Aanestad wins state Senate seat | TheUnion.com

Aanestad wins state Senate seat

John HartSam Aanestad gives his acceptance speech at the Republican headquarters on East Main Street in Grass Valley Tuesday night as his brothers Bill and Steve watch.
ALL | GrassValleyArchive

For the first time in about 100 years, a Nevada County resident is going to hold a state Senate seat.

And – since Nevada County is in overwhelmingly Republican districts for the state Legislature and U.S. Congress – it’s probably no surprise that Republican Sam Aanestad had an almost two-to-one advantage over Nevada City Democrat Marianne Smith in the State Senate District 4 race when half the precincts were counted.

“It’s been about a century, or so since Nevada County has had a state senator. I’ve got a fantastic staff … I hope the people put us to work,” Aanestad said early Tuesday evening at Nevada County Republican Headquarters in Grass Valley.

“It’s an awesome responsibility and a great honor,” he said.

Likewise, Rick Keene, the Chico Republican candidate for state Assembly District 3, had a roughly two-to-one advantage over Chico Democrat Stuart King.

And longtime U.S. Congressman John T. Doolittle of Rocklin enjoyed the same margin over Democrat Mark Norberg of Roseville.

Aanestad, who’s currently the state Assemblyman representing Nevada County, said he spent 10 times as much money in the Republican primary election when he faced Dick Dickerson, the assemblyman from Redding.

“That was the race,” Aanestad said.

Republicans are outnumbered almost two to one in the state Senate, but Aanestad was hopeful they’d pick up a seat in Tuesday’s election.

Smith said Monday that she had taken numerous road trips to visit towns in all 12 counties in the district. “I’ve walked (almost) every single town in the whole district,” said Smith, who couldn’t be reached for comment Tuesday night.

State Assembly Dist. 3 (57 percent of precincts reporting)

Rick Keen Republican 42,851 63.4 percent

Stuart King Democrat 21,830 32.2 percent

Jon Petersen Libertarian 3,001 4.4 percent

State Senate Dist. 4 (72.7 percent of precincts reporting)

Samuel Aanestad Republican 102,745 58.5 percent

Marianne Smith Democrat 63,261 36.0 percent

Robert Underwood Libertarian 9,712 5.5 percent

U.S. Congressional Dist. 4 (80.1 percent of precincts reporting)

John Doolittle Republican 104,925 65.2 percent

Mark Norberg Democrat 51,100 31.8 percent

Allen Roberts Libertarian 4,945 3.0 percent

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User