J.S. Bach meets Nevada County composers for lunch | TheUnion.com

J.S. Bach meets Nevada County composers for lunch

Submitted to Prospector
Alexis Alrich, Motoshi Kosako, Jake Collins and Mark Vance will be sharing their music on the Bach’s Lunch Concert Series at St. Joseph’s Cultural Center.
Submitted photo

On Tuesday, composers Alexis Alrich, Motoshi Kosako, Jake Collins and Mark Vance will be sharing their music during the Bach’s Lunch Concert Series at St. Joseph’s Cultural Center in Grass Valley from noon to 1 p.m.

“This summer concert series is fantastic,” Vance said. “It’s a short, one-hour, air-conditioned concert get-away from your hot summer workday and the $15 tickets are incredibly reasonable. You can bring a lunch, snack, coffee or just your appetite for a live concert and get a shot of culture, and then zip back to work or your home projects completely energized.”

Composer/pianist Alrich’s String Quartet No. 3 is a “pulse piece” with a quick, constant pulse that, once established, invites playful stream-of-consciousness ideas. The time signature is 7/16 and feels like three beats with a hitch.

Composer/harpist Kosako’s harp quintet with three movements, “Spiritual Mountain, Scotch Mist and Distant Land” will be a world premiere. The contrast between the plucking sound of harp and rich sustaining sound of strings creates full range of satisfying sound. Each movement has a section where harp improvisation is laid on the string accompaniment.

Support Local Journalism

Composer/pianist Collins’ “O Beautiful Home” was written for string quartet and will also be a world premiere. It was written with a vision of a child free from responsibility riding her bike near the ocean, enamored with the small county beauty town she lives in.

Vance’s string quartet, “The Man With the Yellow Bike,” was written about local Nevada County personality Kenny Bond. Performing on this concert are musicians Kristen Autry and Zoe Schlussel, violins; Melinda Rayne, viola; Alexandra Roedder, cello and Kosako, harp.

The Bach’s Lunch Summer Concert Series was the brainchild of pianist, Lynn Schugren. This summer series at St. Joseph’s Cultural Center is meant to be an affordable, user-friendly opportunity to showcase some of Nevada County’s accomplished musicians.

On July 23, Beethoven Cello Sonatas part 1 will be performed by cellist Alexandra Roedder and pianist Lynn Schugren. Part 2 will be July 30.

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Grass Valley and Nevada County make The Union’s work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Connect with needs and opportunities from

Get immediate access to organizations and people in our area that need your help or can provide help during the Coronavirus crisis.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User