Lee Roddy Award winners announced | TheUnion.com

Lee Roddy Award winners announced

The Union staff

Sierra Writers have announced the winners of its sixth Annual Teen Short Story Contest called the Lee Roddy Award. The winners from the field of 119 entries received scrolls and cash prizes. They are: first is Kristen Rodriguez, 17, for “Crystal;” second is Brittany Blake, 15, for “The Bookstore;” and third is Shuya Ma, 16, for “The Sand Chronicle.”

Honorable Mention goes to Sherri Ann Sewell, 16, for “The Road to Sweet Kisses;” Ryan Hensley, 15, for “The Three Sneezes;” and Morgan Pringle, 15, for “A Royal Wedding.”

The 2007 guidelines will be announced in January at http://www.sierrawriters.org. The contest is open to all teens, 15-19 years of age, who reside or attend school in Nevada County.

– The Union staff

Go back to article