Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Everything I’m against

August 21, 2014 — 

Regarding the guest column, “Who is Jim Firth?” by Keoni Allen on Aug. 15, it was a great reply to Jim Hemig’s original column.

What makes it special is that our merchants put in very long hours, and it takes time for a person who is tired to take the time out to reply to Jim Firth.

Learn more »

“Good ol’ boy”: complimentary or derogatory?

August 21, 2014 — 

Publisher Jim Hemig, in his recent article, fails to capture the essence of the meaning of “good ol’ boy.”

“Good ol’ boy” around here refers to a group of people who support and protect the status quo. “good ol’ boys or girls” may have arrived here a few months ago, or they may have lived here all their lives.

Learn more »

A kind citizen’s cane

August 21, 2014 — 

Kudos to Bea, a receptionist and ticket vendor at the Nevada County Fair, who, when I asked her if there were any “cane vendors” at the fair, graciously loaned me her cane for the day.

I had inadvertently left my cane at home.

Learn more »

York: Gloomy, frantic Dems plead for more money

August 21, 2014 — 

I’ve been getting a lot of email from Democratic fundraisers lately. They seem very worried about November’s elections.

First came the highly publicized “Impeachment Red Alert” campaign, in which the Democratic congressional committee warned that Republicans will impeach President Obama if they win control of the House and Senate. Though much ridiculed, the “Impeachment Red Alert” effort was a big winner, pulling in $2.1 million in small donations in a single weekend.

Learn more »

Goodman: The ghost of Dred Scott haunts the streets of Ferguson

August 21, 2014 — 

The ghost of Dred Scott haunts the streets of Ferguson.

Thousands have been protesting the police killing of Michael Brown, an unarmed African-American teenager in the St. Louis suburb of Ferguson.

Learn more »

Facts important in understanding Gaza conflict

August 20, 2014 — 

I need to respond to an article written by Karen DeHart regarding the conflict in Gaza because it is full of prejudicial half-truths.

DeHart writes: “The Israelis are bombing defenseless people who are already their prisoners.”

Learn more »

Fundraiser yields more than $6,000 for mammography

August 20, 2014 — 

Hey fellow Nevada Countians. The next time you see Steve Loomis at Hills Flat Lumber, Robert Bare, Scott Mantel, and/or Jaysen McDaniels, be sure to give them kudos for their generosity as volunteer officials at the “2014 Saved by Second Base” fundraiser.

Proceeds exceeded $6,000 and are available to cover mammography and diagnostic costs. Anyone in need should see Melisa Agness at Insight Imaging to take advantage of Sb2B funds.

Learn more »

Thank you to Old Barn Storage

August 20, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Stop branding the Palestians as ‘bad guys’

August 20, 2014 — 

For the past few weeks, the world has witnessed the brutal bombing attacks on the peoples of the Gaza strip. Gaza lies on the eastern coast of the Mediterranean sea. It has been under occupation at various times by Egypt, Great Britain and Israel.

Its citizens have suffered horrendously under Israeli control since 1967. Gaza, a densely populated city of almost 2 million on the Mediterranean Sea, has been mercilessly bombed and shelled in both 2008 and 2014.

Learn more »

Honor those who honor the military

August 20, 2014 — 

Thank you Dennis Kocher and God bless you for your service to our country and all your volunteer work for Nevada County.

We are blessed to have many former military men and women volunteer their time helping those in need. Having family members who have served our country since World War II up to the present time, Nevada County has always supported members of the military in many ways and proud of it.

Learn more »

ZIP program helps readers in need

August 20, 2014 — 

The ZIP book program, is “the gift that keeps on giving.” Thank you to Wayne Walker and the ZIP program at the Grass Valley Library. Only a reader could know the thrill of a new book. On behalf of all of us who can’t afford one, this makes it really special.

Donna Day

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Aug. 20, 2014

August 20, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Now wonder STEM math is confusing

August 19, 2014 — 

Our education crisis in America has spawned a new acronym: STEM for science, technology, engineering and math. Our government and politicians are not helping. The public is told that unemployment is at 6.1 percent. It is greater than 15 percent.

For years we’ve been told the “illegal” population in America is 11 million. The true number is north of 14 million.

Learn more »

Western Sierra Medical Center: a nonprofit dedicated to community health

August 19, 2014 — 

The delivery of health care is about making sure patients have access to much-needed services and treatment, whether it’s a routine annual exam or a life-threatening disease. In short, health care is about connecting with the community and meeting its needs.

As a nonprofit health center, our charge is to serve everyone — people with insurance, people covered by Medicare and low-income and uninsured residents.

Learn more »

Scouting is for everybody

August 19, 2014 — 

In reference to The Union’s Aug. 1 article entitled, “Parents say Girl Scouts discriminated against daughter with disability,” my husband, Bruce, and I raised our four daughters and two sons, who are now adults, in Southern California. We were a very active scouting family, committee chair, den mother, Brownie, Junior, cadet and leader. The troops were involved with were blessed with very active parents.

Our scout counsels’ rule was whenever there was a scout outing there should be one adult to every five scouts. One of the boy scouts had ADP, or Auditory Processing Disorder, and his father was always there so his son could have fun with friends.

Learn more »

Keep your dogs on a leash

August 19, 2014 — 

This letter is directed to all pit bull owners. Please, please keep your dogs on a leash (properly restrained) or locked up. I personally know of two small Shih Tzu’s (in their own yards) who have died of complications from pit bull attacks in just the past week, and how often I read in the police blotter of attacks on animals and people by pit bulls.

Please beware of your own pets, livestock or even family members if you own a pit.

Learn more »

Change a life: Orientation for foster children’s CASA program Wednesday, Aug. 20

August 19, 2014 — 

Child Advocates of Nevada County’s CASA program has 51 CASA’s — Court Appointed Special Advocates.

