Letters to the Editor

Kent Treiber: Freedom "of" religion also means freedom "from" religion

May 5, 2015 — 

I strongly support your freedom to practice your religion of choice.

There are limits of course; you don’t get to do things like sacrificing virgins. Recently there has been legislation in many states about “religious freedom.”

Learn more »

Wanda Baggett: Education at its best

May 5, 2015 — 

Kudos to Lois Johnson who helped to bring Scotten School, Peace Lutheran Church helpers, and a Community Orchestra together to make a wonderful learning experience for 125 kindergartners.

They learned about the classic “Carnival of the Animals” composition written by Camille Saint-Saens over 150 years ago.

Learn more »

Bob Perry: Ben Carson to announce bid for presidency

May 4, 2015 — 

May 4 marks a significant day in the history of our country when Dr. Ben Carson, one of the most principled and brilliant men in our nations announces his intention to run for The President of The United States. There will be a dramatic shift in the tone of the Republican primary contingent once this man announces.

Dr. Carson’s rags to riches story of achievement and philanthropy fueled by education embodies what every American and immigrant wants for himself and his children. Through the efforts of an uneducated, unrelenting, caring mother, “Benny” went from last in class in school in inner city Detroit to Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital at age 33. His no nonsense, straightforward conservative approach to offering solutions rings of the days of Ronald Reagan. His (early years) life story is depicted in the popular movie “Gifted Hands” in 2001 the Library of Congress selected him as one of 89 “Living Legends and in 2009 “Dr. Ben” was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the U.S. highest civilian honors.

Learn more »

Bob Martin: Article a disservice to Lake Wildwood residents

May 2, 2015 — 

The article in the April 22 issue of The Union illustrates what I believe to be one of the major faults with the news industry today — its proclivity, not to just report facts, but to manufacture controversies. Why has this become the norm?

The article began as straightforward reporting of information of general community interest concerning the public hearing on Thursday at the Nevada County Planning Commission on the proposed new clubhouse at Lake Wildwood. It continued with general information and a few quotations from Lake Wildwood’s new general manager. That took a total of 61 lines of print.

Learn more »

Izzi Tooinsky: In support of Milhous

May 2, 2015 — 

I read the article on Milhous with grief and sadness. First, for the kids who experienced abuse, and second for the reputation of Milhous itself.

I have worked as a substitute teacher for three years at Milhous Boys Ranch. I have seen hundreds of our state’s most broken boys come through their doors. I have personally seen the care, the thoughtfulness and even devotion of the staff at Milhous towards the psychological healing of their clients. From what I have observed on the inside of this establishment, I want to give my support and appreciation for the incredibly challenging and absolutely essential work that Milhous Boy’s Ranch has taken on.

Learn more »

Dick Harmon: Invest in dams

May 1, 2015 — 

The “Our View” column of April 25 missed the boat. It does say to forget the bullet train, but does not say to put that money into building dams.

Building dams will not solve the problem of today’s drought, but could help prevent future water problems.

Learn more »

Albertus Dorland: Consolidated Fire District should stop subsidizing the city

May 1, 2015 — 

I applaud the actions taken by the board of the Nevada County Consolidated Fire District and Chief Jim Turner in regards to the City of Nevada City and their Fire Department.

As someone with fire experience, and as a resident in Consolidated’s district, I believe it is appropriate for the district to stop subsidizing the city through manpower and equipment.

Learn more »

Jack Moorhead: Liberal slant in the paper?

May 1, 2015 — 

Interesting — someone just recently noted the addition of Amy Goodman’s column since she has been an almost regular weekly columnist for several years. I might point out that I once asked the present editor to please consider adding a good conservative columnist like Charles Krauthammer or George Will to somewhat balance the opinion page with Ms. Goodman and other liberal voices. His reply was that they might be a good read but apparently he was not interested. Also, it might be that now is also the time to ask about the policy of limiting letters and voices to once every 30 days, as one particular recent candidate for Congress seems to have an almost weekly contribution, if not two or three times within the past month or so showing up as an almost regular contributor.

Jack Moorhead

Learn more »

Dick Phillips: Time to privatize the US Postal Service?

April 30, 2015 — 

The United States Post Office is a white elephant the taxpayer should no longer subsidize.

It has been losing $5 billion a year for many years. Last year, it lost $5.51 billion.

Learn more »

Jean McMellon: A caring car center

April 30, 2015 — 

I am a senior citizen who has always been leery of taking my car to a mechanic. Not anymore!

Tom’s Car Care Center at 13383 Colfax Avenue has become my trusted auto mechanic. Tom and his associates are great, caring of their clients, professional and very fair in what they charge you. If anyone is looking for a reliable, trustful auto repair shop, head for Tom’s Car Care Center. You can’t go wrong. I am one very happy customer and appreciate how Tom and his associates make me feel when I have any kind of car problem.

