Second term for Weaver as mayor of Nevada City |

Second term for Weaver as mayor of Nevada City

Conley Weaver will stay on for a second term as Nevada City’s mayor, City Council members decided at their meeting Monday night.

“It makes it all worth the effort,” Weaver said after the vote.

Weaver was nominated by Councilman David McKay, who said he felt that the mayor’s background as an architect has helped the city face some of its ongoing technical concerns.

“He’s really impressed me and has really showed leadership skills. He is just a really excellent asset, as well as another pair of eyes and ears,” McKay said.

Weaver said he was proud of what the City Council has accomplished in the past year, including the opening of three new restaurants, the completion of a revised tree preservation ordinance, the success of various arts and cultural activities, and being the first city council to pass a resolution supporting the formation of the Sierra Conservancy.

The choice of Weaver for mayor was not unanimous, with Councilman Steve Cottrell nominating Councilwoman Sally Harris – the newest member of the elected group – for the job.

Harris voted for Weaver, however, as did Weaver himself, and Weaver won with a 4-1 vote.

Weaver then nominated Harris for vice mayor, and she was selected unanimously for this spot, replacing McKay as the second-in-command.

On the other hand, Cottrell, who is the longest-serving member of the City Council, was passed up yet again for the mayoral job. The choice of Weaver marks the 14th year Cottrell has been overlooked since his election in 1991.

In the past, Cottrell has pinned the lack of support from fellow council members on a few reasons, namely because he is a “centrist,” and over the years he felt the council has been either liberal or conservative but never aligned with him.

Later during the meeting, Cottrell apologized to City Manager Mark Miller and other staff members for any fallout from his disagreements from other City Council members. “Sometimes what happens between myself and the City Council gets in the way of serving the city.”

“Rest assured, I will retain the right to be cantankerous, outspoken, and even irritate others,” he said.

Mayors past and present

2005 – Conley Weaver

2004 – Conley Weaver

2003 – Kerry Arnett

2002 – David McKay

2001 – Kerry Arnett

2000 – Kerry Arnett

1999 – Tom Balch

1998 – Tom Balch

1997 – Harry Stewart

1996 – Harry Stewart

1995- Glenda Zanone

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User