Letters to the Editor

Nancy McDonald: What are Hillary's accomplishments?

July 6, 2015 — 

I am really curious. I remember Hillary Clinton during the sex scandals regarding Bill’s presidency. I remember Travelgate, selling the Lincoln bedroom, etc.

Now we have Hillary’s disastrous Secretary of State tenure, not proving security to Benghazi, sleeping during the briefings while that was going on, lying about it to the public and the families of those killed, all the home-server email problems (against government rules), Bill getting $500,000 for speeches when Hillary made deals with foreign governments and huge donations to the Clinton foundation during her tenure as Secretary of State, deleting her emails — it goes on and on.

Learn more »

Sue Long: Not so, Mr. Crosswhite

July 6, 2015 — 

In a letter, Thomas Crosswhite stated that Missouri, Louisiana, and Tennessee have recently voted to support the Convention of States (COS) application to Congress to call a constitutional convention. Not so.

Missouri’s resolution died when their legislative session ended without passing it. Louisiana’s bill died when the Senate committee learned that a convention couldn’t be limited. And Tennessee’s resolution has been delayed until January.

Learn more »

Mary Anne Davis: No fireworks, please!

July 4, 2015 — 

Although it has been illegal to discharge any type of fireworks in the county and the City of Grass Valley, and parts of Nevada City, every year I hear neighbors who still try to get away with shooting off a few “just for fun.”

I beg all of you, please do not even discharge one single piece of firework this year. We are in the most serious of drought conditions and our fire danger level is extreme. Just one spark can devastate our entire community. If you want fireworks on the Fourth of July, attend a community sponsored and professionally run show, but please do not set them off at home, whether it’s technically legal where you live, or not. Thank you.

Learn more »

Steve Kyser: It could happen to you

July 4, 2015 — 

If you find the Lester/Laferte trial verdict shocking you are not alone.

As an investor who lost a lot of money in Gold Country Lenders I have stayed close enough to the action to know this trial has re-defined “Travesty of Justice” in our country. Unchecked character assassination is the acceptable norm, fueled by individuals able to manipulate public officials, including the courts, into taking complex regulations completely out of context for their own vengeful purposes.

Learn more »

Dennis Fowler: Jury came to correct verdict in Gold Country Lenders case

July 4, 2015 — 

This letter is in response to the letter to the editor written by Mike Rough relative to the Lester/Laferte guilty verdicts.

A jury of their peers deliberated for several days, reviewing all of the evidence presented at trial. As an investor who lost a great deal of money, I am thankful to this jury for taking the time to come to the correct verdict.

Learn more »

Brian Buckley: SummerFest Arts

July 4, 2015 — 

The magical village of SummerFest Arts, with over 40 of the top artists from Nevada County and beyond, was a beautiful sight to see at the Fairgrounds.

The Nevada County Arts Council (NCArts) would like to thank the many artists, musicians, and creative talents who put together this wonderful celebration of community and creativity. The event would not have been possible without the tremendous assistance of our collaborative partners, Music In the Mountains.

Learn more »

Karen Wallack-Eisen: Family Fun & Run a success

July 3, 2015 — 

On May 2, PARTNERS Family Resource Center held our first Family Fun & Run at Nevada Union High School. There were activities for all ages along with the chance to count your laps around the track. We encourage families to enjoy healthy, physical activities together.

Thanks to our sponsors for making the benefit a success and raising funds for the many programs offered at our three Family Resource Centers. Thanks go to: Barbara Parrott, BriarPatch, Buzz Martin, REMAX, Drs. Chan, Moon & Kirschbaum, Dyann Castro-Wehr, Grocery Outlet, Hills Flat Lumber, Linda Horowitz, NC Chamber of Commerce, NCSD Adaptive PE, Nevada County Youth Orchestra, NUHS, SPD, Susan Hopkins, Tahoe National Forest, Tour of NC Bike Shop, Trkac Running Store.

Learn more »

Don Loux: God outdates SCOTUS

July 3, 2015 — 

So what’s it been; three days since the SCOTUS decision redefining who qualifies for the institution of marriage, and already Mark Oppenheimer of the New York Times is calling for the disallowance of tax exempt status for all churches and faith-based originations.

I don’t know if Mr. Oppenheimer is an atheist or an agonistic, or just your garden verity liberal, but I doubt that he gives much credence to the Holy Bible or he would have to acknowledge that it just so happens that God Himself, the creator of all things including man and woman designed the intuition of marriage to be between a man and a woman only. The last time I checked, God outdates the SCOTUS by an eternity past! Every church and pastor is now subject to the possibility of entrapment for refusing to marry a gay couple!

