Letters to the Editor

Prom and graduation: safety comes first

April 1, 2015 — 

Prom holds lifelong memories, and I did not go. I played sports at high schools in San Joaquin County but graduated from Tracy High in 1993 in a wheelchair. I never planned to end school like that.

As my holiday letter of 2014 stated, a drunken driver hit me head-on in 1992 when I was 16. I had a coma, paralysis, brain injuries, with broken and dislocated bones. I stayed seven months in two hospitals and 17 months with therapy followed. Not a life a teenager expects.

Learn more »

Don't get too worried about Smart Meters

April 1, 2015 — 

I read the article on Smart Meters with interest. Heather Lane was shown measuring the RF of an iPhone.

I did some quick math. A Smart Meter broadcasts at most one minute per day and let us say it is about 30 feet away. Further, let us say Heather uses her iPhone 60 minutes day and would be holding it 3 inches from her head. RF falls off at the rate proportional to the square of the distance. That means that in order for her to get more exposure from the Smart Meter than her iPhone, it would mean that the Smart Meter would have to be putting out 60*360in*360in/3in/3in more power. That is to say, 864,000 times more energy than the iPhone.

Learn more »

Young pianist offers free concert

April 1, 2015 — 

On July 21, 2011 you printed an article on your front page about a young pianist, James Pavel Shawcross, after he had won a national title in Las Vegas.

When he was 8, he played at the Sacramento Ragtime Society as well as the Sacramento Jazz Society (tailgate room). In the four years that have followed he has gained international attention through Internet sites like Fandalism, which is like YouTube for musicians.

Learn more »

Lucinda Porter: Hepatitis, the silent epidemic

March 31, 2015 — 

Did you know that 75 percent of people with Hepatitis C and 65 percent of people with Hepatitis B are not aware of their infection? Or, that more people in the U.S. die every year from Hepatitis C than HIV?

This is why I joined 75 advocates in Washington, D.C., for Hepatitis on the Hill, a constituent-based advocacy event to address the public health challenges of viral hepatitis.

Learn more »

Cherie Kraus: More research needed on health-care options

March 31, 2015 — 

I am extremely confused and concerned when I read letters like the one today from Betsy Hunter. She states that her daughter cannot afford health insurance because her employer health plan is over $1,400 a month.

She goes on to say that a health plan through the ACA is “not much different”. Yet her daughter has accumulated over $10,000 in uncovered medical expenses, apparently beyond her ability to pay.

Learn more »

Tony Rohl: Democrats can't claim long history of civil rights fights

March 30, 2015 — 

The remembrance of the historic event that occurred at the Edmund Pettus Bridge, named after Edmund Pettus, Confederate general, and Grand Dragon of the Alabama Ku Klux Klan, is appropriate, but the truth behind it has been misrepresented for years.

The Democrat narrative of racial beneficence is a fraud. The Democratic Party ruled exclusively over slavery, segregation, Jim Crow, Dred Scott, and the KKK. Their website reads: “For more than 200 years, our Party has led the fight for civil rights.” It’s an audacious lie, easily discredited by history. Rarely has a lie been so big or so widely believed.

Learn more »

John Nightingale: Lincoln's timeless words

March 30, 2015 — 

Abraham Lincoln gave a speech in June of 1858 that has relevance today. Lincoln said, “A house divided against itself cannot stand.”

“Either the opponents of slavery, will arrest the further spread of it, and place it where the public mind shall rest in the belief that it is in course of ultimate extinction; or its advocates will push it forward, till it shall become alike lawful in all the States, old as well as new — North as well as South.”

Learn more »

Janie Petrosine: County does not defend tax-paying citizens

March 28, 2015 — 

Regarding Virginia Moran’s recent column, “Hypocrisy,” rarely have I read a reader opinion letter that covers all the bases in discussing an issue.

The Dollar General Store debate is simply a catalyst for sharing individual horror stories in dealing with Nevada County government offices and departments. That is, the common citizen, not a deep pocket commercial builder. This county does not protect or defend its tax-paying citizens.

