Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

George Boardman: Like beauty, government welfare is in the eye of the beholder

May 20, 2018 — Most of the news coverage of the $956 billion farm bill currently being considered in Congress focuses on changes in the food stamp program because it makes up 80 percent of the bill and impacts millions of Americans. As is generally the case when Republicans

Learn more »

Sean Gilleran: Come vote at Gold Miners Inn

May 20, 2018 — As general manager, I naturally consider the Gold Miners Inn to be the nicest lodging facility in western Nevada County. I also like to think of our hotel as something of a community center. That latter role has never been more important than during this

Learn more »

James DeVinny: Foster has my vote

May 20, 2018 — I was enlightened by the League of Women Voters' debate. I learned that Bill Smethers was "taught by his father to treat others as he would like to be treated himself." He then went on to say troubling things that implied education, leadership experience and

Learn more »

Jason Fouyer: Yes on Measure D

May 20, 2018 — It's time to show the Grass Valley School District we care about our schools. The district proposes to upgrade its school buildings and facilities with funding from a general obligation bond if approved by voters in June. A yes vote on "Measure D," as the

Learn more »

Don Bessee: The wrong conversation

May 20, 2018 — We all have been observing the many forums, articles and editorials in this run up to the vote. We hear many themes across all the races: homeless, homeless, homeless, dead chickens, homeless, homeless. We also have the usual litany of accusations of all wild sorts.

Learn more »

Marty Walters: Moving forward with forestry

May 19, 2018 — We have a basic math problem right now in our national forests. Excess biomass that doesn't have commercial value, caused by decades of fire suppression and limited commercial logging, far exceeds any need for that material. Even if we built a hundred biomass energy plants,

Learn more »

Jo Ann Fites-Kaufman & Pat Leach: What’s next for Fire Safe Council in Nevada County?

May 18, 2018 — The Fire Safe Council of Nevada County has played a vital role in preparing communities to be prepared for wildfires, successfully obtaining millions of dollars in grants to reduce hazardous fuels and make evacuation routes safer, and generally serving as a community "hub" for information

Learn more »

Our View: End of life decisions should be up to us, not government

May 18, 2018 — Few Americans are comfortable talking about death. It's a delicate subject, one meant for somber mortuaries or attorney's offices. Going gentle into that good night isn't dinner table appropriate. But it's that conversation California residents need to have in the wake of a judge's decision

Learn more »

Bill Bird: A tribute to Senator Sam Aanestad

May 18, 2018 — There are only so many special people that you run into during this game called life that you can count them with the fingers of one hand. Sam Aanestad was one of them. I last saw Sam Aanestad about this time last year at Frank's

Learn more »

Ed Thomas: Yes on Measure E

May 18, 2018 — The importance of Measure E to the future of Grass Valley cannot be overstated. Being a sales tax measure it collects tax from all who make purchases within the city limits. That means that the bulk of the sales tax collected more than likely comes

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

May 18, 2018 —

Learn more »

Polly Bacich: My vote goes to Foster

May 18, 2018 — I am writing to support John Foster for sheriff. I have studied the candidates, listened to their presentations and have come to the conclusion that John Foster is the best candidate. All three candidates presented themselves very well, giving their background and what they aspired

Learn more »

Stan Meckler: Miller the most qualified

May 18, 2018 — Dan Miller is a trusted friend who has my vote to continue as Nevada County District 3 supervisor. He is being endorsed by many current and former elected officials because he has shown that he can get the job done. This race is not about

Learn more »

Bill Checkvala: Audrey Denny for Congress

May 18, 2018 — Audrey Denny is one of three strong women candidates seeking to replace career politician and incumbent, Doug LaMalfa, as our Congressional representative for District 1. All are intelligent, well-spoken and have a good command of the issues, but I believe Audrey to be the best

Learn more »

Pauline Nevins: The royal box

May 18, 2018 — I had never watched the TV law drama, "Suits," so I had no idea who Meghan Markle was. I, and the world, now know she is the young woman who, on Saturday, will marry Henry Charles Albert David Mountbatten-Windsor (aka Prince Harry), fifth in line

Learn more »

Alex Merkle: Marijuana a short-term cash grab

May 17, 2018 — The first non-native peoples came to the American West to trap and shoot their way through the rich populations of wildlife for fur sales, until they ran out of land when they hit the Pacific. Their successors dug ore out of the mountains until the

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Leaky argument for dam

May 17, 2018 — Does a watershed already festooned with dams really need another? When is enough enough? Cool to see conservatives acknowledge the fact of global warming, though. These are my early thoughts about the wisdom of building the Centennial Dam on the Bear River between Combie and

Learn more »

Stephen Tripp: It’s time to put a stop to unsubstantiated claims of corruption in Nevada County

May 17, 2018 — Recently there has been a tremendous amount of opinions and comments made publicly surrounding allegations of corruption, intimidation and mismanagement within the Nevada County Sheriff's Office and the Nevada County District Attorney's Office. The following is based on personal experience in my law enforcement role,

Learn more »

Patti Ingram Spencer: ‘Take it from here,’ Dan Miller

May 17, 2018 — Hilary Hodge consistently states hers is a "grass roots" campaign. So, let's take a look. Ms. Hodge's website lists endorsements from "political leaders," including two former members of the County Board of Supervisors, not in office for approximately 15 years, and a Colfax city councilmember.

Learn more »

Gloria Molin: Progressives can be Christian, too

May 17, 2018 — Thank you, Nancy Eubanks, for expressing my thoughts, beliefs, and concerns so eloquently. Every word you wrote in your letter to the editor was as if you were channeling my soul, except that I could not have expressed myself in the same thoughtful way you

Learn more »