CHP highlights new laws for motorists
December 28, 2013
SACRAMENTO — With the new year just around the corner, the California Highway Patrol is reminding motorists of several new laws or changes to existing law that go into effect in 2014.
The following are summaries of some transportation-related laws that, unless otherwise stated, go into effect Jan. 1.
AMBER Alert: Expansion (AB 535, Quirk): This law requires law enforcement to request activation of the AMBER Alerts after receiving a report that a child has been abducted by anyone, including a custodial parent or guardian, who might cause serious bodily injury or death to the child.
Bicycles: Passing Distance (AB 1371, Bradford): This law prohibits motorists from passing a bicycle with less than 3 feet between any part of the vehicle and any part of the bicycle or driver. When 3 feet is not possible, the motor vehicle must slow to a reasonable and prudent speed and only pass when no danger is present to the bicyclist. Failing to do so can incur a fine, regardless of a collision or not. This law will go into effect Sept. 16 (see story at left).
Charter Bus Carriers: Limousines: Emergency Exits (SB 109, Corbett): By Jan. 1, 2016, every limousine that has been modified or extended to accommodate additional passengers shall have two rear doors and one or two internally removable rear emergency windows. If such modifications occurred on or after July 2015, these requirements apply immediately after July 1, 2015. All new limousines manufactured after Jan. 1, 2015, must meet these requirements as well.
High Occupancy Vehicle Lanes (AB 266/SB 286, Yee/Blumenfield): Together, these laws extend sunset dates for low-emission, zero-emission vehicles to operate in high occupancy vehicle lanes (HOV) without meeting occupancy requirements to Jan. 1, 2019.
Hit and Run: Statute of Limitations (AB 184, Gatto): This law extends the statute of limitations for hit-and-run collisions in which death or permanent, serious injury was a result. A criminal complaint may be filed within three years of the offense or one year after the person was initially identified by law enforcement as a suspect in the commission of the offense, whichever comes later, but in no case more than six years after the offense.
Registration Fees: Vehicle Theft (AB 767, Levine): This law authorizes counties to increase registration fees by $1 for passenger vehicles and $2 for commercial vehicles to fund programs related to vehicle theft crimes in those counties.
Search Warrants: Chemical Tests (SB 717, DeSaulnier): This amendment to current law authorizes the issuance of a search warrant to draw blood from a person in a reasonable, medically approved manner to show that the person violated misdemeanor DUI provisions when that person has refused an officer’s request to submit to or has failed to complete a blood test. This law has been operative since Sept. 20.
Teen Drivers (SB 194, Galgiani): This law prohibits a person who is under 18 years of age from using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send or read a text-based communication while driving, even if it is equipped with a hands-free device.
For complete information on chaptered bills enacted in 2013, refer to the Legislative Counsel website at http://LegInfo.ca.gov.
Trending In: Local News
- Grass Valley standoff ends in arrest
- Nevada City’s Stone House reopening pushed back
- Police blotter: Caller reports out-of-tune musicians
- Connecting with inner freedom: Camptonville woman brings hope to ‘lifers’ behind bars with Lioness Tale Prison Project
- Police blotter: Koran-quoting caller spawns terrorist concerns