Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Charisse Lolli: About county's hearing on Dollar General

June 30, 2015 — 

Residents will find themselves once again in the county government chambers to oppose the construction of the Dollar General Store at Alta Sierra Wednesday.

This is the fifth Dollar General store that has been proposed within a 13-mile radius. Although previous notices have provided incorrect dates for submitting public response, opponents should know that their written responses can be received at the hearing. This hearing is for 1 p.m. Wendesday. If this is passed, it will allow the construction of a 9,100 square foot box store at the entrance of Alta Sierra Drive, larger than their average 7,300 square foot store.

Learn more »

Betsy Lombard: Taxpayers should have a say on medication prices

June 29, 2015 — 

I am a member of Anthem Blue Cross, Covered California. I use several prescription medications. I patronize Dokimo’s Nevada City. I like the people there, it is a small town business, a low stress experience, and it’s next to a great grocery store. Recently I asked my doctor for a three month prescription for two expensive medications. I took it to Dokimo’s, they ran it to see what the price was. It came back, “Your insurance doesn’t authorize three months of refills.” And Dokimo’s price was about 40 percent higher than getting three months worth at Express Scripts.

I called my insurance company and was told, “We have a contract with Express Scripts to provide this service.” If one company is authorized to provide three months of refills, AND a large discount, then other companies should have a crack at that market too. I want to keep my dollars in my local economy, so that there are local jobs and businesses, and important services available to me here in my town.

Learn more »

Lou Douros: Juvenile sexting and the public pool

June 29, 2015 — 

It used to be that the public pool was a safe place for unsupervised young teens to hang out and stay cool on those hot summer days. My 14 year old daughter and her friends were at the Pioneer pool this week. A boy their age traded phone numbers with one of my daughter’s friends (despite my daughter begging for a smartphone, here is one more reason she’ll have to wait).

By the end of the day, those girls had received lewd images of this male minor who had an apparently high opinion of his ... maleness.

Learn more »

Be a patriot: don't drive drunk

June 29, 2015 — 

Eating, drinking and watching fireworks are what people enjoy when celebrating America’s independence. America’s freedom does not allow people to drive drunk. Ironically, it is one of our country’s deadliest problems.

A drunken driver hit me head-on in April of 1992 when I was 16. My education and active life in sports against other San Joaquin County schools ended.

Learn more »

Barbara Larsen: Bravo

June 29, 2015 — 

On May 30, the Elder-Care Providers’ Coalition held an all day conference at the Holiday Inn Express titled, “The Caregiver’s Journey Continues...”

The overwhelming response from the audience was extremely positive and people came away with hand-outs and materials regarding the many resources and services in our beloved county. I would like to extend a heartfelt appreciation to the following: HelpLine Information & Assistance, One Source, Banner Crest Care Home, Atria Senior Living, Eskaton Village, Cascades of Grass Valley, Partners in Care, Interim HomeStyle Services, Brunswick Village, Gold County Home Care, Holiday Inn Express, and members of the Elder-Care Providers’ Coalition. Bravo!

Learn more »

George Boardman: Nevada County's biggest cash crop can give tourism a boost

June 29, 2015 — 

The few business development people we have trying to attract better paying jobs to Nevada County like to brag about the “family friendly” environment we have here. To hear them tell it, we’re a refreshing change from the evils you find in our big cities.

That story may have to be revised if proposed television series “The High Country,” described as a send up of the pot growing culture right here in Nevada County, gets picked up by a network and — even worse — becomes a hit along the lines of “Weeds.”

Learn more »

Marilyn Nyborg: A violent society breeds racism

June 27, 2015 — 

It’s interesting how people project their personal interests on the shooting in South Carolina. One senator points out it was an attack on Christians! Another reminds us the victims were mostly women. This kind of event which has become a frequent crisis is now being called terrorism!

Without any doubt this was a stunning act of racism.

Learn more »

Manny Montes: The elephant in the room

June 27, 2015 — 

We can no longer ignore the elephant in the room. It has trampled the furniture and is now threatening to collapse the walls; the room will be no more.

The room is our America, the elephant is the Progressive movement. This movement is contrary to the founding principles of our nation, and more in line with the destructive principles of the French revolution of 1789.

