Letters

Clarification

February 7, 2016 — 

Clarification

On Jan. 21, I believe a comment in The Union by a representative of Keep it California was not true — I feel she was just given wrong information. Thank you for your clarification describing the two processes allowing measures to reach the ballot. It proves there is no moratorium on learning something new.

Learn more »

The biggest problem of our lifetime

February 5, 2016 — 

I just finished reading another misleading column from Mr. Sauer, and again wondered at his motivation to put out such hot air.

The bottom line is that there is human caused climate change and it is accelerating faster — than those scientists he so dismisses — than originally surmised.

Learn more »

Marijuana the least of my concerns

February 5, 2016 — 

How much does marijuana affect our lives? As much as the inhumane treatment of animals raised for food? Pesticides (and herbicides) used on crops before and after harvest (Ever wonder why potato growers don’t eat market bound potatoes?)? People addicted to Oxycodone because it’s less expensive than marijuana? People working for $9 an hour but not given 40 hours because health benefits would have to be provided? Children who reach fifth grade and can’t read above a second grade level? Racism? Intolerance? Greed? Hungry American children? Greedy corporations and stockholders? Rising water levels? Need I go on? No, marijuana’s effect is minimal.

I’m a non-smoker, non-user, nor a grower. But, it made sense when one scrip equaled six plants. To check the paperwork and count the plants, enforcement flew over. Keep out criminals? Count the plants, check the scrips, check the growing conditions.

Learn more »

Proposed start times at Lyman Gilmore a bad idea

February 5, 2016 — 

Nevada Union High School plans to, or already has, moved its starting time to 8:30 a.m. I’m a Lyman Gilmore student and this is unfair because my bus ride is one hour already. So if we take their offer of starting school at 10 a.m., I’d get off the bus at 6 p.m. — past my dinner time of 5 p.m., which gives me no time to go outside which is a big problem for children who already spend their afternoons playing video games. If we take the 7 a.m. time slot, we will get up near 5 a.m. in the morning — too early for us. We will be too tired to learn in class, which takes down our chances for college. I’d expect NU to be able to wake up at 5:30 a.m. in the morning with ease since most have been doing this for years. If we ride with them we will be exposed to their inappropriate behaviors, so maybe with your help we can get them to change this idea.

Isabel Harrison, sixth grade

Learn more »

LaMalfa: conservative when convenient

February 4, 2016 — 

Finally! After years of dysfunction and abysmal public approval lawmakers passed a $1.1 trillion budget and a $680 billion tax ”relief” package. This shows just how easily a fractious legislature can seem functional when it comes to spending money. Cooperation is expensive.

Who benefits from this bipartisan borrowing spree? The permanent and extended tax breaks for business and individuals mean almost everyone is a winner. Why not? It’s an election year.

Learn more »

Fee for high emissions producers

February 3, 2016 — 

In her letter to the editor, Edlin Patterson seems discouraged after Paris (Jan. 15), but I am encouraged by the number of countries who attended with concern. America must lead, but our Congress is not demonstrating willingness to take the monumental action to counter changes itemized by Patterson. Some studies do establish that Americans are ready for the necessary changes. For example, a large majority (60 percent) say that protecting the environment will improve economic growth and provide new jobs.

The International Energy Agency reports switching fossil fuels to low-carbon sources of energy will cost $44 trillion between now and 2050. MIT has computed that “doing nothing” will cost $44 trillion by 2050 with our world suffering disastrous crises. How can we delay?

Learn more »

Our freedom just as secure as ever

February 3, 2016 — 

Haven’t we had enough of Ted Cruz and the Tea Party Republican base and their ignorant, xenophobic, racist lies about what is wrong with the country? The country is doing fine and heading into boom times again; people are becoming more understanding and more tolerant of each other no matter what Fox News says.

The freedoms we enjoy today haven’t changed and are just as secure as ever. These misfits in the Republican and Tea Party are just upset because of the fact that the president is black. They have created some delusional Orwellian fantasy in their heads, that they’ve ruminated on for so long, that they’ve actually come to believe it. Get over yourselves and your pseudo patriotism and join the rest of America as it glides into the future.

Learn more »

Hilary Hodge: Keep up the good work, Bitney College Prep

February 1, 2016 — 

I was invited by my friend, an English teacher at Bitney College Prep High School, to teach an intersession class on entrepreneurship to high school students. I was asked because of my role as executive director with Sierra Commons, Nevada County’s Business Ignitor, and I agreed because it sounded like an interesting experience.

I’ll admit that I was nervous. I was a teenager myself not too long ago.

