Letters to the Editor

A dazzling concert

October 23, 2014 — 

What a treat! I’m still resonating from the Sept. 21 superb performance by the InConcert Sierra Orchestra, conducted by Ken Hardin. The program, billed as “Greatest Hits of Classical Music,” included such favorites as Johann Strauss, Jr.’s “Die Fledermaus,” and Gabriel Faure’s “Pavane.” As he introduced each piece, Hardin radiated his commitment to excellence, his sense of humor, and his deep benevolence. The musicians were world class. How did InConcert Sierra ever come up with the sponsorships to attract such artists? What a dazzling concert!

Carol Hoge

Learn more »

Crime level not what sheriff depicts

October 23, 2014 — 

The Nevada County Sheriff’s Office and other police entities have huge responsibilities for enforcing the laws. Certainly they should have had input, advising on practical matters of enforcement.

But if the uniformed police also write the laws from A to Z, then we are two-thirds of the way to being a police state. I don’t think it is Sheriff Royal’s job to judge who is “unsavory” (his word). Is there a law against offending someone’s taste?

Learn more »

Scottish referendum

October 23, 2014 — 

This may interest those of us who claim Scottish ancestry, as I do. Almost 2,000 years ago, the great Roman historian Gaius Suetonious Tranquillus told us that Rome sent immaculately dressed and disciplined soldiers comprising two legions north of Britannia to explore and survey unknown territory known today as Scotland.

They were horrified to discover — and reported back to their command — that all they could find was hordes of primitive naked men, covered with hair and paint, chasing wild animals with spears. The Romans wisely and immediately concluded that these “people” could never be civilized and as a result they wanted nothing to do with them (Scotch whiskey and golf had yet to be introduced). Result? Hadrians wall and the Antonine wall were built at once to keep the barbarians out of Britannia.

Learn more »

Who will you vote for this November?

October 23, 2014 — 

In my opinion, one of the most important votes to cast is for Superior Court Judge. What other elected official’s decision has the ability to directly impact you, your family, and even your financial future and individual freedom?

If I ever find myself, or my friends and family ever find themselves face-to-face with a judge, I hope the judge has the knowledge, integrity, and impartiality I am confident Rob Tice-Raskin will bring to the bench. It has been said integrity is defined as one’s actions matching one’s values. Rob certainly exemplifies this definition. My family has known Rob and his family for nearly a decade. Whether as a sports team coach, community service organization leader, or simply a proud parent, Rob lives his ethics and values, energetically serving with patience and fairness.

Learn more »

Thanks for triathlon support — see you next year

October 23, 2014 — 

The 49er Breakfast Rotary Club of Nevada City would like to once again thank SPD Markets, Flour Garden Bakery, BriarPatch Co-op and Save Mart Supermarkets for their generous donations of food, coffee and other refreshments for our hospitality booth at the Barbara Schmidt Millar Celebration of Life Women’s Triathlon.

Although the event was canceled due to smoke from the King Fire, that very difficult decision was not finally made and announced until the opening ceremony. Hundreds of participants, volunteers and spectators began gathering early that morning and stayed until after the announcement was made. Our donors’ generosity enabled us to provide some comfort to all those present during those emotional hours in difficult conditions.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin is caring, curious and committed

October 23, 2014 — 

As I understand it, all the judicial officers in Nevada County, active and retired, have endorsed Robert Tice-Raskin for judge. As one of those retired judges, here’s why I did.

Several months ago, Robert, who I had never met, called and said he would like to meet with me in order to ask my thoughts about our court system, to give me the chance to ask him anything I wanted, and also to just get to know him.

Learn more »

Ann Driver in the driver’s seat

October 23, 2014 — 

This community should be proud and excited to have Ann Driver in the running for a position on the Penn Valley Union School Board. The ideas and prospective she shared at a recent introductory gathering was profoundly enlightening. Not only will children benefit with Ann on the board, but parents and neighbors will be happy their dollars are going toward good, sound education and not on the “fluff” we so often hear of.

