Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Paul Schwartz: July 4 fireworks viewing options

July 15, 2018 — Both Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital's Parking Lot 4 and Sierra College parking lots were closed July 4 to folks looking for alternatives to the fairgrounds to watch the fireworks. Both are good locations for older folks and families who want to avoid the crowds, noise,

Learn more »

Pat Lane: More law enforcement on our roads needed

July 15, 2018 — The California Highway Patrol is apparently concerned about the fatal accidents that have been occurring on Highway 20. They say they have "increased their presence" on that road. Two Sundays ago, I drove up to Tahoe City. I took Highways 49, 20, 80 and 89

Learn more »

Magdalene Jaeckel: Affordable housing would not ‘Roseville’ Nevada County

July 15, 2018 — I have been reading a lot about the concerns people have about the possibility of building new housing on West Main street in Grass Valley. There is a large tomato farm there now, and apparently, it's been a farm for many years, and the soil

Learn more »

Harry Wyeth: Thanks, George Boardman

July 15, 2018 — Thanks are due to The Union for carrying George Boardman's intelligent and thoughtful column every Monday. I wonder how many of the folks carrying "Build the Wall" signs last Saturday read his columns or give a thought to the issues he discusses. George could qualify

Learn more »

Kent Treiber: How can we minimize risk of E.coli?

July 15, 2018 — I would hope that one of The Union's objectives would be to inform the public about local issues. There's an open opportunity for such work around E. coli in local waters, but you'll need to understand this multi-faceted issue, not just report the comments of

Learn more »

Ivan Natividad: The borders that separate us

July 15, 2018 — We found it hidden in the back of our pantry. It was a 10 by 10 foot beige blanket depicting a map the world that my wife and I purchased years ago for picnics. Inked in black, the land masses had no distinct borders separating

Learn more »

Feedback

July 13, 2018 — The following comments were posted at TheUnion.com or The Union's Facebook page: On "Lake Wildwood has started process of removing up to 75 geese": Lisa Bearden-Trisler — My sister's pond has lots of geese and no one has ever gotten sick from swimming in it.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: What unlimited party money laundering can do

July 13, 2018 — For most Californians, the year-2000 Proposition 34 was little more than a meaningless formality. But not to politicians or political party officials. The 18-year-old initiative sets inflation-adjusted limits on what individuals and organizations can donate to candidates, ranging today from $4,400 for state legislative races

Learn more »

William Morebeck: Road-mapping the process to plan for the next 50 years of local water

July 13, 2018 — Water is life. And as a Nevada Irrigation District director and current president of the board, I am dedicated to working to ensure our community continues to have an ample, high-quality water supply for all well into the future. Our community faces many challenges. Climate

Learn more »

Our View: A future that involves Bright Fiber brings questions

July 13, 2018 — Most everyone in Nevada County wants a Bright Fiber future. It looks like we'll get it, just not how we thought. Bright Fiber — the local company that secured almost $17 million in state funds to install a fiber optic network — is being sold

Learn more »

Jim Goetsch: Fascist USA? How about real facts and real proof?

July 13, 2018 — It never fails that, when an "Other Voices" contributor (Milan Vodicka, June 27) starts out with, "I try to be above the fray. Which is to say nonpartisan, respectful of all opinions and reasoning, even to the ones that were or are contrary to my

Learn more »

Cindy Sage: Underground fiber optic system the most secure, private and reliable

July 13, 2018 — Regarding Alan Riquelmy's story in The Union of July 6, entitled, "Tweaks Made to Bright Fiber Plan," this is more than a tweak in the project. Thanks to Riquelmy for an otherwise detailed article, which allows people to quickly respond to the big questions he

Learn more »

Jeff Pelline: A simplistic conclusion

July 13, 2018 — Marc Cuniberti's columns (July 2) belong on the political opinion page, not the business news page. To be sure, the flow of government monies (a "firehose" in his exaggerated mindset) has contributed to rising health care and college education costs. But that is not enough

Learn more »

Lee Ridenour: Give Trump a chance

July 13, 2018 — First off, this will probably never see the printing because I think that it will offend some. With all that being said, and the actions of people, the spewing of hate and foul language being thrown around just because someone does not think and feel

Learn more »

Terry Lamphier: Development moratorium needed

July 12, 2018 — Calls to "build more housing" join recent false and misleading narratives such as "crime is out of control" and "we need higher taxes for police, fire and parks" (local and national law enforcement have stated that local crime is stable or dropping and former Sacramento

Learn more »

Kathy Cridge: The Union missed the mark with rally coverage

July 12, 2018 — Wow, I think The Union really did a disservice in the reporting, or lack thereof, of the Rally for Families at the Brunswick Basin on Saturday. First, there was nothing in the online feed at all, until Monday; the video spent the whole beginning of

Learn more »

Conni Barker: Walk a mile in my moccasins

July 12, 2018 — It is terribly interesting that two people who do not live in Lake Wildwood have written letters to The Union criticizing our board's decision to seek a depredation permit from the USDA to remove many of the geese which inhabit our lake. Have these authors

Learn more »

Meredith Manning: A small drop in a huge wave

July 12, 2018 — The Saturday "Families Belong Together" event was a remarkable demonstration of over 300 Nevada County residents from all walks of life protesting the unconscionable and inhumane policy of separating desperate parents from their children at our borders without due process. There were 10 counter-protesters. They

Learn more »

Mac Young: Summertime in Nevada County: Go Build a Fortnite

July 12, 2018 — With the dog days of summer fast approaching, adolescents around Nevada County have settled into a familiar routine. Many choose to fill their days by exploring the river, biking and hiking on local nature trails, or enrolling in one of our many summer camps. These

Learn more »

Becky Goodwin: A sojourner of hope

July 11, 2018 — I am a recent arrival to Nevada County. In July 2016, I became a "new kid in town," and what a joyful adventure it is to live and work here! My sojourn among you is not predetermined, because I never know how long I will

Learn more »