Nevada County’s Izzy Martin among Irvine Foundation Leadership Award recipients |

Nevada County’s Izzy Martin among Irvine Foundation Leadership Award recipients

California State leaders will be on hand to recognize six recipients of the 2016 James Irvine Foundation Leadership Awards Thursday in Sacramento

In its 11th year, the Awards program recognizes and supports leaders who are advancing innovative, effective solutions to address significant issues facing California. The Irvine Foundation provides each recipient with $200,000, and helps them share their promising approaches with policymakers and practitioners.

Nevada County’s Elizabeth “Izzy” Martin, CEO of The Sierra Fund, is honored to receive this prestigious award for The Sierra Fund’s work to partner with scientists, regulators, government and tribal leaders to begin to clean up thousands of defunct gold mines posing a threat to the Sierra Nevada region and one of California’s most precious resources – water.

“Water is the new gold,” says Martin, “and we need an approach to conservation that recognizes how vital the Sierra Nevada region is to all of California.”

This year the Awards showcase leaders doing groundbreaking work to improve public safety through crime prevention and supporting victims; reduce the adverse effects of abandoned mines on water quality; curb Type 2 diabetes among youth through creative, peer-to-peer education; create manufacturing jobs in urban centers; and combat poverty in the Central Valley through job and life skills mentorship.

The event is slated for noon Thursday at the Sheraton Grand Hotel in Sacramento. The award recipients will also be honored during the Floor Session of the California State Senate at 9 a.m.

In addition to the recipients (see below), event speakers include the following guest presenters:

Don Howard, President and CEO, The James Irvine Foundation

Nancy McFadden, Executive Secretary to California Governor Jerry Brown

California Secretary of State Alex Padilla

California State Senator Bob Hertzberg (18th District)

California Assemblymember Kristin Olsen (12th District)

California Assemblymember Brian Dahle (1st District)

California Assemblymember Rob Bonta (18th District)

Also speaking will be the 2016 James Irvine Foundation Leadership Award recipients:

Lenore Anderson, Californians for Safety and Justice (Oakland)

Elizabeth “Izzy” Martin, The Sierra Fund (Nevada City)

Dr. Dean Schillinger, San Francisco General Hospital/UCSF Center for Vulnerable Populations (San Francisco)

Kate Sofis and Todd Rufo, SFMade/San Francisco Office of Economic and Workforce Development (San Francisco)

Peter Weber, Fresno Bridge Academy (Fresno)

About The Sierra Fund — The Sierra Fund is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, based in Nevada City, California. The Sierra Fund serves the 22-county Sierra Nevada region of California, and is dedicated to the mission of increasing and organizing investment in protecting and restoring the natural resources and communities of the region. We pursue our mission through advocacy to increase public attention and funding, philanthropic services to increase private funding, and strategic campaigns designed to address the region’s unique issues.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User