Letters to the Editor

Special thanks

August 23, 2014 — 

The Peace & Justice Center of Nevada County Directors would like to thank all who helped make our fair booth, “Our Children Need Peace to Thrive,” a great success.

This includes our 31 volunteers from the Brady Campaign, Grandmothers for Peace, Palestine/Israel Working Group, The Peace Alliance, Woolman Semester, Kentucky Flat Preschool, Communities Beyond Bias, Nevada County Drone Watch, Occupy BAFB and the Nevada County Fair Board, staff and the pubic.

Learn more »

Retaliation on the ridgeline?

August 23, 2014 — 

In my opinion, the Board of Supervisors made a foolhardy decision by denying the appeal of the Lockyer/Ericksons regarding the deed restrictions the county wants to place on their property. The lone “no vote” was by Supervisor Anderson, who by his comments and examples showed the best understanding of the issues being debated.

By denying the appeal we taxpayers will likely pay an extreme price to cover the damages and legal expenses incurred by the Lockyer/Ericksons if their position (as more or less confirmed by the Superior Court’s recent ruling) is affirmed and upheld in the lawsuits that have been filed and will now proceed.

Learn more »

I’ll miss you, Nevada City

August 23, 2014 — 

I would like to comment on the “smoking” ordinance in Nevada City.

It’s my opinion the city council are a narrow-minded, short-term thinking kinda folk. A lot of people with good money to spend have enjoyed that beautiful little town in the past. My wife and I can be counted among those people. We will unfortunately have to find another town to adopt, as we also smoke. I hate the decision the council is rendering, but my civil liberties are in jeopardy and will not have a “nanny” telling me what and where I may do things.

Learn more »

Gaza conflict could be stopped

August 21, 2014 — 

Israel could easily bring all of this violence and carnage to a screeching halt. They could stop using heavy military equipment, creating massive death and carnage.

Equipment we in the United States provide to them with no strings attached. They are militarily occupying another country and have been for over 50 years.

Learn more »

I-80 diversion: lower the road, don’t raise the bridges.

August 21, 2014 — 

Regarding diverting traffic from I-80 down Highway 49:

What about lowering the roadway 16 inches? That’s a heck of a lot faster and simpler than raising all seven bridges (especially the rail crossing). Some quick digging tractor work and repaving (Hansen Bros?). Possibly a slow seven days work each? All at once? Two days of ripping up concrete. One day tractor regrading. One day pour. Three days or more concrete curing?

Learn more »

Everything I’m against

August 21, 2014 — 

Regarding the guest column, “Who is Jim Firth?” by Keoni Allen on Aug. 15, it was a great reply to Jim Hemig’s original column.

What makes it special is that our merchants put in very long hours, and it takes time for a person who is tired to take the time out to reply to Jim Firth.

Learn more »

“Good ol’ boy”: complimentary or derogatory?

August 21, 2014 — 

Publisher Jim Hemig, in his recent article, fails to capture the essence of the meaning of “good ol’ boy.”

“Good ol’ boy” around here refers to a group of people who support and protect the status quo. “good ol’ boys or girls” may have arrived here a few months ago, or they may have lived here all their lives.

Learn more »

A kind citizen’s cane

August 21, 2014 — 

Kudos to Bea, a receptionist and ticket vendor at the Nevada County Fair, who, when I asked her if there were any “cane vendors” at the fair, graciously loaned me her cane for the day.

I had inadvertently left my cane at home.

Learn more »

Fundraiser yields more than $6,000 for mammography

August 20, 2014 — 

Hey fellow Nevada Countians. The next time you see Steve Loomis at Hills Flat Lumber, Robert Bare, Scott Mantel, and/or Jaysen McDaniels, be sure to give them kudos for their generosity as volunteer officials at the “2014 Saved by Second Base” fundraiser.

Proceeds exceeded $6,000 and are available to cover mammography and diagnostic costs. Anyone in need should see Melisa Agness at Insight Imaging to take advantage of Sb2B funds.

Learn more »

Thank you to Old Barn Storage

August 20, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Honor those who honor the military

August 20, 2014 — 

Thank you Dennis Kocher and God bless you for your service to our country and all your volunteer work for Nevada County.

We are blessed to have many former military men and women volunteer their time helping those in need. Having family members who have served our country since World War II up to the present time, Nevada County has always supported members of the military in many ways and proud of it.

Learn more »

ZIP program helps readers in need

August 20, 2014 — 

The ZIP book program, is “the gift that keeps on giving.” Thank you to Wayne Walker and the ZIP program at the Grass Valley Library. Only a reader could know the thrill of a new book. On behalf of all of us who can’t afford one, this makes it really special.

