Grass Valley council will have new faces |

Grass Valley council will have new faces

The Grass Valley City Council will have at least two new members after incumbents Linda Stevens and Dee Mautino both failed to file for reelection by Friday’s 5 p.m. deadline.

“I’m not filing,” Mautino said. “I’m going to ride off into the sunset.”

Stevens was unavailable for comment, but she has filed to run for county supervisor in District 3 against John Spencer and former supervisor Bruce Conklin on Nov. 2. They are vying to fill the seat vacated earlier this year by Drew Bedwell, who resigned for medical reasons. (Grass Valley businessman Randy Hansen pulled out of the election this week.)

Grass Valley councilman Steve Enos waited until the last day for incumbents to file. The only other candidate for the three Grass Valley seats up for grabs is Dean Williams, according to the city clerk, Bobbi Poznik-Coover.

But Enos and Williams could get more competition, because the filing date was extended until 5 p.m. next Wednesday, which is

required by law after Mautino and Stevens did not file, the clerk said.

Planning Commissioner Lisa Swarthout said in July she was planning to run for council.

In the other major race on the Nov. 2 ballot, Olivia Diaz and Nate Beason are facing off for county supervisor in District 1.

In the City of Truckee, current county supervisor Barbara Green has filed for town council. She will run against two incumbents, Josh Susman and Ron Florian, for a four-year term. Two spots are available.

Town Council member Ted Owens has vacated his seat in order to replace Green as District 5 county supervisor. The two-year remainder of the term will be filled by Richard Anderson, who filed unopposed.

Here are the rest of the races for western Nevada County, according to County Clerk Kathleen Smith. Some of the town addresses were not available at press time:

Fire protection

district boards

Higgins Area Fire Protection District

– Michael A. Bryant, Auburn

– John L. Boykin Jr., Grass Valley

– Joseph Sherron, Grass Valley

Nevada County Consolidated Fire District

– John Leonard, Grass Valley

– Melvin W. Mouser, Nevada City

– Sherman Hanley

– Ralph Hitchcock, Nevada City

North San Juan Fire Protection District

– Edwin S. Beckenbach, North San Juan

– Robert E. Paulus Jr., Nevada City

– Frank A. Machi, Nevada City

– Pat Leach, Nevada City

Ophir Hill Fire District

– Beverly J. Martin, Grass Valley

– Andrew Goodrich, Grass Valley

– Kevin Menet, Grass Valley

– Frank Sousa

Peardale-Chicago Park Fire District

– Cheryl L. Domnitch, Grass Valley

– Alvin Urke, Grass Valley

Penn Valley Fire Protection District

– Bob Webster, Penn Valley

– Kurt Grundel, Penn Valley

– Randall Castro, Penn Valley

Rough and Ready Fire Protection District

– Sheridan H. Loungway, Rough and Ready

– Jack Henderson, Rough and Ready

– Jerry Allen Tittle Sr., Rough and Ready

School districts

Chicago Park School District

– Nancy Dewey, Grass Valley

– Edward Bourne, Jr., Grass Valley

Clear Creek Elementary School District

– Rita Hendrickson, Penn Valley

– David Wallace, Grass Valley

– Robert Bielen

Grass Valley School District

– Thomas J. Petitt, Grass Valley

– Frank Bennallack, Grass Valley

Nevada City School District

– Patricia Gerving, Nevada City

– Paula S. Campbell, Nevada City

Nevada County Board of Education

– John A. Smoak, Penn Valley – Trustee Area 2

– Joseph “Buck” Stovall – Trustee Area 2

– Marianne Slade-Troutman, Nevada City – Trustee Area 3

Nevada Joint Union High School District

– Katy Schwarz – Trustee Area 3

– Thomas Kays – Trustee Area 3

– Fredrick “Mark” Heauser – Trustee Area 4

– Vicki Downs – Trustee Area 4

Pleasant Ridge Union School District

– Roger White, Lake of the Pines

– Richard Lyon

– Pat Jones

– Terry Madsen

Pleasant Valley School District

– Tina Skrukrud

– Denise Loberg

Ready Springs Union School District

– Amanda Wilcox, Penn Valley

– Jill Woods

Sierra Joint Community College District

– David W. Parker, Nevada City – Trustee Area 7

– Aaron Klein – Trustee Area 7

– Scott Leslie – Trustee Area 3

– Robert Tomasini – Trustee Area 3

– Jerry Simmons – Trustee Area 4

Twin Ridges Elementary School District

– John Lee Kozlar, Nevada City

– Corina Lee Loving-Mills, Washington

– Cindy Foxfoot, Nevada City

– Dawn Thayer, Nevada City

– Doreen Fogle

Union Hill School District

– Gerald F. Martini, Grass Valley

– Dorothy J. Goodnow, Grass Valley

– Thomas Juan Browne, Grass Valley

– Patti Carter

Special districts

Bear River Recreation and Park District

– Nancy Guerland, Auburn

– Kara Johnson, Auburn- William Stone, Auburn

– Merlin Elders

– William Stone

Beyers Lane Community Services District

– Steve Hurlman

Mystic Mine Road Community Service District

– Sushila Mertens, Nevada City

– Jennie Longmire

– Richard Robertshaw

Nevada County Resource Conservation District

– Robert G. Ingram, Grass Valley

– David Vertin, Nevada City

– John Shilling

– Kenneth Roberts

Nevada Irrigation District

– Nick Wilcox, Penn Valley – Division 5

– George Leipzig, Penn Valley – Division 5

– John V. “Jack” Meeks, Penn Valley – Division 5

– Scott Miller, Grass Valley – Division 3

San Juan Ridge Recreation and Park District

– Heather Donesky

San Juan Ridge County Water District

– Michele Roush, North San Juan

– Rodney Statham

Washington County Water District

– Robert Thomas Hoskins, Washington

– Judith E. Stewart, Washington

– Deborah Marie Shipley, Washington

– Lisa Redmon, Washington

– Phillip A. Copening, Washington

Western Gateway Recreation and Park District

– James Sepeda

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User