Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

George Boardman: This isn't how we honor American warriors we put in harm's way

May 25, 2015 — 

Today we pause to honor the American warriors who gave their lives fighting our country’s wars. That honor roll includes over 6,800 who fell in Iraq and Afghanistan, and we should ask ourselves if the sacrifice we asked them to make was worth it.

I raise that touchy topic today because events that occurred in the past couple of weeks raise legitimate questions about how we decide to go to war, and the standards we use to judge those actions.

Learn more »

James Woods: 'Wildlife Services' a misnomer

May 25, 2015 — 

Some help here please. The misnamed program “Wildlife Services” is on a killing spree.

In 2013 the Department of Agriculture’s Wildlife Services shot, trapped, gassed and poisoned more than 2.1 million wildlife for Big Agriculture, beef barons, mining, oil and logging companies. All this mayhem to help corporations make an extra dollar.

Learn more »

Nathan Menth: Nevada County Kids Fire Camp 2015

May 25, 2015 — 

As this school year is rounding to an end, Nevada County Kid’s Fire Camp is gearing up!

This year’s Fire Camp is for Nevada County’s youth, ages 11 to 14, who are interested in becoming a firefighter for the week. The week-long day camp, located at our training facility, teaches the future firefighters the ins and the outs of our unique profession. Camp is set to be from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday, June 29 through Friday, July 3.

Learn more »

Pat Lane: Jerry Davis a true hero

May 25, 2015 — 

I was sad to see that my friend Jerry Davis passed away but I was even more disappointed that the obituary did not give more attention to his World War II military record.

As a member of the 511th Airborne, Jerry was one of the brave paratroopers who dropped into the Japanese camp at Los Banos to liberate hundreds of internees (transferred from Manila due to overcrowding) in 1945. It was a daring surprise raid that caught the Japanese unarmed and doing their morning calisthenics. Four of the liberated prisoners were the Sams family, Gerry and Margaret (now deceased) and two young children, who have lived in the Chicago Park area for years. Margaret wrote a book titled “Forbidden Family” that described the exciting and successful operation. The Davises and the Sams remained good friends and attended POW reunion parties for 50 years.

Learn more »

Bonnie Johnson: I loved my TV guide

May 25, 2015 — 

I wanted to add my name to those who object to the elimination of the TV Guide. I agree with Joyce Haire’s letter to the editor, “Bring back my TV Guide.” Everything she wrote was in my thoughts. I am 83 years old and loved my guide. I have been a subscriber since 1977.

Bonnie Johnson

Learn more »

Chad Hanson: Large, intense fires are good for wildlife

May 23, 2015 — 

Norm Sauer’s opinion article expresses common fears and misconceptions about mixed-intensity fires (Other Voices, May 13).

In his disbelief about current science, Mr. Sauer claims that Christy Sherr’s article about the ecological benefits of higher-intensity fire patches (Other Voices, April 1) somehow must have involved “falsifying science,” yet he offers not a single example of a factual inaccuracy in her article.

Learn more »

Manny Montes: Attorney general's office must fulfill its duty

May 23, 2015 — 

What are progressives alluding to when they say conservatives want to take us back to 1950? How does advocating for limited government, fiscal responsibility, and free markets conjure in the progressives’ mind 1950?

I would like to understand this. Also, the blatant condescension of the progressive’s attack on Fox News viewers, accusing the viewers of being empty headed dimwits. Or, the chronicling of past Republican convictions compared to Obama’s cascading (non)-scandals and no convictions, as if there is something in the Republican mind set predisposed to corruption, and progressives are pure as the driven snow.

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: What were Americans thinking?

May 23, 2015 — 

Inquiring minds want to know if the Republicans and Tea Party stand for anything besides a nonstop assault on women’s freedom of choice (anti-abortion) and the obstruction of the economy, government, and progress of the country like they’ve been fixated on for the past six years.

Republicans have spent their time passing hundreds of restrictive anti-abortion laws around the country in the last few years and last weekend they were at it again as House Republicans passed legislation that would ban most abortions starting with the 20th week of pregnancy. You did hear Senate leader Mitch McConnell say the Republicans would “change,” right after they won the last election. Talk is cheap, especially if you’re a Republican.

Learn more »

Jeff Loberg: America is better off without liberal view of society

May 23, 2015 — 

I must take issue with Carole Chapman’s attack of Stan Meckler, co-founder of the Tea Party Movement. If she had done some fact checking, she would know the modern Tea Party had its beginnings with Dr. Ron Paul in 2007.

