Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

February 28, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Louis Pearl: If it hurts you or others, it’s not good

February 28, 2015 — 

Since before the beginning of the Crusades, men of good intention have argued the merits and demerits of Christianity, Islam and Judaism. All three religions have had a positive effect on mankind and at the same time, each has had a history of repression, barbarism and intolerance.

I have heard all the arguments for and against these religions and every argument I have heard has a basis of truth to it.

Learn more »

Ruby Totten: Come on, George

February 28, 2015 — 

Ah rats ... I’ve always enjoyed George Boardman’s columns. But he blew it in his column, “It’s time to stop tolerating weird science of anti-vaxxers.” His biased reference to those who oppose PG&E’s Smart Meters as “people ... who think smart meters are spying on them,” showed lack of research. The outstanding majority of those wanting to veto Smart Meters list health issues as the chief drawback.

Ruby Totten

Learn more »

Sue Clark: Robertapalooza raises funds for musical theater scholarship

February 28, 2015 — 

“I just need to console myself with gratitude that I have wonderful memories of doing shows together, sharing confiding and therefore growing.” (Choir member)

“She was an earthly angel.”

Learn more »

Edward Thomas: Tree management plan confusing

February 28, 2015 — 

If it weren’t so sad, it would be amusing. The county stirs up a million dollar lawsuit by insisting on a tree management plan in the so-called visually important ridgeline/cell tower case, while a few miles away, down in the flats, trees are cut down without their permission.

Property owner in the first case demonstrates that their project can’t be seen from anywhere, yet county insists on a tree management plan. Can’t see the forest through the trees or can’t see the trees through the forest? You choose. I’m confused.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Rice’s poll standing — Star power still a political factor

February 28, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

Jenny Warden: A flourishing economy grows on the Ridge

February 28, 2015 — 

Surprising to some, the San Juan Ridge is a hotbed of small business. There are about 150 enterprises with over 400 employees on the Ridge, according to a survey conducted by the Ridge Association of Manufacturers and Business Owners (RAMBO).

There are a number of industrial enterprises on the Ridge including construction, automotive repair, solar products, well drillers, gravel and excavation companies, and specialized manufacturers.

Learn more »

Our View: Grass Valley City Council appointment fulfills civic duty, but leaves voters disenfranchised

February 28, 2015 — 

The appointment of Ben Aguilar to the Grass Valley City Council has drawn a great deal of criticism in wake of the council’s 3-1 vote Tuesday night.

But that criticism has centered on the process employed for the appointment, rather than the person actually appointed.

Learn more »

Marilyn Rosenbrock: A little civility goes a long way

February 27, 2015 — 

Regarding letters to the editors and the articles recently printed in The Union: It is so easy to assume if I have not had a particular experience (i.e., friendly community) that you have described, you must not have had that experience either.

Another approach might be ... “that is not my experience in Nevada County and I am sorry you have encountered objections to your personal point of view. I will be more aware and speak out if I see that kind of disrespect.”

Learn more »

Ralph Hitchcock: ‘The Sierras’ is the traditional usage – not “The Sierra”

February 27, 2015 — 

A Feb. 17 letter from Mr. O’Dwyer made a correct statement that the Sierra Nevada was one range. However, he then went on to state somewhat pedantically that therefore the plural term “the Sierras” is incorrect. Regardless of “correctness” local usage normally rules.

“The Sierras” has been used by almost everyone with a Northern California family heritage prior to the 1960s, when the influx of people from Southern California and the nation got underway. The term “the Sierra” seems to be used by those without that local heritage. The difference between the two terms is minor, but as a 6th generation Northern Californian I don’t want to be told by a person who admitted that he had just learned about antlers and horns, that the term my Northern California peers and I have been using all our lives is wrong.

Learn more »

Bill McQuerry: ‘Grossly unbalanced cartoon’

February 27, 2015 — 

Herewith a few remarks in response to the grossly unbalanced cartoon of Feb. 11, featuring “Darwin.”

An unbiased individual, presented with the scientific facts from both sides of this long-standing controversy, in each area referred to in the cartoon (paleontology, DNA, botany, etc.) would see that the scientific evidence in each of these areas is at least as strong in support of creation as it is for evolution. In fact, since neither creation nor evolution can be either proven nor disproven, one’s support of either belief system comes down to just that: one’s belief system.

