Draft Horse winners announced | TheUnion.com

Draft Horse winners announced


Awards Draft horse exhibitors from California, British Columbia, Nevada, Oregon, Idaho, Utah, Wyoming and Washington competed for more than $35,000 in premium awards at the 26th annual Draft Horse Classic

Competition took place during six performances over the four-day event, Sept. 20-23 at the Nevada County Fairgrounds in Grass Valley. Winners have been announced.

Gary Nebergall of Arthur, Ill., judged the Draft Horse competitions and halter show. Dwight Gilbert from Nevada was the judge of the pulling contest.

The winner of the Six-Up Ultimate Hitch Championship was Kirk Messenger of the Mark Messenger Memorial Hitch, from Cheyenne, Wyo.

Dakota Messenger, also of Mark Messenger Memorial Hitch, and Katie Cook of Young Living Percherons from Mona, Utah, were recognized as the outstanding lady drivers, both accumulating high points to win the Susan Parnell High Point Perpetual award.

The Teamster of the Year award was presented to Steve Smith, an honor bestowed upon him by the voting of his fellow teamsters. Smith is from Quail Creek Percherons in Carmichael. The Draft Horse & Mule Association presented its special Teamster Award to Kirk Messenger of Cheyenne, Wyo. Ciera Barry of Shady Oaks Ranch in Millville, Calif., won the Youth of the Show award.

Recommended Stories For You

The Overall Supreme Champion horse, Hugh, the Grand Champion Stallion, Ogdensburg HC Variety, and the Grand Champion Mare, Mission Bell Abigail, are all owned by Castagnasso Clydesdales and shown by Tony Knecht of Sonoma.

The winner in the 2012 Edward Martin Perpetual Horseshoeing Competition was JD Downs of Colorado.

At the second annual Classic BBQ Cook-Off, the Grand Champion was Richard Holguin, cooking for Cecil's Smokin' BBQ of San Jose; and the Reserve Grand Champion prize went to Mary Odor, cooking for Mad Mo's BBQ of Meridian. The People's Choice Champion was Bad S BBQ of Sunnyvale, with Ryan Pang cooking.

At the Harvest Fair, the People's Choice award for the Scarecrows went to Nancy Brown, and the Best of Division in the Scarecrows went to Rivera Swartzendruber.

A complete list of 2012 Draft Horse Classic awards, as well as all the Harvest Fair winners and a complete list of Barbecue Cook-Off results, is on the Nevada County Fairgrounds' website at http://www.NevadaCountyFair.com.

The 2013 Draft Horse Classic is scheduled for Sept. 19–22. Tickets will go on sale May 1. Visit http://www.NevadaCountyFair.com for information.

Go back to article