End of the trail | TheUnion.com

End of the trail

Competitors race off the starting line at the eighth annual Michael Bratton II Turkey Trot held Thanksgiving Day at Hooper Stadium. Over 2,000 people participated in the event.
John Hart/jhart@theunion.com | The Union

The Gold Country Grand Prix came to its 2013 conclusion Thanksgiving Day as more than 2,000 runners and walkers filled Hooper Stadium for the eighth annual Michael Bratton II Turkey Trot.

In the 5K race, 2013 Nevada Union graduate David French, 19, was the overall winner, trotting over the finish line in a time of 17 minute, 23.8 seconds. Amanda Bratton, 26, was the first female to finish the 5K, tallying a time of 22:03.1. Bratton came into the race with a slight edge in the Grand Prix’s 19-29 age group but clinched first place in her Grand Prix age group with the win.

In the 10K, Chris Badolato, of Reno, was the overall and men’s race winner, finishing in a time of 34:55.6. On the women’s side, Carly Wright claimed the top spot with a time of 41:48.1.

Coming into the race, several Grand Prix age groups were yet to be determined in both the women’s and men’s categories. For the men, the 30-39 AG, 60-69 AG, 70-and-older AG and 10-and-under AGs were still up for grabs.

In the men’s 10-and-under AG, Skylar Mims entered the Turkey Trot trailing Joe Bigley by by five points; Mims left with a four-point lead and the AG title. Mims placed first in the 10K in his AG with a time of 51:34.3.

Another come-from-behind victory in the GP standings was in the 60-69 AG. Michael Buzbee had a one-point upper hand on Denis O’Halloran leading up to the Turkey Trot, but O’Halloran placed first in the 10K, and Buzbee finished second, giving O’Halloran the points needed to over take Buzbee in the final standings. O’Halloran finished the race with a time of 41:56.3.

One of the tightest races entering the Turkey Trot was in the men’s 30-39 AG where Bjorn Jones held a one-point edge over Larry Defeyter, but Jones’ first-place finish in the 5K clinched the AG. Jones crossed the finish line in a time of 18:30.1, which was also third overall.

In the men’s 70-and-older AG, Ronald Gross finished first in the 10K to solidify his spot at the top of that AG. Darryl Beardall had been nipping at Gross’ heels in the AG standings, and finished third in the 10K.

Other Gold Country Grand Prix men’s AG winners are Joshua Fairchild (11-14 AG), Devon Cloud (15-18 AG), Ryan Meacher (19-29 AG), Rob Taylor (40-49 AG) and Steve Bond (50-59 AG).

On the women’s side, the 40-49 AG and the 19-29 AG were still open, but Bratton sealed the 19-29 AG up with her overall win. In the women’s 40-49 AG, Amanda Balser and Debi Fairchild came into the Turkey Trot in a tie for the AG lead, but Balser’s second-place finish in the 5K pushed her to the AG victory.

Other Gold Country Grand Prix women’s AG winners are Hannah Fairchild (10-and-under AG), Lexi Madigan (11-14 AG), Holly Harrison (15-18 AG), Lisa Moeschler (30-39 AG), Makie Ohler (50-59 AG), Genielle Odom (60-69) and Lynne Hurrell (70-and-over AG).

As for the rest of the Turkey Trot winners:

In the women’s 10K, Ellie Brost (51:02.4) won the 10-and-under AG, Skylar Weiss (59:17.1) took the 11-14 AG, Joy Castro-Wehr (46:26.7) placed first in the 15-18 AG, Katherine Erickson (46:32) was best in the 19-29 AG, Abby Peterson (44:15.1) took the top spot in the 40-49 AG, Makie Ohler (43:10.5) won the 50-59 AG, and Patty Fox (47:59.3) took the 60-69 AG.

In the men’s 10K: Devon Cloud (38:02.6) won the 15-18 AG, Parker Scanlon (36:37.5) placed first in the 19-29 AG, Kevin Selby (37:46.4) took the 40-49 AG, and David Madrona (43:38.5) won the 50-59 AG.

In the women’s 5K, Hannah Montgomery (29:17.6) won the 10-and-under AG, Elle McClinton (26:40.6) took the 11-14 AG, Kali Arvidson (22:21.8) was first in the 15-18 AG, Tiana Rockwell (23:24) was best in the 30-39 AG, Ellen Wallace (23:14.3) took the 40-49 AG, Rose Asquith (23:37.4) was first in the 50-59 AG, Linda Hegle (27:56.8) won the 60-69 AG, and 78-year-old Barbara LaPlante (42:23.5) won the 70-and-older AG.

In the men’s 5K: Travis Selby (23:55.8) was first in the 10-and-under AG, Brekyn Vasquez (23:55.8) took the 11-14 AG, Max Arnds (20:23.5) won the 15-18 AG, Kevin Vasquez (19:02) claimed first in the 40-49 AG, Franck Castro-Wehr (22:01.5) took the top spot in the 50-59 AG, Herve Pastre (20:04) won the 60-69 AG, and Michael Airington (35:15.4) took the 70-and-older AG.

The Gold Country Grand Prix award ceremony will be at 2 p.m. Jan. 12 at Twin Cities Church in Grass Valley.

To contact Sports Editor Walter Ford, email wford@theunion.com or call 530-477-4232.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User