Opinion

Ed Sanchez: A sense of community

August 31, 2015 — 

As the new president of Roots and Wings Education Foundation in Penn Valley, I’d like to thank all of the individuals and businesses for your support of our 22nd annual Lake Wildwood Wine Cruise.

My apologies to Sikes Realty for not getting you listed in our thank you publication. We truly appreciate your support. This event was a tremendous success! Proceeds support supplemental funding for local education programs. Thanks to our fantastic event leadership team who made this event terrific!

Learn more »

Theodore Hill-Weld: Microaggressions, prejudice and educational environments

August 31, 2015 — 

In his article, “The only thing micro at UC is the thinking of its administrators,” George Boardman steadfastly asserts his opinion that everyone should get over being offended, because complaining just prevents freedom of expression.

I’m no expert on being oppressed, but it’s important to recognize Mr. Boardman as an affluent white male living in a county where everyone is just like him. He’s absolutely correct; students going off to college are in something new. But he thinks this is a bad thing, when in fact exposure to concepts other than the ones circulating in Nevada County since its inception might be a good thing for everyone.

Learn more »

Edith Lufkin: Climate deniers are the political manipulators

August 31, 2015 — 

To say global warming is “political manipulation,” as Mr. LaMalfa did recently, is to dismiss it as a non-issue, merely self-absorbed pols protecting turf and perk.

To say “I am not a scientist,” is dereliction of duty. Few Congress people are doctors, yet they confidently, avidly, pronounce on women’s health. To say environmental “over regulation” is destroying the economy is blind indifference to the incalculable economic wreckage already occurring worldwide — drought, storms, fire.

Learn more »

Angie Lux: Planned Parenthood plays vital role in providing birth control, education

August 29, 2015 — 

The campaign to defund Planned Parenthood is back again, and Kathryn Jean Lopez, published by The Union, in the last two weeks is again trying to lead the way.

She indicates it is because she is against abortion, but Planned Parenthood prevents abortions by providing birth control to thousands of impoverished women. Birth control has been reported by a Guttmacher Institute to reduce abortions by 13 percent.

Learn more »

Patricia Smith: Jumping to conclusions

August 29, 2015 — 

Sixty-two children die from marijuana! Did you miss that headline? Me, too.

However, one would come away with that conclusion after reading Thomas Elias’ “California Focus” in The Union (Aug. 12) “Marijuana harm ignored in push for legalization.”

Learn more »

Doe Firth: Police blotter humor not appropriate

August 29, 2015 — 

For many years, the popular feature “Police Blotter” has contained amusing stories of absurd police calls. In the Aug. 4 issue,

this item was highlighted in large type: “A man from Robinson Road reported a neighbor was mowing his lawn. He was advised that was not illegal and said he would call the governor.”

Learn more »

Sue Jeffrey: Really, the sanctity of all human life

August 29, 2015 — 

Those calling for the defunding of Planned Parenthood are not demanding its closure, only that it not be funded with their dollars because they believe in the rights of the unborn from both a legal and a religious perspective.

Asking them to be complicit in an act they consider murder is no different than using tax dollars to pay for guns and gun safety classes for every household.

Learn more »

Mike Mooers: Call out falsehoods or don't publish letters

August 29, 2015 — 

A newspaper needs to meet, at the very least, a level of professionalism that distinguishes fact not simply from opinion, but from fiction.

The Union fails to meet that standard with many letters they publish, and it was glaringly apparent in one from Aug. 19 written by Mr. Bob Webster regarding his feelings towards Planned Parenthood.

Learn more »

Itara O'Connell: Planned Parenthood getting a bum rap

August 29, 2015 — 

Dear Bob Webster, in your letter to the editor, “Planned Parenthood Worst of the Bunch,” dated Aug. 19, I feel your anger and applaud your concern for human life.

You failed to mention, however, in your search for blame, that it is the inappropriate sexual behavior of boys and men that cause the pregnancies in the first place.

Learn more »

Louise Carter: Thanks for the grammar correction

August 29, 2015 — 

Kudos to the person who corrected the lighted signs along Zion Street last week cautioning drivers to be aware that school had started.

At first the sign read: DRIVE SAFE. A couple of days later it read: DRIVE SAFELY.

Learn more »

Ray Bryars: Crack down on distracted drivers

August 29, 2015 — 

While driving south on Highway 49 toward Nevada City, I entered a left curve and was shocked to see an oncoming car aiming straight for my driver’s side door.