Learn more »

Harry J. Wander: Vaccines are safer than diseases

February 27, 2015 — 

In over 56 years of practicing medicine, the last 50 specializing in pediatrics, I have seen many children die from vaccine preventable diseases. These have included such diseases as meningitis, pneumonia, whooping cough, measles, and chickenpox.

I have never seen a child die from a vaccine. I have never even talked with a physician who has seen a death from a vaccine.

Learn more »

Diane Robertson: Our vibrant culture is the true gold of these hills

February 27, 2015 — 

In recent columns, George Boardman and JoAnn Rebane take Nevada County folks to task. Mr. Boardman seems to imply that we’re likable hicks, and Ms. Rebane that we’d best get busy encouraging more logging, milling and other big exploitative industries lest our cities become ghost towns.

Neither mentions our vibrant culture. We have a wealth of talent here, and the connections and the professionalism to import what we lack. We have not one, but two classical music organizations, InConcert and MIM. We have at least five theater companies. We have musical performances in a wide variety of genres presented by the Center for the Arts, Miners Foundry and the Nevada Theater. We have literature readings. We have dance. We have three multi-screen cinemas, one of which shows the Met Live and National Theater Live. We have countless visual artists — painters, sculptors, potters. We have numerous festivals throughout the year, from blue grass to environmental film to storytelling. Access to any of these cultural events is not cheap, but it’s a great deal cheaper than in big cities, and it’s free for volunteers.

Learn more »

Karen Smith: Well, done, Mr. Scofield

February 27, 2015 — 

Rich Scofield describes his Other Voices column as an apology to his teammates at The Union.

It is actually a love letter to his career and all the teammates he has enjoyed over the years. Well, done, Mr. Scofield. Enjoy your retirement as that Ol’ Man River keeps rolling along. And thanks for your efforts (and your teammates’) in getting the paper out for all of us to read and discuss.

Learn more »

Mary Anne Davis: Offering a few hours of help could change a child’s life

February 27, 2015 — 

Would you give an hour or two of your time each week if you knew it would make the difference between an elementary school student succeeding in school ... or not?

Any one of us who has been in any school in America has seen the children who aren’t the high achievers — who struggle along barely passing from grade to grade, usually because their math or language arts skills aren’t strong. Maybe we identify because we were once one of those kids. Classrooms are full of children who all learn in different ways, yet teachers are expected to teach them all in the same way in the same amount of time.

Learn more »

Hemig: Why newspapers are, and will always be, important to our community

February 27, 2015 — 

I can’t tell you how many times since I arrived last year that I’ve heard people say, “I get my news from the Internet.”

The Union’s print and online publications are seen by more than 40,000 people per day. That’s a lot of people, but that’s not everyone in western Nevada County. When I talk with non-readers, the Internet appears to be their go-to source for news.

Learn more »

Inyo County Board of Education: Inyo Register story on McAteer full of exaggeration, falsehoods

February 27, 2015 — 

We write this letter today to set the record straight regarding Inyo County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Terry McAteer, concerning an article submitted to The Union by the editor of the Inyo Register. Unfortunately, Inyo County is ill-served by this libelous article against our superintendent and your former county superintendent.

Let us be clear: This article is filled with gross exaggeration and outright falsehoods. In fact we wish to highlight several of the transformative results that Terry has helped create during his seven years as the educational leader in our community:

Learn more »

Nevada County clerk-recorder’s office issues report on electronic poll book

February 26, 2015 — 

The digital age has changed the way people around the world process information. So, too, has digital evolution changed the way elections are conducted in Nevada County, according to Clerk-Recorder Gregory J. Diaz.

The careful introduction of Electronic Poll Books (e-poll books) in the county has already benefited voters, taxpayers and the team of election workers who run the polls, tabulate the votes and assure that the elections are conducted lawfully.

Learn more »

Andrea Heyser: Grass Valley City Council goes against will of the people

February 25, 2015 — 

There is something that I do not understand about the replacement of one of the council members in Grass Valley. Aren’t the council members supposed to represent the people of Grass Valley and not the original council members themselves? If the council requests volunteers to interview for the Grass Valley council member vacancy, then the chosen one will represent those who chose him, the existing council members, not the people.

The people have already chosen the individuals they want, one may be indisposed by the criminal system, the other is willing and waiting for her new assignment on the council, one made by the people she is to represent. Her name is Jerri Glover.

Learn more »

Lorraine Reich: What is going on?

