Candidates who have already filed |

Candidates who have already filed

Following are potential candidates who, as of Monday, had filed their intentions to run on Nov. 2 ballots in western Nevada County. The filing period ends Friday.

Fire protection

district boards

Higgins Area Fire Protection District

• Michael A. Bryant, Auburn

• John L. Boykin Jr., Grass Valley

Nevada County Consolidated Fire District

• John Leonard, Grass Valley

• Melvin W. Mouser, Nevada City

North San Juan Fire Protection District

• Edwin S. Beckenbach, North San Juan

• Robert E. Paulus Jr., Nevada City

Ophir Hill Fire District

• Beverly J. Martin, Grass Valley

• Andrew Goodrich, Grass Valley

Peardale-Chicago Park Fire District

• Cheryl L. Domnitch, Grass Valley

Penn Valley Fire Protection District

• Bob Webster, Penn Valley

Rough and Ready Fire Protection District

• Sheridan H. Loungway, Rough and Ready

• Jack Henderson, Rough and Ready

School districts

Clear Creek Elementary School District

• Rita Hendrickson, Penn Valley

• David Wallace, Grass Valley

Grass Valley School Board

• Thomas J. Petitt, Grass Valley

• Frank P. Bennallack, Grass Valley

Nevada City School District

• Patricia Gerving, Nevada City

• Paula S. Campbell, Nevada City

Nevada County Board of Education

• John A. Smeak, Penn Valley – Trustee Area 3

• Marianne Slade-Troutman, Nevada City – Trustee Area 3

Nevada Joint Union High School District

• Katy Schwarz, Smartville – Trustee Area 3

• Fredrick “Mark” Heauser, Grass Valley

Pleasant Ridge Union School District

• Richard Lyon, Grass Valley

Ready Springs Union School District

• Amanda Wilcox, Penn Valley

Sierra Joint Community College District

• David W. Parker, Nevada City – Trustee Area 7

Twin Ridges Elementary School District

• John Lee Kozlar, Nevada City

• Corina Lee Loving-Mills, Washington

Union Hill School District

• Gerald F. Martini, Grass Valley

• Dorothy J. Goodnow, Grass Valley

• Thomas Juan Browne, Grass Valley

Special districts

Bear River Recreation and Park District

• Nancy Guerland, Auburn

Mystic Mine Road Community Service District (4-year term)

• Sushila Mertens, Nevada City

Nevada County Resource Conservation District

• Kenneth Roberts, Grass Valley

• Robert G. Ingram, Grass Valley

Nevada Irrigation District

• Nick Wilcox, Penn Valley – Division 5

• George Leipzig, Penn Valley – Division 5

• John V. “Jack” Meeks, Penn Valley – Division 5

San Juan Ridge County Water District

• Michele Roush, North San Juan

Washington County Water District

• Robert Thomas Hoskins, Washington

• Judith E. Stewart, Washington

• Deborah Marie Shipley, Washington

• Lisa Redmon, Washington

• Phillip A. Copening, Washington

Western Gateway Regional Recreation and Park

• James A. Sepeda, Rough and Ready

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User