See who’s running for office in Nevada County |

See who’s running for office in Nevada County

The following list shows candidates who have filed their official paperwork and are running for office, not candidates who have said they’re running.

Candidates have until March 9 to file for elected office, or until March 14 if no incumbent files for a particular office.

See a list below of who’s running for local office and what day they formally declared:

Who’s running for office

Monday, Feb. 12

Scott Lay – superintendent of schools

Wednesday, Feb. 14

Tina Vernon – treasurer-tax collector

Friday, Feb. 23

Marcia Salter – auditor-controller

Wednesday, Feb. 28

Sue Hoek — Board of Supervisors, District 4

Glenn Jennings — district attorney

Monday, March 5

David Peterson — U.S. representative, District 1

Sue Horne — assessor

Gregory Diaz — clerk-recorder

Cliff Newell — district attorney

Dan Miller — Board of Supervisors, District 3

Tuesday, March 6

Mary Anne Davis – clerk-recorder

Thursday, March 8

Bill Smethers — sheriff

John Foster — sheriff

B. Scott Thomsen — judge

Thomas Anderson — judge

Robert Tamietti — judge

Friday, March 9

Shannan Moon — sheriff

Elise Strickler — clerk-recorder

Hilary Hodge — supervisor, District 3

John Crew — U.S. Senate

Evans Phelps — Nevada City Council

Pauli Halstead — Nevada City Council

Erin Minett — Nevada City Council

Duane Strawser — Nevada City Council

David McKay — Nevada City treasurer

Neil Locke — Nevada City treasurer


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.