Donna Day

Learn more »

Now wonder STEM math is confusing

August 19, 2014 — 

Our education crisis in America has spawned a new acronym: STEM for science, technology, engineering and math. Our government and politicians are not helping. The public is told that unemployment is at 6.1 percent. It is greater than 15 percent.

For years we’ve been told the “illegal” population in America is 11 million. The true number is north of 14 million.

Learn more »

Scouting is for everybody

August 19, 2014 — 

In reference to The Union’s Aug. 1 article entitled, “Parents say Girl Scouts discriminated against daughter with disability,” my husband, Bruce, and I raised our four daughters and two sons, who are now adults, in Southern California. We were a very active scouting family, committee chair, den mother, Brownie, Junior, cadet and leader. The troops were involved with were blessed with very active parents.

Our scout counsels’ rule was whenever there was a scout outing there should be one adult to every five scouts. One of the boy scouts had ADP, or Auditory Processing Disorder, and his father was always there so his son could have fun with friends.

Learn more »

Keep your dogs on a leash

August 19, 2014 — 

This letter is directed to all pit bull owners. Please, please keep your dogs on a leash (properly restrained) or locked up. I personally know of two small Shih Tzu’s (in their own yards) who have died of complications from pit bull attacks in just the past week, and how often I read in the police blotter of attacks on animals and people by pit bulls.

Please beware of your own pets, livestock or even family members if you own a pit.

Learn more »

To permit or not?

August 17, 2014 — 

In the City of Grass Valley, if you want to remove a tree from your property you need to get a permit. This costs $129. You fill out the paperwork and mark the tree. If approved after city inspection they send you a notice to post on the tree for 10 days.

If no one protests, after the appeal period, the city sends you a letter of approval. After removal you must plant another tree because the city “values the contribution which such trees make to the beauty and quality of life in Grass Valley.”

Learn more »

Why the case against Dr. Bigelsen is important

August 17, 2014 — 

Last March 20, Dr. Bigelsen’s clinic was shut down by investigators for the California Medical Board. When the doctor called the police for help, they came — and supported the investigators. Thus, the 72-year-old doctor lost his practice, his home and his livelihood.

Guilty until proven innocent appears to be the process he is undergoing. I always thought it was the other way around.

Learn more »

‘Rock and Relax’ booth much appreciated at the fair

August 17, 2014 — 

A huge thank you to Arly Helm and all of the volunteers from the Breastfeeding Coalition of Nevada County for sponsoring the “Rock and Relax” booth at the fair this year. It was wonderful to have a cool, clean, and comfortable area to feed and change my son.

Thank you for supporting our community’s children — and their moms!

Learn more »

Presidency a failure since day one

August 17, 2014 — 

As our freedoms continue to erode, our Constitution is shred, and our economy continues to be stagnant, it’s hard to understand how anyone can stand up and tout this president’s achievements.

But Nevada County has Ron Lowe, cheerleader for the left. Lowe fails to mention the real accolades of Obama’s presidency. Standing by while American citizens are killed in Libya and then lying to the faces of their families as to how and why they were killed. Maybe we should pat Obama on the back for his handling of Iraq, Syria and the rest of the Middle East. And maybe we should congratulate him for his handling of the border crisis.

Learn more »

Three strikes: Vote them out

August 16, 2014 — 

The Nevada County Board of Supervisors conservative majority is consistently making decisions at odds with conservative principles of limited government, individual freedom, and fiscal responsibility. Three recent examples of “big-government” overreach will suffice to illustrate.

The first instance is the proposed outdoor events ordinance. This proposed new regulation was put in motion to suppress nuisances, but it is so overreaching that it will impact the livelihoods of many local businesses to the tune of $15 million dollars or more, according to the Nevada City Chamber of Commerce.

Learn more »

Police patrol makes a difference

August 16, 2014 — 

We of the Olympic Glade Mobile Home Park Association would like to thank the Grass Valley Police Department for driving through our park endeavoring to keep unwanted people away during the night hours and early morning hours.

This is a senior park and elderly residents want to feel safe in this ever-changing world. So thanks again to the city police and the Nevada County Sheriff’s Department for listening to our calls and continuing to respond when we need you.

Learn more »

One pretty pool, indeed

August 16, 2014 — 

As a dedicated participant in Pioneer Park’s water exercise program, I would like to thank all those involved with the beautification of the landscaping around the pool area.

