Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Chris Nichols: Caring enough to go the extra mile

May 28, 2015 — 

Several weeks ago I was on my way to work quite early in the morning. Driving down La Barr Meadows road, I hit a beautiful pale orange cat. I stopped, and checked on the cat, thinking that I had killed it.

I began knocking on the doors of the nearby houses to try to find his family, and while I was doing so, the van for Accurate Air Conditioning and Heating stopped, and asked if I needed help, which I did.

Learn more »

Mary Miller: Many successes at Milhous

May 28, 2015 — 

I was sad to read the recent article about Milhous Children’s Services. An anonymous allegation was made public. It has since been investigated by superiors.

I and my late husband worked for Milhous for 20 years. I have seen the success of the children who have since grown into adults. The whole staff works as a machine (as hard as they can) to achieve a good outcome for all. A wonderful training is provided to employees. Over the years, between four and five thousand young people have had 24/7 care there. I give them a thumb’s up.

Learn more »

Byron York: Bernie Sanders is Hillary's leftward advance man

May 28, 2015 — 

Is Bernie Sanders pulling Hillary Clinton to the Left? No, for the same reason a canoe doesn’t pull an aircraft carrier.

The Vermont socialist running in the Democratic presidential race is currently at 7.4 percent in the RealClearPolitics average of national polls, versus Clinton’s 64.2 percent. Clinton is in fact moving leftward on issues like immigration, gay marriage, inequality and more, but it’s not because she’s feeling the heat from a little-known competitor.

Learn more »

Amy Goodman: The pre-charge punishment of Julian Assange

May 28, 2015 — 

Tucked away on a side street in one of London’s toniest neighborhoods, just across the street from the sprawling department store Harrods, sits a brick, Victorian-era apartment building that houses the Ecuadorean Embassy. Julian Assange, the founder and editor of the whistle-blower website WikiLeaks, walked into this embassy on June 19, 2012, and hasn’t stepped foot outside since.

Ecuador granted him political asylum, but the United Kingdom refuses to grant him safe passage to leave the country. Instead, the U.K. wants to extradite him to Sweden to answer questions about allegations of sexual misconduct, although charges have never been filed. For close to three years, he has remained a prisoner in the embassy, denied even the hour of sunlight daily that most prisoners are guaranteed. For two years before that, he was either jailed or under strict house arrest in England, all without charge. When I went to London to interview him in the embassy this week, Assange asserted his belief that this pretrial phase is serving as both punishment and deterrent, and that Sweden is acting as a surrogate for the United States, which wants him jailed to stop the work of WikiLeaks.

Learn more »

M.L. Jakeman: Dr. Ben Carson, the anti-politician

May 27, 2015 — 

I read with considerable interest Byron York’s article in the May 9 issue of The Union.

It suggests that if Dr. Ben Carson is serious about running for the presidency of this country he should immediately change his tactics and embrace the modus operandi of the traditional ambitious politicians.

Learn more »

Willis McNeill: All about water

May 27, 2015 — 

In response to “Excessive water use by agriculture” and “Leadership means long-term solutions to deal with drought,” which recently appeared in The Union:

First an explanation is needed about the stated use of water by agriculture — is it 80 percent or 40 percent? The Union cites the Wall Street Journal “… 80 percent of developed water supply, yet this excludes the half swiped off the top for environmental purposes …”

Learn more »

Loren Young: Bullet Train a bust

May 27, 2015 — 

In reference to the May 11 article from the Associated Press about how much of a bargain the Bullet Train will be, the AP should do the math.

A cost of $86 per person just doesn’t cut it. My Camry, at 34 mpg would use 11 gallons of gas at $3.50-ish costs $38.50

Learn more »

Nancy Garcia: Time to learn more about the State of Jefferson

May 27, 2015 — 

On May 12, the Board of Supervisors granted the State of Jefferson proponents a hearing, which was appreciated.

After presenting each supervisor with individual information in preparation for the meeting and numerous citizens speaking for and against the idea, we were very surprised that not a single question was posed about any of the information presented.

Learn more »

Jim Jacobs: Feeling alone with no voice in government?

May 27, 2015 — 

About five years ago, President Obama was out here siding with the environmentalists, giving speeches, saying we need to remove about five of our dams.

My wife Clover and I have always washed full loads in cold water, and all of our outside watering is on drip and has been since we arrived here 15 years ago. Has common sense gone out the window?

Learn more »

Carrtoon: May 27, 2015

May 27, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Richard Bell: Jefferson State University?

May 27, 2015 — 

George Boardman’s column (“Marin County of Jefferson,” May 18) opens the door to the real costs of establishing a new state without real consideration of who would be directly affected by such a drastic change.

