Letters to the Editor

The war comes home

October 18, 2014 — 

The war comes home. As overproduced U.S. military hardware over-floods the world market, its “homeland” becomes weaponized. We now see armored military vehicles in law enforcement agencies and universities across the country. The proliferation of personal firearms unleashes a deranged “open carry” movement.

The USA is engaged against enemies it has directly and indirectly created, trained, and who are equipped with commandeered weaponry made in the USA. Mercenary “contractor” firms flourish, creating “Jobs!” War profiteers turn the wheels of industry; “Jobs! Economic Growth!”

Learn more »

BYLT — a season of jazz

October 18, 2014 — 

Bear Yuba Land Trust wishes to thank the community for a fun summer season of jazz music. Poncho Sanchez fans turned out in force at the North Star House Sunday, Sept. 28 for the hottest Latin jazz. It was a memorable house party with good food and friends.

Local Chef Antonio Ayestaran won the community salsa contest with his “Corno de Torro” (translation: Bulls Horn) fire roasted salsa – a winning combination of seven varieties of peppers from Sweet Roots Farm. Thanks to Diego’s Restaurant, Christopher’s Catering Company and BriarPatch Co-op.

Learn more »

KrisAnne Hall event — thank you!

October 18, 2014 — 

Common Core Concerns owes a debt of gratitude to our generous underwriters, donors, and volunteers who helped us bring KrisAnne Hall to Nevada City on Oct. 3 to educate the community about “The Constitution and State Sovereignty.”

Thank you to our underwriters: The Halby Group — Insurance & Financial Services; Avanguardia Wines; Edward Jones Investments/Jeff Wells; Eddie and Nancy Garcia; Hills Flat Lumber Co.; Meyers Investment Group of Robert W. Baird & Co.; Moule Paint and Glass; Nevada County Farm Supply; Nevada County Republican Women Federated; Nevada County Tea Party; Robinson Enterprises; and Team Three Tactical and Survival.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin has the right temperament, experience

October 18, 2014 — 

I ask my fellow citizens of Nevada County to consider my personal recommendation of Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge. Robert is an intelligent, thoughtful, and had-working individual. He is patient and a good listener. His temperament and experience will help him be an excellent judge.

I was fortunate to have been a judge here in Nevada County for over 20 years. I am still grateful to the people of this county for allowing me to do a job that I loved. I am certain Robert Tice-Raskin will be a judge for our county in whom we can all have trust and confidence. I urge you to vote for Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge.

Learn more »

Global opinion: U.S. a threat to peace

October 18, 2014 — 

Even if you wanted to believe Louis Pearl’s opinion in his letter that United States citizens “ ... are brave, generous and kind,” how can you make the stunning leap that the United States is “...the only country in the world capable to lead the world out of the current morass?”

Worldwide Independent Network of Market Research GALLUP International, the leading global association in market research and polling, in a poll published Dec. 30, 2013, reported that people from 65 countries concluded that the “U.S. is considered to be the greatest threat to peace in the world, followed by Pakistan and China.”

Learn more »

Hoping Dorsey Interchange will ease roundabout congestion

October 18, 2014 — 

The newer, tighter, better Grass Valley roundabout at East Main and Idaho-Maryland is now about six years old. From the beginning and continuing to this day it backs up traffic at rush hour.

About 3:30 p.m., after Nevada Union High School lets out, traffic will often back up all the way to the “Big A” Drive-in. To drive from the “A” to the roundabout takes about three and a half minutes, but that’s better than the six minutes it took before the roundabout was built.

Learn more »

Where’s the rest of the story from Hall?

October 18, 2014 — 

Heidi Hall chants the “Koch Brothers” mantra knowing full well their contributions are a drop in the bucket compared to either George Soros or Tom Steyers or Michael Bloomberg at $100 million each. She wants to repeal the “Citizens United” decision that only creates a level playing field.

Were her years working in the EPA spent in the division that seizes private property, confiscates water rights, guts energy sources, closes factories and fences off resources in the West? Is there any private sector experience in her résumé?

Learn more »

An angel named Eric

October 18, 2014 — 

I would like to thank a kind gentleman named Eric, who on Sunday, Oct. 12, rescued me. I want to turn off the water in my yard, and in bending down on my knees couldn’t get up again. Eric was driving by and noticed by problem. He turned around and helped an elderly lady get back in to the house. Thank you, Eric, from the bottom of my heart. You are my angel. Bless you.