Learn more »

Joan Mosley: Quilt Guild announces scholarship recipient

April 30, 2015 — 

The Pine Tree Quilt Guild is pleased to announce the awarding of our 2015 scholarship to Kiana Kraft.

With an excellent academic record, high level of community involvement and multiple artistic talents, she is indeed a worthy recipient. Kiana is currently a student at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, where she is majoring in graphic design and art direction. Her ultimate goal is “to use my graphic design skills and artistic insight to help spread awareness about today’s social justice issues, with a focus on women’s rights ... I want to be part of the positive message media movement, using visual communication to spread ideals of self worth and mutual respect instead of exploitation.”

Learn more »

Kristanne Heaton: High school seniors with sound financial priorities

April 29, 2015 — 

I teach high school economics and wanted to share with you some of my students’ reactions to Marc Cuniberti’s article in last week’s “Money Monday.”

The article suggested setting up stock market accounts for your children as a way to teach them about “investing and money.”

Learn more »

Fond farewell to Gold Country Telecare

April 28, 2015 — 

Gold Country Telecare closed their doors on March 13. You will never see a service like theirs, ever again.

They were around for about 25 years. They won awards for the way they served Nevada County’s elderly and handicapped.

Learn more »

Joanne Alden: Separating from tyrannical government plans

April 28, 2015 — 

The State of Jefferson effort is entirely grassroots, having no board of directors or PAC. Its spokespersons speak from a basic and thorough knowledge of both our Constitution and the political manipulations that are driving business and individuals out of the state.

Personally speaking, I would take my chances any day with a GOD-action geographically separating Northern California from Sacramento over the tyrannical plans of government as we now experience it.

Learn more »

Matt Bouchard: California reaps what it has sown

April 28, 2015 — 

Once again California has only itself to blame. We are in the midst of another severe drought and have been put in this position by our elected officials and their pandering to the environmental movement.

Our last severe drought occurred during Jerry Brown’s first term as governor and he did very little back then to increase our water storage capacity.

Learn more »

Lily Nova: Amy Goodman a nice addition to the opinion page

April 28, 2015 — 

Thank you so much for publishing Amy Goodman’s columns so we can all benefit from her intelligent and soul-searching articles. She broadens our view and improves our perspective.

Lily Nova

Learn more »

George Rebane: Mr. McClintock's sound judgment

April 27, 2015 — 

In his column, George Boardman’s April 20 attack on Tom McClintock for voting his principles on the HR-2 Medicare’s “Doc Fix” bill is a bit specious.

The congressman voted against it only for the reason that it would add $141 billion to the annual deficit with no offset spending cuts. Our $18 trillion debt was accrued bit by piece over the years using the exact same excuses.

Learn more »

Itara O'Connell: The state of care givers

April 27, 2015 — 

Having been a care giver for most of my life, I’d like to thank Lynn Wenzel for her thorough historical perspective and powerful article about the state of care givers in America and for reminding us that it is time to value care givers by paying them a living wage.

As we get to the age when we will be the recipients of care, I’m sure that we’d each like someone consistent and trustworthy to assist us, we’d like affordable medications and to stay in the comfort of our home. This minimal level of care will only be possible if we act to make it happen. In my opinion, it’ll be worth the effort.

Learn more »

Ron Spiller: Congressional sellout

April 27, 2015 — 

Amy Goodman’s comments in the April 23 issue of The Union about the “gyrocopter” that penetrated the no-fly zone at the capitol grounds are a sad commentary on the state of our democracy.

The Supreme Court decision that legitimized Citizens United and further eroded the relationship between individual citizens and the people elected to represent them in Congress was a cynical denial of the one man-one vote principle, and cedes disproportionate influence to special interest groups, large corporations and other centers of wealth who seek to control legislation.

Learn more »

Lynn Lorensen: About those boundary drop obligations

April 25, 2015 — 

As a county Consolidated district resident I resent the City of Nevada City wanting a free ride on my tax dollar. Consolidated residents can face a rise in insurance rates because of the poor management of Nevada City.

Nevada City needs a tax base. There is no Fairy Godmother to fund the fire station. Heaven forbid there would be any industry, as a truck might drive down the road and cause noise and pollution. No chain stores, even small ones, like Beach Hut Deli. Day tourists only. No home based business either. Perhaps The City Of Nevada City should be a gated community. Look to Houston, Texas as a model for enterprise.

Learn more »

Vicki Banister: Single payer system inadequate

April 25, 2015 — 

In her letter published April 21 regarding the cost of health care and the cost benefits of a single payer system, Robin Wallace failed to mention that many, if not most people on Medicare feel the need to purchase supplemental insurance or a Medicare Advantage Plan, which are both offered by private insurance companies.

In addition, to the point she made about universal health care in other countries, we lived in Australia for more than three years and many of our Australian friends had private insurance because they felt the government plan was inadequate.

Learn more »

Paul Pease: How about a 'Water Savior' project?

April 24, 2015 — 

When it comes to the California drought and nearby drought-stricken states, I have an idea that can be beneficial to drought stricken areas and also flooded regions.