I did what I could to turn away, but a steep drop off and many trees limited my ability to turn. Luckily the driver “woke up” and turned in time to narrowly miss my car.

Learn more »

Don Rivenes: Global warming not political manipulation

August 29, 2015 — 

The recent article in The Union about Congressman LaMalfa’s town hall meeting in Grass Valley reported that he has publicly critiqued and voted against global warming legislation.

“You’ve actually motivated me to do a lot of organizing in the next polling to organize young people against you,” Nevada City resident John Lorence said. “Because I’m not worried about me, or my neighbor, (but) the younger generation.”

Learn more »

Mark Machado: The wow factor

August 29, 2015 — 

A couple of days ago, I was visiting with my cousin, a real estate broker outside of Phoenix, Arizona.

Since I have built and sold homes in my past, the topic of how best to market such, in today’s world, quickly became a topic of discussion.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Prop. 47 looking like a well-intentioned blunder

August 29, 2015 — 

The more time goes by since last fall’s passage of the high-minded Proposition 47, the more it begins to look like a well-intentioned mistake.

This was the ballot measure that turned some “minor” felonies into misdemeanor crimes, thus easing the crowding in state prisons and many county jails.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

August 29, 2015 — 

Learn more »

William and Christine Newsom: An open letter to Congressman LaMalfa

August 29, 2015 — 

We would like to thank you for presenting the town hall meeting which we attended on Aug. 11 at the Grass Valley city council chambers.

We found it very informative and worthwhile, and the discussions were quite stimulating. There were several statements that you made, however, that caused us significant concern.

Learn more »

Carol Judd: Trump doesn't speak for me

August 28, 2015 — 

In a recent letter, Mr. Phillips believes Donald Trump is “saying what all Americans have been thinking.” Not true.

Trump has said nothing that I have been thinking. I find Trump’s manner, interactions and disrespect for others to be the antithesis of a strong leader.

Learn more »

Dean Olson: Do we really want another war?

August 28, 2015 — 

Years ago, when Russia invaded Afghanistan, we covertly got involved and created what then became Al Qaeda.

We supplied and supported those who eventually turned on us and brought down the Twin Towers. After this, the one country which had absolutely nothing to do with this terrorist attack, Iraq, is overthrown by the Bush Administration by lying and fabricating false information.

Learn more »

Lily Marie: Peace & Justice Center booth at fair a success

August 28, 2015 — 

The Peace & Justice Center of Nevada County directors want to thank everyone who helped make our fair booth, “Our Children Need Peace to Thrive,” a great success:

— The 37 volunteers from the Brady Campaign, Creating Communities Beyond Bias, Child Advocates of Nevada County, Gather the Women, Grandmothers for Peace, Palestine/Israel Working Group, Partners Family Resource Centers, The Peace Alliance, NEO and the Mankind Project

Learn more »

Edna Brown: Our side of Eskaton

August 28, 2015 — 

The Union newspaper has reported several times on what they call “Eskaton lawsuit.” May we set the record straight?

Eskaton Village Grass Valley Homeowners Association is being sued by two residents of the village.

Learn more »

Paul D. Hauck: Obama's popularity comparable to Reagan

August 28, 2015 — 

In her article in The Union on Aug. 24, Julie Pace describes President Obama’s popularity as “plummeting.”

I don’t know where this perception comes from. Perhaps because people hear such intensely critical statements about him, they assume those statements represent the majority of Americans’ views.

Learn more »

Leo Granucci: Town hall forum may not be best way to solve homeless issues

August 28, 2015 — 

I read with great interest Jim Hemig’s article along with The Union’s Editorial Board’s comments regarding the homeless and encouraging people to attend The Union’s town hall meeting on Sept. 10 at the Center for the Arts.

This town hall meeting is scheduled for two hours; a one-hour presentation by Dr. Marbut and one hour for discussion.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: Mission accomplished

August 28, 2015 — 

Last Saturday I danced in front of more than 800 people at the Grass Valley Veterans Memorial Auditorium. It was only six days ago, but it feels like a lifetime.

The experience was surreal for sure. The lights, loud music and screaming crowd were unlike anything I have ever witnessed before.

Learn more »

Frank Way: Another gratifying Supreme Court decision

August 27, 2015 — 

Among the several decisions made by this session of the United States Supreme Court (2014-15) that validated the liberal point of view, perhaps none would be as decisive as the one on the Affordable Care Act, or King vs. Burwell.

