Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Our View: Nevada County keeps reaching for the information superhighway

December 14, 2018 — In Nevada County, it's more of a country road instead of an Information Superhighway. Plenty of folks here have good reason to complain about their inadequate internet connection. Others turn their cell phones into hot spots just to get online. No surprise then that Nevada

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Should undocumented have all rights? Brown said no

December 14, 2018 — There is a school of thought, mostly pushed by Latino activist politicians, which says undocumented immigrants contribute to American life and prosperity and therefore should have virtually all the rights of citizens. For a long time, it appeared an unlimited granting of rights previously reserved

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

December 14, 2018 —

Learn more »

Jeanette George: Home insurance crisis is here

December 14, 2018 — I read Thomas Elias' article about the insurance crisis being almost upon us. And yes, it's here. I have been with CSAA for over 35 years. We have a home in the Bay Area and one here in Grass Valley. We also have multiple vehicles

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: Trump the ‘megalomaniac’

December 14, 2018 — Donald Trump is an embarrassment as president. Did you see the televised encounter in the Oval Office? It's the Trump wall again — his great big beautiful wall — and if he doesn't get it he will shut down the government. It's the Republican way.

Learn more »

Ray Bryars: Evacuation routes must be known before the fire

December 13, 2018 — First a big "thank you" to all the agencies involved in the Wildfire Prevention and Preparedness Town Hall meeting on Dec. 5. It is comforting to know that there is a much greater acceptance of how vulnerable we all are to being impacted by a

Learn more »

Virginia Moran: Let’s follow Truckee’s lead with more open space

December 13, 2018 — Regarding the Sierra Sun's article, "New Community Park Planned for Downtown Truckee," yes, this is just what east Nevada County/Placer County needs, yet another park! More open space! Good for you! While on the western side of Nevada County, more development is planned on top

Learn more »

Don Rogers: The dragon’s gift

December 13, 2018 — Film can't take you into that cold, thank God. It can't put you on skis that won't slide on Antarctic sandpaper disguised as an ice shelf. It can't make you comprehend a life that snaps cleanly in two — before a snowmobile jump gone awry,

Learn more »

Grant Shatto: The hidden dangers carbon monoxide poisoning

December 13, 2018 — I read Cory Fisher's article on Dec. 11 about Jennifer Winders and carbon monoxide poisoning. This article hit extremely close to home with me, as most of my entire family, seven of us, were very nearly overcome with carbon monoxide in our home in Pennsylvania

Learn more »

Dick Tracy: Confessions of a former fat guy

December 12, 2018 — "Do you exercise?" The question came from my acupuncturist, Dr. Dennis Tucker, as he skillfully inserted needles into my lower legs. "We have a ranch," I said, "and I keep fairly busy with irrigation, wood cutting and piling, fence repair and weed control." "But do

Learn more »

Hits & Misses in Nevada County: Take a bow for this weekly ‘must-read’

December 12, 2018 — Each week we'll run through the sublime, the trivial and profound issues, decisions and goings on that strike us as Hits or Misses. You can join in, too, by emailing your Hits & Misses to editboard@theunion.com. HIT (from reader George Carter): To Hits & Misses!

Learn more »

Hollie Grimaldi Flores: The ‘stuff’ we really need

December 12, 2018 — There have been several times in my life when I have had to "start over." The first time was when I moved out of my parents' home and started out on my own. I had very few possessions, when I moved in with a girlfriend

Learn more »

Robb Wilmot: Home insurance companies canceling in Nevada City

December 12, 2018 — Home insurance companies canceling local policies AAA just canceled our home insurance with 60 days notice. I called several other large insurance companies who asked for the zip code and all said they weren't writing insurance for 95959 anymore. There is obviously an industry cartel

Learn more »

Pauli Halstead: Proposed HOME team project

December 11, 2018 — A public hearing was held Dec. 7 at the Nevada County Mental Health Board for review of the proposed Homeless Outreach and Medical Engagement Team (HOME) plan. The plan was voted "approved" by the board and will now go to the state Mental Health Services

Learn more »

Shanti Emerson: Organ recitals and revitalizing creams

December 11, 2018 — As Bette Davis said, "Getting older is not for sissies." Boy, you can say that again! Every time I think that my body parts are fine, something else breaks down. The right knee has been repaired, then goes the left one. When both knees are

Learn more »

Jonathan Pierce: Crunch the numbers: single-payer medical care makes sense

December 11, 2018 — Regarding a single payer medical care plan for California, one cannot wisely avoid getting down into the weeds to properly understand its financing. That's where the insurance/hospital chains/pharmaceuticals oligarchs are ginning up fearful, ill-informed opposition. "Whoa — $36.2 trillion over 10 years!" But with the

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: California voters enjoy 30 years of gift to themselves

December 10, 2018 — As this winter's gift-giving season proceeds, California voters might want to pause a moment and pat themselves on the back for a gift that has lasted 30 years: Proposition 103. If there ever was a ballot measure proving the effectiveness of direct democracy, making policy

Learn more »

Dan Howell: Living in the forest, but not taking responsibility

December 10, 2018 — On the morning of Thursday, Nov. 8, a wildfire ignited near Pulga, Calif. What followed was the burning destruction of the town of Paradise. This led to 153,336 acres burned, 13,954 homes and approximately 2,500 other buildings destroyed. Sustained winds of 32 mph and gusts

Learn more »

Ron Barker: Grass Valley’s Peace Lutheran Church sends $8K to Camp Fire relief

December 10, 2018 — Many thanks to the 275 people who attended our "Dueling Organs … and More!" concert on Nov. 25 at Peace Lutheran Church. This concert featured the choirs from Peace and Emmanuel Episcopal churches. Plus, the amazing musicians and showmen Thomas Greathouse and Walt Strony presented

Learn more »

Robin Diel: What you won’t hear …

December 10, 2018 — With President George H.W. Bush's death, you will hear appreciation for his character, bipartisanship and commitment to public service. You will also hear about the demise of moderate Republican statesmanship. There are two topics you won't hear from the national media as they lament the

Learn more »