Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

October 18, 2014 — 

Learn more »

The war comes home

October 18, 2014 — 

The war comes home. As overproduced U.S. military hardware over-floods the world market, its “homeland” becomes weaponized. We now see armored military vehicles in law enforcement agencies and universities across the country. The proliferation of personal firearms unleashes a deranged “open carry” movement.

The USA is engaged against enemies it has directly and indirectly created, trained, and who are equipped with commandeered weaponry made in the USA. Mercenary “contractor” firms flourish, creating “Jobs!” War profiteers turn the wheels of industry; “Jobs! Economic Growth!”

Learn more »

BYLT — a season of jazz

October 18, 2014 — 

Bear Yuba Land Trust wishes to thank the community for a fun summer season of jazz music. Poncho Sanchez fans turned out in force at the North Star House Sunday, Sept. 28 for the hottest Latin jazz. It was a memorable house party with good food and friends.

Local Chef Antonio Ayestaran won the community salsa contest with his “Corno de Torro” (translation: Bulls Horn) fire roasted salsa – a winning combination of seven varieties of peppers from Sweet Roots Farm. Thanks to Diego’s Restaurant, Christopher’s Catering Company and BriarPatch Co-op.

Learn more »

The Devil in the Disregard

October 18, 2014 — 

I don’t believe in “the Devil” that fervid pastors tell,

Nor pitchforks, horns, nor burnings pits of Hell.

Learn more »

KrisAnne Hall event — thank you!

October 18, 2014 — 

Common Core Concerns owes a debt of gratitude to our generous underwriters, donors, and volunteers who helped us bring KrisAnne Hall to Nevada City on Oct. 3 to educate the community about “The Constitution and State Sovereignty.”

Thank you to our underwriters: The Halby Group — Insurance & Financial Services; Avanguardia Wines; Edward Jones Investments/Jeff Wells; Eddie and Nancy Garcia; Hills Flat Lumber Co.; Meyers Investment Group of Robert W. Baird & Co.; Moule Paint and Glass; Nevada County Farm Supply; Nevada County Republican Women Federated; Nevada County Tea Party; Robinson Enterprises; and Team Three Tactical and Survival.

Learn more »

It takes a village; a low-income housing solution

October 18, 2014 — 

Nevada County has a housing crisis. Many people, not just our chronically homeless, are finding themselves without shelter. There are not enough affordable rentals. Individuals and families are having to share anything that is available. A single paycheck is no longer adequate to pay rent and then cover remaining living expenses and food. As a result more Nevada County residents are becoming homeless.

On Nov. 10, Sierra Roots, a 501c3, based in Nevada City, is hosting a presentation on the micro-house village model, Opportunity Village, which has already gained success in Eugene, Ore. Andrew Heben, author of “Tent City Urbanism: From Self-Organized Camps to Tiny House Villages,” will be the speaker for the evening. He will discuss the kind of collaboration that has emerged simply by making a space available for local community resources.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin has the right temperament, experience

October 18, 2014 — 

I ask my fellow citizens of Nevada County to consider my personal recommendation of Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge. Robert is an intelligent, thoughtful, and had-working individual. He is patient and a good listener. His temperament and experience will help him be an excellent judge.

I was fortunate to have been a judge here in Nevada County for over 20 years. I am still grateful to the people of this county for allowing me to do a job that I loved. I am certain Robert Tice-Raskin will be a judge for our county in whom we can all have trust and confidence. I urge you to vote for Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge.

Learn more »

Global opinion: U.S. a threat to peace

October 18, 2014 — 

Even if you wanted to believe Louis Pearl’s opinion in his letter that United States citizens “ ... are brave, generous and kind,” how can you make the stunning leap that the United States is “...the only country in the world capable to lead the world out of the current morass?”

Worldwide Independent Network of Market Research GALLUP International, the leading global association in market research and polling, in a poll published Dec. 30, 2013, reported that people from 65 countries concluded that the “U.S. is considered to be the greatest threat to peace in the world, followed by Pakistan and China.”

Learn more »

Hoping Dorsey Interchange will ease roundabout congestion

October 18, 2014 — 

The newer, tighter, better Grass Valley roundabout at East Main and Idaho-Maryland is now about six years old. From the beginning and continuing to this day it backs up traffic at rush hour.

About 3:30 p.m., after Nevada Union High School lets out, traffic will often back up all the way to the “Big A” Drive-in. To drive from the “A” to the roundabout takes about three and a half minutes, but that’s better than the six minutes it took before the roundabout was built.

Learn more »

Where’s the rest of the story from Hall?

October 18, 2014 — 

Heidi Hall chants the “Koch Brothers” mantra knowing full well their contributions are a drop in the bucket compared to either George Soros or Tom Steyers or Michael Bloomberg at $100 million each. She wants to repeal the “Citizens United” decision that only creates a level playing field.