February 25, 2015 — 

Look up! Is anyone concerned as I am about what is going on in the skies overhead? Just look up and you will see — for example, today, Feb. 18 — lines being painted across our skies by airplanes which are spraying chemicals into the atmosphere. What is going on? These are not contrails which disappear within moments of the jet passing. These sprayed trails stay in the sky for hours and by this afternoon there is likely to be a thin coating across the entire sky blocking out the sun’s normal rays. I’m concerned.

This pattern occurs several times a week, every week. Who is doing this, why is it happening, and why are U.S. citizens not voicing their concerns?

Learn more »

Whitney Anderson: Amazing support after Highway 49 accident

February 25, 2015 — 

​My daughter and I were involved in a very serious car accident on Feb. 7 on Highway 49 near Oak Drive. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all persons and passersby involved in our rescue from the car. Our hearts are heavy with sadness for the other driver who did not survive and we are praying for her family and friends during this sad time. May God bless their family.

​My daughter and I are both home now and are working on rehabilitation. We want to specifically thank the people who stopped and helped us escape our smoking and damaged car. We have no idea who the men were and we hope that some of them see this thank you. One car with several gentlemen stopped, checked in with me, and then physically took my daughter, who could not walk, out of our car and placed her in theirs. Thank you so much for your gentle rescue of her.

Learn more »

Nancy McDonald: The definition of treason?

February 25, 2015 — 

“Hey ISIS! Just want you to know that we are coming for a fight. We will be there on the 6th of April with 20,000 men. Don’t worry — we will be gone by Ramadan. We will be stationed on the ridge overlooking the valley — 5,000 men there, 3,000 setting up a base, 4,000 by the town of Mosul. We are hoping that you don’t set up any IEDs or land mines. We understand your plight, that you don’t have jobs and that is why you fight. Would midnight basketball help? Group therapy sessions? What would you like us to do for you?”

Now, I am not a lawyer, but isn’t revealing our plans to the enemy aiding and abetting the enemy? Isn’t that the definition of treason? What is this president thinking?

Learn more »

Cartoon

February 25, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Grass Valley, culturally rich

February 25, 2015 — 

I ‘m a retired college dance teacher, and moved here from Humboldt County to escape gray weather, to hike and ski the local mountains, and explore the rich cultural activities of Grass Valley.

I attended the recent city council meeting where three candidates were interviewed for the open council seat. What I heard from the answers to various questions mostly had to do with revenue, economic development, tech start-ups, infrastructure and fire/police safety issues. The question about ranking city issues before or after the importance of park and recreation activities was botched by each candidate.

Learn more »

New marijuana facts from Colorado, Washington

February 25, 2015 — 

Whether we like it or not, chances are good that California voters will approve a 2016 initiative to legalize marijuana for adults over 21. I myself have mixed feelings about this proposal; however, I choose to work with the drafters of the initiative to ensure that medical marijuana patients retain their rights after recreational use is legalized.

Protecting the rights of small mom and pop cultivators is another key issue that needs to be resolved before I would support this initiative.

Learn more »

Tom Miller: Church community mourns passing of Paul Perry

February 25, 2015 — 

We mourn the death of Paul Perry, who will be remembered as one of the people who shaped western Nevada County into what we know today.

Perry did for this community, through music, what Osborne and Woods did for architectural preservation; what Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital did for medical care; what KVMR and KNCO did for radio broadcasting and public discourse; what the Grass Valley Group did for technology; and what Sierra College’s Nevada County Campus did for education.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

February 24, 2015 — 

Learn more »

John Keane: Regressives vs. progressives

February 24, 2015 — 

Before they make complete fools of themselves by starting every sentence with “the American people want” this or that ... someone should remind the GOP leadership that only a third of the electorate voted in the last election and that they won by a little more than half of those voters. Not exactly a landslide.

By not voting the progressives have, for the second time, handed Congress over to the regressive party. The lesson to be learned is that in a country where low voter turnout favors one party, not voting is voting. In a perverse way everybody wins. The regressives can continue pulling us back to the ’50s while progressives can continue to whine that the president is not doing enough.

Learn more »

Firefighters make pancakes in the rain for student fundraiser

February 24, 2015 — 

The Starmakers of Magnolia Intermediate School would like to thank Higgins Diggins Cal Fire Engines No. 21 and 22 firefighters for supporting them at their annual Pancake Breakfast and Cabaret held on Saturday, Feb. 7.

The firefighters worked for hours in the rain cooking hundreds of pancakes for hungry guests. We could not have done it without you!

Learn more »

Dennis Elliott: Thanks for helping scholars

February 24, 2015 — 

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top