Learn more »

Carole Chapman: Take down Confederate flag, and that State of Jefferson one while you're at it

July 3, 2015 — 

Unfortunately it took the murder of nine black people in their church by a local white supremacist for the Confederate flag to finally come down. Even retailers across the country have stopped selling the flag because of what it represents, which is absolute hate for the black race.

Some in the South would try to have us believe it’s about state rights, but that’s a lie. History tells us the USA won the Civil War and beat the Confederacy, then freed the slaves. Abolishing slavery was the right and moral thing to do. So, it’s time to retire this symbol of hate and intolerance to a Civil War museum.

Learn more »

Jayne Nordstrom: What are you going to do when the well runs dry?

July 2, 2015 — 

I woke up happy Sunday morning. As I began to make coffee, I got a sense of foreboding when the faucet didn’t work. My husband, Toad, flipped the pump breaker. Still no water. He assumed the pump was broken and called Cover’s Pump where Rick walked him through testing it. The pump worked, but still no water.

While Toad pondered his next step, I picked up the San Francisco Chronicle. The lead article read “struggling to cope when wells run dry.” I began to feel dread.

Learn more »

Sandy Spalding: Regarding 'miscarriage of justice'

July 2, 2015 — 

I appreciate Mike Rough’s letter on the miscarriage of justice, June 26. I am also troubled by the result of Phil Lester’s and Sue Laferte’s trial and am grappling with the blindness of justice.

I don’t understand how the judge and the jury could see this any other way than the result of the recession, something that hit us all, something entirely out of our control and theirs too; but I do know that God is in control and there is something bigger in His plan than our minds can comprehend.

Learn more »

Cathy Fagan: Whose hateful words were these?

July 1, 2015 — 

I was shocked to read the following in the police blotter several weeks ago:

2:21 p.m. — A caller from a business in the 100 block of West McKnight Way reported a suspicious woman came into the salon, but the salon does not provide services for that type of person/hair. The woman then came back and left trash inside the business, and might have been casing the business to rob it. Extra patrols were requested because the woman might rob businesses in the area, because of her race.

Learn more »

If you can't stand the heat ...

July 1, 2015 — 

I read with some amusement The Union’s article about the Lake of the Pines’ board of directors election. One candidate, in particular, is claiming that he has been the target of bullying. Throughout the history of the United States, candidates and people in the public eye have been subjected to their constituents love or hate of them. We live in a democracy that gives us the Constitutional right of free speech. Do you hear the president of the U.S., the governor or any other public official crying because there have been negative words written about them? No, they carry on with their platforms and beliefs. If any candidate cannot stand the heat, I suggest they get out of the kitchen.

Julie Barnum

Learn more »

Kudos to the GREAT Program

July 1, 2015 — 

I want to express my appreciation for the GREAT (Gang Resistance Education and Training) Program facilitated by the Grass Valley Police Department and PARTNERS Family Resource Center. My son is a fourth grader and just completed the program. The techniques and life skills that are taught are extremely valuable. I did not realize the extent of what this program covered until I attended the graduation ceremony today. The children participate in community service projects such as retrieving trash and painting light poles. Daily lessons are focused on methods of controlling anger, communicating messages clearly, respecting others, and refusal skills relative to peer pressure and bullying. The staff and volunteers are absolutely amazing and I hope they know how valuable and appreciated they are! Every child in Nevada County should have an opportunity to participate in the GREAT Program.

Jennifer Acree

Learn more »

Betsy Lombard: Taxpayers should have a say on medication prices

June 29, 2015 — 

I am a member of Anthem Blue Cross, Covered California. I use several prescription medications. I patronize Dokimo’s Nevada City. I like the people there, it is a small town business, a low stress experience, and it’s next to a great grocery store. Recently I asked my doctor for a three month prescription for two expensive medications. I took it to Dokimo’s, they ran it to see what the price was. It came back, “Your insurance doesn’t authorize three months of refills.” And Dokimo’s price was about 40 percent higher than getting three months worth at Express Scripts.

I called my insurance company and was told, “We have a contract with Express Scripts to provide this service.” If one company is authorized to provide three months of refills, AND a large discount, then other companies should have a crack at that market too. I want to keep my dollars in my local economy, so that there are local jobs and businesses, and important services available to me here in my town.

Learn more »

Lou Douros: Juvenile sexting and the public pool

June 29, 2015 — 

It used to be that the public pool was a safe place for unsupervised young teens to hang out and stay cool on those hot summer days. My 14 year old daughter and her friends were at the Pioneer pool this week. A boy their age traded phone numbers with one of my daughter’s friends (despite my daughter begging for a smartphone, here is one more reason she’ll have to wait).

