Letters

Joyce Taigen: Loved 'Little Shop of Horrors'

July 29, 2016 — 

Loved, loved, loved “Little Shop of Horrors” by Sierra Stages!

We took our granddaughter and she loved it too! It’s such a fun musical and was performed with great skill and talent!

Learn more »

Rick Marshall: A positive dialogue

July 29, 2016 — 

I agree with Bob O’Brien’s conclusion, “We need to feel we can speak our truth. We also need to be willing to listen politely to others speaking theirs, knowing that we all come from different backgrounds and histories. That can begin a positive dialogue” (“Political correctness is killing us,” July 20). This is what political correctness should mean. It is unfortunate that Bob has gone to great lengths to show us a history that is no longer relevant to its current usage, in support of his position that the term, and all that it represents, is “killing us.”

I believe that speaking our own truth, and showing respect for other people’s truths, is consistent with the teachings of Christianity and other faith traditions. I would hope we could all commit to doing more of it! This does not need to result in not saying anything for fear of offending and does not need to come across as mealy-mouthed.

Learn more »

Scott Young: An open letter to Supervisor Beason

July 28, 2016 — 

I am a voter in your district, a public high school teacher, a rural land owner interested in rural land quality and preservation, a father of five kids between 14 and 23, and a 17-year resident of this county.

I voted no on Measure W, and do not support a ban on cannabis cultivation, outdoors or indoors.

Learn more »

Susan Nance: Remember the Golden Rule

July 28, 2016 — 

I am writing in regard to recent events involving city council member Reinette Senum. I can’t remember when I have felt so discouraged by the behavior of human beings.

I think I can safely say that the majority of people who read her original statement were upset by it in some way, and this was true even for many who support her. But when has it ever been OK to respond with such hate to someone you disagree with? Is that what we want to teach our children?

Learn more »

Terry Brown: Laughing ourselves silly

July 28, 2016 — 

We just had another great evening laughing ourselves silly at Sierra Stages great production of “Little Shop of Horrors!”

Great show, clever set, spot-on lighting, rocking band ... all deftly directed. It’s hard to pick out the stars, because it’s such a tight ensemble with everyone pulling their weight (OK, Somewhere That’s Green). The bizarre thing is that there were empty seats — are you kidding me? Sure, it’s a strange premise (man-eating plant), but it’s high comedy with a great musical score.

Learn more »

Dan Prout: A timeless message

July 27, 2016 — 

Over the weekend, I happened upon an interesting letter in my files which is insightful and perhaps prophetic.

Below is the closing paragraph of the memo sent to the clerk of the court, Hall of Justice, San Francisco, California, written 42 years ago by a concerned citizen, my father:

Learn more »

Julie Cooper: Stellar World Fest

July 27, 2016 — 

Got on the bus ... didn’t bother knockin’ ... it was plain to me ... that it was Rockin’!

Thank you, Center for the Arts staff, and volunteers, for a stellar World Fest. Yay for all of us!

Learn more »

Marcia Winborne-Graven: Responsibility should be taken for one's actions

July 27, 2016 — 

I am so tired of all the arguing back and forth about pro-life vs. pro-choice.

Whatever happened to abstinence? Whatever happened to ethics, self control and personal responsibility? No one ever mentions these and that’s what should be taught at home and in school, instead of just giving out condoms and teaching kids that someone else is responsible for their actions.

Learn more »

Edlin Patterson: Be informed, then vote

July 27, 2016 — 

Be sure to contact your representative and express your views, but only if you’ve voted. This is what The Union’s Editorial Board suggested in their July 9 column which ends with, “And finally, let’s be sure to exercise our right to vote. Because if we can’t bother to do that, can we really complain about the outcome?”

The answer to their question is a resounding yes! We can complain if we don’t vote. In fact the First Amendment guarantees that right. Contacting our elected officials and expressing our opinions (complaint or not) is very important.

Learn more »

Carol Glad: Support for PFLAG appreciated

July 26, 2016 — 

I would like to thank the New Moon Cafe and Sierra Stage’s production of “Little Shop of Horrors.”