Many thanks to Prospector’s Nursery for donating many of the new plants and in particular, and to Cassie Angle who worked with Boy Scout Pack 23 to plant and maintain them.

Learn more »

Thanks, Old Barn

August 16, 2014 — 

Thank you to Old Barn Self Storage in Grass Valley for their support of the Nevada County Narrow Gauge Railroad Museum by displaying our banner, “Railroad Museum, Gold Flat Exit” on their site near Highway 49.

Old Barn has shown a real understanding for the value of the transportation history of Grass Valley, Nevada City, and the entire county.

Learn more »

Hand-picking winners and losers

August 16, 2014 — 

I find it interesting that local governments in Nevada County seek an outdoor events ordinance while they themselves rent out outdoor facilities that have noise, traffic, and trash impacts to nearby homes.

Then, I read that the Grass Valley City Council is going to subsidize a Jeep Tours Business. Sounds like hand-picking private sector winners and losers to me in order to maximize income to their own businesses they have chosen to be a part of.

Learn more »

Immigration a humanitarian issue

August 15, 2014 — 

It breaks my heart that a bus full of the most unfortunate among us could be jeered at by any group of people. That anyone from Nevada County would spend time and energy going to Riverside County to participate in this act and call it patriotic is completely beyond my understanding.

The act reminds me of the gauntlet black children had to walk through during the civil rights era integration of schools. What an ugly face of humanity. No matter what your position is on immigration there is nothing to be proud of in participating in the “Murrieta” protest. Fortunately a relatively small number of citizens participated in this ugliness. Gov. Brown has correctly labeled the immigration issue a humanitarian one.

Learn more »

Helping hand appreciated

August 15, 2014 — 

After eating at my favorite restaurant on East Main Street, I had at least 15 minutes before “The Lift” was supposed to pick me up. I decided to go outside and wait — big mistake!

It was a stifling day and soon a man came up to me from the nearby car repair shop. He knew how hot it was, so suggested I move to a cooler location. When I moved, it wasn’t much better. So you know what he did?

Learn more »

Don’t tread on my property rights

August 15, 2014 — 

The Nevada County Chamber of Commerce has been running big ads against the Outdoor Events Ordinance. Claims made by the NCCC in ads and other releases predict gloom and doom to our economy if any ordinance is in place. I don’t agree that our economy is that dependent on profits from weddings to excuse treading on my property rights.

On blogs and a Facebook site arguments were made that folks must be able do whatever they want with their property regardless of what it costs neighbors or the taxpayer. False arguments that even the Nevada County Fairgrounds will be hit with fines and fees and permit requirements came up. The most used “big government” argument was included. There are threats of recall.

Learn more »

Stop the petty behavior

August 14, 2014 — 

If you’re unsure about a workable definition of micro-management, simply read Ivan Natividad’s story in The Union, focusing on the expenses of county Superintendent of Schools Holly Hermansen.

It would seem board members Slade-Troutmann and Meeks will not be content until the superintendent accounts for which condiments she used on her hamburger or until they learn the identities, backgrounds, and political affiliations of those with whom she may have had contact at education conferences.

Learn more »

What’s best for your country?

August 14, 2014 — 

It is interesting to read the letters to the editor in The Union, even the ones from those whose opinions differ from yours.

But it is only helpful if the authors present accurate facts. In a recent letter, Ms. Carol Chapman claimed that I said Doug LaMalfa is not doing a good job. I have never made that statement! In addition, Ms. Chapman, tenuously tries to bundle together the State of Jefferson movement, The Tea Party and Congressman LaMalfa? Why? Probably because all three are easy targets for a segment of your readers.

Learn more »

What ‘war on women?’

August 14, 2014 — 

What ‘war on women?’

The problem with people like Nancy Eubanks (“Don’t let your ‘freedom’ tread on me” The Union Aug. 4) is that they try to make us believe there is a “War on Women” where there is none.

It seems to me that women have more access to not only various methods of birth control, but also the abortion-causing “Morning-After Pill” and actual abortion than ever before.

Planned Parenthood (a taxpayer supported organization) offers free birth control.

Obamacare insurance plans as well as individual private insurance plans, because of federal requirements, must offer birth control and abortion (which incidentally has caused most private insurance plan premiums to increase dramatically).

I feel the “war” is very much directed at taxpayers when women somehow feel all of us should pay for their individual birth control choices.

So Ms. Eubanks, if you want birth control, get it. If you want an abortion, get it. Just don’t expect me to pay for it!

Rue Racine

Grass Valley

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top