Those CASA’s are currently working with 77 children who have been removed from their homes because of abuse or neglect. CASA’s are volunteers, from all walks of life and with varied backgrounds. They are screened, trained and supported to work with children who desperately need stability, predictability and a safe adult in their lives, someone who will stick with them all the way through the court process to a loving, secure and permanent home.

Learn more »

It Takes a Village Idiot: Aug. 19, 2014

August 19, 2014 — 

Learn more »

To permit or not?

August 17, 2014 — 

In the City of Grass Valley, if you want to remove a tree from your property you need to get a permit. This costs $129. You fill out the paperwork and mark the tree. If approved after city inspection they send you a notice to post on the tree for 10 days.

If no one protests, after the appeal period, the city sends you a letter of approval. After removal you must plant another tree because the city “values the contribution which such trees make to the beauty and quality of life in Grass Valley.”

Learn more »

Why the case against Dr. Bigelsen is important

August 17, 2014 — 

Last March 20, Dr. Bigelsen’s clinic was shut down by investigators for the California Medical Board. When the doctor called the police for help, they came — and supported the investigators. Thus, the 72-year-old doctor lost his practice, his home and his livelihood.

Guilty until proven innocent appears to be the process he is undergoing. I always thought it was the other way around.

Learn more »

Fighting for women’s rights!

August 17, 2014 — 

There has been a lot in the news in the papers about the so-called Republican’s “War on Women.” I’d like to tell you a story about a Republican couple that supported and encouraged women.

The story starts back in December 1849 when a man from Massachusetts arrived in San Francisco bay on a clipper ship. He studied law and in 1861 was elected to Congress. After serving several terms he was subsequently elected to the U.S. Senate.

Learn more »

Our nation’s character has taken a troubling turn

August 17, 2014 — 

Two stories in the recent news — one local, one national — illustrate a disturbing trend in our society.

The first concerns the agonies of the 46 Grass Valley “neighbors” who signed a petition protesting a residential home for four mentally ill adults in their neighborhood on Pelton Way. Considering the uproar, one would think the proposal was for forced housing of people with mental illnesses in the “neighbors”’ homes. Hardly.

Learn more »

‘Rock and Relax’ booth much appreciated at the fair

August 17, 2014 — 

A huge thank you to Arly Helm and all of the volunteers from the Breastfeeding Coalition of Nevada County for sponsoring the “Rock and Relax” booth at the fair this year. It was wonderful to have a cool, clean, and comfortable area to feed and change my son.

Thank you for supporting our community’s children — and their moms!

Learn more »

Presidency a failure since day one

August 17, 2014 — 

As our freedoms continue to erode, our Constitution is shred, and our economy continues to be stagnant, it’s hard to understand how anyone can stand up and tout this president’s achievements.

But Nevada County has Ron Lowe, cheerleader for the left. Lowe fails to mention the real accolades of Obama’s presidency. Standing by while American citizens are killed in Libya and then lying to the faces of their families as to how and why they were killed. Maybe we should pat Obama on the back for his handling of Iraq, Syria and the rest of the Middle East. And maybe we should congratulate him for his handling of the border crisis.

Learn more »

Three strikes: Vote them out

August 16, 2014 — 

The Nevada County Board of Supervisors conservative majority is consistently making decisions at odds with conservative principles of limited government, individual freedom, and fiscal responsibility. Three recent examples of “big-government” overreach will suffice to illustrate.

The first instance is the proposed outdoor events ordinance. This proposed new regulation was put in motion to suppress nuisances, but it is so overreaching that it will impact the livelihoods of many local businesses to the tune of $15 million dollars or more, according to the Nevada City Chamber of Commerce.

Learn more »

School shootings support senseless sensationalism

August 16, 2014 — 

“I want to leave a lasting impression on the world.” — Eric Harris, 1999 Columbine killer.

Caution. School’s starting up this month.

Learn more »

‘War on women’ cries demeaning to American women

August 16, 2014 — 

In her op-ed, Nancy Eubanks seems to have a very low opinion of a woman’s ability to be responsible for herself and to think and act independently (“Don’t Let Your Freedom Tread On Me,” Aug. 4).

She is repeating the scripted talking points of the Democratic party that women are hapless victims of their reproductive system, and that either the government or employers must be responsible for providing free birth control for all women because they are incapable of making their own decisions, controlling their own behaviors, or providing for themselves.

Learn more »

Police patrol makes a difference

August 16, 2014 — 

We of the Olympic Glade Mobile Home Park Association would like to thank the Grass Valley Police Department for driving through our park endeavoring to keep unwanted people away during the night hours and early morning hours.

This is a senior park and elderly residents want to feel safe in this ever-changing world. So thanks again to the city police and the Nevada County Sheriff’s Department for listening to our calls and continuing to respond when we need you.

Learn more »

FFA encourages leadership, responsibility in today’s youth

August 16, 2014 — 

I am writing to you as a sixth generation Nevada County resident and the parent of a local FFA student. My concern lies in the article published in your paper “Panda’s New Life,” that portrayed the FFA organization and youth in Agriculture in an unsavory and one-sided light.

The insinuation that the FFA is an obsolete and useless organization in today’s agricultural industry is absurd and the assertion that “FFA doesn’t teach students about how farming is done. It’s all factory farms, except for a few small farms,” is shortsighted and frankly false “information.”

Learn more »

Calif. businesses need stronger federal clean water rules

August 16, 2014 — 

You don’t have to be a native Californian to know how important water is to our state, especially in light of the current record-breaking drought.

The total cost of this drought is already running into the billions of dollars, and could end up costing us thousands of jobs.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top