I personally wish Ann the best of the best as she attempts to help build strength of character in our children and in our community.

Learn more »

Support Measure S

October 23, 2014 — 

Measure S is a common sense solution to our current ordinance. This is a limited scope amendment to clarify and make it easier to comply.

I am reminded of prohibition, when unfair laws created a new generation of scofflaws. A “yes” vote on Measure S helps to keep fair laws and defines some important aspects for property owners and renters. Keeping things in line with codes means that legal changes can be made only by property owners.

Learn more »

Nuisance abated

October 23, 2014 — 

Nevada County has been my home for the majority of my life, having moved here in 1983. We have a beautiful, serene parcel on acreage. Our longtime neighbor recently moved into town and rented his prior residence out to a tenant from Sacramento.

This newcomer proceeded to chainsaw trees and brush adjacent to our property line. When I questioned him, newcomer replied, “I’m going to build a gazebo.” The gazebo never materialized. But in came the marijuana plants, within 20 feet of where my grandchildren play.

Learn more »

Home school your kids; vote ‘No’ on S

October 23, 2014 — 

I was invited to attend the Nevada County Board of Education meeting on Oct. 8. I walked out in 10 minutes because it became evident that the school as an institution in Nevada County is a dead end.

The only hope for the children and families living here to be trained to form a good, caring, responsible, strong and spiritual society is for parents to take care of their own and homeschool their children.

Learn more »

Blessed with caring local business owners

October 22, 2014 — 

It was in August when I saw firsthand the value of a local business that caters to locals. I stopped in to get a bite to eat only to see the proprietor refusing money from a woman who was alarmingly thin. The proprietor insisted that the customer pay when she was better.

When the customer left, I was told by the owner of the business that the thin woman had come in about once a week for the last two months and looked thinner every time. The poor thin woman insisted that she repay the owner for services previously rendered, but was clearly unable to care for herself.

Learn more »

Is Measure S about snake oil?

October 22, 2014 — 

Airing locally is a pro Measure S ad about Charlotte Figi, a Colorado child who suffered devastating epilepsy and about her parents’ use of Realm Oil (a drug derived from hemp containing little to none of THC which produces the Marijuana “high”) to reduce the frequency of the child’s seizures.

Of course, the problem with unregulated drugs is that their strength and purity are unknown. In 1906, laws were enacted which outlaw concoctions then being peddled by snake oil salesmen. Cocaine being the mainstay ingredient of those bygone potions.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin has right ‘temperament’ for judge

October 22, 2014 — 

The Merriam-Webster online dictionary defines “temperament” as the usual attitude, mood, or behavior of a person. Having the proper temperament is a crucial attribute to any person hoping to be judge.

A judge must treat everyone who enters the courtroom with courtesy and respect. A judge must present impartiality in demeanor, words and actions. Every person who goes before a judge deserves a person who is thoughtful, respectful and fair, regardless of the merits of the case.

Learn more »

Kudos to the 911 team

October 22, 2014 — 

Recently, at my acupuncture office, a gentleman broke out in a profuse sweat and seemed disoriented on my treatment table. Although I suspected low blood sugar was the cause, I was concerned that he might be having a coronary event, so before I checked his blood sugar, not wanting to lose any time at all, I called 911.

After the call, I checked his blood sugar, and indeed, he was hypoglycemic. I gave him some juice and he was soon restored.

Learn more »

No trick — just a treat

October 20, 2014 — 

Autumn approaches and candy is filling our store shelves. Is it a result of something with deeper meaning than a “dental conspiracy” drenched in sugar? October can be a month of conflicted thoughts for many — what I speak of is Halloween.

