Candidates in the running for local races |

Candidates in the running for local races

Local elections and names of candidates who have filed:

Nevada County Board of Education, Trustee on the District’s Governing Board: Incumbent Marianne Slade-Troutman

Sierra Joint Community College District, Trustee Area 7 on the District’s Governing Board: Incumbent Aaron Klein will run against E. John Vodouice

Beyers Lane Community Service District, Director: incumbent Robert Mills

Mystic Mine Road Community Service District, Director: incumbents Sushila Mertens and William Toensing

School district trustee on the district’s board of directors:

Chicago Park School District: Incumbent Nancy Dewey

Clear Creek Elementary School District: Incumbents Robert B. DeMatteis and David A. Wallace

Grass Valley School District: Incumbents Frank P. Bennallack, Thomas J. Petitt, Rob W. Avery

Nevada City School District: Incumbents Trish Gerving and Paula Campbell

Pleasant Ridge Union School District: Incumbents Lee Ann Halleib and Roger White

Pleasant Valley Elementary School District: Carol Diltz and James Shroyer

Ready Springs Union Elementary School District: Incumbents Liz Patche and Amanda Wilcox run unopposed. Nicholette Granholm runs for Joe Eyck’s vacated two year seat.

Twin Ridges Elementary School District, Director: Incumbents Kurt Lorenz, Azriel LaMarca and Laura Borel

Union Hill School District: Incumbents Dorothy Goodnow, Gerald Martini and Patti Carter.

Nevada Joint Union High School District: Trustee Area 4 incumbent Fredrick Mark Heauser, Trustee Area 3 incumbent Katy Schwartz

Nevada Irrigation DistrictDivision 3 director: Incumbent Scott Miller will run against Michael Straight

Division 5 director: John “Jack” Meeks, Nick Wilcox, Glenn Orren, Martin Harmon and Brad Fowler

Western Gateway Recreation and Park District: Gregory Peterson and Bill Howland will run for two vacant seats.

Director on the fire district’s board of directors:

Higgins Area Fire Protection District: Incumbents Michael Bryant and Dan Fitzgerald

Nevada County Consolidated Fire District: Incumbents Alfred Buhler, Ralph Hitchcock, Robert Rhodes

North San Juan Fire Protection District: Incumbents Ed Beckenbach, Patricia Leach and Durinda Kelley

Ophir Hill Fire Protection District: Steven Borgnis, Lois Engel will run against incumbent Kevin Menet and incumbent Frank Sousa will run unopposed

Peardale-Chicago Park Fire Protection District: Larry Eckman and incumbent John Felde will run unopposed. Incumbent Cheryl Domnitch will run against Barney Dewey.

Penn Valley Fire Protection District: Incumbent Randall Casto

Rough and Ready Volunteer Fire Department: Incumbents Sheridan Loungway and Jack Henderson

Washington County Water District Director: Incumbents Debbie Shipley and Judith Stewart

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more