Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Terry McAteer: Time for less talk, bold action from Catholic Church

August 21, 2018 — The continuing revelations of priest sexual abuse have troubled us all but each new story creates wounds that never completely heal amongst the survivors of that abuse … including me. My case of abuse by Fr. Peter Keegan in 1967 is well documented throughout the

Learn more »

Liz Kellar: Sargent statue debate highlights complexity of history

August 20, 2018 — Nevada City's city council recently opted not to move forward with a donated statue that would have depicted Sen. Aaron Sargent and his wife, Ellen Singer Sargent. The statue, which was proposed by local nonprofit group The Famous Marching Presidents, was intended to honor the

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

August 20, 2018 —

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Western regional grid perilously close to reality

August 20, 2018 — Almost daily, California's entry into a western regional electricity grid grows nearer. As the legislative bill to move the state into a deal with coal-oriented states like Utah, Idaho and Nevada moves toward passage, the state also grows nearer to a real risk of repeating

Learn more »

Joanne Crouch: Trump condemned without proof

August 19, 2018 — Regarding Robert Erickson's letter, I'm am an ardent Trump supporter and proud to admit it. I do not always agree with his words but I do give him the benefit of any doubts. You do not know the "evident truth" behind the Helsinki closed meeting!

Learn more »

Jeff Kotowski: The cult of reality denial

August 19, 2018 — When it is simply irrefutable that the earth is over 4 billion years old, how is it that so many people can think the earth is less than 10,000 years old? When vaccines save more lives and help more people than any human invention, how

Learn more »

Gary Stoddard: Criminal children?

August 19, 2018 — Regarding Bob Larive's letter to the editor in The Union: "illegal children criminals?" "Criminal children?" Have you no shame? Gary Stoddard Grass Valley

Learn more »

Dave Wilzbach: Cool the fire

August 19, 2018 — On roads where fires can be reached with large tank trucks that usually carry petroleum, the trucks should instead be filled with water. Then connect the water to a big truck with a heavy duty water pump connecting it to a big placer mining nozzle.

Learn more »

George Boardman: Politically correct in Nevada City, egg on my face in Grass Valley, and out in the cold

August 19, 2018 — Four members of the Nevada City Council did the politically correct thing recently when they voted to mothball a proposal to erect a statue of Senator Aaron Sargent and his wife, Ellen, heretofore considered shining examples of the area's white pioneers. At first glance, this

Learn more »

Tom Behlmer: A look at LaMalfa’s voting record

August 19, 2018 — The upcoming elections will be here soon. Our congressman, Doug LaMalfa, will be on the ballot. Much of the public don't closely watch how their congressmen vote. Fortunately, there are organizations that do monitor voting records. One is PoliticsThatWork.com. According to their site, he's voted

Learn more »

Chris Pasles: New recycling rules

August 19, 2018 — My Next Door community group is upset about Waste Management's new recycling rules (yes to plastic and glass bottles, no to most bottle caps, no to paper napkins, plates, cups and tissues, etc.). I feel the new rules will discourage recycling (too much trouble) and

Learn more »

Long way back: From ‘Crawl of Grit’ to Tevis Cup, equestrian’s dream comes full circle

August 17, 2018 — Crossing the finish line after the overnight horse ride from Truckee to Auburn, she wasn't just arriving at the race's end. She had landed on the doorstep of her dream. And the emotional release spilled out through tears, laughter and unbridled joy that spread a

Learn more »

Our View: President problem and the fake news

August 17, 2018 — Hundreds of newspapers on Thursday published editorials lambasting President Donald Trump for calling the press the enemy of the people. It was a call by the Boston Globe that set the myriad editorial boards in motion. Together they used their opinion pages to oppose the

Learn more »

Terry McAteer: Paper tariffs could make ‘fake news’ a moot point

August 17, 2018 — One way to solve the "Fake News Media" issue in our country is to eliminate all newspapers. That process is underway through the newly-imposed newsprint tariffs instituted by the Trump administration. Newsprint tariffs have attributed to the increasing costs of our own hometown paper, The

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: We need a third party; so let’s talk ‘centrism.’

August 17, 2018 — Many times we hear people say: "I wish we had a decent third political party so we didn't have to choose between the Democrats and Republicans." And that disgust with our current two-party system has prompted a skyrocketing interest in alternative political parties. As a

Learn more »

Julia Amaral: Recorders for the Batwa

August 17, 2018 — A few weeks ago, The Union newspaper alerted our generous community about efforts to donate new and used recorders to the Batwa (pygmies). We have received 166 recorders, and for that we are sincerely thankful. For those of you who have not yet donated, the

Learn more »

Mark Wilson: Political posturing while District 1 burns

August 17, 2018 — During fire season, who would celebrate the early release from prison of men convicted by a jury of their peers for deliberately committing arson that threatened the lives of family members, hunters, and firefighters? That would be our congressman, Doug LaMalfa. The congressman recently celebrated

Learn more »

Mary West Piowaty: LaMalfa doesn’t represent me

August 17, 2018 — LaMalfa doesn't represent me Our congressional representative, Doug LaMalfa, apparently does not favorably represent the United States Forest Service. He is heard, by phone, on the news speaking about the Carr Fire. Here is the quote as he talks about federal help: " … the

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

August 17, 2018 —

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Embraces touchy with Me Too

August 16, 2018 — Is it just me or have the politics of hugging changed? Seems that Me Too is a rock thrown in the pond, ripples everywhere. Here's extra reason to mind what you say, where you look, most certainly how you touch. But look, humans do touch,

Learn more »