Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Chad Hanson: Large, intense fires are good for wildlife

May 23, 2015 — 

Norm Sauer’s opinion article expresses common fears and misconceptions about mixed-intensity fires (Other Voices, May 13).

In his disbelief about current science, Mr. Sauer claims that Christy Sherr’s article about the ecological benefits of higher-intensity fire patches (Other Voices, April 1) somehow must have involved “falsifying science,” yet he offers not a single example of a factual inaccuracy in her article.

Learn more »

Manny Montes: Attorney general's office must fulfill its duty

May 23, 2015 — 

What are progressives alluding to when they say conservatives want to take us back to 1950? How does advocating for limited government, fiscal responsibility, and free markets conjure in the progressives’ mind 1950?

I would like to understand this. Also, the blatant condescension of the progressive’s attack on Fox News viewers, accusing the viewers of being empty headed dimwits. Or, the chronicling of past Republican convictions compared to Obama’s cascading (non)-scandals and no convictions, as if there is something in the Republican mind set predisposed to corruption, and progressives are pure as the driven snow.

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: What were Americans thinking?

May 23, 2015 — 

Inquiring minds want to know if the Republicans and Tea Party stand for anything besides a nonstop assault on women’s freedom of choice (anti-abortion) and the obstruction of the economy, government, and progress of the country like they’ve been fixated on for the past six years.

Republicans have spent their time passing hundreds of restrictive anti-abortion laws around the country in the last few years and last weekend they were at it again as House Republicans passed legislation that would ban most abortions starting with the 20th week of pregnancy. You did hear Senate leader Mitch McConnell say the Republicans would “change,” right after they won the last election. Talk is cheap, especially if you’re a Republican.

Learn more »

Jeff Loberg: America is better off without liberal view of society

May 23, 2015 — 

I must take issue with Carole Chapman’s attack of Stan Meckler, co-founder of the Tea Party Movement. If she had done some fact checking, she would know the modern Tea Party had its beginnings with Dr. Ron Paul in 2007.

Chapman wants you to think that it was formed in response to Obama’s election, which is clearly not the case. To refer to Mr. Meckler as a radical is preposterous! It is liberals who are the radicals! Your support of alternative lifestyles, taxing the rich job creators to oblivion, legalized pot use, anti-gun ownership, confused bathrooms, and frivolous laws designed to erode the freedoms of good law-abiding citizens is what’s radical. Americans are better off without liberals’ view of how society should be.

Learn more »

Jim Firth: Solving the problem

May 23, 2015 — 

Many of our friends and neighbors in Nevada County struggle every day to have enough to eat. This happens even though they work everyday, pay their taxes, donate time to their church or volunteer at their children’s or grand-children’s school.

Right now the California minimum wage is $9 per hour. It’s $1.75 higher than the national minimum, but still falls short of what is needed in California to provide for even the basic food, housing, medical care, or educational needs of our residents.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Stadium projects a test for CEQA changes

May 23, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

Teresa Langness: Bessie Minor Swift grant gives farmworker families a fair chance

May 23, 2015 — 

The hands that fill the nation’s fruit basket had new resources to fill their own children’s needs this year, thanks to a grant from the Bessie Minor Swift Foundation. Formed by the owners of Swift Communications, the parent company of The Union newspaper, this foundation makes grants available that promote literacy and enrichment in the arts and sciences. In 2014, Nevada City-based Full-Circle Learning, a global nonprofit, received $2,220 for a bilingual reading program among parents and preschoolers at a HUD project for farmworkers.

The year has passed and the program has helped the constituents gain skills that will influence their community for a lifetime.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

May 23, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Deborah Ireland: More nutrition info, please

May 22, 2015 — 

Could The Union please include some nutrition information at the end of their recipes? I understand that including some of the information, like a standard nutritional label does, would be close to impossible, but if serving size, calories per serving, carbohydrates per serving, and fat per serving were included, it would sure be of use to many of us.

Nowadays more people are making nutrition an important part of their diets.

Learn more »

Tom O'Toole: Let's show some civility

May 22, 2015 — 

At a recent meeting, I was surprised to hear of a developing county problem. There is a relatively new type of incivility that is being generated by an inconsiderate brand of rude motorists.

At the recent Combie and Hwy. 49 tragic accident, first responders were surprised to be the victims of taunts, horn honking and just plain rude behavior from some inconsiderate and impatient drivers.

