Three incumbents assured to return to Grass Valley City Council |

Three incumbents assured to return to Grass Valley City Council

There will be no election for Grass Valley City Council this November, as the three incumbents running for re-election have no challengers, elections officials said.

Jan Arbuckle, Howard Levine and Lisa Swarthout are assured another four years on the council. No election is necessary in races without challengers.

The period to declare for local office ended at 5 p.m. Friday. Candidates have until Wednesday to declare for an office that has no incumbent running for re-election.

Several school, fire and water districts across the region have contested races this November.

Both seats up for election on the Nevada County Board of Education are in contention.

Caleb Buckley, John Meeks and Ashley Newmann will try to unseat incumbent Tracy Lapierre for the Trustee Area 2 seat.

Wendy Baker and Marianne Slade-Troutman are running against Trustee Area 3 incumbent Trevor Michael.

The Twin Ridges Elementary School District also will have an election. Lisa Redmon has declared for the seat currently held by Stefanie Freydont.

Jessica Randolph, the other Twin Ridges trustee up for election, has no opposition.

Redmon opposed the closure of Washington School, which was in jeopardy earlier this year because of funding. Freydont initially voted to close the school, but later voted to keep it open under specific conditions.

The Nevada Joint Union High School District also has a contested race. Incumbent Katy Schwarz will face James Drew for the Trustee Area 3 seat.

Challengers Al Angulo and Cynthia Latimer will vie for the Area 4 seat, currently held by Michael Freedman. Records show that Freedman didn’t file for re-election.

Incumbent Jamie Reeves has no opposition for the Area 2 spot.

Two of the three seats on the Nevada Irrigation District board are in contention.

District 4 incumbent Will Morebeck will face Glenn D. Vineyard, Bill G. Smull and Laura L. Peters.

Maury Hull will challenge NID Division 3 incumbent W. Scott Miller.

Division 5 incumbent Nick Wilcox has no opposition.

The Higgins Fire District board has one seat in contention.

Dan Fitzgerald, an incumbent on the board, will face Martin Main and Scott Milligan. Incumbent Alex Crawford didn’t declare for office, records state.

To contact Staff Writer Alan Riquelmy, email or call 530-477-4239.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User