Were her years working in the EPA spent in the division that seizes private property, confiscates water rights, guts energy sources, closes factories and fences off resources in the West? Is there any private sector experience in her résumé?

Learn more »

Peter Pohorsky: a good, faithful servant

October 18, 2014 — 

A friend of mine passed away recently whose name will be recognized by regular readers of this page. Peter Pohorsky, 93, died peacefully at his assisted living community in Grass Valley.

I decided to write because I don’t believe many knew of his passing, or of his life.

Learn more »

An angel named Eric

October 18, 2014 — 

I would like to thank a kind gentleman named Eric, who on Sunday, Oct. 12, rescued me. I want to turn off the water in my yard, and in bending down on my knees couldn’t get up again. Eric was driving by and noticed by problem. He turned around and helped an elderly lady get back in to the house. Thank you, Eric, from the bottom of my heart. You are my angel. Bless you.

Doris Hermann

Learn more »

Meckler, Senum: Walking together for community

October 18, 2014 — 

Last month a column was penned titled “The End of Divide and Conquer” that captured our initial and unlikely breakfast meeting several weeks ago. We were two supposed enemies of the left/right political spectrum finally coming together, simply because we believe that we have more in common than that which divides us.

It was at this initial meeting when we decided that the most productive action for us to undertake would be to get out of our own way and step up for the youth of our community because, ultimately, they are our future.

Learn more »

Our View: Let’s show we take our kids, and their future, seriously

October 18, 2014 — 

As you likely read on the front page of today’s edition of The Union, a pair of local women who are passionate about providing positive programs for the young people of our community are taking their commitment to a whole new level.

And it’s time for our community to step up and help shoulder the load in what could potentially be a pivotal project for not only our young people, but all who live here in western Nevada County.

Learn more »

Judges unanimously endorse Tice-Raskin

October 17, 2014 — 

The Judges of the Nevada County Superior Court unanimously endorse Rob Tice-Raskin for Judge of the Nevada County Superior Court.

In our view, Rob Tice-Raskin is best-qualified to serve as a judge for our county. He is a man who has devoted his professional career to public service and serving our system of justice. He has a broad-based knowledge of the law, a strong intellect and decades of experience managing difficult cases.

Learn more »

Orson, more than a friend

October 17, 2014 — 

You asked for nothing, yet gave so much. Never would you discriminate against others or make insincere political statements, nor would you incite war and exhibit greed.

You would not sideline those who have different beliefs or who are physically challenged. You gave nothing, but love, gratitude and patience.

Learn more »

Firth, Lamphier good choices for Grass Valley

October 17, 2014 — 

There are important decisions on the horizon that will shape the future of Grass Valley — quality of life, economic and day to day traffic flow will all be influenced by the choices made by Grass Valley’s city council members. This means the two open seats for city council will effect Nevada County residents for many years.

My votes would go to Jim Firth and Terry Lamphier. These two candidates have consistently taken a responsible approach to development. They both understand the consequences of big box and franchise store approval and construction.

Learn more »

Trash talk

October 17, 2014 — 

I fully support the new task force that is proposing “zero tolerance” on roadside trash. However, I would like to point out that Waste Management is one of the worst offenders.

A Feb. 15 letter to The Union from Tom Behimer asked “Waste Management above (littering) law?” He pointed to the trash coming from trucks on Brunswick Road. He states: “How do I know that most of the litter is from Waste Management trucks? I have been behind them and see material fly out from the top. I travel this route twice a day. The trucks congregate at the Loma Rica station so this is a feeder road for them. Other areas of the county do not have so much trash along side the road.”

Learn more »

Measure S used to gin up outrage

October 17, 2014 — 

Why all this clamor over Measure S? I, as others, have been following the heated debate over this measure.

No doubt The Union is happy with the uproar, judging by the gallons of ink it has spilled covering the topic. To me, the issue is simple: Measure S makes a few common sense modifications to a county ordinance that was rushed through the Board of Supervisors on the promise that its acknowledged flaws would be fixed, but never were. For example, deputy sheriffs would no longer have to get out their tape measures to ascertain whether a grow exceeds permissible limits; all they have to do is count the plants.

Learn more »

Voting: what you need to know

October 17, 2014 — 

The Nevada County Elections Office is very busy preparing for the upcoming Nov. 4, 2014 Consolidated General Election.

There will be dozens of voter decisions including federal, state, judicial, and local contests. Some of these contests include Justices, local candidates, six statewide propositions, one countywide measure, and two district measures. These state and local elections are the most important elections for communities to have their voices heard and implement change on a local level. With so many choices on the ballot, this means the official ballot will consist of two cards, front and back.

Learn more »

It’s about “we the people”

October 17, 2014 — 

I read with interest the article in the Oct. 6 story in The Union about the speech of KrisAnne Hall on the U. S. Constitution. As I understand her thinking, federal agencies such as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Park Service, National Forest Service, and Food and Drug Administration (FDA), etc., plus programs and services like Medicare, interstate highways, air traffic control etc., are all unconstitutional.