Doris Hermann

Learn more »

Judges unanimously endorse Tice-Raskin

October 17, 2014 — 

The Judges of the Nevada County Superior Court unanimously endorse Rob Tice-Raskin for Judge of the Nevada County Superior Court.

In our view, Rob Tice-Raskin is best-qualified to serve as a judge for our county. He is a man who has devoted his professional career to public service and serving our system of justice. He has a broad-based knowledge of the law, a strong intellect and decades of experience managing difficult cases.

Learn more »

Firth, Lamphier good choices for Grass Valley

October 17, 2014 — 

There are important decisions on the horizon that will shape the future of Grass Valley — quality of life, economic and day to day traffic flow will all be influenced by the choices made by Grass Valley’s city council members. This means the two open seats for city council will effect Nevada County residents for many years.

My votes would go to Jim Firth and Terry Lamphier. These two candidates have consistently taken a responsible approach to development. They both understand the consequences of big box and franchise store approval and construction.

Learn more »

Trash talk

October 17, 2014 — 

I fully support the new task force that is proposing “zero tolerance” on roadside trash. However, I would like to point out that Waste Management is one of the worst offenders.

A Feb. 15 letter to The Union from Tom Behimer asked “Waste Management above (littering) law?” He pointed to the trash coming from trucks on Brunswick Road. He states: “How do I know that most of the litter is from Waste Management trucks? I have been behind them and see material fly out from the top. I travel this route twice a day. The trucks congregate at the Loma Rica station so this is a feeder road for them. Other areas of the county do not have so much trash along side the road.”

Learn more »

Measure S used to gin up outrage

October 17, 2014 — 

Why all this clamor over Measure S? I, as others, have been following the heated debate over this measure.

No doubt The Union is happy with the uproar, judging by the gallons of ink it has spilled covering the topic. To me, the issue is simple: Measure S makes a few common sense modifications to a county ordinance that was rushed through the Board of Supervisors on the promise that its acknowledged flaws would be fixed, but never were. For example, deputy sheriffs would no longer have to get out their tape measures to ascertain whether a grow exceeds permissible limits; all they have to do is count the plants.

Learn more »

It’s about “we the people”

October 17, 2014 — 

I read with interest the article in the Oct. 6 story in The Union about the speech of KrisAnne Hall on the U. S. Constitution. As I understand her thinking, federal agencies such as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Park Service, National Forest Service, and Food and Drug Administration (FDA), etc., plus programs and services like Medicare, interstate highways, air traffic control etc., are all unconstitutional.

She seems to want to set aside 225-plus years of Constitutional interpretation and application by all three branches of our federal government and rely only on the several years of hard work that went into creating it. Do we really for a moment want to live in a country, state, and county in which none of the federal services and programs I have mentioned and others like them exist? With dirt roads, dirty water and air, and no national public health programs? I hope not. We live in the United States in the 21st Century, not the 18th. Lets’ benefit from our 225-plus years of applying our Constitution, rather than trying to freeze it in the rural east coast world of 1787.

Learn more »

More critical thinking with endorsements, please

October 17, 2014 — 

Politics, at its best, is a slimy endeavor.

I’ve read all the endorsements for Mr. Tice-Raskin with some amusement except for Ms. Melody Lane’s endorsement. She stated that he is particularly qualified because he is a “family man.” As a woman, she ought to know that there are many reasons why a female might not have a family.

Learn more »

Larry Meek for County Board of Education

October 17, 2014 — 

We have been professional and personal friends of Larry and Pamela Meek since 1982 when we were school administrators in Petaluma.

Our careers came together again in 1986 as principals of Bear River and Nevada Union high dchools. Pamela and my wife Beverly worked together at Roseville Sutter Hospital Hospice.

Learn more »

Rural clinic vital to health of residents

October 16, 2014 — 

With all the focus on Western Sierra Medical Clinic’s new facility in Grass Valley, it seems appropriate to keep in mind how it first started. Downieville’s “frontier” status is the reason WSMC obtained the HRSA 330 Grant which has helped to fund the building of the new Grass Valley site. Downieville is the original home of WSMC and despite reductions of service in Downieville by the current administration, we are fighting to keep our facility operating here.