Should it be celebrated? Avoided? For some it’s easy to choose one way or the other because of widespread acceptance in our culture. It seems harmless enough, right? I don’t want to make a decision for you. I just want to share some of what I’ve learned regarding it’s origins for you to ponder:

Learn more »

Deconstructing America

October 20, 2014 — 

Cheryl Cook’s recent essay describing the authors of our Constitution as “privileged, white, male property owners who protected slave owners ... buying and selling family members ... ,” and continuing to condemn “...old people ... able to recall every statesman from 238 years ago,” ... but unable to appreciate the continued suffering of Blacks in the 1960s, and that the real threat to domestic tranquility is the Second Amendment’s right of individuals to keep and bear arms, disparages America and its founding documents.

This rant is known as “deconstructionism” wherein nothing respected about our history remains untainted. A deconstructionist’s ploy is the de-emphasis, or even effacement, by posing a continuous critique, to lay low what was once high.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin the right choice

October 20, 2014 — 

Something remarkable has happened in the Nevada County judicial election, with two candidates running for Superior Court Judge.

One of them, Robert Tice-Raskin, has received the endorsement of all Nevada County judges, active and retired, an unprecedented number of judges from surrounding counties and a number of justices from the Court of Appeal.

Learn more »

Lower gas prices everywhere but here

October 21, 2014 — 

In my time living in Nevada City I have frequently noticed and excepted the difference in gas prices between here and Auburn. Most of the time the difference seems to be approximately 5 to 10 cents per gallon higher in Grass Valley than in Auburn.

I’ve always attributed this possibly to the extra distance the gas has to be hauled from the refinery?

Learn more »

Questioning patriotism is unpatriotic

October 21, 2014 — 

In response to Norm Sauer’s rebuttal of my recent column “To insure domestic tranquility’ vs. the Second Amendment,” a study of American history is based on facts, not selective historical revision.

In the column, I chronicled our ever-widening path toward liberty and equality for all through the writing of the Constitution, the Civil War, and the Civil Rights Era. As we look back in history, most broad-minded Americans are able to reconcile that the lofty ideals of equality and liberty were drafted in a time in history when slavery was not only culturally accepted, but necessary to economic development.

Learn more »

You can trust LaMalfa

October 21, 2014 — 

It’s common for people to hate everyone else’s congressmen but love their own. I am guilty as charged.

Doug La Malfa befriended me many years ago, long before he was a congressman. He was very interested in my small business and has always called me regularly asking how things are going. We always have good chats. He is a good man.

Learn more »

Strict sentences for animal cruelty charges

October 21, 2014 — 

I read Liz Kellar’s article about the man who confessed to animal cruelty, and I hope the man goes to prison. Finding animals without food or water is something the courts should not tolerate when administering sentencing.

As an ex-cop, if I was called to a situation involving animal cruelty, the owner of that animal was arrested and presented before the district attorney for prosecution. Seldom did the judges ever look favorably on the defendant.

Learn more »

LaMalfa and cohorts destroying our government

October 21, 2014 — 

During the recent debate for U.S. Congress in our district, I realized that freshman Congressman Doug LaMalfa has, in his small part, disgusted the entire country to the point where Congress is less popular than the tape worm.

He and his cohorts have gone to Washington to destroy our government, and as a two-fer, have blocked everything our president has proposed to improve our lives. LaMalfa makes a hefty salary ($174,000) to do nothing but concoct seditious schemes with his radical friends in the GOP Tea Party. They will harm their constituents in order to thwart the black man in the White House. I hope people rally to throw him out on Nov. 4.

Learn more »

The war comes home

October 18, 2014 — 

The war comes home. As overproduced U.S. military hardware over-floods the world market, its “homeland” becomes weaponized. We now see armored military vehicles in law enforcement agencies and universities across the country. The proliferation of personal firearms unleashes a deranged “open carry” movement.

The USA is engaged against enemies it has directly and indirectly created, trained, and who are equipped with commandeered weaponry made in the USA. Mercenary “contractor” firms flourish, creating “Jobs!” War profiteers turn the wheels of industry; “Jobs! Economic Growth!”

