Steinberg announces state senate leadership team |

Steinberg announces state senate leadership team

Submitted to the UNion

State Senate president pro tempore Darrell Steinberg has announced his leadership members and nominees for Senate committee chairs, forming a legislative team to solidify the state's fiscal stability, foster economic growth and job creation, and make government more effective in serving the people of California.

"We're putting talented people in all the right places, and the public will benefit greatly from the expertise and dedication of these senators," Steinberg said in a prepared statement.

"With a working majority in the senate, we expect to make great strides in growing a high-wage economy in California. I'm looking forward to a very productive year."

Steinberg is also announcing full membership of the Senate Rules Committee. Designated committee chairs will be formally considered for adoption by the Senate Rules Committee when it meets the week of Jan. 7,
2013. The full list of Senate committee membership assignments will be released in the coming weeks.

Majority Leader: Ellen Corbett

Democratic Caucus Chair: Jerry Hill

Recommended Stories For You

Rules: Darrell Steinberg (Chair), Jean Fuller (Vice Chair), Bill Emmerson, Hannah-Beth Jackson, Ricardo Lara

Agriculture: Cathleen Galgiani

Appropriations: Kevin de León

Banking and Financial Institutions: Jerry Hill

Budget and Fiscal Review: Mark Leno

Budget Subcommittee #1: Education — Marty Block

Budget Subcommittee #2: Resources, Environmental Protection, Energy and Transportation — Jim Beall

Budget Subcommittee #3: Health & Human Services — Bill Monning

Budget Subcommittee #4: State Administration and General Government — Richard Roth

Budget Subcommittee #5: Corrections, Public Safety and the Judiciary — Loni Hancock

Business, Professions and Economic Development — Curren D. Price Jr.

Education: Carol Liu

Elections and Constitutional Amendments: Lou Correa

Energy, Utilities and Communications: Alex Padilla

Environmental Quality: Michael J. Rubio

Governance and Finance: Lois Wolk

Governmental Organization: Roderick Wright

Health: Ed Hernandez, O.D.

Human Services: Leland Y. Yee

Insurance: Ron Calderon

Judiciary: Noreen Evans

Labor and Industrial Relations: Ted W. Lieu

Legislative Ethics: Richard Roth

Natural Resources and Water: Fran Pavley

Public Employment and Retirement: Jim Beall

Public Safety: Loni Hancock

Transportation and Housing: Mark DeSaulnier

Veterans Affairs: Lou

Go back to article