Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Paul Moore: Dear Rep. LaMalfa, time for party values to be defined

June 22, 2018 — It is time to shake things up again. I have been somewhat patient for well over a year now trying to discover what the values of the Republican Party, and more specifically Mr. Trump, are. It seems that Mr. Trump's only real concern is personal

Learn more »

Manny Montes: Progressive movement jumping into abyss

June 22, 2018 — An extraordinary thing is happening right before our eyes. The implosion of the progressive movement, and its complicit ministry of propaganda, our news media, are jumping head first into the abyss, oblivious to the progressive ideological dangers of their descent. The incipient tyrant in every

Learn more »

Constance Holtz: An open letter to the Roamin’ Angels

June 22, 2018 — Dear Roamin' Angels, I accompanied my daughter, who took your 'Survive the Drive' course this year. I cannot thank you enough for organizing and putting on this wonderful course to help keep our local kids safe. This program — or one similar — should be

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

June 22, 2018 —

Learn more »

Our view: Keys to timely results

June 22, 2018 — The June 5 primary election has made one thing clear above all others — people want immediate results. Not half the results tabulated on election night. Not an additional 5,000 votes counted days later. They want all the votes, or enough of them that the

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: Experiencing life with Lucille and Molly

June 22, 2018 — Writing essays is my shtick. And I often enjoy taking photos to accompany my essays. So it should seem natural to everyone when I report that I read nearly every essay and commentary that appears on Pages 4 and 5 in The Union. But my

Learn more »

John Deam: Vote LaMalfa

June 22, 2018 — I, like Lia Lorton's recent letter to the editor, would like people to remember that Congressman LaMalfa wanted to nominate our president for the Nobel Peace Prize. Remember when you cast your vote that President Obama was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2009 "for

Learn more »

If you’re informed you care, then you vote

June 21, 2018 — The day after the recent primary election I had to take a long drive and consequently spent considerable time listening to various commentators on the car radio dissecting the results. Low voter turnout was a frequent subject. In Nevada County only 53 percent of registered

Learn more »

Dippy

June 21, 2018 — I would like to thank The Union for printing Mr. Berkheimer's enlightening opinion piece on June 9. I must be "dippy" but I didn't know that when Obama left office that there wasn't any poverty, homelessness, no full prisons, all undocumented immigrants were welcome and

Learn more »

Gregory J. Diaz: 2018 election sets high standards for faster vote counting, record turnout

June 21, 2018 — The Gubernatorial Primary Election this month in Nevada County is wrapping up as one of the most successful in our history. Among the wealth of statistics are these shiny nuggets: All votes will be tabulated by 5 p.m. today — two weeks earlier than ever

Learn more »

Terry McLaughlin: Hiring practice of Federal Aviation Administration leaves a number of questions

June 20, 2018 — A revamped hiring process for Federal Air Traffic Controllers put into place during the previous administration was designed to broaden the applicant pool. Critics, however, say it has threatened public safety by selecting candidates with no experience over graduates of rigorous aviation programs and military

Learn more »

Elaine Meckler: Women of Worth an aptly named nonprofit

June 19, 2018 — I want to thank The Union, Jennifer Nobles, reporter, and Elias Funez, photographer, for creating such a wonderful article about Women of Worth. They were very professional and extremely sensitive when asking questions. I wanted to add my thoughts to this wonderful and important story.

Learn more »

Linden development a terrible idea

June 19, 2018 — Linden development a terrible idea There are many reasons why it is a terrible idea to build 28 homes on the property at 652 Linden Avenue. The most significant is the fact that this land is wetlands with many underground springs which supports a very

Learn more »

Terry McAteer: Community press is binding force in Nevada County

June 19, 2018 — The concept of "freedom of the press" has been under greater scrutiny these past few years due to the proliferation of online news agencies and social media sites. This new era of being subjected to a barrage of instantaneous information has left us, the consumer,

Learn more »

‘The New Art Of The Deal’ By Kim Jong Un

June 18, 2018 — This is what happens when you go into a summit with very little preparation, depend on "feel and gut," and fly by the seat of your pants. Nothing. By nothing I mean nothing new that past presidents haven't already done, or what South Korea's President

Learn more »

Jack Sanchez: Saving fish and our local environment

June 18, 2018 — So far, Save Auburn Ravine Salmon and Steelhead has salmon up 22 of the 33-mile length of the Auburn Ravine, with all flashboard dams below Lincoln removed by owners no later than October 15 and not returned until April 15 to allow salmon and steelhead

Learn more »

The ‘acceptable’ way to die?

June 18, 2018 — In the June 8 issue of The Union there appeared an obituary dedicated to the life of Bill Walker. It describes a difficult early life and later on one of homelessness and alcohol abuse but eventual recovery and 24 years of being clean and sober.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Despite whiners, top two again works as planned

June 18, 2018 — It happens every two years during the spring primary election season: One major party or the other feels wronged by the Top Two primary system Californians adopted in 2010 and whines for months about its plight. In 2016, the griping came from Republicans whose vote

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

June 18, 2018 —

Learn more »

George Boardman: The slow count, playing with fire and resistance to housing solutions

June 17, 2018 — You can always tell the pioneers in Silicon Valley, the old saying goes: They're the people with arrows in their backs. The election officers in the five counties that volunteered to test drive the state's new all-mail voting system in the June 5 primary might

Learn more »