Opinion Letters Grass Valley California | TheUnion.com

Letters

Becky Goodwin: Easy access to rapid-fire weapons a big problem

February 18, 2018 — On Valentine's Day I turned on the TV news and found an eerily familiar scene: reporters at a school massacre. Gun violence in America. Again. Here we go, with thoughts and prayers, grief counselors, memorial services, tributes to the heroic responders, candles and bouquets at

Learn more »

Craig Steiger: Fringe Festival talent astonishing

February 16, 2018 — Kudos to Nugget Fringe The recent Nugget Fringe Festival presented an astonishing array of local talent. In particular, I found the performance of "Mary Brave Eyes" exceptional. A play conceived and elaborated with a message of cultural and personal transformation. Karen Leigh Sharp, playwright and

Learn more »

Ardis Tobin: Abrupt closure lacked communication

February 15, 2018 — No, Dr. J. John Boeye, owner of Sierra Doctors Medical Group, you did not notify patients that the practice was closing. We arrived at the office to find a terse note on the door. I know many women (20 or so) who were her patients

Learn more »

Robert Whiteaker: Corporate tax cut helps US companies

February 15, 2018 — I am continually amazed at how little some people understand about taxes. In Richard Howell's letter to the editor (Feb. 1) he refers to the new corporate tax cut as "corporate theft." Let's be clear, the only real tax payers are individual citizens like you,

Learn more »

Rachel Howard: It’s OK to change your mind about Trump

February 14, 2018 — It is a surreal kind of sadness to be reading a biography of Anne Frank with your nine-year-old daughter for her school project on a day when the news is full of reports on Trump's latest Hitlerian tactic, and the resemblance to the parades Hitler

Learn more »

Joanne Crouch: Trump’s doing a great job

February 14, 2018 — I was just "flabbergasted" by Ron Lowe's letter on Jan. 22. I am 74 years old and do not know one person who thinks Obama gave us eight years that were wonderful! Not one. I voted for him in 2008 expecting great things, and almost

Learn more »

Dianna Suarez: Too early for opposition, but not for NID to invest in dam?

February 13, 2018 — Too early for opposition, but not for NID to invest in dam? According to NID Director Nick Wilcox in his Jan. 9 op-ed in The Union, "Any claims by opponents regarding the project (Centennial), including water gained from proposed alternatives, costs, and funding mechanisms are

Learn more »

Mike Pasner: NID transparency? Not

February 12, 2018 — Nevada Irrigation District took one year to finally supply live streaming video of its board of directors meetings. During this year, the water agency showed preference for dealing with difficult problems in the dark, behind the scenes. After some telling comments, on tape, they allowed

Learn more »

Heather Burke: Response to District Attorney’s statement on sheriff’s deputy

February 11, 2018 — As a Nevada City attorney with at least four cases affected by the numerous complaints of misconduct against Nevada County Sheriff's Office Deputy Jason Mackey, I strongly contest the current district attorney's characterization of the investigation as resolved. Far from it, our local courts are

Learn more »

Dick Sciaroni: Thankful for thinking about Nevada County issues in The Union

February 11, 2018 — The majority of national and regional news media seems obsessed with the childish pranks of the Washington sandbox, e.g., the Nunes memo, Mueller's investigation, government shutdowns, immigration reform. Local issues are too often relegated to the back pages of print media. We are lucky that

Learn more »

Scottie Hart: On Highway 174’s design

February 8, 2018 — Michael Smiley's Jan. 25 "Highway 174 safety project, a design opportunity" offered a breath of fresh air in the struggle over "improving" Highway 174. As a 33-year Chicago Park resident (moved "into town" last summer), I long enjoyed Highway 174 as a transition zone between

Learn more »

Craig Steiger: Nugget Fringe Festival a success

February 8, 2018 — The recent Nugget Fringe Festival presented an astonishing array of local talent. In particular, I found the performance of "Mary Brave Eyes" exceptional. A play conceived and elaborated with a message of cultural and personal transformation. Karen Leigh Sharp, playwright and director of the drama,

Learn more »

Richard Howell: Opinion page fosters critical thinking

February 7, 2018 — Research tells us that we all tend to be a bit isolated. Individually, we have a narrow group of friends and associates and watch a limited number of news programs. Few, I guess, subscribe to more than one newspaper, even though online content is increasingly

Learn more »

Cheryl Miller: Biased, elitest media

February 7, 2018 — While reading the "Hits & Misses" column in the Feb. 1 edition of The Union I had to laugh at the hypocrisy of the writers. Their "Miss" was, "To all legislators, at every level, who act as if devotion to their political party is more

Learn more »

Bob Hren: Join effort to roll back gas tax shell game

February 7, 2018 — The Democrats in Sacramento say the recent gas tax increase is essential for repairing roadways. Certainly, our roads have been neglected for too long and need repairs; they say there is no money in the budget. But, we have paid gas taxes every year for

Learn more »

Dottie Schmidt: Delicious

February 7, 2018 — Thank you Music in the Mountains for bringing the Sacramento Philharmonic to our community. Their rendition of Rachmaninoff's Third Concerto was "indescribably delicious," and pianist Andrew Von Oeyen made it so. What a talent! Conductor Mei-Ann Chen was outstanding! They made my heart sing. MIM,

Learn more »

Olivia Pritchett: Mary Brave Eyes makes for one proud mama

February 7, 2018 — Congrats to the cast and crew of Mary Brave Eyes for a successful run during the The Nugget Fringe Theater Festival. Special thanks to Karen Leigh Sharp for creating a thought provoking piece about race relations and bullying; empowering the youth by "no more hating

Learn more »

H.R. ‘Bud’ Wood: Mention good things Trump has done

February 6, 2018 — I am disappointed in The Union's publication of David Davidson-Methot's ravings about our president on the opinion page recently. His references seem to be mostly liberal professors and publications. I am just an 87-year-old American citizen and deeply respect and am thankful for our President

Learn more »

Jeff Loberg: Trump, not Obama, deserves the credit

February 5, 2018 — On Jan. 21, Nevada County's chief Obama cheerleader once again heaped great praise on our former president, stating that our flourishing economy is a direct result of Obama administration policies; the stock market gains too. Ron Lowe needs to face the hard facts that as

Learn more »

Pamela Meek: ‘Foundry Sings’ a magical event

February 5, 2018 — Kudos to the 170-plus people of Nevada County who came out in the rain Wednesday night to the Miners Foundry and will be forever known as the original participants at the first "Foundry Sings" event! The rafters of the Stone Hall were ringing, people were

Learn more »