Learn more »

Fred Crowder: Issues with the ASPOA

June 27, 2015 — 

Regarding Don Jeffrey’s June 18 letter to the editor, “Board members are dedicated volunteers” regarding ASPOA.

Mr. Jeffrey, I see that you must be easily impressed and perhaps a bit misled regarding the ASPOA organization. A bit of information here:

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Lawn replacement: Mix bag of good, bad effects

June 27, 2015 — 

Listen to water officials from Gov. Jerry Brown down to local officials and you’d think replacing lawns with drought-resistant plants or artificial turf is a pure good, no negatives involved.

They know lawn replacement, often called “xeriscaping” because it can use cactuses and other desert plants, generally leads to at least a 30 percent cut in household water use.

Learn more »

It takes a village idiot

June 27, 2015 — 

R. L. Crabb

Learn more »

Our view: Training burns are more complicated than one thinks

June 27, 2015 — 

Fire season is now in full swing and it will be a long and risky one. We continue to face record breaking drought conditions. Vegetation is tinder dry. No citizen can afford to take fire safety regulations lightly.

We should all follow fire safety guidelines and make sure we maintain a defensible space around our homes. But despite the risks we face this season, we are also blessed with an enormous number of people both in government and local business, along with citizen volunteers who work together to ensure our safety.

Learn more »

Jim Goetsch: The real 'American Exceptionalism'

June 26, 2015 — 

Once again we have a liberal in the editorial section of The Union (June 5) who has totally misunderstood the meaning of “American exceptionalism.”

Mr. Vogel quotes a recent statement by President Obama that our president is now a believer in “American exceptionalism with every fiber of my (his) being.” Since the president has stated earlier that “American exceptionalism” is no better than British or Greek exceptionalism, it’s apparent that neither Mr. Vogel nor the president has any idea of what is really meant by “American exceptionalism.”

Learn more »

Miscarriage of justice

June 26, 2015 — 

Even though a jury found Phil Lester and Susan Laferte guilty of several charges, I maintain they are innocent. They are two of the finest folks you would want to know. Their accusers lost money in Gold Country Lenders but so did Phil and Susan and so did I. GCL loaned our money on real estate the same as did the banks. The government bailed out the banks but prosecuted Phil and Susie. Several of those who had money invested in loans decided Phil and Susie should be prosecuted because the loans became defaulted. We forgive the accusers but we will not stop our efforts to free them until this miscarriage of justice is reversed.

Mike Rough

Learn more »

Three easy safety measures

June 26, 2015 — 

There are three things all drivers can easily do to help prevent accidents and reduce traffic injuries and death. Everyone knows two of them, but the third is rarely known. The first two are: always wear seat belts; and turn on headlights day and night.

The third was told to me by a friend who was an EMT/paramedic in Hawaii, where, over a 25 year career, he went to hundreds of auto accidents. He said, “When we got there, if the people were still inside the car, they were almost always alive and not terminally injured, regardless of the severity of the accident. If they were thrown from the car, they were almost always dead.”

Learn more »

Fear of increased voter registration?

June 26, 2015 — 

As Jim Firth states (“Other Voices” on June 20), increasing registration and voter turnout of legal and eligible citizens is a worthy goal. Interested and involved citizens casting their vote, after studying issues and evaluating candidates, is good for our Republic. I was confused, however, on exactly how he would like the proposed “Motor Voter Act” to be enacted. Currently, one provision of this Act would register a new voter as “No Party Preference,” unless a specific preference was indicated. Jim Firth states that “many of his Democratic colleagues are nervous about that provision of the legislation.” He believes that “the vast majority of new voters will understand that the direction our national, state, and local governments must take will align more closely with the Democratic party.” Is he suggesting that the DMV should make that decision for these newly registered voters, rather than allowing them to make their own evaluation? Perhaps Jim Firth and “his colleagues are nervous about that provision” because they fear that when new voters truly understand the direction in which our government is going, they will make a vastly different choice than he proposes — and I believe that each individual citizen has the right to make that choice for themselves!