Through their donations to PFLAG’s theatre event at Center for the Arts this spring, we had quite a fun evening.

Learn more »

Dave Wilzbach: Time for fun new games

July 26, 2016 — 

While working on a home repair, it seemed proper to ask the owner how people are ever going to get along in these United States.

He asked me what I would do and it seemed that a nice picnic would help with potato salad and some games.

Learn more »

Chris Christensen: Shop of Horrors worth seeing

July 26, 2016 — 

Last week I saw Sierra Stage’s mounting of The Little Shop of Horrors. I have seen several of their productions. This one is quite special.

Let me tell you that I am a theatrical designer. This is the fourth version of this play I have seen. The first three I worked on, including the critically acclaimed version Nevada Union High School did seven years ago.

Learn more »

Gary Emanuel: When is an 'apology' not?

July 25, 2016 — 

Reinette Senum’s recent “apology” reminds me of so many other public apologies.

She, as in so many other apologies made by public figures, apologized for the pain and anger caused by her inciteful remarks about the role of America’s police force. As near as I can tell she did not apologize for the content of her remarks.

Learn more »

Dave Yaksick: Capitalism, socialism make for strange marriage

July 25, 2016 — 

A recent editorial submission in The Union presented the case for socialism; reporting that socialism is firmly installed in the U.S. and performing quite admirably. Reported examples of socialist contributions to American culture include retirement plans, mail delivery, trains, highways, police, fire protection, the military and health care.

The above benefits do not flow from a socialist benefactor but are funded by taxes agreed to by the people and enacted by their elected representatives. Every dollar the government spends is first extracted from an earner and the economy or is borrowed (note: Social Security is funded by citizen and employer contributions, mail delivery loses millions every year as does Amtrak, our infrastructure is crumbling and Obamacare is a disaster).

Learn more »

David Adams: Give the public a fair chance

July 25, 2016 — 

This letter is in regard to The Union’s report (July 13) about Verizon/Epic Wireless postponing already postponed decisions on their application for eight cellular antennas in the historic district from the July 21 to the Aug. 18 Nevada City Planning Commission meeting. Apparently, the postponement is because they wanted to argue their case further in private with Brad Croul, the commission chair (and other members?), which is very irritating.

First, because the large photographic rendering of added cellular antennas makes the historic building look terrible.

Learn more »

Claudette Paige: Pause before hitting 'send'

July 24, 2016 — 

We all need to learn from Reinette Senum’s posting. Before broadcasting our response into the public discourse, pause before hitting “send.” Reread your post. If your views result from your feelings of pain and outrage, and your rant is characterized by accusations and blame, pause again. Ask yourself, “Am I proposing a solution or just projecting blame?” “Will I inflict grievous wounds with an unsubstantiated opinion?” “Am I adding to the current divisive atmosphere or am I bringing people together?”

We need to take time to exercise the habit of self-reflection, and prevent creating an unnecessary controversy. Reinette Senum is a passionate servant and has done much good in Nevada City. May we all learn from the resultant tsunami of anger and resentment aimed at her. Calling for her punishment is an extension of the pain. Might the parties speak to each other in person instead of through posts and the press?

Learn more »

Mike Schatz: Editorial said it well

July 22, 2016 — 

Kudos to The Union’s editorial board for their article, “Impact of Senum’s words extend far beyond Nevada City.”

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

Learn more »

Susan Pelican: An open letter to Nevada County supervisors

July 22, 2016 — 

Dear Supervisors:

I write to ask you to put forth a reasonable ordinance. This means:

Learn more »

Deborah Herrera: Top-notch customer service at Riebe's

July 21, 2016 — 

A big “thank you” to Dave at Riebe’s Auto Parts. You went above and beyond, helping me with my Hyundai windshield wiper blade issues.

Not only you figured out the right wipers, you even put them on for me, a thoroughly un-mechanical lady who is extremely grateful.

Learn more »

Sharon Franssen: Target put on law enforcement officers

July 21, 2016 — 

Well guess what ... it has happened again; police officers assassinated while in the line of duty. Do you really think it can’t happen here? Council person Ms. Senum has put a target on the back of every law enforcement officer in our county.

