Dozens of western Nevada County candidates file for Nov. 4 elections by Friday’s deadline |

Dozens of western Nevada County candidates file for Nov. 4 elections by Friday’s deadline

Keri Brenner and
Dave Brooksher
Staff Writers

Dozens of candidates have filed to run in local races for the Nov. 4 general elections as of Friday’s candidates filing deadline, according to unofficial totals from the Nevada County Elections Office. Other late filings will be updated in Monday’s edition of The Union.

There are a total of four candidates vying for two open seats on the Grass Valley City Council so far, including incumbent councilman Jason Fouyer. He’s joined by Jim Firth, Jerri Glover and District 3 Supervisor Terry Lamphier.

Fouyer and outgoing Mayor Dan Miller are both finishing four-year terms on the council. Miller will move up to the Board of Supervisors as a result of the June primary election, leaving his seat on the council open.

When an incumbent chooses not to file for re-election, even if he’s been elected to another office, the city extends the filing deadline for five days.

This year it’s been extended to Aug. 13. That gives would-be candidates a few extra days to pick up a filing-packet at city hall, fill it out and return it with a minimum of 20 valid signatures from supporters no later than 5 p.m.

City staffers report that Firth and Fouyer have both filed their papers as of Friday, making their candidacy official. Glover and Lamphier still have several days before the deadline, and other candidates may still join in as well.

Glover, an entrepreneur with a legal and administrative background, said politics have little to do with her motivation to run for city council.

“Because I’ve received so much, it’s now time for me to give back,” Glover said. “That’s my motivation for wanting a council seat.”

Firth, chairman of the Nevada County Democrats, launched his campaign by calling out “the good old boys” of local politics. His platform includes opposition to additional shopping centers and national chain stores to Grass Valley.

Terry Lamphier is leaving his seat on the Nevada County Board of Supervisors after losing to Grass Valley Mayor Dan Miller in June. Lamphier was also appointed to the Grass Valley Planning Commission in 2005. His campaign platform includes respectful representation, quality police and fire services, good public works, less burdensome regulation and fiscal responsibility.

Jason Fouyer considered stepping down from the council to spend more time with his family, which includes two young daughters. He recently filed for re-election out of a sense of optimism with regard to the city’s new manager, Bob Richardson.

“We’re really on the cusp of doing some great things,” Fouyer said. “Somebody needs to bridge the gap between the young working families and our retired community.”

In other races:

Two candidates are in a runoff on Nov. 4 for an open seat as Nevada County Superior Court Judge, seat 1 — Nevada County Assistant District Attorney Anna Ferguson and federal prosecutor Robert Tice-Raskin.

The same is true for two candidates for Congress, District 1 — Heidi Hall and Doug LaMalfa.

Both sets of candidates were the top two vote-getters in their respective June primary elections.

Other filings include:

Nevada Irrigation District, division 1: Nancy Weber, and Nevada Irrigation District, division 2: John Drew.

Higgins Area Fire Protection District: Bruce Jones and John Boykin Jr.; Nevada County Consolidated Fire District: Keith Grueneberg, David Hanson and Mark Bass; North San Juan Fire Protection District: Durinda Kelley, Bruce Boyd and Marilyn Mociun; Penn Valley Fire Protection District: John Pelonio and William Adam Grizzell; Peardale-Chicago Park Fire Protection District: David Collins; and Ophir Hill Fire Protection District: Buckley Armacher and Eric Peterson.

Nevada County Board of Education, trustee area 1: Marianne Slade-Troutman, Larry Meek, and John W. Givens; Nevada County Board of Education, trustee area 2: John V. “Jack” Meeks and Michelle “Shelly” Sexton.

Nevada Joint Union High School District, trustee area 1: James Hinman and Linda Campbell; Nevada Joint Union High School District, trustee area 2: Georgia Coulter.

Clear Creek Elementary School District: Heino Nicolai, Tania Fisher and Michael McDaniel; Grass Valley School District: Bonnie Taylor, Paula Roediger and Jeanne Michael; Nevada City School District: Joshua Pack, Kathryn Baker Boswell and Sandy Hakala; Penn Valley Union Elementary School District: Debra Worth, Tina Skrukrud, Robert Moen, Carolyn Bronson, Nicole Van Vacas Gagnon and Ann Driver; Chicago Park School District: Charleen Dewitt, Dayna Wheeler and Joseph Henson; Pleasant Ridge Union School District: Angela Giordano, Laurette Muzio and Deanne Opdahl; Twin Ridges Elementary School District: Jessica Randolph, Stefanie Freydont, Ralph Henson, Rebecca Wayman and Mindi Morton; Union Hill School District: James Huber, Tami Stedman and Brian Rhodes.

To contact Staff Writer Keri Brenner, email or call 530-477-4239. To contact Staff Writer Dave Brooksher, email or call 530-477-4230.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User