Nevada City planning commissioners elect new chair, vice chair |

Nevada City planning commissioners elect new chair, vice chair

Nevada City’s planning commissioners elected Stuart Lauters as the commission’s new chair Thursday.

Lauters replaced Dan Thiem, the group’s former chair.

Thiem called Thursday’s election “the great reshuffle,” noting that the commissioners change positions each August.

Steffen Hawkins-Snell was elected vice-chair, taking Lauters’ place.

The planning commission is a citizens group appointed by the city council which takes action on discretionary land use and architectural review proposals, and makes recommendations to the council on land use policy changes and design aspects of city projects.

Planning commission meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month, beginning at 1:30 p.m. at City Hall, 317 Broad Street.

To contact Staff Writer Matthew Pera, email or call 530-477-4231.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User