She seems to want to set aside 225-plus years of Constitutional interpretation and application by all three branches of our federal government and rely only on the several years of hard work that went into creating it. Do we really for a moment want to live in a country, state, and county in which none of the federal services and programs I have mentioned and others like them exist? With dirt roads, dirty water and air, and no national public health programs? I hope not. We live in the United States in the 21st Century, not the 18th. Lets’ benefit from our 225-plus years of applying our Constitution, rather than trying to freeze it in the rural east coast world of 1787.

Learn more »

Hemig: Not in my backyard

October 17, 2014 — 

As I stood in the middle of a 1-acre lot and looked around at all the trees providing privacy between the neighbors, I thought to myself, I could sure grow a lot of pot here.

Or I could hold many great outdoor weddings or events. Or maybe even build and sell a bunch of furniture.

Learn more »

More critical thinking with endorsements, please

October 17, 2014 — 

Politics, at its best, is a slimy endeavor.

I’ve read all the endorsements for Mr. Tice-Raskin with some amusement except for Ms. Melody Lane’s endorsement. She stated that he is particularly qualified because he is a “family man.” As a woman, she ought to know that there are many reasons why a female might not have a family.

Learn more »

Larry Meek for County Board of Education

October 17, 2014 — 

We have been professional and personal friends of Larry and Pamela Meek since 1982 when we were school administrators in Petaluma.

Our careers came together again in 1986 as principals of Bear River and Nevada Union high dchools. Pamela and my wife Beverly worked together at Roseville Sutter Hospital Hospice.

Learn more »

Hall needs moderate Republicans to beat LaMalfa

October 17, 2014 — 

The recent 1st Congressional District candidates’ forum in Redding, sponsored by the League of Women Voters, was well attended and useful in getting to know Democratic challenger, Heidi Hall, and Republican incumbent, Doug LaMalfa.

No question, at least from my perspective, Heidi Hall came away as the strongest candidate in the room.

Learn more »

Measure S is all about the medicine

October 16, 2014 — 

The Union published a front-page article giving Greg Zaller a soapbox on which to expound his views on Measure S. With all due respect to Mr. Zaller, who has done a great deal of good for people who suffer from addiction, his position on Measure S and medical marijuana is far from enlightened and compassionate.

Zaller claims most marijuana grown in compliance with the law ends up on the black market, and asserts that Measure S “just clears the way for growing more marijuana legally.” I’m not sure where he got that information or what qualifies him to make such statements. Unlike Zaller, I speak from my own experience. I am interested in medical marijuana and the Measure S debate because it affects me personally.

Learn more »

Rural clinic vital to health of residents

October 16, 2014 — 

With all the focus on Western Sierra Medical Clinic’s new facility in Grass Valley, it seems appropriate to keep in mind how it first started. Downieville’s “frontier” status is the reason WSMC obtained the HRSA 330 Grant which has helped to fund the building of the new Grass Valley site. Downieville is the original home of WSMC and despite reductions of service in Downieville by the current administration, we are fighting to keep our facility operating here.

It is the only medical facility that services the surrounding 500 square miles in Sierra County and is vital to the health and safety of community residents and visitors to our area.

Learn more »

Compassion at a difficult time

October 16, 2014 — 

The family of John Edgerton would like to thank the doctors and nurses in the ER and ICU of Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital for their excellent care and consideration during his recent illness.

We would also like to thank the Comfort Room staff for their wonderful care and kindness extended to him and us at this most difficult time.

Learn more »

With deep appreciation for our MIM home tour volunteers

October 16, 2014 — 

On Friday before the event, another batch of cookies arrives in the office, barely out of the oven and tempting all of the office staff. They pile up, one after another, awaiting their final destination on the Music in the Mountains Home Tour. Chocolate chip oatmeal at Home #2, snickerdoodles at Home #4.

While we refrain from gobbling them all up (OK, just one), last minute preparations are being made for what is one of the most complex of all of our benefit events. Each year, six to seven owners open up their homes to over 1,000 visitors. Over 100 volunteers step up to do everything from bake cookies to be a “house captain.” Visitors are greeted with warmth and appreciation. Docents not only know about why a certain choice of flooring was made, but can tell you a funny anecdote about the history of the home, or how a far-flung travel made an impression that influenced design. As one travels through the homes, these volunteers create a sense of intimacy — as if you were an honored guest at each stop.

Learn more »

Measure S isn’t about the medicine

October 16, 2014 — 

Let’s revisit the discussion that started the process to obtain some structure to medical marijuana growing.

At the very start, we acknowledged that Prop. 215 was the law of the land. We have lately been hearing that the sheriff and I made up the abusive growers who set up shop on Annie Drive near the Alta Sierra Elementary School.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top