Chapman wants you to think that it was formed in response to Obama’s election, which is clearly not the case. To refer to Mr. Meckler as a radical is preposterous! It is liberals who are the radicals! Your support of alternative lifestyles, taxing the rich job creators to oblivion, legalized pot use, anti-gun ownership, confused bathrooms, and frivolous laws designed to erode the freedoms of good law-abiding citizens is what’s radical. Americans are better off without liberals’ view of how society should be.

Learn more »

Jim Firth: Solving the problem

May 23, 2015 — 

Many of our friends and neighbors in Nevada County struggle every day to have enough to eat. This happens even though they work everyday, pay their taxes, donate time to their church or volunteer at their children’s or grand-children’s school.

Right now the California minimum wage is $9 per hour. It’s $1.75 higher than the national minimum, but still falls short of what is needed in California to provide for even the basic food, housing, medical care, or educational needs of our residents.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Stadium projects a test for CEQA changes

May 23, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

Teresa Langness: Bessie Minor Swift grant gives farmworker families a fair chance

May 23, 2015 — 

The hands that fill the nation’s fruit basket had new resources to fill their own children’s needs this year, thanks to a grant from the Bessie Minor Swift Foundation. Formed by the owners of Swift Communications, the parent company of The Union newspaper, this foundation makes grants available that promote literacy and enrichment in the arts and sciences. In 2014, Nevada City-based Full-Circle Learning, a global nonprofit, received $2,220 for a bilingual reading program among parents and preschoolers at a HUD project for farmworkers.

The year has passed and the program has helped the constituents gain skills that will influence their community for a lifetime.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

May 23, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Deborah Ireland: More nutrition info, please

May 22, 2015 — 

Could The Union please include some nutrition information at the end of their recipes? I understand that including some of the information, like a standard nutritional label does, would be close to impossible, but if serving size, calories per serving, carbohydrates per serving, and fat per serving were included, it would sure be of use to many of us.

Nowadays more people are making nutrition an important part of their diets.

Learn more »

Tom O'Toole: Let's show some civility

May 22, 2015 — 

At a recent meeting, I was surprised to hear of a developing county problem. There is a relatively new type of incivility that is being generated by an inconsiderate brand of rude motorists.

At the recent Combie and Hwy. 49 tragic accident, first responders were surprised to be the victims of taunts, horn honking and just plain rude behavior from some inconsiderate and impatient drivers.

Learn more »

Susan Forte: Thanks, Miriam

May 22, 2015 — 

What a joy to drive past the Nevada City post office on Coyote Street and see the beautiful red poppies planted there, I don’t think the post office has ever looked so good.

I want to thank Miriam Morris for all of her hard work volunteering her time, keeping the planted areas around Nevada City looking so good. If you see her out there, be sure to thank her, I know I will.

Learn more »

Joyce Haire: Bring back my TV guide

May 22, 2015 — 

I am now beginning my second week without the TV Weekly that was part of The Union for so many years. I miss the TV Weekly. I want to express my severe dissatisfaction with your decision to drop it from The Union.

Publisher Jim Hemig’s editorial stated there are other ways to get the programming information. However, as a Comcast customer, Comcast only allows me to see what programs are scheduled a couple of hours ahead, and won’t allow me to see what is going to be “on” three days from now! It does not allow me to plan future activities around what is scheduled. This was a valuable part of the paper for me, and for others I’m sure.

Learn more »

Gary Fosburg: Incomplete road work on Rattlesnake Road

May 22, 2015 — 

How sad that the city and county can’t realize how popular Rattlesnake Road is to many different groups. We even had the Amgen Bike Race racing down Rattlesnake for the second time.

Why can’t the county finish painting the fog lines (the white lines along the edge of road) from Wheeler Cross to Dog Bar? I was told that the width of road was too narrow. I measured at various places the fog lines that had been newly painted and then measured where they had not been painted. Plenty of width to finish the job. The most popular road in the county and we can’t finish what was started.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: Many hands make light work

May 22, 2015 — 

The Nevada County Contractors’ Association is due some public recognition.

Last year, while attending a Wednesday morning Rotary meeting, I heard a plea for help from Amee Medeiros, executive director at the Neighborhood Center of the Arts.

