Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Greg Jones: Thank you for attending NID water rates meeting

March 20, 2019 — Thank you to those community members who attended, asked questions and provided feedback at Tuesday night's Cost of Service Study review and discussion at NID's Grass Valley offices. We greatly appreciate the level of interaction during last evening's public workshop, and look forward to the

Learn more »

Don Mortara: NID’s rate hike

March 20, 2019 — Are you an NID customer? Do you want to see your bill go up 25 to 100 percent? If not, then send a letter to NID and tell them "no hike." Do it now because if NID does not get your vote they will assume

Learn more »

Hits & Misses in Nevada County: ‘Active Measures’ a HIT

March 20, 2019 — Each week we'll run through the sublime, the trivial and profound issues, decisions and goings on that strike us as Hits or Misses. You can join in, too, by emailing your Hits & Misses to editboard@theunion.com. HIT (from reader George Carter): To the film "Active

Learn more »

Skip Pollard: Constitutional obligations

March 20, 2019 — As investigations into the Trump administration and organizations continue, Republicans seem to have taken en masse to proclaiming the reason for such actions are either "Democrats hate Trump" (i.e.: "Trump derangement syndrome"), or that Dems are being vengeful because they lost the 2016 election. In

Learn more »

Shanti Emerson: Guess where I am

March 20, 2019 — As I look out of the window of the bus, I see homes painted vivid colors (often in three or more hues) — lavender, orange, chartreuse, turquoise, dusty pink, crimson. San Francisco's painted ladies? No, guess again. People say Tata with regularity. London, you ask?

Learn more »

Denes McIntosh: The pleasure of knowing pain

March 19, 2019 — Most everyone has suffered some degree of personal/emotional or situational hardship and misfortune in life. And many have been affected by at least one painful benchmark, including the death of friends or family, the perpetual ache, and disorientation, of divorce (whether it be one's own,

Learn more »

Vickie Stokes: NID’s money woes are self inflicted

March 19, 2019 — Gov. Jerry Brown ordered a series of stringent mandatory water restrictions on April 1, 2015 due to his misunderstanding of how to effectively deal with the drought. He ordered California's cities and towns to reduce water usage by 25 percent. However, Gov. Brown's water restrictions

Learn more »

Jo Ann Rebane: Waste not, want not

March 19, 2019 — It seems like it has been raining for months. There's lots of snow in the high country. At the end of February the Sierra snowpack was 144 percent of the historical average. Besides the water that is seeping into the ground (45.5 inches of rain

Learn more »

Jeffrey Peach: Fire safety on Banner Mountain

March 18, 2019 — Over the last decade, the frequency and intensity of wildfires in California have increased dramatically. The recent Camp Fire in the Paradise area should be an eye opener for all residents of Banner Mountain because our terrain, fuel loadings, and communities are very similar to

Learn more »

John Palmer: Get ready to party!

March 18, 2019 — It is time my friends to begin planning for the biggest, most joyous celebration our country has ever seen. It will be happening soon and without much notice, so we must be ready. Public servants, get ready to issue permits to close streets for public

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

March 18, 2019 —

Learn more »

Roger Hagen: Where is my medicine?

March 18, 2019 — In response to Ron Lowe's letter of Feb. 12 "universal basic income". Where is my medicine? Roger Hagen Grass Valley

Learn more »

John Fleming: Favoritism to LaMalfa?

March 18, 2019 — LaMalfa must have friends at The Union. A recent front page article speaks highly of his bill to return funds to the feds for the High Speed Rail Project. Buried on the back page is the AP story of the anti-Semitism bill that passed in

Learn more »

Ricki Heck: Gratitude on Greenhorn

March 18, 2019 — Recently a massive tree fell across Greenhorn Road in Grass Valley about a quarter of a mile in. This blocked all residents from coming and going, essentially trapping us in our homes. A kind and generous neighbor living at the top of Liquid Amber Road,

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: After death penalty reprieves, multiple Mansons confront Newsom

March 18, 2019 — Given the obvious proclivities of the California Board of Parole Hearings, it shouldn't surprise anyone that multiple "Manson Family" members are and will soon be up for release, just short of 50 years after they helped carry out the most notorious murders of the 20th

Learn more »

Hilary Hodge: The Methodist Church and the LGBTQ community

March 17, 2019 — It's 1988. I'm tall for my age but my feet still don't touch the ground when I'm sitting in the pew. I'm 8 years old and wearing a pink lacy dress with tights, swinging my feet. My mother is the pianist at Byron United Methodist

Learn more »

Donna Prince: Crab and shrimp feed a success

March 17, 2019 — The members of Higgins Diggins Lions Club wants to thank everyone in our community who attended and supported our annual "Crab & Shrimp Feed" in February. Our two-day event served 1,450 pounds of crab, 220 pounds of shrimp, 25 gallons of pasta, 70 loaves of

Learn more »

George Boardman: TV news can’t match newspapers, if you want the full story

March 17, 2019 — There have been a couple of complaints in this very newspaper in recent weeks about biased or incomplete coverage of news events on television. The basic complaint seems to be that television news isn't more like newspapers. The first complaint was lodged last month by

Learn more »

Diane Dean-Epps: Newsom can fix homeless; meanwhile, more yarn

March 15, 2019 — Acting as a sheet of sorts, the paper bag is mostly underneath him. He looks uncomfortable. And cold. And so, so tired. And that combination does it. I may have been walking past him, but I can't look past him. Nor should I. I see

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: The shame of our dying mothers and children

March 15, 2019 — I'm feeling a certain shame over how little we, as a nation, care about our mothers and children. I say that because the articles I've been reading lately should evoke a bit of shame in each of us, because many of our government leaders apparently

Learn more »