NU swim season under way |

NU swim season under way

Lois Kelley
Special to The Union

Nevada Union swim coach Jeff Kirkpatrick, right, addresses the Miner swimmers before a home meet earlier this season.

The Nevada Union swim season is near the halfway point with several Miners making waves that college recruiters are noticing.

Of the senior swimmers, Lisa Ellis has received a scholarship to swim with San Jose State University, Hayley Chase has the option to swim with either UC San Diego or UC Davis and Patrick Herbert and Kendall Pawlowski will both be swimming with UC Santa Cruz. Pawlowski is also Nevada Union's recipient of the A. Dale Lacky Scholarship nomination in recognition of his outstanding athletic performance, community service and academic success.

With 13 soon to-be graduating seniors, NU coach Jeff Kirkpatrick said he is pleased to see some of his younger swimmers stepping up.

Sophomores Theo Twidwell and Franz Shimek have been moved from the junior varsity squad to the varsity boys team and three freshmen from Ghidotti High School, Cordelia Bartosh, Samantha Kruschke and Charlotte Coffin, are making major contributions to the girls junior varsity team, said Kirkpatrick.

Four meets into the season the team has two victories, one non-league meet and one league meet) and two losses.

And, while the Miners did not come away with a win last week against Del Oro, Nevada Union came away with many firsts.

Recommended Stories For You

The varsity girls won two relays – the 200 medley relay swam by Lisa Ellis, Hayley Chase, Christie Wurster and Kali Arvidson and the 200 free relay swam by Nicole Blaney, Arvidon, Faith Robichaud and Ellis.

Ellis also placed first in the 200 freestyle and the 500 freestyle while Chase placed first in the 200 individual medley.

The varsity boys team placed first in all three of their relays, the 200 medley relay swam by Patrick Herbert, Dominic Giuliani, Pawlowski and Darby Porteous; the 200 free relay swam by, Franz Shimek, Porteous, Twidwell and Nathan Ashbaugh and the 400 free relay swum by Giuliani, Ashbaugh, Pawlowski and Herbert.

Pawlowski also placed first in the 100 butterfly and the 500 free, Herbert placed first in the 100 free and Giuliani placed first in the 100 breast.

For the junior varsity girls swim team firsts were achieved in the 200 medley relay swam by Adriana Marquez, Jennifer Larson, Emma Lauterbach and Anna Baccetti.

Samantha Kruschke won the 200 freestyle with a best time of 2 minutes, 19.77 seconds, Charlotte Coffin won the 500 free with a best time of 6:26.12 and Jennifer Larson won the 100 breaststroke with a best time of 1:24.87.

Go back to article