Learn more »

Jason Kolb: Nevada County missing opportunity

February 1, 2016 — 

My family and I are all very appalled at the recent decision by the Board of Supervisors to fancy tradition over reason.

We should be discussing how Nevada County could benefit from the new cannabis permit system. We should be discussing the new jobs, the new startup opportunities, and the new revenues these permits could bring to the county. We should be pushing our community to be more than growers. We should be pushing the next Nevada Union grad to start an analytical lab to test cannabis, to build the next logistical cannabis app, to start an cannabis insurance firm, to start a security firm, or to start a transpiration company.

Learn more »

Lisa LaBarbera: Food for thought

February 1, 2016 — 

I guess I am confused. How can 12 marijuana plants not be enough for one person with a legal marijuana prescription?

And while having to grow indoors the cost may increase, the quality control will increase and lack of animals getting into the crop will decrease.

Learn more »

Lindy Beatie and Lindy Schasiepen: Painted Pin Showcase a success

January 31, 2016 — 

A perfect game, or should I say a perfect afternoon? The Painted Pin Showcase silent auction was successful in so many ways and on so many levels!

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nevada County hosted friends and artists on Sunday, Jan. 24, with cupcakes and music, beautiful artistic pins for sale and wonderful art work by Jude Bischoff.

Learn more »

San French: Outdoor cultivation ban is more reefer madness

January 29, 2016 — 

Now that the sheriff and his right-wing nut cronies at the Board of Supervisors have had their day, it’s almost sad (almost) to see the last of the old guard going down with a gasp.

Sure they got their way and yes, all of the stuck-in-the-mud conservative crowd are having a last blast cocktail party to celebrate their so-called victory. But it will soon be over for all of those old dogs and their antique thinking. Cannabis, in all of its glory, will soon be totally legal and all of these self-centered “rules of engagement” that the old guard has laid down will vanish into thin air. The people will have their medicine and the people will have their enjoyment and life will go on.

Learn more »

Karen Price: Rate hike to pay for electric cars not fair

January 29, 2016 — 

Is anyone else angry and annoyed that PG&E wants to raise our electricity rates to pay for charging stations just for those people who can afford electric cars (in last Friday’s edition of The Union)?

Why should they get free fuel while the rest of us pay for ours? If the electric car owners want to be green, fine. Let them pay for the new power plants needed for their green cars; take your choice — coal, oil or hydro.

Learn more »

Jan Pellizzer: 'Suspended search' for ski instructor heart-breaking

January 28, 2016 — 

Oh, I’m devastated, regarding the Jan. 20 article in The Union about a “suspended search” for Sugar Bowl ski instructor Carson May.

I am a local mother whose son worked at local ski resorts for 10-plus years, and skied every day he didn’t work. I cried I when read today’s article, complete despair for the parents and family of Carson. Immense gratitude to the teams of Search and Rescue who have given their time and efforts. But, how can these efforts be called off? How can the Placer County Sheriff Dept. just report that they had a meeting with the parents, with chaplains, etc. — and probably explain that their son has most likely not survived, so they are stopping the search?

Learn more »

Terry Chapman: Kudos to the Grass Valley Kiwanis

January 28, 2016 — 

On behalf of the students and staff at Bell Hill Academy, I would like to thank the Grass Valley Kiwanis Club for their very generous donation and partnering with Scholastic Books.

Through their generosity, we were able to purchase many exciting new titles to add to our library shelves — and we love the “book-worm” library carpet as well! It has created a cozy, inviting space to sit and read those beautiful brand new books.

Learn more »

Kenneth Stevens: 25 years of revolving doors for Christian Stevens

January 27, 2016 — 

25 years of revolving doors for Christian Stevens

Please thank Nevada County for housing my son and restoring his competency. I do find it difficult to believe he would harm any young person.

Learn more »

Nancy Brost: Supervisors made the right decision

January 27, 2016 — 

Supervisors made the right decision

It was evident at the Jan. 12 supervisors’ meeting that the increased amount of growing and use of marijuana has adversely affected our lives in Nevada County. George Boardman’s column referred to Sheriff Royal’s comprehensive presentation as a “dog and pony show.”

Learn more »

Jenny Warden: More to American freedom than right to bear arms

January 25, 2016 — 

Letters to the editor

Learn more »

Patricia Black: The monster is us

January 24, 2016 — 

In all the attempts to deal with American gun violence, nobody has mentioned the primary role model — our own government.

Except for the two major wars, our military actions have been against smaller, poorer, weaker countries that are no match for us. They are bad-mouthed in the media until enough Americans accept the necessity of military action against them, and in we go. We bomb anywhere we choose, any group of people spotted by a drone, wedding parties, now hospitals. They’re all terrorists.

