’

October 12, 2018 — This headline emphasizes the comment by Nevada County Supervisor Richard Anderson earlier this week when the supervisors voted to meet a state requirement to increase zoning for high-density housing. And whether the citizens of Nevada County like it or not, high-density housing is the wave

Learn more »

Michael Stahler: Shannan Moon connects with the people of Nevada County

October 11, 2018 — It has been my honor to campaign for Shannan Moon for the last several months. In that time, I have spoken to and connected with hundreds of voters in our county. What I have come to realize is how vitally connected Shannan Moon is with

Learn more »

Barbara Rivenes: Is this our future?

October 11, 2018 — A million and half people along the Southeast coast were ordered to evacuate their homes because a "superstorm" was on its way. Many thousands of Californians and those in other Western states were also evacuated last month when mega fires threatened and ultimately destroyed some

Learn more »

Sarah Wilson-Daley: Kavanaugh behaved like a spoiled brat

October 11, 2018 — This article is in reference to Manny Montes' recent opinion piece entitled, "Academia's mob mentality." First of all, if the Republicans do not like how Democrats are finally standing up to them, then the Republicans have only themselves to blame. President Obama nominated Merrick Garland,

Learn more »

Dee Mann: Grass Valley diversion of street funding not appropriate

October 11, 2018 — According to the Aug. 29 article in The Union, when a trail along Wolf Creek was initially approved by the Grass Valley City Council, the estimated total project cost was $500,000 but when the bids came in the lowest one was over double that amount

Learn more »

Don Rogers: A fast friend leaves us

October 11, 2018 — I read in the Sierra Sun my friend Marcie Bradley had passed. Her chances were slim, a return of cancer she had defeated before we met, this time in her brain. I hoped, oh I hoped, and prayed like lots of others she'd defy the

Learn more »

William Steele: Kavanaugh: what have we learned?

October 10, 2018 — Most of the nation watched last week as the Senate Judicial Committee considered the nomination of Brett Kavanaugh. Now that it's over, what stands out to you as most memorable parts of the process we witnessed? Here's a few to consider: Mitch McConnell commenting, "We're

Learn more »

Linda Siska: Mountain Art Quilters Exhibit on display

October 10, 2018 — The Mountain Art Quilters is a group of 50 fabric artists centered in the Sierra Foothills in Northern California. Members meet monthly in Nevada City to share their expertise, inspiration and ideas in producing beautiful works of art utilizing the latest in sewing, quilting, and

Learn more »

Dick Tracy: In politics, truth is stranger than fiction

October 10, 2018 — Suppose John Grisham, one of my favorite authors, were to approach a publisher with an outline for a book with the working title: "The Presidency." In it, a billionaire and egotistical show-biz celebrity — who's never run for any elected office — outmaneuvers a clutch

Learn more »

Hits & Misses in Nevada County: Cooler days a HIT

October 10, 2018 — Each week we'll run through the sublime, the trivial and profound issues, decisions and goings on that strike us as Hits or Misses. You can join in, too, by emailing your Hits & Misses to editboard@theunion.com. HIT (from Editorial Board member Becky Goodwin): To the

Learn more »