Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

John Carr: Carrtoon

April 1, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Louis Pearl: Fake gold in Grass Valley

April 1, 2015 — 

It was very sad to hear that one of our local jewelers is up on charges of selling fake gold.

I do not know the man, never did any business with him. I have no interest in judging his guilt or innocence on this criminal complaint.

Learn more »

Prom and graduation: safety comes first

April 1, 2015 — 

Prom holds lifelong memories, and I did not go. I played sports at high schools in San Joaquin County but graduated from Tracy High in 1993 in a wheelchair. I never planned to end school like that.

As my holiday letter of 2014 stated, a drunken driver hit me head-on in 1992 when I was 16. I had a coma, paralysis, brain injuries, with broken and dislocated bones. I stayed seven months in two hospitals and 17 months with therapy followed. Not a life a teenager expects.

Learn more »

Christy Sherr: Animals like their forests well done

April 1, 2015 — 

Forest land managers, pressured by misinformed public representatives such as Doug LaMalfa, R-CA, propose to destroy the rarest and most wildlife-rich habitat in the Sierra Nevada.

Snag forest, or “Complex early seral forest (CESF),” created by high-intensity fire (75 to 100 percent mortality) is the most ecologically diverse and wildlife-rich forest habitat type in the Sierra Nevada.

Learn more »

Don't get too worried about Smart Meters

April 1, 2015 — 

I read the article on Smart Meters with interest. Heather Lane was shown measuring the RF of an iPhone.

I did some quick math. A Smart Meter broadcasts at most one minute per day and let us say it is about 30 feet away. Further, let us say Heather uses her iPhone 60 minutes day and would be holding it 3 inches from her head. RF falls off at the rate proportional to the square of the distance. That means that in order for her to get more exposure from the Smart Meter than her iPhone, it would mean that the Smart Meter would have to be putting out 60*360in*360in/3in/3in more power. That is to say, 864,000 times more energy than the iPhone.

Learn more »

Young pianist offers free concert

April 1, 2015 — 

On July 21, 2011 you printed an article on your front page about a young pianist, James Pavel Shawcross, after he had won a national title in Las Vegas.

When he was 8, he played at the Sacramento Ragtime Society as well as the Sacramento Jazz Society (tailgate room). In the four years that have followed he has gained international attention through Internet sites like Fandalism, which is like YouTube for musicians.

Learn more »

Lucinda Porter: Hepatitis, the silent epidemic

March 31, 2015 — 

Did you know that 75 percent of people with Hepatitis C and 65 percent of people with Hepatitis B are not aware of their infection? Or, that more people in the U.S. die every year from Hepatitis C than HIV?

This is why I joined 75 advocates in Washington, D.C., for Hepatitis on the Hill, a constituent-based advocacy event to address the public health challenges of viral hepatitis.

Learn more »

Cherie Kraus: More research needed on health-care options

March 31, 2015 — 

I am extremely confused and concerned when I read letters like the one today from Betsy Hunter. She states that her daughter cannot afford health insurance because her employer health plan is over $1,400 a month.

She goes on to say that a health plan through the ACA is “not much different”. Yet her daughter has accumulated over $10,000 in uncovered medical expenses, apparently beyond her ability to pay.

Learn more »

Russ Jeter: 'Dorsey Marketplace' designed to meet Grass Valley needs

March 31, 2015 — 

This is an open letter to the residents of Grass Valley. I’m Russ Jeter, since 2008 my family has owned the vacant property at the southeast corner of Highway 49 and Dorsey Drive.

We will soon submit an application for a mixed use, commercial retail and office project.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Best budget idea? Letting sick, elderly convicts go

March 31, 2015 — 

Sometimes it can take more than a decade for a completely sensible idea to catch on. So it is with what may be the single best money-saving idea in last year’s state budget, one that is just now beginning fully to take hold.

The idea, part of a plan by Gov. Jerry Brown to appease a panel of federal judges demanding ever more releases of state prison inmates, calls for the possible parole of several hundred convicts who are chronically sick or mentally impaired, plus a new parole program that could affect thousands of the elderly, defined as over 60.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

March 31, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Tony Rohl: Democrats can't claim long history of civil rights fights

March 30, 2015 — 

The remembrance of the historic event that occurred at the Edmund Pettus Bridge, named after Edmund Pettus, Confederate general, and Grand Dragon of the Alabama Ku Klux Klan, is appropriate, but the truth behind it has been misrepresented for years.