Learn more »

San French: Goodbye evil pot people, hello full legalization

March 28, 2015 — 

First off, congratulations to Brad Peceimer-Glasse for his right and just victory in court recently.

Secondly, a shout out to District Attorney Newell, DDA Pong, Sgt. Selleck and Sheriff Royal et al: soon your job of “going after” the evil pot people will be over and you can start doing real police and law enforcement work and stop wasting our hard-earned tax dollars on these frivolous and violent raids that make you feel so righteous.

Learn more »

Allan Krosner: Clarification on who is violating Constitution

March 28, 2015 — 

In reference to Heidi Hall’s March 24 column, a clarification is required. She cites the Constitution and a Supreme Court ruling about treaties and what she said is correct. There is one big problem though, she did not mention that it is Obama who is violating the Constitutional requirement for the need to have consent of the Senate.

Obama is not sending his Iran agreement to the Senate for the required consent. John Kerry specifically said that the agreement is not a treaty therefore does not require consent of the Senate. It is certainly proper for the Congress to inform the Iranian regime about our Constitutional requirements.

Learn more »

Kristin Liljequist: Issues with Israel

March 27, 2015 — 

After Netanyahu’s speech to Congress I overheard someone say, “In the spirit of reciprocity, President Obama should now speak to the Israeli Knesset about the need for Israel to stop building illegal settlements on Palestinian Land.”

Exactly. He might also mention that continuing to do so, in spite of the condemnation of virtually the entire world, will jeopardize the $8 million per day ($3 billion per year) the U.S. sends to the Israeli military.

Learn more »

Jake Bronson: Senators need a lesson in respect for country

March 27, 2015 — 

This is an open letter to Sen. Dianne Feinstein. I was embarrassed to be an American, when 47 of your colleagues wrote a letter to the Islamic Republic of Iran saying it does not matter what the president of the United States negotiates, that it won’t be valid in two years.

That letter, those 47 signatures, was as un-American as it gets. All 47 of those senators and the Speaker of the House need a lesson in respect for their country.

Learn more »

Chellie Peterson: Thank you, Marie Johnson, for your spirit of kindness

March 27, 2015 — 

I’m a 43-year downtown Grass Valley furniture merchant who had a sad conversation recently about the decline of human kindness.

Today was St. Patrick’s Day and it dawned on me that we probably wouldn’t see Marie Johnson today. She had taken a fall and broken several bones and her 44-year tradition of green carnations for the downtown lady merchants had probably come to an end.

Learn more »

Diane Masini: What's up with untrained dogs off leash?

March 26, 2015 — 

While visiting with friends and their dogs, one of the women shared a distressing incident that happened to her a few days before with a man who not only doesn’t comply with our leash law, he can’t control his dogs, which attacked her leashed dog.

He did come to get them off the bleeding little dog, then runs with the dogs to his vehicle (a red Jeep) jumps in and drives off without saying a word to the woman who owns the dog! This incident happened at the fairgrounds near the lake in the late afternoon.

Learn more »

James Butler: More people noticing 'chemtrails' above us

March 26, 2015 — 

Well, what started out be a beautiful blue sky this morning, was soon criss-crossed with ugly chemtrails by 9 a.m. We wonder why a lot of us have asthma problems and the decimation of the bee population. Chemtrails are just that, toxic waste being sprayed into our atmosphere at high altitude, in effect poisoning us.

So, what do the environmentalists do? They ban burn barrels and fireplaces, or mandate to have our cars smogged every two years (a money making machine for the EPA and Sacramento bureaucrats). I wrote about chemtrails a few years ago and I had some folks calling to commend me in support. And I even gave numerous photos I took of the chemtrails over the Grass Valley Brunswick area to The Union newspaper back then, too. But I never saw them in print in The Union.

Learn more »

Courtney Hundemer: Casino Night a success

March 25, 2015 — 

Deer Creek Parent Teacher Club would like to thank the many local businesses, our school community, and the South County Rotary group who all donated to, and volunteered at our recent Casino Night fundraiser at The Foothills Event Center.