There are far too many chasms in Jefferson statehood to mention here, but let’s begin with an important one: higher education.

Learn more »

Jeannie Wood: CATS celebrates 12 sold-out shows

May 26, 2015 — 

Community Asian Theatre of the Sierra (CATS) thanks the community and region for the overwhelming response to its recent production of “Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet” at the Nevada Theatre. Frankly, we were taken by surprise by the incredible word-of-mouth advertising that resulted in 12 sold-out shows!

The storyline touched the hearts and minds at so many levels: first love and loss, World War II and the Japanese Internment, the politics and friction between the Chinese and Japanese, racism and prejudice, generational conflicts, and more! There wasn’t anything that this show didn’t resonate something in someone. Reality hit home. CATS was proud to host the California premiere of this best-selling novel by Jamie Ford. Kudos to adaptor and director Annie Lareau who gave life to the book on stage. Thank you Book-It Repertory Theatre of Seattle, our cast, crew, directors, designers, sponsors, donors, volunteers, and the 3,000 patrons who saw the show. Thanks for making the trek from the Sacramento region, the Bay Area, Placer County, Yuba County, San Joaquin County, Washoe County, Sierra County, and even Seattle! We are humbled by your support.

Learn more »

Bill Trzeciak: Bernie Sanders' multi-point plan

May 26, 2015 — 

Bernie’s plan is a progressive plan

For he’s a social democratic man.

Learn more »

Joan Girdler Good: Thank you, Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital

May 26, 2015 — 

I was feeling full of dread upon entering the mammography center at Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital, but soon felt a bit better when the receptionist was pleasant, efficient and was treating people as human beings. She immediately sent me into a private room for insurance information. The young woman at the desk could not have been more personable, efficient and caring. After sharing some of her own personal information she got up, came around the desk and after giving me a big hug said, “I’m going to walk you over.” Upon arrival, I was offered a choice of beverages, information was reviewed and I sat down to wait, but felt less anxious.

The mammographer was skilled, caring and quite pleasant as were the radiologist and sonogram technician. Thank you for the great skills you bring to your jobs, but just as important the kindness and sensitivity you possess. Fortunately the news was good.

Learn more »

Patricia Pickering: Bring back the TV Guide

May 26, 2015 — 

How could I be in the minority that reads the TV Guide in The Union? I don’t own a computer or satellite. The TV guide on cable is a hassle, it distracts the viewing channels while wanting information. My daughter lives in Eureka, and their local newspaper prints the TV guide daily at no extra charge. If there was another local newspaper that printed the TV Guide I would order it. The Nevada City Advocate and Territorial Dispatch are news worthy (without charge) and I am not happy with the discontinuance of the TV Guide. Will our voices be heard? I have lived in this area for 40 years. Kudos to Linda Johnson for starting the request to bring back the TV Guide to The Union.

Patricia Pickering

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Vaccinations and the Gov: What will he do?

May 26, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

R. L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

May 26, 2015 — 

Learn more »

George Boardman: This isn't how we honor American warriors we put in harm's way

May 25, 2015 — 

Today we pause to honor the American warriors who gave their lives fighting our country’s wars. That honor roll includes over 6,800 who fell in Iraq and Afghanistan, and we should ask ourselves if the sacrifice we asked them to make was worth it.

I raise that touchy topic today because events that occurred in the past couple of weeks raise legitimate questions about how we decide to go to war, and the standards we use to judge those actions.

Learn more »

James Woods: 'Wildlife Services' a misnomer

May 25, 2015 — 

Some help here please. The misnamed program “Wildlife Services” is on a killing spree.

In 2013 the Department of Agriculture’s Wildlife Services shot, trapped, gassed and poisoned more than 2.1 million wildlife for Big Agriculture, beef barons, mining, oil and logging companies. All this mayhem to help corporations make an extra dollar.

Learn more »

Nathan Menth: Nevada County Kids Fire Camp 2015

May 25, 2015 — 

As this school year is rounding to an end, Nevada County Kid’s Fire Camp is gearing up!

This year’s Fire Camp is for Nevada County’s youth, ages 11 to 14, who are interested in becoming a firefighter for the week. The week-long day camp, located at our training facility, teaches the future firefighters the ins and the outs of our unique profession. Camp is set to be from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday, June 29 through Friday, July 3.

Learn more »

Pat Lane: Jerry Davis a true hero

May 25, 2015 — 

I was sad to see that my friend Jerry Davis passed away but I was even more disappointed that the obituary did not give more attention to his World War II military record.