Learn more »

Susan Forte: Thanks, Miriam

May 22, 2015 — 

What a joy to drive past the Nevada City post office on Coyote Street and see the beautiful red poppies planted there, I don’t think the post office has ever looked so good.

I want to thank Miriam Morris for all of her hard work volunteering her time, keeping the planted areas around Nevada City looking so good. If you see her out there, be sure to thank her, I know I will.

Learn more »

Joyce Haire: Bring back my TV guide

May 22, 2015 — 

I am now beginning my second week without the TV Weekly that was part of The Union for so many years. I miss the TV Weekly. I want to express my severe dissatisfaction with your decision to drop it from The Union.

Publisher Jim Hemig’s editorial stated there are other ways to get the programming information. However, as a Comcast customer, Comcast only allows me to see what programs are scheduled a couple of hours ahead, and won’t allow me to see what is going to be “on” three days from now! It does not allow me to plan future activities around what is scheduled. This was a valuable part of the paper for me, and for others I’m sure.

Learn more »

Gary Fosburg: Incomplete road work on Rattlesnake Road

May 22, 2015 — 

How sad that the city and county can’t realize how popular Rattlesnake Road is to many different groups. We even had the Amgen Bike Race racing down Rattlesnake for the second time.

Why can’t the county finish painting the fog lines (the white lines along the edge of road) from Wheeler Cross to Dog Bar? I was told that the width of road was too narrow. I measured at various places the fog lines that had been newly painted and then measured where they had not been painted. Plenty of width to finish the job. The most popular road in the county and we can’t finish what was started.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: Many hands make light work

May 22, 2015 — 

The Nevada County Contractors’ Association is due some public recognition.

Last year, while attending a Wednesday morning Rotary meeting, I heard a plea for help from Amee Medeiros, executive director at the Neighborhood Center of the Arts.

Learn more »

Sandra Rockman: Kudos for Jim Hurley

May 21, 2015 — 

Whether it’s sending out notice of a lost cat, dog or, most recently, a 40 plus-year-old tortoise, alerting us about a nearby burglary or a bear frequenting an area birdfeeder or sending out an update on the latest Ferrell gas price, Jim Hurley is the man.

Here in our Lake Vera/Round Mountain vicinity, Jim regularly sends out informative (and often very witty) email blasts, as well as photos on the state of the neighborhood. He’s our human neighborhood watch.

Learn more »

Unitarians show up for those in need of free health care

May 21, 2015 — 

I’d like to give a big thanks to the Unitarian Universalist Community of the Mountains for their generous donation to help fund the Free Health Care Clinic happening Nov. 14-15 at the Grass Valley Veterans Memorial Hall.

The clinic includes medical, dental and vision care. We’ll be serving 500 patients each day, and it is open to everyone for free, funded by donations. This is being brought to us by California Care Force, an all volunteer staffed nonprofit in Roseville (CaliforniaCareForce.org).

Learn more »

Amy Goodman: An act of protest, not sabotage, at the birthplace of the bomb

May 21, 2015 — 

There is a vast military complex deep in the hills of eastern Tennessee called “Y-12.” This is where all of the highly enriched uranium is produced and stored for the production of the U.S. nuclear-warhead arsenal. It is in Oak Ridge, the city that was created practically overnight during World War II, that produced the uranium for the atomic bomb that was dropped on Hiroshima on Aug. 6, 1945.

Today, the facility, dubbed “The Fort Knox of Uranium,” holds enough of the radioactive element to make 10,000 nuclear bombs.

Learn more »

Byron York: Iraq war history ensares both Hillary Clinton and Jeb Bush

May 21, 2015 — 

In January 2007, shortly after entering the race for the 2008 Democratic presidential nomination, Hillary Clinton traveled to Iowa, where one of the first questions she faced was about her vote to authorize the war in Iraq.

“If we had known then what we know now, there never would have been a vote,” Clinton said, “and I never would have voted to give (President George W. Bush) that authority.”

Learn more »

Susan Pelican: Another view of vaccination

May 20, 2015 — 

I am a mother, grandmother, RN and former nurse-midwife who is skeptical of vaccinations. I am also a lifelong political activist who stands for freedom of choice in all things medical — including abortion, vaccination, and chemotherapy.

These matters are best resolved between a person — or her parent (who both have the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness) and her physician/caregiver — not by legislators in Sacramento or in D.C. who believe they know what is best for you and for our children.