Learn more »

Sandra Rockman: Kudos for Jim Hurley

May 21, 2015 — 

Whether it’s sending out notice of a lost cat, dog or, most recently, a 40 plus-year-old tortoise, alerting us about a nearby burglary or a bear frequenting an area birdfeeder or sending out an update on the latest Ferrell gas price, Jim Hurley is the man.

Here in our Lake Vera/Round Mountain vicinity, Jim regularly sends out informative (and often very witty) email blasts, as well as photos on the state of the neighborhood. He’s our human neighborhood watch.

Learn more »

Unitarians show up for those in need of free health care

May 21, 2015 — 

I’d like to give a big thanks to the Unitarian Universalist Community of the Mountains for their generous donation to help fund the Free Health Care Clinic happening Nov. 14-15 at the Grass Valley Veterans Memorial Hall.

The clinic includes medical, dental and vision care. We’ll be serving 500 patients each day, and it is open to everyone for free, funded by donations. This is being brought to us by California Care Force, an all volunteer staffed nonprofit in Roseville (CaliforniaCareForce.org).

Learn more »

Amy Goodman: An act of protest, not sabotage, at the birthplace of the bomb

May 21, 2015 — 

There is a vast military complex deep in the hills of eastern Tennessee called “Y-12.” This is where all of the highly enriched uranium is produced and stored for the production of the U.S. nuclear-warhead arsenal. It is in Oak Ridge, the city that was created practically overnight during World War II, that produced the uranium for the atomic bomb that was dropped on Hiroshima on Aug. 6, 1945.

Today, the facility, dubbed “The Fort Knox of Uranium,” holds enough of the radioactive element to make 10,000 nuclear bombs.

Learn more »

Byron York: Iraq war history ensares both Hillary Clinton and Jeb Bush

May 21, 2015 — 

In January 2007, shortly after entering the race for the 2008 Democratic presidential nomination, Hillary Clinton traveled to Iowa, where one of the first questions she faced was about her vote to authorize the war in Iraq.

“If we had known then what we know now, there never would have been a vote,” Clinton said, “and I never would have voted to give (President George W. Bush) that authority.”

Learn more »

Susan Pelican: Another view of vaccination

May 20, 2015 — 

I am a mother, grandmother, RN and former nurse-midwife who is skeptical of vaccinations. I am also a lifelong political activist who stands for freedom of choice in all things medical — including abortion, vaccination, and chemotherapy.

These matters are best resolved between a person — or her parent (who both have the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness) and her physician/caregiver — not by legislators in Sacramento or in D.C. who believe they know what is best for you and for our children.

Learn more »

Barbi Buckles: Great artist, poor venue

May 20, 2015 — 

I think that the Center for the Arts Theatre is such a treat to see music in and I have always enjoyed the smallness and the personal touches that are present everywhere.

I was at the Veterans Hall to see Joan Armatrading. I have not seen her in over 30 years. I thought she was playing at the Center, but was mistaken since I didn’t realize that you guys were putting the show on at the Veterans Hall because you needed a bigger venue.

Learn more »

Maryalyce Hansen: TV guide — gone but not forgotten

May 20, 2015 — 

So good to read Linda Johnson’s letter to the editor regarding the TV guide. Right on.

Glad I take two other papers and get their listings. Also, the article that was published to explain why it had been removed made no sense at all! And I so appreciate the letter recently printed from Jack Moorhead. He hit the nail on the head. Having lived here since the 1930s, I have never before considered not subscribing to The Union, but it’s becoming a decision more and more.

Learn more »

John Carr; Carrtoon

May 20, 2015 — 

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

May 19, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: 'Beam us up, Scotty;' Drought spurring ideas

May 19, 2015 — 

Ideas come fast every time California endures a drought of several years. Each time, some of them are accepted and put into use, thus making the next drought a bit easier to handle.

Back in the 1970s, the last time this state saw as protracted a dry spell as today’s, snickering and cries of “yuck” ensued when some environmentalists proposed reusing water from dishes, baths, showers and more to irrigate grass and shrubbery rather than merely disposing of it as sewage.

Learn more »

Heidi Hall: Trade agreements are vehicles of inequality, unchecked abuse

May 19, 2015 — 

The concept of free global trade is a heady one. I like the idea of efficiency in economic markets. And the idea of equal access to goods from all over the world, accurately priced to reflect their true value.

This value would reflect the labor put into the product, as well as the costs of protecting the resources and environment affected by its production.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top