Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Special thanks

August 23, 2014 — 

The Peace & Justice Center of Nevada County Directors would like to thank all who helped make our fair booth, “Our Children Need Peace to Thrive,” a great success.

This includes our 31 volunteers from the Brady Campaign, Grandmothers for Peace, Palestine/Israel Working Group, The Peace Alliance, Woolman Semester, Kentucky Flat Preschool, Communities Beyond Bias, Nevada County Drone Watch, Occupy BAFB and the Nevada County Fair Board, staff and the pubic.

Learn more »

BOS chair’s rebuttal lacks any supporting data

August 23, 2014 — 

On several occasions in the recent past and finally at the Aug. 12 Nevada County Board of Supervisors meeting, Chair Nate Beason has made public comments in an attempt to discredit the economic impact estimate prepared through the dedicated work of a dozen or more Nevada City Chamber of Commerce members affected by the recently passed Outdoor Events Ordinance.

This estimate was prepared using a combination of sources: a survey of the affected businesses, county recorder data enumerating the total number of weddings performed in Nevada County in 2013, economic information from a national wedding industry association, and some background research by a Dean of Business at a College in Bangor, Maine (a community with similarities to our own) on the “tourist dollar multiplier effect”. We are confident this is the best information available.

Learn more »

Retaliation on the ridgeline?

August 23, 2014 — 

In my opinion, the Board of Supervisors made a foolhardy decision by denying the appeal of the Lockyer/Ericksons regarding the deed restrictions the county wants to place on their property. The lone “no vote” was by Supervisor Anderson, who by his comments and examples showed the best understanding of the issues being debated.

By denying the appeal we taxpayers will likely pay an extreme price to cover the damages and legal expenses incurred by the Lockyer/Ericksons if their position (as more or less confirmed by the Superior Court’s recent ruling) is affirmed and upheld in the lawsuits that have been filed and will now proceed.

Learn more »

Water bond will prepare state for the next drought

August 23, 2014 — 

There’s an old saying that the best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago, but the second-best time is now.

The same holds for building reservoirs.

Learn more »

I’ll miss you, Nevada City

August 23, 2014 — 

I would like to comment on the “smoking” ordinance in Nevada City.

It’s my opinion the city council are a narrow-minded, short-term thinking kinda folk. A lot of people with good money to spend have enjoyed that beautiful little town in the past. My wife and I can be counted among those people. We will unfortunately have to find another town to adopt, as we also smoke. I hate the decision the council is rendering, but my civil liberties are in jeopardy and will not have a “nanny” telling me what and where I may do things.

Learn more »

Our view: Enthusiasm for our community can overcome apathy

August 23, 2014 — 

“The death of democracy is not likely to be an assassination from ambush. It will be a slow extinction from apathy, indifference, and undernourishment.”

— Robert M. Hutchins American educator and writer

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

August 23, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Hemig: The Union’s new community editorial board

August 22, 2014 — 

“How could you put Stan Meckler on the editorial board?” was one comment I received.

“Reinette Senum is an interesting choice for The Union’s board,” was another emailed to me last weekend, after The Union announced it would add eight new board members to create a 15-person community-based editorial board.

Learn more »

Gaza conflict could be stopped

August 21, 2014 — 

Israel could easily bring all of this violence and carnage to a screeching halt. They could stop using heavy military equipment, creating massive death and carnage.

Equipment we in the United States provide to them with no strings attached. They are militarily occupying another country and have been for over 50 years.

Learn more »

Open letter to parents, teachers and taxpayers

August 21, 2014 — 

I would like to reiterate my position on an agenda item for the Aug. 13 meeting, regarding the Nevada County Board of Education reviewing monthly expense reports from the superintendent.

This agenda item rests on a flawed premise by asking whether or not the County Board of Education will follow California Education Code

Learn more »

I-80 diversion: lower the road, don’t raise the bridges.

August 21, 2014 — 

Regarding diverting traffic from I-80 down Highway 49:

What about lowering the roadway 16 inches? That’s a heck of a lot faster and simpler than raising all seven bridges (especially the rail crossing). Some quick digging tractor work and repaving (Hansen Bros?). Possibly a slow seven days work each? All at once? Two days of ripping up concrete. One day tractor regrading. One day pour. Three days or more concrete curing?

Learn more »

Everything I’m against

August 21, 2014 — 

Regarding the guest column, “Who is Jim Firth?” by Keoni Allen on Aug. 15, it was a great reply to Jim Hemig’s original column.

What makes it special is that our merchants put in very long hours, and it takes time for a person who is tired to take the time out to reply to Jim Firth.

Learn more »

“Good ol’ boy”: complimentary or derogatory?

August 21, 2014 — 

Publisher Jim Hemig, in his recent article, fails to capture the essence of the meaning of “good ol’ boy.”

“Good ol’ boy” around here refers to a group of people who support and protect the status quo. “good ol’ boys or girls” may have arrived here a few months ago, or they may have lived here all their lives.

Learn more »

A kind citizen’s cane

August 21, 2014 — 

Kudos to Bea, a receptionist and ticket vendor at the Nevada County Fair, who, when I asked her if there were any “cane vendors” at the fair, graciously loaned me her cane for the day.

I had inadvertently left my cane at home.

Learn more »

York: Gloomy, frantic Dems plead for more money

August 21, 2014 — 

I’ve been getting a lot of email from Democratic fundraisers lately. They seem very worried about November’s elections.

