Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Joan Merriam: The slaughter continues

February 21, 2018 — This feels like the replay of a bad horror film. A hideously-repetitive Groundhog Day. Once again, a mass shooting has devastated an American school. This time, 17 children and adults are dead. How can we tolerate this continued slaughter? I'm not tolerating it, you respond:

Learn more »

Malen ‘Jim’ Jacobs: Weary of the homeless?

February 21, 2018 — I'm weary of reading of all the proposals to enable the homeless in our community. I'm not homeless and never have been, but if I was I would want to be in a place that would be safe, dry and warm in the winter. We

Learn more »

Brian Hamilton: It’s not ‘us vs. them’

February 20, 2018 — It was the bylines that got me flipping through the scrapbooks. Newsprint clippings beneath "The Union" flag first caught my eye, with the familiar names of colleagues long ago who once covered what's become an annual visit by Tibetan monks to our community. Carol Feineman,

Learn more »

Chris Enss: The rage of the ‘haves’

February 20, 2018 — It seems the latest rage that's all the rage is road rage. I recently witnessed a shouting match between two women drivers in the Penney's parking lot over who had the right to back out of their space first. The women were cursing and spitting

Learn more »

Richardt Stormsgaard: On the GOP’s great tax scam

February 20, 2018 — Terry McLaughlin's recent two op-eds about the "Tax Cuts and Jobs Act" picked out isolated bits thrown to taxpayers (Jan. 18) and to employees of large companies (Feb. 1) to mask the massive wealth transfer from poor to rich, and reiterated the myth that if

Learn more »

Charles Bednar: Tail-gunner Tom takes to McCarthy tactics

February 19, 2018 — Speaking in support of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act on Dec. 19, Tom McClintock borrowed a page from Republican Sen. Joe McCarthy's 1950s' playbook, labeling anyone who disagrees with him a "Marxist". Joseph McCarthy was a U.S. senator from 1947 to 1957. In 1950,

Learn more »

Crabb Cartoon: It Takes A Village Idiot

February 19, 2018 — R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: If undisciplined, GOP won’t make fall ballot

February 19, 2018 — It's well established that the California Republican Party has been almost without influence in the state's public affairs for years, but at least until now it has always placed someone on the fall runoff ballot running for at least one top state office. That streak

Learn more »

Shanti Emerson: Enough with the fear, let’s deal with reality of cannabis

February 19, 2018 — Cannabis, cannabis, cannabis — that's all we seem to hear about in Nevada County these days. Ranging from elation to fear, we hear the gamut of emotions during the same conversation with friends and family. Six weeks after recreational cannabis has been legalized following approval

Learn more »

Becky Goodwin: Easy access to rapid-fire weapons a big problem

February 18, 2018 — On Valentine's Day I turned on the TV news and found an eerily familiar scene: reporters at a school massacre. Gun violence in America. Again. Here we go, with thoughts and prayers, grief counselors, memorial services, tributes to the heroic responders, candles and bouquets at

Learn more »

Don Bessee: Again, why should the neighborhoods suffer?

February 18, 2018 — We have been having a long conversation about commercial marijuana's impacts on communities and neighborhoods. During the Prop 64 lead up and campaign there were some very interesting conversations and warnings. I set up a press conference in late October 2016 in the heart of

Learn more »

George Boardman: Doug LaMalfa’s ‘Harvest Box,’ and the power of the press

February 18, 2018 — Rep. Doug LaMalfa has been a relentless advocate for cutting food stamp spending since being elected to congress, embracing the Republican tradition of punishing the poor because … well, they're poor. The fruits of his labor could be seen last week when President Donald Trump

Learn more »

Don Pelton: Wolf Creek Community Alliance, from vision to action

February 16, 2018 — One day in the fall of 2002, local contractor Jonathan Keehn had an unforgettable experience while walking along a stretch of Wolf Creek in downtown Grass Valley. He described that experience a couple of months later in an influential article for The Union: "I was

Learn more »

Terry Lamphier: Questions about Grass Valley’s new tax proposal

February 16, 2018 — In June, voters will decide whether to repeal Grass Valley's existing temporary tax and replace it with a permanent one twice as big. Proponents assure us that the funds will be used for more police and fire personnel and road improvements, with oversight by local

Learn more »

Feedback

February 16, 2018 — The following comments were posted at TheUnion.com or The Union's Facebook page: On "NID fears pot grows could make water conservation more challenging": Gerry Gates — If NID was serious about water conservation, they would have joined most other water agencies in California and taken

Learn more »

Rick Nolle: Unintended consequences of legalizing cannabis?

February 16, 2018 — I am not a user, detractor, supporter, opponent, or hater. I'm just a business guy who thinks the criminal element needs to be eliminated from the marijuana industry. Early on (with little real analysis) I said, "If you just use the simple business approach of

Learn more »

Craig Steiger: Fringe Festival talent astonishing

February 16, 2018 — Kudos to Nugget Fringe The recent Nugget Fringe Festival presented an astonishing array of local talent. In particular, I found the performance of "Mary Brave Eyes" exceptional. A play conceived and elaborated with a message of cultural and personal transformation. Karen Leigh Sharp, playwright and

Learn more »

Our View: More candidates bring our community more choices

February 16, 2018 — It's no easy task running for office. There's the endless series of gatherings that involve glad-handing potential voters. Add to that the need for contributions to fuel the engine of the campaign. And, of course, the specter — or reality — of mud-slinging that's become

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: The joy of reading ‘The Gold Star of Shanghai’

February 16, 2018 — Historical fiction provides us with some of the best reading. And local author Clifford Louis Gans has done a masterful job of relating an important part of Nevada County's gold fever history with what's happening today. In his book, "The Golden Star of Shanghai," Gans

Learn more »

Ardis Tobin: Abrupt closure lacked communication

February 15, 2018 — No, Dr. J. John Boeye, owner of Sierra Doctors Medical Group, you did not notify patients that the practice was closing. We arrived at the office to find a terse note on the door. I know many women (20 or so) who were her patients

Learn more »