Letters to the Editor, Columns and Opinion for Grass Valley and Nevada City California | TheUnion.com

Opinion

Craig Silberman: Kneeling isn’t about disrespecting the flag or the troops

October 17, 2017 — In his letter to the editor of Oct. 12, it's unfortunate that Bob Larive hasn't bothered to learn what players in the NFL and other sports are "upset about" when they protest during the national anthem. He and others can say it's the flag or

Learn more »

Lyle C. Zufelt: Thank you for saving lives

October 17, 2017 — At 4 a.m. Monday, a man saved my mother's and brother's lives. He drove to their home to wake them and tell them a wildfire was coming. They barely made it out. If not for the kindness of a neighbor they would have been overtaken

Learn more »

Sheila Miller: Suggestions regarding fire safety

October 17, 2017 — After experiencing the recent evacuation of Lake Wildwood due to the Lobo fire I would like to suggest the following: Lake Wildwood should post evacuation route signs showing the exits, (including the emergency exits) out of Lake Wildwood. They would be similar to the Tsunami

Learn more »

Lang Waters: Dark Money, bright laws

October 17, 2017 — "Publicity is justly commended as a remedy for social and industrial diseases. Sunlight is said to be the best of disinfectants; electric light the most efficient policeman." — Supreme Court Justice Louis Brandeis If there is anything that reds and blues can agree on, it's

Learn more »

Paul Boisvert: It’s about respect

October 17, 2017 — In our current divisive sociopolitical environment, it seems that it is as important to solve the challenge of how we work together as it is to solve the actual problems we face. I commend Don Rogers for his insightful essay on political discourse where he

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

October 16, 2017 —

Learn more »

Elaine Ashton: Don’t rule out massage for joint pain

October 16, 2017 — As a massage therapist of over 25 years, I would like to rebut some of the advice offered by Mary Beth TeSelle in her Oct. 3 article. Her first bit of advice is "Keep Moving." Continually asking tight muscles and sore joints to keep moving

Learn more »

Tucker Martinez: Climate change: human versus natural

October 16, 2017 — If I were to randomly select a stranger and ask them why they do or don't believe in climate change I would likely get a variety of different answers from those who do believe in it, but for those who don't believe in climate change

Learn more »

Tom Behlmer: More of the same from Congressman LaMalfa

October 16, 2017 — Our congressman, Doug LaMalfa, voted against using funds to enforce rules limiting methane emissions (H.R. 3354, amendment 368). Why is this important? Methane is a very strong green house gas that contributes to global warming. It is much more potent than carbon dioxide in trapping

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Age a big factor as younger Dems circle Feinstein

October 16, 2017 — They see her as road-kill, the younger California Democrats hovering over longtime Democratic U.S. Sen. Dianne Feinstein this month just before and just after she announced her bid for election to a sixth term. "She no longer reflects the experiences or core values of Californians

Learn more »

Ralph Silberstein: The way forward needs CEQA

October 16, 2017 — This letter is in response to the Sept. 11 opinion piece in the issue of The Union titled, "The way forward for Nevada County" by Mary Owens. Owens correctly states that there are many projects approved in Nevada County which are still not built. Following

Learn more »

Dennis Wescot: What’s the fascination with Tractor Supply?

October 15, 2017 — Why is The Union so fascinated with the proposed Tractor Supply store? What I see is a big box chain store coming in with slightly lower prices and slightly lower quality than what you can find now at B&C True Value, A to Z Supply,

Learn more »

Hilary & Nelda Fetzko: COLAs protect against inflation

October 15, 2017 — As a federal retiree who has served our country for years, I am deeply concerned with a provision in the president's budget which would eliminate cost-of-living adjustments (COLAs) for current and future federal retirees. I ask that my representative and senators oppose any proposals that

Learn more »

George Boardman: Trump administration takes a step to ease the western fire threat

October 15, 2017 — The furious fires that are currently laying waste to large sections of Northern California are truly apocalyptic in their intensity. "The fires are just literally burning faster than firefighters can run in some situations," said Ken Pimlott, chief of Cal Fire. Gov. Jerry Brown expects

Learn more »

Sherry Bullard: SPD goes above and beyond

October 15, 2017 — I would like to say a special thank you to Grass valley SPD Market for the amazing customer service I received after most of a bulk flower order for my daughter's wedding was cancelled two days before the wedding (due to the hurricane in Florida).

Learn more »

Marylou Falstreau: 65 years … 65 works of art

October 13, 2017 — Turning 65 is a surprise for all of us if we are still here and if we haven't been paying attention to time passing. Our joints begin to rebel, our sleep becomes less deep and our decisions for the future have more to do with

Learn more »

Richard Crist: Bullies and the bullied have far-reaching ramifications

October 13, 2017 — School shootings have been happening for centuries, perpetrated by students, teachers, parents, police, soldiers, school personnel and mental cases. Shooters have many reasons for doing this — accidents, self-defense, bullying and revenge. Males are practically always the shooter, and many shootings can be traced to

Learn more »

Deborah Aufdenspring: Gold Miners Inn welcomes evacuees

October 13, 2017 — At 3:30 a.m. on Oct. 9, my husband and I found ourselves in the lobby of the Gold Miners Inn along with a small bedraggled group of other fire evacuees. More evacuees followed. We brought with us the clothes on our backs, our cats, our

Learn more »

Chris Neussendorfer: Blessed to have amazing firefighters

October 13, 2017 — Our fire crews did such a tremendous job over the last few days tackling everything thrown their way like the champs they are. A huge heart felt thank you to the very best fire fighting crews in the world. We are so very lucky and

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: ‘28th Amendment’ rumors are fake news

October 13, 2017 — I can find plenty of reasons to criticize our U.S. Congress without resorting to fake news. But the false rumors about a proposed 28th amendment are a part of the latest fake news — circulating now in Nevada County. First, for those who may have

Learn more »