Opinion Columns Grass Valley California | TheUnion.com

Columns

Charles Bednar: Tail-gunner Tom takes to McCarthy tactics

February 19, 2018 — Speaking in support of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act on Dec. 19, Tom McClintock borrowed a page from Republican Sen. Joe McCarthy's 1950s' playbook, labeling anyone who disagrees with him a "Marxist". Joseph McCarthy was a U.S. senator from 1947 to 1957. In 1950,

Learn more »

Don Pelton: Wolf Creek Community Alliance, from vision to action

February 16, 2018 — One day in the fall of 2002, local contractor Jonathan Keehn had an unforgettable experience while walking along a stretch of Wolf Creek in downtown Grass Valley. He described that experience a couple of months later in an influential article for The Union: "I was

Learn more »

Terry Lamphier: Questions about Grass Valley’s new tax proposal

February 16, 2018 — In June, voters will decide whether to repeal Grass Valley's existing temporary tax and replace it with a permanent one twice as big. Proponents assure us that the funds will be used for more police and fire personnel and road improvements, with oversight by local

Learn more »

Rachel Hutchinson, Melinda Booth: Water conservation makes sense

February 15, 2018 — Water conservation is a way of life in California. Our climate is characterized by wet winters followed by hot, dry summers. It follows that late into the summer, water is scarce except for in the wettest years. Below "normal" water years are common, occurring in

Learn more »

Karen Brazas: The different faces of love

February 13, 2018 — We all know the origins of Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas and perhaps even Halloween. But the "facts" of how Valentine's Day came to be are a bit more elusive. According to "Dr. Google" (today's all-knowing sage!), a few theories emerge. One is that the ancient Romans

Learn more »

Michael Hill-Weld: Water management, not a dam

February 11, 2018 — Large public works projects are inevitably accompanied by large losses. The Nevada Irrigation District proposed Centennial Dam, a 110,000 acre-feet of water reservoir behind a 275-foot dam, is no exception. If built, the project would inundate seven miles of the last public accessible and free

Learn more »

George Olive: NID and the need for public input

February 9, 2018 — In November we get to vote. Whatever your affiliation, there is a local issue you can dig into now (http://yubariver.org/centennial-dam-faq/) and, perhaps, have an impact on at election time. The Nevada Irrigation District (NID) is pushing a new dam and reservoir on the Bear River.

Learn more »

Ehud Gat: Lack of housing only part of the problem in Nevada County

February 9, 2018 — They say insanity is to repeat the same action and expect different results. If that is true, then the discussion about solutions to the prevalence of homelessness in Nevada County has once again been sidetracked into the same old insane suggestion that simply throwing money

Learn more »

Ron Cherry: Mardi Gras, pancakes and Lent

February 8, 2018 — Everyone knows about Mardi Gras, right? Mardi Gras, or Fat Tuesday, is a big party that consumes the city of New Orleans as well as many other metropolises around the world. Rio's Carnival makes New Orleans' version look tame. But let's talk about the Mardi

Learn more »

D. Jeffrey Sheldon: New editorial board leaning left?

February 6, 2018 — I would imagine there will be quite a few responses to your Jan. 27 column with regard to the new Editorial Board. I will agree with at least some of what was written and that is, as you so stated, I do enjoy opening the

Learn more »

David Davidson-Methot: Trump a danger to the US, world

February 6, 2018 — There is much talk in the popular press about President Trump's mental state, or mental fitness for the presidency. While most was spurred by the recent release of Michael Wolff's book about the inner workings of the Trump White House, "Fire and Fury," a discussion

Learn more »

Marina Bernheimer: Child Advocates of Nevada County provides volunteer advocacy for abused, neglected children

February 4, 2018 — The shock of the extreme child abuse discovered last week in Perris, California has reverberated across America. Thirteen children and young adults, ages 2 to 29, were found to be shackled in an ordinary suburban tract home in Riverside County, apparently starved and tortured by

Learn more »

Lang Waters: America is an idea, not a race

February 2, 2018 — The poem at the base of the Statue of Liberty, "New Colossus," ends with the famous lines: "Give me your tired, your poor, Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed, to me: I

Learn more »

Thomas Straus: Golden rule is the key to it all

February 2, 2018 — In a well-written Other Voices column on Jan. 10, Eric Cristen concludes that the protestant reformation resulted in a successfully happy society while the godless communist revolution ended in disaster because of a lack of a personal religion. I would suggest that other factors such

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: NID issues yield clarifications and explanations

February 2, 2018 — Nick Wilcox, Nevada Irrigation District's board chairman, has provided some clarifications and explanations as a result of my previous column regarding NID questions. But his response also has prompted a review of various other issues NID has created. Wilcox reported NID intends to finance the

Learn more »

Ruth Hochman: The last chance — Scooter’s needs more pals

February 2, 2018 — Sampson is a lucky boy. He was never abused, and he wasn't abandoned. When his mom could no longer care for him she took him to Sammie's Friends. We found him there, all 100 pounds of him, just waiting for us to take him home.

Learn more »

Prove it!

February 1, 2018 — When I teach Team Sudoku to elementary age children I encourage them to challenge their teammates every time one of them comes up with an answer. When one of the four on the team proposes a solution, the others all demand, "Prove it!" This happens

Learn more »

Mark Schaefer: The smell of cannabis

January 30, 2018 — Would a rose by another name smell so sweet? As it turns out, that depends on a complex variety of factors. And when it comes to the smell of cannabis in Nevada County, the complexity compounds. As the supervisors review the Community Advisory Group's recommendations

Learn more »

Diana Garbin: ‘Me too’ movement is about sexual assault

January 29, 2018 — In reply to Mary Pascale's letter published on Jan. 18, I'm dismayed when people tag other issues onto the coat tails of a movement such as the "Me too" movement. Ms. Pascale's interpretation of the movement as being about anything else but sexual misconduct is

Learn more »

Terry Young: The evolving grand jury

January 29, 2018 — Last month, we briefly introduced you to the members of the Nevada County Grand Jury. This month, we would like to discuss what we do and generally how it's done. Consider the following two Points: Point A: In July 2016, 19 volunteers were sworn in

Learn more »