It was a huge success thanks to your generosity and help.

Learn more »

Judy Olson: My first choice was Paul Perry

March 25, 2015 — 

In April of 2014, I donated my mother’s piano to Hospitality House to be used and enjoyed by the guests and many others. When I decided to plan a special presentation, I knew that I wanted someone very special to be the one to christen the piano with its first tune. And, of course, my first choice was Paul Perry, not only because he was well known in the community but also because he was an extraordinary person and musician.

However, I was concerned that he may not be interested enough or have the time to take part in a “lesser” event. Well, I need not have worried. He was very willing to participate.

Learn more »

Lee E. Tope: Affordable Care Act not so affordable

March 25, 2015 — 

Well! The Affordable Care Act, has just fallen on us seniors who have paid our taxes, kept our doctors, kept our Medicare, and secondary insurance, et. al.

We just received our 2014 Federal tax forms from our accountant. We were informed that we had not signed up

Learn more »

Dick Sciaroni: Let's start with the facts

March 25, 2015 — 

Every citizen is entitled to air his or her opinion, whether on so-called chem-trails or President Obama’s handling of the ISIS situation. But in doing so, one should stick to the facts. Otherwise, one fails to convince those of us who value fact above polemic.

A recent example of such polemicist thinking was a letter in The Union decrying President Obama’s views toward ISIS. While conceding that Christians had engaged in murder in the name of religion, the writer claimed the Crusades occurred “thousands of years ago ...” In point of fact, the Crusades occurred “hundreds” of years ago. More recently, Christians gleefully burned, beheaded, eviscerated and hanged people during the Reformation, while missionaries encouraged genocide against native peoples. Even more recently, Christians engaged in a Holocaust against Jews in the 1940s, while a mere score of years ago Christian priests encouraged the slaughter of innocents in Rwanda, and Serb Christians killed Muslims in the Balkans.

Learn more »

Ward Thompson: Impeach Obama? Think again

March 25, 2015 — 

Suggesting impeachment of President Obama is intriguing for the same reason that it is impracticable: the 22nd amendment.

If Obama is voted out of office, not only would Joe Biden succeed him, but with less than two years left of the term, the 22nd Amendment would make Biden eligible to become the first person since FDR to serve as president for more than eight years! Rather than vie for an open office next year, both the Republicans and Hillary would have to face an incumbent president who, if re-elected each time, would not constitutionally become a lame duck until 2021.

Learn more »

Jim Firth: Chamber director missed my point

March 25, 2015 — 

The Other Voices piece written by Grass Valley Chamber of Commerce Director Keith Davies misses the point of my recent op-ed printed in The Union. I do understand how and why Mr. Davies rushes to support the GV Chamber, and I agree with him that the Chamber does provide a benefit to the City of Grass Valley.

The one sentence of my 750-word op-ed that mentioned the Chamber was done to offer an example of how I believe the City of Grass Valley should prioritize its budget, and where funds could be allocated to better serve GV residents. My position is that the GV Recreation and Parks Department represents a greater financial need than the GV Chamber. There are many other line items in the GV city budget that could also have been used to represent a savings of $18,000, the estimated cost of a special election to replace Terry Lamphier, the councilperson who resigned. I chose – did not “blame” — the Chamber because it is easily identifiable.

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: House GOP — more of same

March 24, 2015 — 

Daily, there are stories of terrorists around the world holding people hostage. What about America’s own political terrorists, the Republicans holding the nation hostage again with the threat of defunding the Department of Homeland Security? No headlines of America’s political terrorists.

Republicans held the nation hostage as they almost pushed the country over a fiscal cliff. Remember? Then Republicans, playing to their extremist base, shut down the U.S. government. Speaker John Boehner and House Republicans promised to change their ways after the election — not even — they’re still carrying on the same as they ever did.