Learn more »

Barbi Buckles: Great artist, poor venue

May 20, 2015 — 

I think that the Center for the Arts Theatre is such a treat to see music in and I have always enjoyed the smallness and the personal touches that are present everywhere.

I was at the Veterans Hall to see Joan Armatrading. I have not seen her in over 30 years. I thought she was playing at the Center, but was mistaken since I didn’t realize that you guys were putting the show on at the Veterans Hall because you needed a bigger venue.

Learn more »

Maryalyce Hansen: TV guide — gone but not forgotten

May 20, 2015 — 

So good to read Linda Johnson’s letter to the editor regarding the TV guide. Right on.

Glad I take two other papers and get their listings. Also, the article that was published to explain why it had been removed made no sense at all! And I so appreciate the letter recently printed from Jack Moorhead. He hit the nail on the head. Having lived here since the 1930s, I have never before considered not subscribing to The Union, but it’s becoming a decision more and more.

Learn more »

John Carr; Carrtoon

May 20, 2015 — 

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

May 19, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: 'Beam us up, Scotty;' Drought spurring ideas

May 19, 2015 — 

Ideas come fast every time California endures a drought of several years. Each time, some of them are accepted and put into use, thus making the next drought a bit easier to handle.

Back in the 1970s, the last time this state saw as protracted a dry spell as today’s, snickering and cries of “yuck” ensued when some environmentalists proposed reusing water from dishes, baths, showers and more to irrigate grass and shrubbery rather than merely disposing of it as sewage.

Learn more »

Heidi Hall: Trade agreements are vehicles of inequality, unchecked abuse

May 19, 2015 — 

The concept of free global trade is a heady one. I like the idea of efficiency in economic markets. And the idea of equal access to goods from all over the world, accurately priced to reflect their true value.

This value would reflect the labor put into the product, as well as the costs of protecting the resources and environment affected by its production.

Learn more »

Loletta Hadel:Memorial Wall of Remembrance a powerful experience

May 18, 2015 — 

In celebration of National Crime Victims’ Rights Week April 19 through 25, 2015, the Nevada County Victim Witness Assistance Center erected a Memorial Wall of Remembrance at the Eric Rood Administrative Center in Nevada City during the entire month of April. The Memorial Wall is a collection of photos of deceased crime victims from Nevada County, many of whom died in the county they called home. The photos bore the images of those ranging in age from toddlers to senior citizens. Viewing the Memorial Wall is extremely powerful and sobering but even greater is the trauma experienced by the family members and friends of the victims in the wake of the crime.

Our staff would like to thank the following who made this Memorial Wall display possible: Larry at Hospice Gift and Thrift (Freeman Lane) for assistance on the purchase of a small table; Tom and Doug from Nevada County Facilities; Jan and colleagues in the Nevada County Assessor’s office for maintaining the battery-powered candle every work day; Laura who graciously donated the candle and The Union for selecting the Memorial Wall story and photo as their headline news on April 11 — what an honor for crime victims.

Learn more »

Bonnie Bennett: The time of year to thank a teacher

May 18, 2015 — 

May is the time of the year when we honor our teachers. Many students and their parents have been planning luncheons or have sent their teachers something special to say thank you.

It’s something we all have in common — having been inspired by or helped by teachers throughout the years.

Learn more »

Jani Linfield: Thanks to Ernie's

May 18, 2015 — 

I would like to thank and commend Ernie’s Van & Storage for completing a complicated delivery to Sammie’s Friends Animal Shelter this past week.

We are creating a new cat facility out of an old triple wide trailer, and had a delivery of 30 cat kennels weighing over 200 pounds each, delivered to the site and placed in the correct rooms. The delivery guys went above and beyond by helping solve the “puzzle” of what goes in each room. They did this with a lot of hard work, a great attitude, and an incredible sense of humor.

Learn more »

Jenny Warden: Most reasonable candidate

May 18, 2015 — 

Regarding David Briceno’s editorial to “Bring Back the Parties,” there’s another important role for Independents.

When either party runs a nitwit, many Independents register in that party to nominate the most reasonable candidate.

Learn more »

Sue Long: Convention of States not the solution

May 18, 2015 — 

If your boat has a leak in it, it doesn’t help to drill a hole in the bottom. And, trusting the current crop of politicians to rewrite our Constitution, which would be the result of a constitutional convention (aka Convention of States), is not the solution to government overreach.

The Constitution is not the problem, changing it is not the solution.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top