Learn more »

BYLT — a season of jazz

October 18, 2014 — 

Bear Yuba Land Trust wishes to thank the community for a fun summer season of jazz music. Poncho Sanchez fans turned out in force at the North Star House Sunday, Sept. 28 for the hottest Latin jazz. It was a memorable house party with good food and friends.

Local Chef Antonio Ayestaran won the community salsa contest with his “Corno de Torro” (translation: Bulls Horn) fire roasted salsa – a winning combination of seven varieties of peppers from Sweet Roots Farm. Thanks to Diego’s Restaurant, Christopher’s Catering Company and BriarPatch Co-op.

Learn more »

KrisAnne Hall event — thank you!

October 18, 2014 — 

Common Core Concerns owes a debt of gratitude to our generous underwriters, donors, and volunteers who helped us bring KrisAnne Hall to Nevada City on Oct. 3 to educate the community about “The Constitution and State Sovereignty.”

Thank you to our underwriters: The Halby Group — Insurance & Financial Services; Avanguardia Wines; Edward Jones Investments/Jeff Wells; Eddie and Nancy Garcia; Hills Flat Lumber Co.; Meyers Investment Group of Robert W. Baird & Co.; Moule Paint and Glass; Nevada County Farm Supply; Nevada County Republican Women Federated; Nevada County Tea Party; Robinson Enterprises; and Team Three Tactical and Survival.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin has the right temperament, experience

October 18, 2014 — 

I ask my fellow citizens of Nevada County to consider my personal recommendation of Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge. Robert is an intelligent, thoughtful, and had-working individual. He is patient and a good listener. His temperament and experience will help him be an excellent judge.

I was fortunate to have been a judge here in Nevada County for over 20 years. I am still grateful to the people of this county for allowing me to do a job that I loved. I am certain Robert Tice-Raskin will be a judge for our county in whom we can all have trust and confidence. I urge you to vote for Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge.

Learn more »

Global opinion: U.S. a threat to peace

October 18, 2014 — 

Even if you wanted to believe Louis Pearl’s opinion in his letter that United States citizens “ ... are brave, generous and kind,” how can you make the stunning leap that the United States is “...the only country in the world capable to lead the world out of the current morass?”

Worldwide Independent Network of Market Research GALLUP International, the leading global association in market research and polling, in a poll published Dec. 30, 2013, reported that people from 65 countries concluded that the “U.S. is considered to be the greatest threat to peace in the world, followed by Pakistan and China.”

Learn more »

Hoping Dorsey Interchange will ease roundabout congestion

October 18, 2014 — 

The newer, tighter, better Grass Valley roundabout at East Main and Idaho-Maryland is now about six years old. From the beginning and continuing to this day it backs up traffic at rush hour.

About 3:30 p.m., after Nevada Union High School lets out, traffic will often back up all the way to the “Big A” Drive-in. To drive from the “A” to the roundabout takes about three and a half minutes, but that’s better than the six minutes it took before the roundabout was built.

Learn more »

Where’s the rest of the story from Hall?

October 18, 2014 — 

Heidi Hall chants the “Koch Brothers” mantra knowing full well their contributions are a drop in the bucket compared to either George Soros or Tom Steyers or Michael Bloomberg at $100 million each. She wants to repeal the “Citizens United” decision that only creates a level playing field.

Were her years working in the EPA spent in the division that seizes private property, confiscates water rights, guts energy sources, closes factories and fences off resources in the West? Is there any private sector experience in her résumé?

Learn more »

An angel named Eric

October 18, 2014 — 

I would like to thank a kind gentleman named Eric, who on Sunday, Oct. 12, rescued me. I want to turn off the water in my yard, and in bending down on my knees couldn’t get up again. Eric was driving by and noticed by problem. He turned around and helped an elderly lady get back in to the house. Thank you, Eric, from the bottom of my heart. You are my angel. Bless you.

Doris Hermann

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top