As a member of the 511th Airborne, Jerry was one of the brave paratroopers who dropped into the Japanese camp at Los Banos to liberate hundreds of internees (transferred from Manila due to overcrowding) in 1945. It was a daring surprise raid that caught the Japanese unarmed and doing their morning calisthenics. Four of the liberated prisoners were the Sams family, Gerry and Margaret (now deceased) and two young children, who have lived in the Chicago Park area for years. Margaret wrote a book titled “Forbidden Family” that described the exciting and successful operation. The Davises and the Sams remained good friends and attended POW reunion parties for 50 years.

Learn more »

Bonnie Johnson: I loved my TV guide

May 25, 2015 — 

I wanted to add my name to those who object to the elimination of the TV Guide. I agree with Joyce Haire’s letter to the editor, “Bring back my TV Guide.” Everything she wrote was in my thoughts. I am 83 years old and loved my guide. I have been a subscriber since 1977.

Bonnie Johnson

Learn more »

Chad Hanson: Large, intense fires are good for wildlife

May 23, 2015 — 

Norm Sauer’s opinion article expresses common fears and misconceptions about mixed-intensity fires (Other Voices, May 13).

In his disbelief about current science, Mr. Sauer claims that Christy Sherr’s article about the ecological benefits of higher-intensity fire patches (Other Voices, April 1) somehow must have involved “falsifying science,” yet he offers not a single example of a factual inaccuracy in her article.

Learn more »

Manny Montes: Attorney general's office must fulfill its duty

May 23, 2015 — 

What are progressives alluding to when they say conservatives want to take us back to 1950? How does advocating for limited government, fiscal responsibility, and free markets conjure in the progressives’ mind 1950?

I would like to understand this. Also, the blatant condescension of the progressive’s attack on Fox News viewers, accusing the viewers of being empty headed dimwits. Or, the chronicling of past Republican convictions compared to Obama’s cascading (non)-scandals and no convictions, as if there is something in the Republican mind set predisposed to corruption, and progressives are pure as the driven snow.

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: What were Americans thinking?

May 23, 2015 — 

Inquiring minds want to know if the Republicans and Tea Party stand for anything besides a nonstop assault on women’s freedom of choice (anti-abortion) and the obstruction of the economy, government, and progress of the country like they’ve been fixated on for the past six years.

Republicans have spent their time passing hundreds of restrictive anti-abortion laws around the country in the last few years and last weekend they were at it again as House Republicans passed legislation that would ban most abortions starting with the 20th week of pregnancy. You did hear Senate leader Mitch McConnell say the Republicans would “change,” right after they won the last election. Talk is cheap, especially if you’re a Republican.

Learn more »

Jeff Loberg: America is better off without liberal view of society

May 23, 2015 — 

I must take issue with Carole Chapman’s attack of Stan Meckler, co-founder of the Tea Party Movement. If she had done some fact checking, she would know the modern Tea Party had its beginnings with Dr. Ron Paul in 2007.

Chapman wants you to think that it was formed in response to Obama’s election, which is clearly not the case. To refer to Mr. Meckler as a radical is preposterous! It is liberals who are the radicals! Your support of alternative lifestyles, taxing the rich job creators to oblivion, legalized pot use, anti-gun ownership, confused bathrooms, and frivolous laws designed to erode the freedoms of good law-abiding citizens is what’s radical. Americans are better off without liberals’ view of how society should be.

Learn more »

Jim Firth: Solving the problem

May 23, 2015 — 

Many of our friends and neighbors in Nevada County struggle every day to have enough to eat. This happens even though they work everyday, pay their taxes, donate time to their church or volunteer at their children’s or grand-children’s school.

Right now the California minimum wage is $9 per hour. It’s $1.75 higher than the national minimum, but still falls short of what is needed in California to provide for even the basic food, housing, medical care, or educational needs of our residents.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Stadium projects a test for CEQA changes

May 23, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

Teresa Langness: Bessie Minor Swift grant gives farmworker families a fair chance

May 23, 2015 — 

The hands that fill the nation’s fruit basket had new resources to fill their own children’s needs this year, thanks to a grant from the Bessie Minor Swift Foundation. Formed by the owners of Swift Communications, the parent company of The Union newspaper, this foundation makes grants available that promote literacy and enrichment in the arts and sciences. In 2014, Nevada City-based Full-Circle Learning, a global nonprofit, received $2,220 for a bilingual reading program among parents and preschoolers at a HUD project for farmworkers.

The year has passed and the program has helped the constituents gain skills that will influence their community for a lifetime.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

May 23, 2015 — 

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top