It is the only medical facility that services the surrounding 500 square miles in Sierra County and is vital to the health and safety of community residents and visitors to our area.

Learn more »

Compassion at a difficult time

October 16, 2014 — 

The family of John Edgerton would like to thank the doctors and nurses in the ER and ICU of Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital for their excellent care and consideration during his recent illness.

We would also like to thank the Comfort Room staff for their wonderful care and kindness extended to him and us at this most difficult time.

Learn more »

With deep appreciation for our MIM home tour volunteers

October 16, 2014 — 

On Friday before the event, another batch of cookies arrives in the office, barely out of the oven and tempting all of the office staff. They pile up, one after another, awaiting their final destination on the Music in the Mountains Home Tour. Chocolate chip oatmeal at Home #2, snickerdoodles at Home #4.

While we refrain from gobbling them all up (OK, just one), last minute preparations are being made for what is one of the most complex of all of our benefit events. Each year, six to seven owners open up their homes to over 1,000 visitors. Over 100 volunteers step up to do everything from bake cookies to be a “house captain.” Visitors are greeted with warmth and appreciation. Docents not only know about why a certain choice of flooring was made, but can tell you a funny anecdote about the history of the home, or how a far-flung travel made an impression that influenced design. As one travels through the homes, these volunteers create a sense of intimacy — as if you were an honored guest at each stop.

Learn more »

Congrats to CEI, Zavitz and Fouyer

October 16, 2014 — 

Since January 2010, I’ve had the good fortune to work with Cranmer Engineering, Inc (CEI). I first met business owner Chuck Zavitz at a time when his primary concern was finding an experienced business development resource to help target new customers and new revenue streams to help his company work through the economic downturn.

Shortly thereafter Jason Fouyer was hired into CEI and immediately began to work closely with Chuck on rebuilding and retooling. They worked together on establishing the right combination of people, skill sets and service offerings that would make CEI a strong contender once the economy started to turn.

Learn more »

More politics from Slade-Troutman, Meeks

October 15, 2014 — 

In its Aug. 30 editorial, The Union stated recent and possible future expenditure complaints by County Board of Education members Marianne Slade-Troutman and Jack Meeks “… would ring hollow and appear to be based more in political posturing than an actual commitment to the good governance they’ve been elected to provide.” I agree, and feel there’s more evidence to support The Union’s claim.

You may have seen Slade-Troutman and Jack Meeks at the Republican booth at this year’s fair, and may know both aggressively sought the Republican Party endorsement. What you may not know is Slade-Troutman is a longtime Democrat, until switching to the Republican Party on April 2, 2014. Jack Meeks is a longtime “decline to state” until becoming a Republican on June 11, 2014.

Learn more »

Unproductive Congress seeks to make Obama failed president

October 15, 2014 — 

After the last 24 years of representation in Congress by unproductive, self-serving politicians: Herger, Doolittle, McClintock, and now LaMalfa, it would be wonderful to send a 1st District representative to Washington D.C. that believes in working for us citizens.

I have seen Mr. LaMalfa on CSPAN and checked on some of his votes: he supported increased crop insurance and cut food stamps in the unfinished Farm Bill. Before flying home, he voted yes on the Continuing Resolution for the 2014-15 Budget and the funds to train foreign fighters in the Middle East in the battle against the ISIS terror campaign. LaMalfa and 300-plus in Congress refused to debate the newly launched fight against a new enemy in Iraq and Syria. These same politicians who sue President Obama on a decision about ACA employer contributions, withhold their debate and support or opposition for a new war being launched. They shrugged off their Constitutional duty to debate and decide on whether this nation goes to war. Instead they abandoned their responsibilities to allow a long break to campaign for reelection!

Learn more »

Obama wants to change the USA

October 15, 2014 — 

In response to Mr. Mike Mooers’ letter, he accuses me of being unfactual and slanderous. Let me share some facts. First, if you bother to read about Mr. Obama’s childhood you would find that he was raised in a mind set of “anti-colonialism.” His father was anti-colonialist. Throughout his college years he studied with very left wing professors and mentors who reinforced his anti-Americanism, and was associated with the likes of William Ayers and Bernadette Dohrn, who actually blew up buildings and killed innocent Americans.