First came the highly publicized “Impeachment Red Alert” campaign, in which the Democratic congressional committee warned that Republicans will impeach President Obama if they win control of the House and Senate. Though much ridiculed, the “Impeachment Red Alert” effort was a big winner, pulling in $2.1 million in small donations in a single weekend.

Learn more »

Goodman: The ghost of Dred Scott haunts the streets of Ferguson

August 21, 2014 — 

The ghost of Dred Scott haunts the streets of Ferguson.

Thousands have been protesting the police killing of Michael Brown, an unarmed African-American teenager in the St. Louis suburb of Ferguson.

Learn more »

Facts important in understanding Gaza conflict

August 20, 2014 — 

I need to respond to an article written by Karen DeHart regarding the conflict in Gaza because it is full of prejudicial half-truths.

DeHart writes: “The Israelis are bombing defenseless people who are already their prisoners.”

Learn more »

Fundraiser yields more than $6,000 for mammography

August 20, 2014 — 

Hey fellow Nevada Countians. The next time you see Steve Loomis at Hills Flat Lumber, Robert Bare, Scott Mantel, and/or Jaysen McDaniels, be sure to give them kudos for their generosity as volunteer officials at the “2014 Saved by Second Base” fundraiser.

Proceeds exceeded $6,000 and are available to cover mammography and diagnostic costs. Anyone in need should see Melisa Agness at Insight Imaging to take advantage of Sb2B funds.

Learn more »

Thank you to Old Barn Storage

August 20, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Stop branding the Palestians as ‘bad guys’

August 20, 2014 — 

For the past few weeks, the world has witnessed the brutal bombing attacks on the peoples of the Gaza strip. Gaza lies on the eastern coast of the Mediterranean sea. It has been under occupation at various times by Egypt, Great Britain and Israel.

Its citizens have suffered horrendously under Israeli control since 1967. Gaza, a densely populated city of almost 2 million on the Mediterranean Sea, has been mercilessly bombed and shelled in both 2008 and 2014.

Learn more »

Honor those who honor the military

August 20, 2014 — 

Thank you Dennis Kocher and God bless you for your service to our country and all your volunteer work for Nevada County.

We are blessed to have many former military men and women volunteer their time helping those in need. Having family members who have served our country since World War II up to the present time, Nevada County has always supported members of the military in many ways and proud of it.

Learn more »

ZIP program helps readers in need

August 20, 2014 — 

The ZIP book program, is “the gift that keeps on giving.” Thank you to Wayne Walker and the ZIP program at the Grass Valley Library. Only a reader could know the thrill of a new book. On behalf of all of us who can’t afford one, this makes it really special.

Donna Day

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Aug. 20, 2014

August 20, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Now wonder STEM math is confusing

August 19, 2014 — 

Our education crisis in America has spawned a new acronym: STEM for science, technology, engineering and math. Our government and politicians are not helping. The public is told that unemployment is at 6.1 percent. It is greater than 15 percent.

For years we’ve been told the “illegal” population in America is 11 million. The true number is north of 14 million.

Learn more »

Western Sierra Medical Center: a nonprofit dedicated to community health

August 19, 2014 — 

The delivery of health care is about making sure patients have access to much-needed services and treatment, whether it’s a routine annual exam or a life-threatening disease. In short, health care is about connecting with the community and meeting its needs.

As a nonprofit health center, our charge is to serve everyone — people with insurance, people covered by Medicare and low-income and uninsured residents.

Learn more »

Scouting is for everybody

August 19, 2014 — 

In reference to The Union’s Aug. 1 article entitled, “Parents say Girl Scouts discriminated against daughter with disability,” my husband, Bruce, and I raised our four daughters and two sons, who are now adults, in Southern California. We were a very active scouting family, committee chair, den mother, Brownie, Junior, cadet and leader. The troops were involved with were blessed with very active parents.

Our scout counsels’ rule was whenever there was a scout outing there should be one adult to every five scouts. One of the boy scouts had ADP, or Auditory Processing Disorder, and his father was always there so his son could have fun with friends.

Learn more »

Keep your dogs on a leash

August 19, 2014 — 

This letter is directed to all pit bull owners. Please, please keep your dogs on a leash (properly restrained) or locked up. I personally know of two small Shih Tzu’s (in their own yards) who have died of complications from pit bull attacks in just the past week, and how often I read in the police blotter of attacks on animals and people by pit bulls.

Please beware of your own pets, livestock or even family members if you own a pit.

Learn more »

Change a life: Orientation for foster children’s CASA program Wednesday, Aug. 20

August 19, 2014 — 

Child Advocates of Nevada County’s CASA program has 51 CASA’s — Court Appointed Special Advocates.

Those CASA’s are currently working with 77 children who have been removed from their homes because of abuse or neglect. CASA’s are volunteers, from all walks of life and with varied backgrounds. They are screened, trained and supported to work with children who desperately need stability, predictability and a safe adult in their lives, someone who will stick with them all the way through the court process to a loving, secure and permanent home.

Learn more »

It Takes a Village Idiot: Aug. 19, 2014

August 19, 2014 — 

Learn more »

To permit or not?

August 17, 2014 — 

In the City of Grass Valley, if you want to remove a tree from your property you need to get a permit. This costs $129. You fill out the paperwork and mark the tree. If approved after city inspection they send you a notice to post on the tree for 10 days.

If no one protests, after the appeal period, the city sends you a letter of approval. After removal you must plant another tree because the city “values the contribution which such trees make to the beauty and quality of life in Grass Valley.”

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top