The Democrat narrative of racial beneficence is a fraud. The Democratic Party ruled exclusively over slavery, segregation, Jim Crow, Dred Scott, and the KKK. Their website reads: “For more than 200 years, our Party has led the fight for civil rights.” It’s an audacious lie, easily discredited by history. Rarely has a lie been so big or so widely believed.

Learn more »

John Nightingale: Lincoln's timeless words

March 30, 2015 — 

Abraham Lincoln gave a speech in June of 1858 that has relevance today. Lincoln said, “A house divided against itself cannot stand.”

“Either the opponents of slavery, will arrest the further spread of it, and place it where the public mind shall rest in the belief that it is in course of ultimate extinction; or its advocates will push it forward, till it shall become alike lawful in all the States, old as well as new — North as well as South.”

Learn more »

Cherry Simi: Dismantled health care system in Downieville affects western Sierra County

March 30, 2015 — 

As an affected resident of WSMC’s abandonment of Downieville’s 24/7 medical care, I read the March 24 article in The Union by Ivan Natividad with great interest.

To be clear, the Downieville site serves ALL of western Sierra County, not just Downieville’s 300 residents.

Learn more »

George Boardman: Somehow, California's best and brightest students have become victims

March 30, 2015 — 

It’s a good thing University of California President Janet Napolitano isn’t a student at one of the nine campuses she runs in the state, or she might be facing a student tribunal for some abusive speech she uttered recently.

The scene of the crime was a UC regents meeting in Los Angeles, where students were engaging in an exchange of ideas with their masters by shouting down all statements they didn’t agree with and removing their clothes to show that tuition was costing them the shirt off their back (get it?).

Learn more »

Jim Goetsch: Another State Of The Union apologia — contradicted

March 28, 2015 — 

It’s my belief that editorials by members of The Union’s Editorial Board should have something to say besides recycling Democrat talking points. I have yet to read anything original by Nancy Eubanks, and her editorial of March 7 is no exception.

First she quotes “facts” without stating where they came from. I have two problems with this: first, I can’t find the poll she is quoting from; and second, what thinking person believes that poll results are “facts” rather than a temporary condition depending on who conducted and controlled the poll? So I ask Ms. Eubanks to have the courtesy and journalistic integrity in the future to list her sources and make sure that what she calls “facts” have some basis in “reality, actuality, and certainty” — all synonyms for “facts.”

Learn more »

Mary Hall Ross: Boldly creating a future for media and the arts

March 28, 2015 — 

By the fall of 2009, when I joined the KVMR board of directors, the Nevada City-based community radio station had spent three years planning for, looking for, and raising funds for a new home.

There was momentum to buy an existing building in the Nevada City Technology Center on the edge of town and customize it to meet KVMR’s needs. A feasibility study conducted by a professional fundraising firm indicated that our community had the capacity and inclination for charitable giving to enable KVMR to raise funds to pay for the project.

Learn more »

Janie Petrosine: County does not defend tax-paying citizens

March 28, 2015 — 

Regarding Virginia Moran’s recent column, “Hypocrisy,” rarely have I read a reader opinion letter that covers all the bases in discussing an issue.

The Dollar General Store debate is simply a catalyst for sharing individual horror stories in dealing with Nevada County government offices and departments. That is, the common citizen, not a deep pocket commercial builder. This county does not protect or defend its tax-paying citizens.

Learn more »

San French: Goodbye evil pot people, hello full legalization

March 28, 2015 — 

First off, congratulations to Brad Peceimer-Glasse for his right and just victory in court recently.

Secondly, a shout out to District Attorney Newell, DDA Pong, Sgt. Selleck and Sheriff Royal et al: soon your job of “going after” the evil pot people will be over and you can start doing real police and law enforcement work and stop wasting our hard-earned tax dollars on these frivolous and violent raids that make you feel so righteous.

