Submitted to Prospector

Back to: Entertainment
December 26, 2012
Follow Entertainment

Break-out youth band performs Friday at the Center

At 20, Nevada City guitarist Dylan Rodrigue’s resume reads like a musician’s twice his age. Since winning first place in Music in the Mountains Young Musicians competition at age 10, Rodrigue has released 10 CDs and won numerous awards.

After a brief hiatus while Rodrigue is attending California Institute of the Arts, his most recent band, Division Threshold, will reunite at 8 p.m. Friday to perform with two of their favorite local bands, This is Radiation and The Devils Train at the Center for the Arts.

Rodrigue was a founding member of The Shreds, whose debut album, “Stranger,” was produced by five-time Academy Award-nominated sound engineer Michael Herbick. The Shreds have won both the 2009 John Lennon Educational Bus Battle of the Bands and the 2008 Sacramento News & Review Jammies competition. Rodrigue also performs with acoustic indie folk duos Seamsplit and Of Wheel and Water. As a member of the acclaimed Music in the Mountains Young Composers Program, Rodrigue will be featured in an upcoming documentary by Emmy Award-winning documentary filmmaker, Michael Bloebaum.

Most recently, Division Threshold was winner of The Center for the Arts 2012 Battle of the Bands, hosted on opening day at the Nevada County Fair. Described as a mixture of Radiohead, Nirvana and Yes, the group started playing in the summer of 2011 when Jamo Simmons and Rodrigue took their music on a West Coast tour from Seattle to Los Angeles. Guitarist John Kinsman joined in 2011 followed by more touring and great success. Their first full-length album, “Pretty Monsters,” was released earlier this year.

Formed in 2009, The Devils Train incorporates rockabilly, psychobilly, punk rock, swing, jazz and psychedelic. Their energetic live show has the raw energy of the original rockabilly artists while the vocals and stage presence of singer Akasha Hepcat pays homage to the great punk singers like Siouxsie Sioux, Patty Smith and Debbie Harry. The group includes Akasha Hepcat (vocals), Bone Daddy Scribs (standup bass), Johnny K (guitar), Jojo Dankenstien (rhythm guitar) and Slick Simmons (drums).

Sharing the bill will be progressive rock band This is Radiation, featuring Zach Peach, Leif Bonfils and Beni Ross.

Stories you may be interested in

The Union Updated Dec 26, 2012 07:19PM Published Dec 27, 2012 12:39PM Copyright 2012 The Union. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.