By a margin of six to three the court upheld the law’s subsidies to all Americans regardless of whether the state they live in has, or has not, set up state exchanges. The decision really only effects states opposed to the Affordable Care Act and since California is not one of these states, why is the decision significant for us here? Besides reminding us all that Congress makes, and the Court interprets, the laws, Chief Justice Roberts emphasized the importance of a law’s intent, in this case the intent of the Affordable Care Act is to “improve the marketplace for health insurance, not destroy it.”

Learn more »

Carolyn Beardsley: Highway 174 safety project to take piece of history

August 27, 2015 — 

It will be my curve that is going to be removed and become a straightaway with the Caltrans Safety Project 2018.

I own the property with the Joe Ruess Landscape Architect sign out front which has been a fixture on the highway since 1950. Along this manicured frontage is the clearly visible Nevada County Narrow Gauge Railroad bed which will be defaced and owned by Caltrans. Caltrans should never be allowed to own the Narrow Gauge Railroad Bed, which is a piece of our Nevada County history!

Learn more »

Joe O'Leary: No water? No problem

August 27, 2015 — 

Our home is five miles from Grass Valley. Several weeks ago on a Friday afternoon, we had no water.

We called Peter’s Drilling and Pump Service and they said they would schedule us for Saturday afternoon. They called back in half an hour and said they would provide service by noon on Saturday. Shortly thereafter, we were told they could arrive at the house by 8 a.m. Saturday morning. By 10 a.m. we had water. Someone at Peter’s made sure a situation didn’t become a major issue. The problem was correctly diagnosed and the repairs done in a timely manner. Thank you Peters and staff.

Learn more »

Jim Primrose: Save the trees at Nevada Union High School stadium

August 27, 2015 — 

Nevada Union High School has a wonderful new track except there is a problem. The school seems to have consulted with an arborist who believes that any tree in the proximity of the track poses a threat to the track even though the same trees peacefully coexisted with the old track, which lasted 17 years.

The dozen or more trees in question provide character, beauty, and shade to the track and football field which sets Nevada Union apart from the stark moonscapes of most other schools. The community needs to raise its voice to see if these trees can be saved. We may not have much time so I ask you to help save the trees in any way which you can. Thank you for your help.

Learn more »

Byron York: With all eyes on Trump, Ted Cruz rises in GOP race

August 27, 2015 — 

Ted Cruz got a big boost in Iowa recently when the influential social conservative activist and radio host Steve Deace endorsed him.

To call it a sought-after endorsement would be an understatement. Deace says prospective 2016 GOP campaigns began contacting him well before the 2012 election. (All just assumed that Mitt Romney was going to lose.) The recruitment efforts picked up in 2013 and 2014.

Learn more »

Amy Goodman and Denis Moynihan: The Iran Nuclear Deal: Give diplomacy a chance

August 27, 2015 — 

A war with Iran would be a catastrophe, yet by opposing diplomacy, hundreds of members of Congress may be blundering into just such a conflict. The Iran nuclear deal, as the complex diplomatic arrangement is popularly called, was agreed upon on July 14 by a consortium of key powerful countries, the European Union and Iran. The goal of the agreement is to limit Iran’s nuclear activities to peaceful purposes, and to block Iran’s ability to construct a nuclear bomb. Despite what its critics say, this agreement is not based on trust. It grants the International Atomic Energy Agency the power to conduct widespread, intrusive inspections to ensure that Iran keeps its many pledges. In return, many, but not all, of the sanctions on Iran, which have been crippling its economy, will be lifted.

The alternative to diplomacy is to pour gasoline on a region of the world already on fire with intense, complex military conflicts. Iran’s military has more than half a million soldiers, no doubt with many more who could be mobilized if threatened with invasion. Iran shares a vast border to its west with Iraq, and to its east with Afghanistan, two nations with ongoing military and humanitarian disasters that have consumed the U.S. military since 2001, costing trillions of dollars and untold lives.

Learn more »

Allan Krosner: It's in the Constitution

August 26, 2015 — 

I read with interest Mr. Wayne Hild’s Aug. 4 letter to the editor, “Look at the real issues, Mr. LaMalfa.”

Every item that Mr. Hild suggested that the government should do are illegal per the Constitution. Article I, Section 8 lists the powers that the federal government has. The 10th Amendment further clarifies this by stating that “The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.”

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion »
Back to Top