By the end of the day, those girls had received lewd images of this male minor who had an apparently high opinion of his ... maleness.

Learn more »

Be a patriot: don't drive drunk

June 29, 2015 — 

Eating, drinking and watching fireworks are what people enjoy when celebrating America’s independence. America’s freedom does not allow people to drive drunk. Ironically, it is one of our country’s deadliest problems.

A drunken driver hit me head-on in April of 1992 when I was 16. My education and active life in sports against other San Joaquin County schools ended.

Learn more »

Barbara Larsen: Bravo

June 29, 2015 — 

On May 30, the Elder-Care Providers’ Coalition held an all day conference at the Holiday Inn Express titled, “The Caregiver’s Journey Continues...”

The overwhelming response from the audience was extremely positive and people came away with hand-outs and materials regarding the many resources and services in our beloved county. I would like to extend a heartfelt appreciation to the following: HelpLine Information & Assistance, One Source, Banner Crest Care Home, Atria Senior Living, Eskaton Village, Cascades of Grass Valley, Partners in Care, Interim HomeStyle Services, Brunswick Village, Gold County Home Care, Holiday Inn Express, and members of the Elder-Care Providers’ Coalition. Bravo!

Learn more »

Miscarriage of justice

June 26, 2015 — 

Even though a jury found Phil Lester and Susan Laferte guilty of several charges, I maintain they are innocent. They are two of the finest folks you would want to know. Their accusers lost money in Gold Country Lenders but so did Phil and Susan and so did I. GCL loaned our money on real estate the same as did the banks. The government bailed out the banks but prosecuted Phil and Susie. Several of those who had money invested in loans decided Phil and Susie should be prosecuted because the loans became defaulted. We forgive the accusers but we will not stop our efforts to free them until this miscarriage of justice is reversed.

Mike Rough

Learn more »

Three easy safety measures

June 26, 2015 — 

There are three things all drivers can easily do to help prevent accidents and reduce traffic injuries and death. Everyone knows two of them, but the third is rarely known. The first two are: always wear seat belts; and turn on headlights day and night.

The third was told to me by a friend who was an EMT/paramedic in Hawaii, where, over a 25 year career, he went to hundreds of auto accidents. He said, “When we got there, if the people were still inside the car, they were almost always alive and not terminally injured, regardless of the severity of the accident. If they were thrown from the car, they were almost always dead.”

Learn more »

Fear of increased voter registration?

June 26, 2015 — 

As Jim Firth states (“Other Voices” on June 20), increasing registration and voter turnout of legal and eligible citizens is a worthy goal. Interested and involved citizens casting their vote, after studying issues and evaluating candidates, is good for our Republic. I was confused, however, on exactly how he would like the proposed “Motor Voter Act” to be enacted. Currently, one provision of this Act would register a new voter as “No Party Preference,” unless a specific preference was indicated. Jim Firth states that “many of his Democratic colleagues are nervous about that provision of the legislation.” He believes that “the vast majority of new voters will understand that the direction our national, state, and local governments must take will align more closely with the Democratic party.” Is he suggesting that the DMV should make that decision for these newly registered voters, rather than allowing them to make their own evaluation? Perhaps Jim Firth and “his colleagues are nervous about that provision” because they fear that when new voters truly understand the direction in which our government is going, they will make a vastly different choice than he proposes — and I believe that each individual citizen has the right to make that choice for themselves!

Terry McLaughlin

Learn more »

Leah Schwinn: Diego's donates to upcoming free clinic

June 26, 2015 — 

Kudos to Diego’s Restaurant for hosting a fundraising dinner on June 16 for the upcoming California CareForce free medical, dental and vision clinic coming to Grass Valley Nov. 14-15.

Good-hearted, sweet people own Diego’s, and their employees are wonderful too. If you’ve never eaten there, you’re missing out on a uniquely delicious and enjoyable experience. Thanks also to all of you who came that night to help us fund the needs of the clinic, because it is totally free to the patients!

Learn more »

Why would Americans accept blind nationalism as a substitute for real American exceptionalism?

June 26, 2015 — 

The core of American exceptionalism lies not only in the gratifying celebration of our beloved traditions, honorable sacrifices, and outstanding achievements. American exceptionalism is the dynamic force that moves a nation of many ethnicities, religions, and political views forward together to right the wrongs and overcome the injustices in each generation.

It is the fearless strength that allows us to look back in history with compassion and pride in our ability to overcome the past and confront the present.