Learn more »

Allan Krosner: Clarification on who is violating Constitution

March 28, 2015 — 

In reference to Heidi Hall’s March 24 column, a clarification is required. She cites the Constitution and a Supreme Court ruling about treaties and what she said is correct. There is one big problem though, she did not mention that it is Obama who is violating the Constitutional requirement for the need to have consent of the Senate.

Obama is not sending his Iran agreement to the Senate for the required consent. John Kerry specifically said that the agreement is not a treaty therefore does not require consent of the Senate. It is certainly proper for the Congress to inform the Iranian regime about our Constitutional requirements.

Learn more »

Nancy Eubanks: Facts do matter in sharing opinion

March 28, 2015 — 

Recently, several people, including Stan Meckler, have questioned my statistics published in a recent column. I spend a lot of time researching my facts on the Internet to make sure they are accurate and support my statements.

I start with Ask.com, a website that provides many sources pertaining to my particular questions. Other sources include Gallup polls, Rasmussen polls, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and the Huffington Post.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: How California won by losing Tesla battery plant

March 28, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

Our View: Welcome home NEO

March 28, 2015 — 

On Thursday night, Grass Valley celebrated the grand opening of NEO’s new youth center on Joerschke Drive.

Beginning April 7, the NEO youth center will be open from 2:30-6 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays; teens can drop in during those hours to receive homework help, participate in arts and crafts, play video and board games or just hang out. The center will also host weekday evening and weekend concerts, movie nights and dances.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a Village Idiot

March 28, 2015 — 

By R. L. Crabb

Special to The Union

Learn more »

Denise Cain: Consider adopting an older dog

March 27, 2015 — 

Many articles have been written about the wonder and beauty of the senior dog. So many find themselves in shelters, abandoned on the streets by people who did not live up to their end of the bargain.

Like marriage, “till death do us part” is the goal. We know this cannot be the result in 100 percent of adoptions, but it is the GOAL. Divorce, death, illness can interfere. Such is the case of Butch and Honeybear, who lost their loving parents of 11 years. No two dogs were more loved by their guardians, who died within two months of each other.

Learn more »

Kristin Liljequist: Issues with Israel

March 27, 2015 — 

After Netanyahu’s speech to Congress I overheard someone say, “In the spirit of reciprocity, President Obama should now speak to the Israeli Knesset about the need for Israel to stop building illegal settlements on Palestinian Land.”

Exactly. He might also mention that continuing to do so, in spite of the condemnation of virtually the entire world, will jeopardize the $8 million per day ($3 billion per year) the U.S. sends to the Israeli military.

Learn more »

Jake Bronson: Senators need a lesson in respect for country

March 27, 2015 — 

This is an open letter to Sen. Dianne Feinstein. I was embarrassed to be an American, when 47 of your colleagues wrote a letter to the Islamic Republic of Iran saying it does not matter what the president of the United States negotiates, that it won’t be valid in two years.

That letter, those 47 signatures, was as un-American as it gets. All 47 of those senators and the Speaker of the House need a lesson in respect for their country.

Learn more »

Chellie Peterson: Thank you, Marie Johnson, for your spirit of kindness

March 27, 2015 — 

I’m a 43-year downtown Grass Valley furniture merchant who had a sad conversation recently about the decline of human kindness.

Today was St. Patrick’s Day and it dawned on me that we probably wouldn’t see Marie Johnson today. She had taken a fall and broken several bones and her 44-year tradition of green carnations for the downtown lady merchants had probably come to an end.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: Strange bedfellows

March 27, 2015 — 

I’m a Ryan Golze fan. I’ll admit it.

But I had the difficult job of calling Ryan Tuesday and informing him that The Union had to cover the news over at Eskaton.

Learn more »

Diane Masini: What's up with untrained dogs off leash?

March 26, 2015 — 

While visiting with friends and their dogs, one of the women shared a distressing incident that happened to her a few days before with a man who not only doesn’t comply with our leash law, he can’t control his dogs, which attacked her leashed dog.

He did come to get them off the bleeding little dog, then runs with the dogs to his vehicle (a red Jeep) jumps in and drives off without saying a word to the woman who owns the dog! This incident happened at the fairgrounds near the lake in the late afternoon.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top