Favorite books to curl up with | TheUnion.com
YOUR AD HERE »

Favorite books to curl up with

1. “So Many Good Books: A Year of Passionate Reading” by Sara Nelson ($22.95). When Sara Nelson, an editor, book reviewer and mother, set out to chronicle a year’s worth of reading, she discovered that the books chose her as much as she chose them. She discusses her favorite reads, why it’s OK not to finish a book and how her plans to read a book a week ran aground her first week out. “In reading, as in life, even if you know what you’re doing, you kind of don’t.”

2. “New Spring” by Robert Jordan ($22.95). The prequel to Jordan’s blockbuster “Wheel of Time” series. In this book, it is prophesied that a child will change the world ” a child born with enemies. And new to paperback, the 10th book in the series, “Crossroads of Twilight.”

3. “Michelangelo and the Pope’s Ceiling” by Ross King ($15). In 1508, powerful Pope Julius II commissioned an inexperienced painter by the name of Michelangelo to paint the ceiling of the newly restored Sistine Chapel. The book recounts the four extraordinary years of painting, politics and personal rivalries that swirled around both artist and pope. A terrific read!



4. “Jennifer Government” by Max Barry ($12.95). A black comedy set in futuristic America where corporations rule the world. When Hack Nike shoots customers to help promote sales for $2,500 sneakers, Jennifer Government is hot on his trail. This is wickedly fun satire about globalization and marketing hype.

5. “Amateur Marriage” by Anne Tyler ($24.95). A rich and compelling novel about a mismatched marriage and its consequences on three generations. Impulsive Pauline marries cautious Michael in the midst of World War II. When nearly 30 years later they begin to raise their grandchild, they find themselves still amateurs in the art of marriage.




6. “Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill: A Love Story with Wings” by Mark Bittner ($22). When Mark Bittner took a job with a rent-free apartment on Telegraph Hill, he discovered a unique San Francisco treasure: a flock of brilliantly colored wild parrots. Fascinated, he set out to get to know them and gain their trust, becoming a tourist attraction in his own right.

7. “The Marriage Casket” by Deborah Morgan ($5.99). The latest installment in the “Antique Lover’s” mystery series has an antiques dealer and former FBI agent solving a murder case when he discovers a marriage casket filled with old letters. Perfect for fans of “Antiques Roadshow” and complete with antiquing tips.

8. “Absolute Friends” by John LeCarre ($26.95). The master of espionage is back with a story that he has been building up to since the fall of Communism. This is an epic tale of loyalty and betrayal, spanning the lives of two friends from West Berlin, from the ’60s through Cold War Europe and present-day terrorism. This is a real page-turner.

9. “Lionboy” by Zizou Corder ($15.99). This mother-and-child team of authors has written an exciting adventure set in the near future. When cat-speaking Charlie’s parents are kidnapped, he enlists the help of his feline friends in rescuing them. This is an excellent start of a trilogy for young readers.

10. “Haley’s Hints” by Graham and Rosemary Haley ($14.95). New to paperback, this bestseller has been featured on public television. Ordinary household items and products are a gold mine for money and time-saving hints for cleaning, office work and even pampering yourself. A must for anyone who hates housework!

Compiled by manager Alison Jones-Pomatto at The Book Seller, 107 Mill St., Grass Valley, 272-2131. The Book Seller is open 9:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Mondays through Fridays, 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Saturdays and 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Sundays.


Support Local Journalism


Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

 

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User