Election 2012: A look at the races | TheUnion.com

Election 2012: A look at the races

Nov. 6 is right around the corner.

Voters in Nevada County will have a slew of choices depending on the zip code of the voter.

Many of the local elections are unique to specific areas of the county, while voters across the county will have the opportunity to punch ballots in national and state elections.

The following is an overview of the election in early November, with a look at the races upon which all Nevada County voters will decide.

The year 2012 features a presidential race, and voters will be asked to choose between incumbent and Democratic candidate Barack Obama, Republican challenger Mitt Romney, Green Party representative Jill Stein, American Independent Thomas Hoefling, Libertarian Gary Johnson and Roseanne Barr of the Peace and Freedom Party.

Incumbent Democrat Dianne Feinstein, who currently occupies one of California’s two United States Senate seats, will face off against Elizabeth Emken, a Republican.

The District 1 U.S. Representative seat will be vied for by Republican Doug LaMalfa and Democrat Jim Reed.

The state races feature two asenatorial races for Nevada County, one to replace LaMalfa’s vacated seat until redistricting takes place and the other will determine who will represent the county at the state senate after redistricting is confirmed.

Jim Nielsen, a Republican; Democrat Michael Harrington, Republican Dan Logue and Independents Ben Emery, Dan Levine and Jann Reed will all appear on the ballot for the special election to replace LaMalfa as the District 4 State Senator.

However, Emery, a western Nevada County resident, has withdrawn from the race and will not run a campaign, according to previous reports.

Republican Ted Gaines will compete with Julie Griffith-Flatter, a Nevada City Democrat, for the right to represent State Senate District 1, which wil
l encompass all of Nevada County once redistricting takes effect.

Two Republicans, Brian Dahle and Rick Bosetti, will run for the State Assembly District 1 seat.

Eleven state propositions will appear on the November ballot.

Whether or not local races appear on a given resident’s ballot depends on where they live.

Those represented by the Area 3 Sierra Joint Community College District will choose between John Z’Berg and Scott Leslie.

Those living within Nevada Joint Union High School District Area 4 will be asked to cast a single vote for Jim Adams, Paul Aguilar or Cindy Latimer.

Residents of Nevada Joint Union High School District Area 3 will decide between Katy Schwarz and Jim Drew.

Pleasant Ridge Union School District residents will be asked to choose two candidates from a field of three for the right to represent voters on the district board. The three candidates are Scott Hopper, Robert Tice-Raskin and Mary Newberry.

The Nevada County Consolidated Fire District has four seats open in November and seven candidates will appear on the ballot. Tom Carrington, Linda Chaplin, Wlliam Habblett, Warren Knox, Robert Rhodes, John Leonard and Ronald Pennington will all compete for the four open seats.

The Higgins Fire District has two open seats, for which three candidates — Alex Crawford, Chet Krage and Dan Fitzgerald — are running.

The Nevada City School District features a race of four contenders vying for two
open seats. Paula Campbell, Augustine De Valle, Trish Gerving and Erin Minett will appear on the ballot.

Despite appearing on the ballot, De Valle has withdrawn from the race.

Six candidates are facing off to represent the city of Grass Valley on its five-person council. Incumbents Janet Arbuckle and Lisa Swarthout, along with challengers Patricia Tureaud, Jim Firth, Justin Gross and Howard Levine are contending for three open seats.

Nevada Irrigation District has two races for two open seats. Residents living in Division 3 will choose between Guy Tortorici and Scott Miller. Residents living in Division 5 will select between Nick Wilcox and Jack Meeks.

Grass Valley will also place two measures on the ballot, Measure M and Measure N.

Measure M will request voters update the Grass Valley City Charter. Measure N is a half-cent raise to sales tax in the city with the purpose of funding new police officers, fire firefighters, equipment and other city services.

Nevada City has elected to place Measure L on the ballot. The Measure, if adopted, will increase the city sales tax by three-eights of a cent on the dollar to be used for a variety of municipal functions.

Polls open at 7 a.m. Nov. 6 and will close at 8 p.m. The last day to register to vote is Oct. 22. The final date to request a vote-by-mail ballot is Oct. 30.

Beginning Oct. 9, registered voters may cast a ballot in person at the Elections Office at the Eric Rood Administrative Center or Truckee Town Hall.

The Nevada County Elections Office is in the process of distributing its Voter Information Pamphlets, which will detail the specific elections in a resident’s given zip code, said Gail Smith, assistant clerk-recorder.

For further questions, call the elections office at (530) 265-1298.

To contact Staff Writer Matthew Renda, email mrenda@theunion.com or call (530) 477-4239.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User