Learning briefs | TheUnion.com

Learning briefs

A countywide spelling tournament took place Nov. 2 at Nevada City Elks Lodge. The event drew 88 participants from public, and charter schools.

The Nevada County Superintendent of Schools Office coordinated the annual event which was sponsored by The Union.

After spending the morning testing their spelling ability, the following students qualified for the Elementary and Junior High Spelling Bees.

From the fifth and sixth grades, those who qualified for the elementary spelling bees were Sean Anderson from Deer Creek, Sanford Ballou from Magnolia, Kristen Burgess from Clear Creek, Erin Cummiskey from Chicago Park, Simon Ford from Chicago Park, Michael Jung from Union Hill, Joanna Troth from Clear Creek, and Emma Woods from Ready Springs.

Kristen Burgess won the first place in this group, with Sanford Ballou taking second place.

They are now qualified to attend the 2007 California State Elementary Spelling Championship in May at Sonoma State University.

From the seventh and eighth grades, those who qualified for the junior high spelling bees include Emma Arata from Chicago Park, Nick Clyde from Pleasant Valley, Leah Franke from Pleasant Valley, Daniel Goodnow from Union Hill, Chris Hoffman from Pleasant Valley, Kevin Pugel from Magnolia, Dayanna Sanchez from Magnolia, and Billie May Thorpe Ð Grass Valley Charter.

Kevin Pugel won the first place, with Chris Hoffman taking second position. These students now qualify to participate in the 2007 State Junior High Spelling Bee in San Rafael in May.


Bear River’s Future Farmers of America’s Ag Sales Team became national champions at the National FFA Agricultural Sales Career Development Event in Indianapolis, Ind., on Oct. 28.

The career development event was held in conjunction with the 79th National FFA Convention that also took place in Indianapolis.

Team members Alicia Guerra, Amanda Marquez, Stacey Jacobson, and Julisa Astle received individual gold medals, and tallied the most total team points out of the 39 Ag Sales teams from around the U.S. Alicia Guerra was placed second overall individual and Amanda Marquez won ninth overall individual.

Bear River’s Future Farmers of America team also sent two delegates to the National Convention. Hayley Loehr and Diana Paasch were two of 44 delegates representing California Future Farmers of America.

As delegates, Loehr and Paasch discussed issues, voted on FFA proposals, and toured different agricultural industries.


Have an item to submit to the Learning Page? Contact staff writer, Soumitro Sen at soumitros@theunion.com or call 477-4229.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User