Nevada County civil grand jury names released |

Nevada County civil grand jury names released

At a swearing-in ceremony at the Nevada County Superior Court, the Honorable Thomas M. Anderson, Judge of the Nevada County Superior Court and the Presiding Judge of the Grand Jury, impaneled the 2014-2015 Nevada County Civil Grand Jury on June 13.

This year’s Grand Jury took office, effective July 1, 2014, and will serve until June 30, 2015.

The panel is unique in that only two states, California and Nevada, utilize the county civil grand jury to serve in a “watchdog” function for local government and public agencies. Grand Jurors are chosen by lottery, with the Presiding Judge of the Grand Jury having the statutory authority of final approval of the appointments.

Judge Anderson also announced the appointment of Grass Valley resident Keith Overbey as the 2014-2015 Nevada County Grand Jury Foreperson.

The 2014-2015 Grand Jury has a considerable number of carryover jurors which will aid in the continuity of the newly-impaneled grand jury. The current Grand Jury will include; Diana Beer, Don Branson, Peter Brost, Patricia Brown, Sharon Collins, Damon DeCrow, Kerry Drennan, JoAnn Marie, Gregory Marks, Elaine Meckler, Evelyn Nagafuchi, Robert Ogden, Mary Rosenberg, Dottie Ray Souter, Adrian “Bud” Springer, Walt Stickel, Charles Voorhis and Doug Wight.

The alternate jurors are; Paul Lodrige, Kelly Reuss and Siobahn Smart.

Additionally, Judge Anderson presented certificates of appreciation for their service to several 2013-2014 jurors who will not be returning. Those jurors include; Dan Baldwin, Marilyn Boudorian, Charles Field, Kelly Reuss and William Wasil.

The statutory requirements are that each Grand Juror:

• be a citizen of the United States;

• be at least 18 years of age;

• reside in Nevada County for at least one year before being selected;

• have ordinary intelligence and good character;

• possess a working knowledge of the English language;

• not presently serving as a trial juror in any court of the state;

• not having been a Grand Juror within one year of being selected (a juror may be held over for a successive term by the decision of the Presiding Judge of the Grand Jury);

• have not been convicted of a felony, and;

• not presently be serving as an elected official.

Additionally, please be advised that a request for information (made by Jeff Pelline of regarding the 2013-2014 Nevada County Grand Jury and the 2014-2015 Nevada County Grand Jury was received by the Nevada County Grand Jury on July 12, 2014. The Nevada County Grand Jury feels disclosure of the requested information is in the public interest and will contribute significantly to the public’s understanding of the Nevada County Grand Jury.

Response to request by The Union

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User