Learn more »

Deborah Herrera: Thanks to all the dads

March 24, 2015 — 

Fathers seem to get neglected when it comes to recognition. Even the “HAPPY” signs graciously displayed by Old Barn Self Storage off the Golden Center Freeway seem to reflect this. Mother’s Day gets a lovely sign, but Fathers’ Day acknowledgment seems to be lacking.

Don’t dads deserve the same glory as moms do? Being an involved dad can be an unappreciated job. Wouldn’t it be nice to acknowledge them with respect and appreciation?

Learn more »

Betsy Hunter: Can't afford to get sick

March 24, 2015 — 

My 33-year-old daughter, a single mother of an 11 year old, doesn’t have health insurance because it’s too expensive (approximately $700 every other week at her workplace, and not much different with national health care).

She has fragile health, being born with seven major birth defects including half of one arm missing, therefore she must be diligent with any bug that comes her way.

Learn more »

Put the country first

March 24, 2015 — 

Regarding her rebuttal letter printed March 7, I don’t know what delusional world Nancy Eubanks lives in. I have read enough of her ridiculous diatribes and am compelled to say something about it.

She claims more than 70 percent of the people support raising taxes on the rich, free child care and free community college among other things. Last time I checked Obama has a well under 50 percent approval rating and the Democrats got evicted from Congress. People are fed up with this giant mess that has threatened to ruin the Republic.

Learn more »

Jack Laird: Who doesn't love free things?

March 24, 2015 — 

There are few points that Nancy Eubanks addressed in her opinion column on March 7 that surprise me.

Only 71 percent of Americans support raising taxes on people making $250,000 or more?

Learn more »

Roger Aday: No smart meters in West Virginia town

March 24, 2015 — 

Rather than trying to ban all of Nevada County’s PG&E “Smart Meters,” maybe Berry Bartolillo should move to Green Bank, West Virginia where “The National Radio Quiet Zone” is located. There, cellphone towers, high power radio stations or Wi-Fi are not allowed because of the Green Bank Radio Telescope.

Why should a very small minority of people who think that they are affected by smart meters and other electronics want to change the world for the rest of those who are not affected? Read this article for more information. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_National_Radio_Quiet_Zone.

Learn more »

Jerry Sakai: Smart meter hysteria

March 23, 2015 — 

Before you consider having your smart meter removed as some people are urging, consider a few realities.

Smart meter signals are radio waves not unlike emissions from cellphones, cordless phones, and even microwave ovens. Imagine if one could see electromagnetic radiation as if it were fog. Homes without any electronic goodies with would still be filled with haze due to signals entering from cellphone towers, TV stations, KNCO, KVMR, neighbors’ Wi-Fi, etc. If one added their own Wi-Fi, cellphone, cordless phone, and other wireless devices that haze turns into thick fog. It is likely that one week of moderate cellphone use exposes people to more radiation than a year’s worth of smart meter emissions.

Learn more »

Paul Pease: Community support in a crisis

March 21, 2015 — 

On Feb. 4 I was taken by ambulance to Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital due to chest pains and shortness of breath caused by pneumonia and respiratory failure.

I would like to express my love and thanks to the hospital staff, the ambulance team, the paramedics Chief James Bierwagen and the Opher Hill Fire Department. I also want to thank Cheryl and Lynn Miller and family and Twin Cities Church for their prayers. I am grateful to my brother Robert Pease and Pastor Brett for visiting me and providing transportation home on Feb. 10.

Learn more »

David Nelson: How about some noise on neighborhood burglaries?

March 21, 2015 — 

I’m missing something in The Union’s crime reporting. We were burglarized in mid-January. It was a smash door and grab, in and out quick, loot taken away in a stolen pillow case.

The sheriff’s deputy who responded seemed very familiar with the M.O. Since then we’ve heard quite a few similar stories both nearby, as in two houses away, and all over. And yet, I have seen no reporting on this Grass Valley-sized crime wave. The sheriff’s assign responsibility to one of three deputies on duty for a shift so without some luck, it turns into an insurance rather than police matter.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top