Terry McLaughlin

Learn more »

Leah Schwinn: Diego's donates to upcoming free clinic

June 26, 2015 — 

Kudos to Diego’s Restaurant for hosting a fundraising dinner on June 16 for the upcoming California CareForce free medical, dental and vision clinic coming to Grass Valley Nov. 14-15.

Good-hearted, sweet people own Diego’s, and their employees are wonderful too. If you’ve never eaten there, you’re missing out on a uniquely delicious and enjoyable experience. Thanks also to all of you who came that night to help us fund the needs of the clinic, because it is totally free to the patients!

Learn more »

Why would Americans accept blind nationalism as a substitute for real American exceptionalism?

June 26, 2015 — 

The core of American exceptionalism lies not only in the gratifying celebration of our beloved traditions, honorable sacrifices, and outstanding achievements. American exceptionalism is the dynamic force that moves a nation of many ethnicities, religions, and political views forward together to right the wrongs and overcome the injustices in each generation.

It is the fearless strength that allows us to look back in history with compassion and pride in our ability to overcome the past and confront the present.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: It's all about you!

June 26, 2015 — 

The Union loves hosting events. The chance to learn more about our readers and customers face-to-face during an event is far more engaging than through a phone call or email. Events are also a great way to share information and experiences beyond the pages of the newspaper and website.

With these goals in mind, The Union has two events coming up that will be both educational and entertaining.

Learn more »

Gary Price: Lion's club donates to Sierra Services to the Blind

June 25, 2015 — 

The Gold Country Lions Golf Team presented Sierra Services to the Blind the Club’s proceeds from the Motorcycle Poker Run recently. The Team came in with a score of 80, which put us in front of at least two other teams, one of which apparently was blind. Richard indicated, however, that there were three blind teams on the course yesterday. The Hammer was presented to the last team and they actually received prizes for being last; a new twist this year.

Thanks goes out to Ken, Craig and Allen for outstanding sportsmanship. We endured the heat and made it through all 18 holes with the last nine completed one over par. Don’t ask about the first nine. Go Lions!

Learn more »

Donn R. Coenen: Call to action

June 25, 2015 — 

If you’re unhappy with the way you’re being treated by the State of California, you’re not alone. Instead of complaining or getting mad I ask you to take action now! If you’re a farmer that’s planted your crops only to have your water cut off or a rancher who is being forced to reduce your herd. Maybe you’re a dredge miner that was forced off your legal claim or a timber operator who can’t harvest timber from national forest land. Are you a business person that’s struggling or lost your business to over regulation? Maybe you’re a truck driver who was forced to change your truck engine by CARB or a homeowner that has been paying the $150 Fire Prevention Fee (tax) only to find out that your fire insurance is being cancelled. Tired of being over taxed, over regulated and not represented in Sacramento? Join our peaceful revolution known as the State of Jefferson. It’s time for the 20 Northern Counties of California to form the 51st state. We’ll utilize Article 4, Section 3 of the U.S. Constitution to form a new rural state.

Please write, call, or email you’re representative on the County Board of Supervisors and share your stories. Ask them to pass a Declaration of Separation. This will make your county a participant in the redress of grievances against California. The county can withdraw from this at any time. There is no risk. Six counties have already gone through this process.

Learn more »

Patricia Black: It's time for redistribution

June 25, 2015 — 

Patricia Lee Anderson, in her June 18 letter, seems to think that progressives invented the concept of redistribution. Obviously she’s missed the major redistribution of the nation’s wealth that’s happened in the last 35 years. Changes in tax laws, trade deals beginning with NAFTA, deregulation of Wall Street and finance in general have redistributed most of the country’s wealth to a small percentage of rich people. Millions of citizens have lost their jobs, homes, and retirement savings. Weakening so many citizens weakens the whole country. So yeah, it’s time for a redistribution in the opposite direction. Prosperity used to be more widely shared in this country, and it needs to be again.

Patricia Black

Learn more »

Byron York: Benghazi investigators ponder — Is Hilary lying, or the state department?

June 25, 2015 — 

Last March, when Hillary Clinton made her first public comments on the secret email system she maintained while secretary of state, she took care to say she had turned over everything to the State Department. “I ... provided all my emails that could possibly be work-related,” Clinton told reporters. “I believe I have met all of my responsibilities and ... the State Department will be able, over time, to release all of the records that were provided.”