Learn more »

Barbara Jones: No plan in place if pot ban fails

January 24, 2016 — 

It looks like the Board of Supervisors may have made a big mistake that is going to cost tax payers a big chunk of money — unnecessarily.

The “royal recommendation ban,” going for a vote in June has no plan in place — should the ban fail — on how to proceed with this issue. In essence, a “no” on the ban is a vote to continuing to discuss the issue ... no resolution. Really? We are going to vote to decide whether we should discuss something?

Learn more »

Mickey Stefan: 'Heartbreaking' an understatement

January 22, 2016 — 

‘Heartbreaking’ an understatement

In response to the January story in The Union, “It’s heartbreaking,” the closure of Washington Elementary School is an understatement.

Learn more »

Michelle Reynolds: Ban a decent compromise

January 22, 2016 — 

I must be missing something. After watching the county supervisors’ review of the proposed “ban” on marijuana growth in the county, it appears that supporters of “no ban” feel as if a ban will leave them no way to obtain the marijuana they or their family members may need for qualified medical purposes.

Doesn’t the proposed ban allow for users to grow up to 12 plants in an enclosed structure (such as a greenhouse)? If that’s the case, it seems a ban really shouldn’t be such a divisive issue at all — the ban would help reduce the number of negative issues described by Sheriff Royal, which marijuana supporters claim to abhor (crime, water theft, environmental degradation, etc.), yet still enable those who need the drug to have it.

Learn more »

Walt Dwyer: Ackerman not soon forgotten

January 22, 2016 — 

Thank you for the column on Jeff Ackerman. I totally enjoyed his stewardship at The Union. Humor, controversy — visible in every community. He was a very personable individual and I saved a few of his articles.

Walt Dwyer

Learn more »

Patrick Tobin: Avoid sarcasm ... nothing is gained

January 22, 2016 — 

Regarding Mr. John Palmer’s letter on Jan. 20, “Avoid sarcasm. It makes the sarcasor feel clever, but the sarcasee feels humiliated, and resentful in return, while witnesses probably don’t understand the remark in the first place. So nothing is gained, and a little is lost in the effort to persuade.”

Using made up words to emphasize the point, that’s what a sales trainer once told me years ago, and the remarks in the recent letters to the editor, titled, “I want to be your supervisor” is a splendid example of its truthfulness. I don’t understand what Mr. Palmer is trying to say, and neither did a couple of other people.

Learn more »

James Butler: Nevada County supervisors know not what they do

January 21, 2016 — 

Board of Supervisors know not what they do

Boo to the Board of Supervisors’ vote of 4 to 1 prohibiting outdoor marijuana grows, all in spite of the standing room only Rood Center and vast majority of speakers opposing the Sheriff’s recommendation.

Learn more »

Weldon Travis: 'Ackerman must stay!'

January 20, 2016 — 

‘Ackerman must stay!’

Regarding Jim Hemig’s January 15 column, “Ackerman must go,” I say,

Learn more »

John Palmer: I want to be your new supervisor

January 19, 2016 — 

I want to be your new supervisor

I’ve decided to run for a seat on the Nevada County Board of Supervisors.

Learn more »

Scott Swanton: A big thanks from movie goers

January 18, 2016 — 

It’s easy to take for granted all of our movie theaters around here and the wide choices of movies to see. But in fact it’s a rare thing for such small community to have such a culturally rich movie environment.

So here’s to Michael and Barbara Getz, owners and operators of the Del Oro theater, the Sutton Cinema and the Sierra Cinemas. For years they have provided us with the latest movies in state-of-the-art theaters with comfortable seats, great kids behind the counter, and real butter on the popcorn!

Learn more »

Jo Menary: Because of you, NUIT was a success

January 18, 2016 — 

Nevada Union High School recently hosted the 10th annual Boys Invitational Basketball Tournament. While NU prevailed, the real heroes in my view were the families who opened their homes to host more than 80 players who participated in this year’s tournament.

This was more than twice the number of players we housed in 2014.

Learn more »

Bob Branstom: Ban a county revenue generator

January 17, 2016 — 

One has to wonder what Sheriff Royal and the Board of Supervisors were thinking when he proposed and they adopted a ban on outdoor marijuana cultivation. To any neutral observer (including me, a non-grower and non-user) it’s clear that a ban is unenforceable and will have virtually no impact on marijuana cultivation.

But, wait! The ban only imposes civil penalties, not criminal sanctions. Perhaps this is a clue to the board’s action. It’s simply a revenue generator for the county, so the county can begin taking a cut of the local monies generated.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters »
Back to Top