Her outrageous comments are totally unacceptable and her apology was too little, too late. If she continues to put her ego before the good of Nevada County, she should be recalled, or at the very least, resign her council seat.

Learn more »

Lisa Murphy: Just wondering

July 20, 2016 — 

Thank you to the owners of the old event center off Highway 174. They added value and intrigue to the area by having a spectacular entrance installed.

As you travel on Highway 174 toward the Bear River, it reads, “HEAVEN” and as you head away, it reads, “NEVAEH.”

Learn more »

Tim Alexander: More guns, less restrictions not the answer

July 20, 2016 — 

When our son was 13, he bought a BB gun, with my permission, that shot 3,000 BBs per minute.

We had a lot of fun with it, shooting at cans and bottles. The NRA won’t be happy until a weapon is developed that can shoot 3,000 rounds per minute. Then during a mass shooting even more innocent people will be mowed down.

Learn more »

Dick Sciaroni: Without government you get anarchy

July 20, 2016 — 

We often hear people complain they are tired of the government telling them what to do. Yet without government we would have anarchy.

Society requires compromise, and government is the means to ensure a harmonious society. Despite claims to the contrary, government per se is not tyranny. It arises from our desire for order and the recognition that, to live in harmony, we must temper the range of our actions.

Learn more »

John Short: Gold Country Lift a valuable asset

July 20, 2016 — 

For those who may not be aware of The “Gold Country Lift,” it is the county funded transportation that permits persons who are in wheel chairs or otherwise physically non-mobile, to reach their appointments.

I recently had reason to use this service several times over the past few weeks. They are always timely, flexible, friendly and very careful to follow all safety procedures. Even if your appointment is delayed, throwing off the pre-planned schedule, they handle it with ease. When you have no other way to reach your destination, The “Gold Country Lift” is the only practical solution.

Learn more »

Lisa Schliff: Stats say Clinton the most truthful

July 18, 2016 — 

A vote for Hillary Clinton in the final election is a vote for the best candidate. She has vast political experience, terrific oratory skills, has supported the empowerment of women, girls and children throughout her lifetime, and is honest and trustworthy.

Why would I think “honest” when the numerous scandals heaved at Clinton since she became the first lady in 1993 prove otherwise? Actually, they prove the opposite.

Learn more »

Donald Ringen: Trust starts from the top?

July 18, 2016 — 

We now know where Hillary Clinton gets her training on trust. How can we trust the president of the United States when he made the following statement?

Obama: “It’s easier for a teenager to get his hands on a Glock than a computer ... or even a book!”

Learn more »

Bruce Van Zee: Wood splitter for senior program stolen

July 18, 2016 — 

Recently, an egregious theft occurred. The large hydraulic wood splitter used for splitting large rounds of firewood for qualifying seniors for the Senior Firewood program was stolen.

This splitter is essential, as it has a hydraulic lift to raise large pieces of fuel wood too heavy to lift by hand. The splitter was originally provided to the program by individual donations totaling $10,000.

Learn more »

Tim Eggar: Senum comments unbelievable

July 17, 2016 — 

Unbelievable! Ms. Senum, you are a disgrace to public office and to any and all law enforcement personnel current and former and most importantly to this county. You should just go quietly into the night and never return to any public office. Again, unbelievable!

Tim Eggar

Learn more »

Lee Blakemore: Salute a cop today

July 17, 2016 — 

When passing uniformed police on the street, I suggest that citizens simply hand salute to show respect and support, especially if it is inconvenient to offer verbal thanks for their service.

A small but important gesture particularly during these difficult times for police officers. Please help perpetuate this and other expressions of support for our police.

Learn more »

Sandra Stanley: A little smile goes a long way

July 17, 2016 — 

I can only say ‘Amen’ to Hollie Grimaldi Flores’ important words in her July 14 column.

I was waiting at the traffic light at East Main and South Auburn streets on my way home in Grass Valley. A woman from another culture was standing there with a very unpleasant look on her face. For some reason I smiled at her and her face lit up, glowing. We had a moment of true connection. I really felt like a cultural boundary had been breached.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters »
Back to Top