The message was clear. Clinton had turned over everything, and the State Department would make it all public.

Learn more »

Amy Goodman and Denis Moynihan: 'The perpetrator has been arrested, but the killer is still at large'

June 25, 2015 — 

The massacre of nine African-American worshippers at the Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Charleston, S.C., has sent shock waves through the nation and could well blow the roof off the Confederacy. Dylann Storm Roof is accused of methodically killing the congregants, reloading his Glock pistol at least twice. He let one victim live, according to a person who spoke with the survivor, so she could tell the world what happened. This brutal mass killing was blatantly racist, an overt act of terrorism.

Those murdered included the minister of the historic church, 41-year-old Rev. Clementa Pinckney, who also was an elected state senator in South Carolina and who was leading a Wednesday night Bible-study group. Roof actually sat in on the group for an hour before the massacre.

Learn more »

Norm Sauer: Government vote overwhelms the people

June 24, 2015 — 

Wednesday, May 13, was the final day of voting in the Marin/Sonoma Mosquito and Vector Control District fee election.

Sounds boring until you consider how bizarre it really is. The district seeks to impose a $12 per real property parcel fee in both counties. But not just property owners in those counties will cast ballots.

Learn more »

Music and animal lovers unite

June 24, 2015 — 

Would you think that Music in the Mountains and Animal Place would have a connection? Well, last night we found out that they do! The MIM Young Composers Project visited the sanctuary for farm animals twice this year and through the amazing work that they saw there were inspired to compose musical pieces that reflected their feelings of compassion for all living creatures. The Summerfest Concert was a delight and a tribute to its teachers Mark Vance and Jerry Grant and the 12 young composers who had their compositions performed. Thank you MIM for this recital. The talent displayed was phenomenal, how lucky we are to have this level of creativity amongst us, our young people are a tribute to this community.

Lindy and Greg Schasiepen, Music and animal advocates

Learn more »

Caring residents

June 24, 2015 — 

Kudos to the wonderful folks at Forest Springs Mobile homes. Office manager Pat Lane, and members of the Forest Springs community, regularly collect paper bags and egg cartons for Interfaith Food Ministry. With over 90,000 bags of groceries given out annually, IFM relies and the extra effort of individuals such as these caring residents.

Thank you all — we could not do it without you.

Learn more »

LeGacy Productions sponsorship of Hospice

June 24, 2015 — 

On behalf of Hospice of the Foothills, the Board of Directors thank LeGacy Productions for presenting such a professional and entertaining production to benefit our organization. In appreciation for the support that hospice provided to his uncle, the Director, Alvis LeGate, donated the proceeds from the June 11 play Brighton Beach Memoirs. Because insurance and individual finances do not adequately cover the cost of providing our mission to affirm life, we must rely on the support of the community to cover the difference. Their generosity demonstrates that community generosity we find in Nevada County.

E. Frank Santos, President Board of Director

Learn more »

Merchant chips in for upcoming free health clinic

June 24, 2015 — 

I want to thank Dan Wheat of A-Z Plumbing, for his kind donation to help fund the free health care clinic that will be November 14 and 15 at the Grass Valley Veterans Hall. The clinic will provide free dental, vision and medical care. We need the continued support of all the merchants and citizens of Nevada County to make this a success.

Roger Lewis

Learn more »

There is a limit to our groundwater supply

June 24, 2015 — 

It doesn’t stare you in the face. If you stick your head in the sand, you may actually see it. I’m talking about groundwater. California uses more groundwater than any other state in the nation. In fact, over 65 percent of California’s drinking water is currently supplied from wells. This groundwater is used for public water supplies, farms, factories, towns and, of course, our homes.

During the beginning of the new millennia, groundwater extraction in California was estimated at 17 million acre-feet of water. It’s important to recognize that an acre-foot of water is the amount of water that covers one acre with one single foot of water. That’s 325,900 gallons for every acre-foot. Most of this water was for agricultural purposes but about 3.4 million acre-feet was for domestic and public water supplies. That is quite an impressive dependency on groundwater.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top