My idea would be to run a pipeline from rivers in flooded regions to California so farmers can once again raise vegetable and fruit crops, raise cattle, sheep, pigs, horses, goats and other animals. People could water their plants and no longer be slaves of water regulations. Homeowners inside flood areas won’t have to worry about losing their homes and cars or have to worry about floods and depend on state and federal funding for disaster relief.

Learn more »

Cathy Fagan: Thank you, NID

April 24, 2015 — 

I would like to commend NID for their swift action in resolving our water meter problem.

We are diligently trying to conserve water, and NID worked with us when we discovered our water usage was above normal use. Our goal is to use less than 100 gallons per day and to convert our landscape to drought tolerant plants.

Learn more »

Ellen Persa: Kudos to generous donors!

April 24, 2015 — 

The Penn Valley Community Foundation recently received a wonderful donation of office furniture and equipment from Belden (Grass Valley Group) with the assistance of Daniel and James Ketcham and the Nevada County Historical Society.

All items will be used in the future Penn Valley Community Center. Until then, Gladys Martines and Penn Valley Mini Storage are supplying temporary storage of the items. As plans for the new Community Center come together — and as usual — our community steps up when needed! PVCF thanks everyone for their generous support.

Learn more »

Bill Trzeciak: Let Them Eat Cake ... or Not

April 23, 2015 — 

It was Marie Antoinette who said it first

But Kansas state Reps who turned the phrase worst.

Learn more »

Amanda Wilcox: Majority of gun owners support background checks

April 23, 2015 — 

Regarding the letter to the editor, “Who really needs a semiautomatic weapon?” published on April 17 in The Union, the letter writer believes that her views are in the minority, but, in fact, she is actually in the majority.

For the last 50 years, poll after poll has shown that the majority of Americans oppose a gun ban, but overwhelmingly support gun control measures. Republican Frank Luntz and his polling firm, the Word Doctors, have conducted several polls finding that NRA members and other Americans who own guns show strong support for a number of sensible gun laws that keep guns out of the hands of criminals. In May 2012, Luntz found that 82 percent of gun owners support background checks for all gun sales. Since the shooting at Sandy Hook School, numerous polls indicate that 85 to 92 percent of Americans support background checks.

Learn more »

Pat Lane: World War II internment camps not comparable to Holocaust, slavery

April 22, 2015 — 

A recent article in the Sacramento Bee told of protests against a New Jersey auction of Japanese American artifacts from World War II internment camps. A spokesperson compared camp prisoners to Holocaust victims, American slaves and displaced American Indians. I’d like to shed a little light on that. World War II Japanese American internment camps provided privacy for families, hot and cold running water, gardens, three meals a day, medical care, freedom to move about, social clubs, entertainment, Scout troops, craft shops, athletic teams (with equipment) and warm clothing. Slaves and the victims of the Holocaust did not have those luxuries and American Indians were forced to leave their homes and burial grounds.

And let me tell you about my grandparents who were interned by the Imperial Japanese army in the Philippines for three years. Beatings, mutilations and killings were de regueur. No food was provided for the first six months and then it was livestock field rice with weevils and soup with fish heads. Women were separated from men and given a 3-foot by 6-foot space on the floor to call their own. Three squares of toilet paper were allowed. No radios or cameras were permitted, on pain of death if discovered. Abortions were demanded of any woman who became pregnant.

Learn more »

Susan Perry: British aren't but someone else could be

April 22, 2015 — 

In answer to Miriam Martin’s question, no one needs a semiautomatic firearm. Just like no one needs a full set of golf clubs, or a new car, or the next big thing from Apple. As a law-abiding citizen, I am allowed to purchase any firearm that is legal in California.

When I do make that purchase from a legal source, I am subjected to a waiting period and a background check. You ask for more laws. Detroit, Chicago and Washington D.C. have the strictest gun laws in the country and yet people are killed there everyday. How does that happen? They have gun laws! Because the criminals obtain firearms illegally. A criminal will not subject himself to a background check, or waiting period. The laws that are already on the books need to be enforced consistently.

Learn more »

Karen Lauterbach: Nevada Union's 'Grease' a 'don't miss' event

April 22, 2015 — 

Come see the musical “Grease” at Nevada Union High School on April 24, 25, 30, May 1 and 2 at 7 p.m. and May 2 at 2 p.m. also at the Don Baggett Theater. The rehearsals are coming along great and the drama students are in top form. They’ve worked hard to make this a truly memorable production. This is a “don’t miss” event.

Karen Lauterbach

Learn more »

Dottie Smith: Thank you, Taco Bell

April 21, 2015 — 

My husband and I went to Taco Bell last week as he had a craving for Mexican food. He recently had a major heart operation and wasn’t eating well.

I took the tacos home in a bag — and noticed upon arriving home that I wasn’t carrying my purse. The purse was turned in to the manager and she placed it in the safe.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top