Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

February 23, 2018 —

Learn more »

Lindy Schasiepen: What happens to bowling pins at the end of their lives?

February 23, 2018 — Here you are at Prosperity Lanes, enjoying a super fun time with your family and friends. The bowling balls are sliding down the alleys, and sometimes even the gutters! There is friendly rivalry and cheers when you score a strike or a spare and condolences

Learn more »

Richard Cristdahl: Stop the killing of our children at school

February 23, 2018 — Stop the killing of our children at school Gun laws will not stop this problem, but they could reduce the number of children and teachers who are shot Law enforcement responding to information given to them about potential shooters will help even more. However, education

Learn more »

Terry McAteer: Amanda Nick Wilcox are profiles in courage

February 23, 2018 — "Profiles in Courage" was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in 1957 to then-Senator John F. Kennedy. Kennedy's work focused on highlighting courageous members of Congress who took principled stands in the face of opposing public opinion. If I were to write a similar biography of courageous

Learn more »

Feedback

February 23, 2018 — The following comments were posted at TheUnion.com or The Union's Facebook page: On "Nevada County residents rally at Rood Center for gun control": Christopher Satterfield — Nevada County has changed so much! I had 2-3 guns in my GMC Jimmy in the Nevada Union student

Learn more »

Our View: How can kids learn if they’re worried about being shot?

February 23, 2018 — In the wake of the most recent school shooting, which left 17 dead in Florida, a national debate is underway on how to make our schools and our students safer from such a threat. President Trump said this week his administration will make school safety

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Zoning nullification the end of local control?

February 23, 2018 — Gov. Jerry Brown, a former mayor of Oakland who often griped about state government's interference with local issues, ran in 2010 on a platform of stronger local control. He's delivered on that for the most part, with the strong exception of pet projects like high

Learn more »

Charisse Lolli: Is Dollar General moving in, or not?

February 23, 2018 — There are a lot of developments going on in Nevada County; developments that Nevada County residents want. But this is not one of them! We're into the third year of letter writing and attending meetings to tell the out-of-state developers (Simon, CRE) for the three

Learn more »

Paula Orloff: Why we’re presenting the Local Peace Budget Resolution

February 22, 2018 — The Local Peace Budget Resolution asks our local representatives to tell Congress to "move our tax dollars … from militarism to human and environmental needs." Several Nevada County organizations support this resolution. Some of the "whereas" statements are of great impact: President Trump himself admitted

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Our lot in life

February 22, 2018 — The human condition is Plato's cave, reading reality in shadows illuminated dimly. Only we're not chained. We're digging. Even the 1 percent who break through, free to trot the globe, able to purchase the finest wines, refine a taste for the opera, meet the Hiltons

Learn more »

Amanda Wilcox: Gun Violence Restraining Order can save lives

February 22, 2018 — Regarding a Feb. 19 Associated Press story that ran in The Union, "Few states let courts take guns from people deemed a threat," the Gun Violence Restraining Order law not only could have saved the lives of students in Parkland, Florida, but it could have

Learn more »

Tom Swisher: Reckless statements from candidate for District Attorney

February 22, 2018 — I am a longtime subscriber to The Union and a retired criminal investigator from the Nevada County District Attorney's Office. The Union recently published two articles regarding Mr. Jennings' announcement to run for the position of district attorney. In those articles he makes references to

Learn more »

Joan Merriam: The slaughter continues

February 21, 2018 — This feels like the replay of a bad horror film. A hideously-repetitive Groundhog Day. Once again, a mass shooting has devastated an American school. This time, 17 children and adults are dead. How can we tolerate this continued slaughter? I'm not tolerating it, you respond:

Learn more »

Malen ‘Jim’ Jacobs: Weary of the homeless?

February 21, 2018 — I'm weary of reading of all the proposals to enable the homeless in our community. I'm not homeless and never have been, but if I was I would want to be in a place that would be safe, dry and warm in the winter. We

Learn more »

Brian Hamilton: It’s not ‘us vs. them’

February 20, 2018 — It was the bylines that got me flipping through the scrapbooks. Newsprint clippings beneath "The Union" flag first caught my eye, with the familiar names of colleagues long ago who once covered what's become an annual visit by Tibetan monks to our community. Carol Feineman,

Learn more »

Chris Enss: The rage of the ‘haves’

February 20, 2018 — It seems the latest rage that's all the rage is road rage. I recently witnessed a shouting match between two women drivers in the Penney's parking lot over who had the right to back out of their space first. The women were cursing and spitting

Learn more »

Richardt Stormsgaard: On the GOP’s great tax scam

February 20, 2018 — Terry McLaughlin's recent two op-eds about the "Tax Cuts and Jobs Act" picked out isolated bits thrown to taxpayers (Jan. 18) and to employees of large companies (Feb. 1) to mask the massive wealth transfer from poor to rich, and reiterated the myth that if

Learn more »

Charles Bednar: Tail-gunner Tom takes to McCarthy tactics

February 19, 2018 — Speaking in support of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act on Dec. 19, Tom McClintock borrowed a page from Republican Sen. Joe McCarthy's 1950s' playbook, labeling anyone who disagrees with him a "Marxist". Joseph McCarthy was a U.S. senator from 1947 to 1957. In 1950,

Learn more »

Crabb Cartoon: It Takes A Village Idiot

February 19, 2018 — R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: If undisciplined, GOP won’t make fall ballot

February 19, 2018 — It's well established that the California Republican Party has been almost without influence in the state's public affairs for years, but at least until now it has always placed someone on the fall runoff ballot running for at least one top state office. That streak

Learn more »