Filing deadlines pass for some races |

Filing deadlines pass for some races

Final deadlines have now passed to file as a candidate for some local and state elections.

Another candidate nearly entered the race for the Nevada County Superior Court Judge first office, but Kristin Smith of Nevada City was announced as disqualified at 7 p.m. Wednesday night, leaving five candidates in the race for the seat vacated by veteran Judge Carl Bryan.

The deadline for declaring campaigns for offices without an incumbent running was Wednesday. The deadline for offices with an incumbent was March 10.

Each of the five candidates for Bryan’s seat at the bench Ð Thomas Anderson of Nevada City, Michael G. Colantuono of Penn Valley, Timothy Jensen of Grass Valley, Robert Litchfield Jr. of Auburn and Ray Shine of Grass Valley Ð had filed before Wednesday’s deadline.

Just two county races involve incumbents. Terry Lamphier, former Grass Valley planning commissioner, filed to run for Nevada County District 3 supervisor just two days before the deadline, setting up a race against Grass Valley incumbent John Spencer.

The only other Nevada County incumbent to be challenged is Clerk-Recorder Kathleen Smith, who faces competition from Grass Valley resident Gregory Diaz.

Two other county races lacking an incumbent are District 4 county supervisor and district attorney. Three candidates are running for each office.

In Nevada City elections, four people are running for two seats on the city council. Mayor Conley Weaver and Councilmember Kerry Arnett are the incumbents, and former Nevada City Planning Commissioner Barbara Coffman and current Planning Commissioner Sheila Stein the challengers.

Nevada City City Clerk and Office Operations Supervisor Cathy Wilcox-Barnes is running for a fifth term as city clerk against local attorney Yolanda Bachtell.

Grass Valley’s filing period for elections does not open until July 17.

Mayor Gerard Tassone and Councilmember Patti Ingram are the two Grass Valley elected officials with expiring terms.

In the race for state senator, incumbent Sam Aanestad (R-Grass Valley) will not face a primary opponent. Three challengers have filed to run for Aanestad’s District 4 seat in the Senate this fall, including Sutter County Democrat Paul R. Singh, Tony Munroe, Libertarian-Chico; and Robert Vizzard, Green-Newcastle.

State Assemblyman Richard Keene (R-Chico) is unopposed in the primary, but will run against Michael “Mickey” Harrington, (D-Magalia) in the fall.

In the race for congressional representative, incumbent John Doolittle (R-Roseville) will face competition from Auburn Mayor Mike Holmes in the Republican primary. Charles Brown of Roseville, Michael Hamersley of El Dorado Hills, and Lisa Rea of Lincoln will meet in the Democratic primary.


To reach staff writer Josh Singer, e-mail joshs@theunion .com or call 477-4234.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User