National Merit semifinalists announced |

National Merit semifinalists announced

The Union Staff

The following students are semifinalists in the 2010 National Merit Scholarship Program:

• Bentley M. Lanterman and Forest Neff, students at Bear River High School in southern Nevada County.

• Amy L. Sullivan and Claire M. Sullivan, of Nevada Union High School in Grass Valley.

They are in the top 1 percent of students nationally in academic excellence; 16,000 students nationwide have reached that level of competition, based on preliminary SAT and other test scores. They will continue in the competition for about 8,200 National Merit Scholarships for $36 million, which will be offered in spring 2010.

The program recognizes academic excellence.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.