Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Ralph Silberstein: Idaho-Maryland Mine, again

September 24, 2018 — The Idaho-Maryland Mine was recently acquired from Emgold Mining by Rise Gold Corp., a junior mining company from Canada. The prior Canadian owner, Emgold Mining, spent years trying to get the mine opened and failed. Due to immense environmental impacts, financial obstacles and public opposition,

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Why ‘no cash bail’ will pass legal muster

September 24, 2018 — "Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted." — 8th Amendment, United States Constitution (part of the Bill of Rights) Less than two hours after Gov. Jerry Brown signed California's landmark new "no cash bail" law, the

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

September 24, 2018 —

Learn more »

Joseph Reisdorf: Denney the only choice

September 24, 2018 — The contrast between our current and future representation in Congress was on vivid display during the debate Sunday afternoon between Audrey Denney and Doug LaMalfa. What we saw was a young, engaging, and committed woman who offered solutions and fresh approaches to the issues facing

Learn more »

Jack Clute: Thanks for the season, Rossi

September 24, 2018 — Just wanted to give a shout out and thank you to Alexander Rossi for giving us some very exciting times this whole Indycar season. It has been a pleasure watching both his racing and interviews. On the track and off, there was great intelligence shown.

Learn more »

Joan Lewis Szalay: Fly the flag low or show no respect

September 23, 2018 — Well I have to say this! Mr. Trump (The Man For America) will not allow the American Flag to fly at half staff for John McCain until his is laid to rest. What kind of man would show such disrespect for one of America's greats?

Learn more »

Louise Johnson: Seeley has record of education success

September 23, 2018 — Appointed unanimously by the Board of Trustees in 2017, Pat Seeley is the current Nevada Joint Union High School Board Trustee for South County, District 5. Running for re-election to continue to positively impact the education of our youth, Pat is widely endorsed and supported

Learn more »

Kurt Reynolds: Petty and small? How about deplorable and despicable?

September 23, 2018 — OK Paul Elias, I read your letter about petty and small. There isn't much prettier or smaller than complaining about President Trump being exactly who he is. Especially almost two years after the election. How petty was President Obama to feed America horrible lies about

Learn more »

George Boardman: Isn’t it time for the Sheriff’s Office to start using body cameras?

September 23, 2018 — Residents of Nevada County say they want more transparency from public agencies, but the willingness of these bodies to shine more light on their activities has been mixed at best. The Board of Supervisors and the Grass Valley and Nevada City councils provide more information

Learn more »

Denes McIntosh: Darkness illuminates the stars in the sky

September 23, 2018 — Early one morning a friend of mine said, "I feel sorry for anyone who is not me today." Well now, that can certainly be construed as an egocentric, vain, and self-righteous statement if one were looking to criticize my friend. It could certainly be translated

Learn more »

Marshall Leve: No Party Preference is liberating

September 21, 2018 — After 62 years as a registered Republican, I needed a change – where to go? No Party Preference allowed me to consider all party positions and all candidate options. I now recommend NPP. I reviewed the First Congressional District incumbent's recent actions. I was not

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Credibility of recalls makes life tougher for pols (as it should)

September 21, 2018 — Something has changed in California politics as the political class gets serious about this fall's statewide election: Despite what has lately amounted to single-party rule in America's most populous state, there's a new insecurity in the air. That's because of two successful recall moves against

Learn more »

Kate Laferriere: Interfaith Food Ministry appreciates the summer support

September 21, 2018 — During the summer, donations of food and funds are traditionally at their lowest. However, Interfaith Food Ministry knows they can depend upon Grocery Outlet. For the third year in a row, during the month of July, generous shoppers, inspired by enthusiastic cashiers and the passion

Learn more »

Becky Goodwin: Help wanted: therapist for the nation

September 21, 2018 — Sometimes I think this entire nation needs therapy! We wound each other daily with both passive and aggressive attacks, from snarky comments behind other's backs to screaming road rage. We are in a nightmare of family feuds, political divisions, theological conflicts, economic disparities and environmental

Learn more »

Pauli Halstead: Housing, not handcuffs, for homeless

September 21, 2018 — "The use of the criminal justice system to punish those whose only crime is being poor and without housing is not worthy of our great nation. It is unconstitutional and, moreover, it is bad public policy. "Such policies only reinforce and strengthen the vicious cycle

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

September 21, 2018 —

Learn more »

Feedback

September 21, 2018 — The following comments were posted at TheUnion.com or The Union's Facebook page: On "Coverage of 1st District congressional debate between Audrey Denney and Doug LaMalfa": Wendi August — Audrey is up to date with issues and has clearly done her research. Doug sounds like a

Learn more »

Mikos Fabersunne: Conflating campus activism with anti-Semitism

September 21, 2018 — Thomas Elias, as he has done in past columns, conflates campus activism directed against Israel with anti-Semitism (Sept. 7). He represents the movement of Zionism, which from the late 19th century has promoted founding a Jewish state in Palestine, and since the 1920s has recognized

Learn more »

Our View: We’ve got a lack of forums in 1st Congressional District race

September 21, 2018 — Graeagle, a great outdoors resort area, is a poor place for a political forum. This isn't a knock to the League of Women Voters of Plumas County, which did an outstanding job hosting Monday's forum between Audrey Denney and U.S. Rep. Doug LaMalfa. It's instead

Learn more »

Mark Wilson: Get represented in Congress

September 20, 2018 — Since 1789, when the U.S. Senate and U.S. House of Representatives were established, the House was designed to represent the will of the people. In those early days, Senate members were elected by the state legislatures, but members of the House have always been elected

Learn more »