Learn more »

Gary Price: Lion's club donates to Sierra Services to the Blind

June 25, 2015 — 

The Gold Country Lions Golf Team presented Sierra Services to the Blind the Club’s proceeds from the Motorcycle Poker Run recently. The Team came in with a score of 80, which put us in front of at least two other teams, one of which apparently was blind. Richard indicated, however, that there were three blind teams on the course yesterday. The Hammer was presented to the last team and they actually received prizes for being last; a new twist this year.

Thanks goes out to Ken, Craig and Allen for outstanding sportsmanship. We endured the heat and made it through all 18 holes with the last nine completed one over par. Don’t ask about the first nine. Go Lions!

Learn more »

Donn R. Coenen: Call to action

June 25, 2015 — 

If you’re unhappy with the way you’re being treated by the State of California, you’re not alone. Instead of complaining or getting mad I ask you to take action now! If you’re a farmer that’s planted your crops only to have your water cut off or a rancher who is being forced to reduce your herd. Maybe you’re a dredge miner that was forced off your legal claim or a timber operator who can’t harvest timber from national forest land. Are you a business person that’s struggling or lost your business to over regulation? Maybe you’re a truck driver who was forced to change your truck engine by CARB or a homeowner that has been paying the $150 Fire Prevention Fee (tax) only to find out that your fire insurance is being cancelled. Tired of being over taxed, over regulated and not represented in Sacramento? Join our peaceful revolution known as the State of Jefferson. It’s time for the 20 Northern Counties of California to form the 51st state. We’ll utilize Article 4, Section 3 of the U.S. Constitution to form a new rural state.

Please write, call, or email you’re representative on the County Board of Supervisors and share your stories. Ask them to pass a Declaration of Separation. This will make your county a participant in the redress of grievances against California. The county can withdraw from this at any time. There is no risk. Six counties have already gone through this process.

Learn more »

Patricia Black: It's time for redistribution

June 25, 2015 — 

Patricia Lee Anderson, in her June 18 letter, seems to think that progressives invented the concept of redistribution. Obviously she’s missed the major redistribution of the nation’s wealth that’s happened in the last 35 years. Changes in tax laws, trade deals beginning with NAFTA, deregulation of Wall Street and finance in general have redistributed most of the country’s wealth to a small percentage of rich people. Millions of citizens have lost their jobs, homes, and retirement savings. Weakening so many citizens weakens the whole country. So yeah, it’s time for a redistribution in the opposite direction. Prosperity used to be more widely shared in this country, and it needs to be again.

Patricia Black

Learn more »

Music and animal lovers unite

June 24, 2015 — 

Would you think that Music in the Mountains and Animal Place would have a connection? Well, last night we found out that they do! The MIM Young Composers Project visited the sanctuary for farm animals twice this year and through the amazing work that they saw there were inspired to compose musical pieces that reflected their feelings of compassion for all living creatures. The Summerfest Concert was a delight and a tribute to its teachers Mark Vance and Jerry Grant and the 12 young composers who had their compositions performed. Thank you MIM for this recital. The talent displayed was phenomenal, how lucky we are to have this level of creativity amongst us, our young people are a tribute to this community.

Lindy and Greg Schasiepen, Music and animal advocates

Learn more »

Caring residents

June 24, 2015 — 

Kudos to the wonderful folks at Forest Springs Mobile homes. Office manager Pat Lane, and members of the Forest Springs community, regularly collect paper bags and egg cartons for Interfaith Food Ministry. With over 90,000 bags of groceries given out annually, IFM relies and the extra effort of individuals such as these caring residents.

Thank you all — we could not do it without you.

Learn more »

LeGacy Productions sponsorship of Hospice

June 24, 2015 — 

On behalf of Hospice of the Foothills, the Board of Directors thank LeGacy Productions for presenting such a professional and entertaining production to benefit our organization. In appreciation for the support that hospice provided to his uncle, the Director, Alvis LeGate, donated the proceeds from the June 11 play Brighton Beach Memoirs. Because insurance and individual finances do not adequately cover the cost of providing our mission to affirm life, we must rely on the support of the community to cover the difference. Their generosity demonstrates that community generosity we find in Nevada County.

E. Frank Santos, President Board of Director

Learn more »

Merchant chips in for upcoming free health clinic

June 24, 2015 — 

I want to thank Dan Wheat of A-Z Plumbing, for his kind donation to help fund the free health care clinic that will be November 14 and 15 at the Grass Valley Veterans Hall. The clinic will provide free dental, vision and medical care. We need the continued support of all the merchants and citizens of Nevada County to make this a success.

Roger Lewis

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top