Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Our View: Our worst nightmare in real life

November 16, 2018 — Not to dismiss the health impacts of the air quality in western Nevada County this week but, considering the catastrophe our neighbors to the nearby northwest face, complaints about the air we're breathing seem awfully insignificant right now. Seventy-one people dead. One thousand more missing.

Learn more »

Robert Brehm: Community steps in after hit-and-run accident

November 16, 2018 — On Nov. 9 at approximately 5 p.m. I was the victim of a hit-and-run accident by the McKnight freeway exit. I wish to thank those individuals who chased the perpetrator down and held him until police arrived. I have been a resident of Nevada County

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

November 16, 2018 —

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Feinstein’s race reveals major top-two problem

November 16, 2018 — Ever since the 2010 passage of Proposition 14, Libertarians and members of other small but sometimes significant California political parties have griped about the lack of choices presented to voters in the state's biennial November general elections. Advocates of the "Top Two" primary election system

Learn more »

Lynn Mehren-Costa: Doing our part to combat sex trafficking

November 16, 2018 — Soroptimist International Grass Valley is having their final sewing event for this year. One last big push to hopefully reach our goal of 300 dresses for the "Dress A Girl" project and 300 shorts for the "Dress a Dude" project. Both organizations feel that nice

Learn more »

Tim McCall: Civility anyone?

November 15, 2018 — Is this still the United States? When did it become acceptable, or even advisable, for a past president to encourage dissent between our military and a sitting president? I was shocked to hear Obama speak such words. Civility? Don't look for it on your left.

Learn more »

Melinda Booth: NID, Centennial Dam and our water future

November 15, 2018 — It has been four years since Nevada Irrigation District (NID) passed closed-session Resolution 2014-43, authorizing a water rights application for a "water storage project on the Bear River" without any public comment or board discussion. This was the beginning of Centennial Dam. Since then, SYRCL

Learn more »

Don Rogers: The home fires

November 15, 2018 — Mom had in mind a clean, cheaper place called Canoe House, a step or two up from McDonald's harkening back to our life in Hawaii. Early childhood for me, happy young family memories for her. My wife and I were thinking something fancier, and we

Learn more »

Bob Mora: Law and values

November 15, 2018 — On the front of the Supreme Court in Washington,D.C. is the inscription: "One nation under Law" this means the people are under the law and no one is above it. On the back of the building are the words, "Justice is the Guardian of Liberty."

Learn more »

Randall Strossen: Trees, PG&E and the CPUC

November 15, 2018 — A hang tag with an illustration of PG&E's 12-foot radius and clear-to-sky standard for vegetation removal was on our front door when I got home from work last Wednesday. The next day I met with the gentlemen who had left the tag so he could

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: Pence poised to replace his boss

November 14, 2018 — Vice President Mike Pence is setting himself up to replace his boss if Trump leaves office early or does not seek re-election. Pence would never admit this. He plays the part of unctuous toady so fully that conservative writer George Will called him "America's most

Learn more »

Carole Carson: Trump demonizes ‘the other’

November 14, 2018 — It is difficult to describe accurately the deeply tragic nature of the assassination of Jews worshiping at their synagogue. During his campaign and continuing into his present, Trump has inflamed passions with his attacks on the "other." Despite the inevitable carnage that will result from

Learn more »

Hits & Misses: Passion for preserving Nevada County history is an absolute HIT

November 14, 2018 — Each week we'll run through the sublime, the trivial and profound issues, decisions and goings on that strike us as Hits or Misses. You can join in, too, by emailing your Hits & Misses to editboard@theunion.com. HIT (from author Gage McKinney and Editor Brian Hamilton):

Learn more »

Terry McAteer: California a model for voting

November 14, 2018 — It always amazes me, watching television on Election Day, where we see long lines, voter ID requirements and polling place snafus in many states throughout the country. I've voted in every California election for the past 44 years and have never been asked for my

Learn more »

Lee Ridenour: Media ‘reporting’ on Election Day should not include opinion

November 14, 2018 — Some states have laws against campaigning on the day of elections, so why is it that all the media are allowed to continue their campaigning for politicians? If you watch the news, the media is doing the same basic thing the politicians are doing, the

Learn more »

Mary Johnson: United Trails Day 2018

November 13, 2018 — On a beautiful fall day on Oct. 13, 80-plus volunteers from local trail groups gathered to work together on trail maintenance and construction in the Tahoe National Forest along the Highway 20 corridor. The annual event spearheaded by the Tahoe National Forest Service's Yuba River

Learn more »

Ginny Kirkley: The presumption is innocence unless proven guilty

November 13, 2018 — In Simon Gates' letter to the editor on Oct. 31 regarding Judge Kavanaugh, he stated that "It is just as bad to assume innocence as it is to assume guilt." Excuse me, did I really see those words in print? I read this sentence in

Learn more »

Ted Gaines: More government spending equals more taxes

November 13, 2018 — This year's legislative session ended in September but you'll feel the damage to your pocketbooks for years to come. I will give my Democrat colleagues credit for consistency, at least, because every year they come up with new and creative ways to spend taxpayer money,

Learn more »

Dick Tracy: What are we so frightened of?

November 13, 2018 — As a child I was scared of the dark. Really scared. Just like other kids were, who told me about ghosts, goblins and the Bogeyman ready to pounce from the shadows and carry us off. I slept with my fists clenched on my chest, ready

Learn more »

Kurt Reynolds: About that sinking ship

November 13, 2018 — This last week my mom and I drove to San Jose to visit family, as I expected, all one sees is the same endless sea of single passenger vehicles. And as usual folks like Robert Wolaver blame others for their own failure. And like clockwork,

Learn more »