Fast forward to his election as president. He was quoted as saying that he would “fundamentally change America.” We now know what he meant. In every move and policy that he is responsible for he has weakened our country economically, militarily, socially and has continued to lie to us — “If you like your doctor, you can keep your doctor” and he refuses to utter “Islamic Radicals.” A few weeks after the anniversary of 9/11 we realize that we are at war with many factions of Islam. Muslims all over the world are killing non-believers in hopes of establishing a caliphate.

Learn more »

Customer service hard to top

October 15, 2014 — 

Well-deserved Kudos to Jim at “Top This” Truck and Auto Accessories, Grass Valley.

The company absolutely gives its customers priority when it comes to service and satisfaction, as did Jim when there was an issue with the dash board cover I purchased there. He corrected the problem at his own expense, staying true to the “customer satisfaction” philosophy.

Learn more »

Water rates should be cut

October 15, 2014 — 

The amount of money we pay for water in Grass Valley is too high. In 2013, the NID-PGE 50-year contract ended. During the 50-year contract, all the power flowed to PG&E and PG&E paid the trust fund for the debt service, O&M and a few other things. Now NID owns the power plants without any debt and sells the power “on the market.” NID now pays the O&M and other costs associated with the power plants.

You can look at the NID’s website and look at their 2014 and 2015 projected budget.

Learn more »

Honored to endorse Tice-Raskin

October 15, 2014 — 

I am writing to express my strong support for Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge. In addition to Rob’s broad legal experience (including many years as a federal prosecutor and a judge pro tem), there are other factors that voters should know about.

First, he has the right temperament to be a judge. I believe he will be well prepared to hear cases, will treat the parties with patience and respect, and will make decisions based on what is fair, just or appropriate under the law.

Learn more »

Unattractive overpasses

October 15, 2014 — 

As we watch the Dorsey Exchange project coming to completion, I wonder if anyone has thought about the freeway overpasses of Nevada City, particularly Broad Street.

The unattractive overpasses are outdated mid-century in design, not consistent with Nevada City’s historic ambience, and represent a hazard to boot. The aluminum tubular railing is too low, unfenced and the lighting is poor.

Learn more »

Homage to labor

October 14, 2014 — 

Average wage growth has remained fairly flat for the past 30 years, barely increasing since the mid 1980s. Current federal minimum wage is only $7.25 per hour (proposed increase to $10.10 still waiting for congressional endorsement). Current California minimum wage is $9 per hour, to $10 as of 1-1-16 (which equals $1,600 a month pre-tax for a family of four).

Currently only 6.7 percent of wage and salary labor is unionized (private sector) and 35 percent (public sector). Overall, union membership is down 20 percent since the 1980s. Pensions have been shifted from defined benefit plans (greater employer contributions) to defined contribution plans (greater contributions required from employee wages and salaries).

Learn more »

Vote Tice-Raskin for judge

October 14, 2014 — 

I love to vote in local elections because their results have such a huge impact on our community; the main reason I’m going to love it this November is because I can cast my ballot for Superior Court judicial candidate Robert Tice-Raskin.

We want a judge who has the acknowledged respect of his profession, so it’s great that both the Nevada County and the Truckee Bar Associations have given him their highest rankings, and that 33 area judges have endorsed him, along with a giant number of associate justices, county supervisors, city council members, district attorneys, and individuals from varying points along the political continuum.

Learn more »

Five strong incumbents for Penn Valley school board

October 14, 2014 — 

In my opinion there are five strong candidates for the Penn Valley Union Elementary School District Board: the five incumbent candidates. Debra Worth, Nicole Van Vacas-Gagnon, Tina Skrukrud, Robert Moen, and Carolyn Bronson have proven their dedication to the students of Penn Valley, Rough and Ready, and Smartsville with hard work, devotion and energy.

These five individuals have been with our educational community since before we became one district. They know our history, our struggles, our triumphs. I see them at meetings, in the hallways, in the community. They are real folks who work tirelessly on behalf of our students.

Learn more »

Biased wording

October 14, 2014 — 

It’s understandable that Measure S proponents are a bit upset at the supposed biased wording on the ballot, but their proposed wording is every bit as biased but in much fewer words.

Many people probably do not even know the subject of the referenced county ordinance 2349 and, thus, their proposed wording seems to imply that there are no current grow limitations (which isn’t the case) and wouldn’t it be nice to have some ... yes?

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top