Letters

Mindy Oberne: Sign up to volunteer for CareForce's free medical clinic

September 4, 2015 — 

I wanted to thank all those that came last month to the art fundraiser for the free health care clinic. It was a big success and has brought us much closer to our goal.

I’d like to take this opportunity to mention that volunteer registration is now open for the clinic. We need 200 general public volunteers each clinic day (Nov. 14-15), and 50 for each set-up and break-down day (Nov. 11-12, and Nov. 16).

Learn more »

Beverly Cooper: Not offended by Police Blotter

September 4, 2015 — 

I find it difficult to believe that anyone would be offended at the printing of the Police Blotter. They are entertaining and the first thing I read every day.

As a matter of fact, I take the best ones every year and create a binder and present it to my son-in-law for Christmas.

Learn more »

Carolynn Peterson: This is a caring community

September 4, 2015 — 

On Aug. 18, approximately 100 people attended Hospice of the Foothills’ celebration to hear past board member Barbara Belmer, previous Grass Valley city councilwoman and mayor Dee Mautino and former executive director Dennis Fournier speak of their roles in getting the Compassionate Care Home built.

It started with a vision that Dennis had and with the support of the board of directors and this community, Hospice of the Foothills raised more than $3 million. Mayor Dee Mautino was a critical player in helping Hospice of the Foothills find the land to build on. Five years later, we are celebrating and rededicating ourselves to fulfilling that vision of caring for patients at the end of their lives.

Learn more »

Cindy Wagoner: Please return Lucky

September 3, 2015 — 

On Aug. 16, I was working at the Nevada County Fair when three girls walked into my campsite and took my children’s kitten.

The kitten’s mother, Princess, had recently passed away, then my kids see this.

Learn more »

Guarionex Delgado: An open letter to Mr. Doug LaMalfa

September 3, 2015 — 

You have made public denials of human-caused climate change and sown doubt among the people about the consensus among climate scientists, while receiving money from industries and corporations who profit from the exploitation of fossil fuels which cause climate change.

I admit I feel frustrated, sad and a bit hopeless with your continued denials because I value the well-being of Earth, her creatures and humanity.

Learn more »

Angela Brown: Police Blotter is needed

September 3, 2015 — 

I’d like to respond to a letter from Doe Firth in your issue dated Aug. 29.

By contrast to your thinking, The Union is helping us residents of Grass Valley and Nevada City be aware of what is happening in our surroundings regarding law-abiding issues, whether these reports are regarding psychologically impaired or drug-related incidents.

Learn more »

Joanne Crouch: Why the marijuana cause?

September 3, 2015 — 

Whenever I read an article promoting and praising the legalization of marijuana, I wonder why.

Why is this person so totally involved in this cause? There are so many more important causes to fight for. Why put your time and effort into legalizing a substance that (despite Patricia Smith’s claims) will make you high; will cause drastic personality changes over time; and will affect users as much as drinking alcohol! What does she gain from her devotion to legalizing marijuana?

Learn more »

Kay Bonnigson: Rotarians to feed more than 200 volunteers at free health clinic

September 2, 2015 — 

Grand thank-yous to the five Area 4 Rotary Clubs for their amazing commitment to prepare and serve barbecue lunches to over 200 California CareForce volunteers on each day of the free health clinic set for Nov. 15 and 16 at the Grass Valley Veterans Memorial Building.

California CareForce expects to provide free treatment to over 1,000 patients during clinic.

Learn more »

Elaine Ashton: The value of thermal imaging

September 2, 2015 — 

Risking condemnation for daring to speak against a breast cancer crusade, I would like to suggest some publicity be given to thermal imaging as the first non-invasive, non-toxic inquiry into breast health.

Many medical doctors will state various reasons for ignoring the worth of thermal imagin

Learn more »

Lawrence Gold: Perfection?

September 2, 2015 — 

Thank you, Richard Stormsgaard, for one of the most insightful political commentaries I’ve read in a while.

Now, the same dogs of war are sharpening their teeth and spewing their vitriol against Hillary Clinton, not a perfect person/politician, for sure, but a proven, effective, and dedicated public servant.

Learn more »

Jack Clute: Another wonderful fair

September 1, 2015 — 

Our family went to the fair as we have for the past 44 years, and as always had a wonderful time.

Weather was great, crowds were small. The fairgrounds were beautiful again, as usual. When we got home I started thinking that just a couple of weeks ago there were hundreds of firefighters staged at the fairgrounds. I’m sure they did their best, but they must have left some kind of a mess that we never noticed thanks to some wonderful grounds keepers.

Learn more »

Custis Haynes: God will rescue the planet

September 1, 2015 — 

It hasn’t been hotter. Polar ice isn’t melting. Sea levels aren’t rising. Winds, floods, droughts aren’t any worse than they’ve always been.

Or maybe some of that has been happening, but it’s all part of a natural climate swing. God’s will. And there’s nothing we puny humans can — or even should — do to change it.

Learn more »

Lynda Cooper: Please show more discretion

September 1, 2015 — 

Having been a reader of The Union for the last 10 years, I believed the paper to be a somewhat family friendly publication. To see the movie review recently of “Diary of a Teenage Girl” on the front page of the Family Focus section was a bit disturbing.

The movie reviewer shares that this is clearly an “R” rated film about a teen girl “coming of age” experimenting with sex (in fact her first sexual experience being with her mother’s boyfriend) and that the movie “avoids the moralizing that would usually accompany a film about young people, sex and drugs.”

Learn more »

Hindi Greenberg: Now that's good service

September 1, 2015 — 

If you need a sewer company that is responsive, professional, prompt and reasonably priced, I highly recommend Urke Sewer!

As required by a Grass Valley City ordinance on sale of a house, I needed to have a sewer back flow device installed, which entailed getting a permit from the city for the work, finding where the underground pipe was located, digging down to it, cutting out a piece, installing the back flow device, getting a Grass Valley inspector to approve, and filling in the hole. From the time Urke came out to do an estimate to the time the job was completely finished was less than 24 hours.

Learn more »

Laura Lavelle: Retired teachers still boosting education

September 1, 2015 — 

The California Retired Teachers Association of Nevada County has graciously awarded classroom grants to working teachers in Nevada County on a random basis. I was this month’s recipient of a one hundred dollar check to supplement my classroom materials budget.

I wanted to extend my heartfelt gratitude to all of the members of CalRTA of Nevada County. The extra funds come at a great time since I am a relatively new teacher with two separate classrooms to outfit! I have already purchased supplemental supplies for students who may not have the resources at home to bring all of the required materials to class. I was also able to order a class set of the Scholastic magazine known as “Art” for my beginning art students.

Learn more »

Gary Litke: Trump does not speak for me

September 1, 2015 — 

In his letter to the editor “It’s easy to see why Trump is popular,” Richard Phillips believes it is because “he’s saying what ALL (my emphasis) Americans have been thinking.”

The conservative right frequently relies on faulty logic to make a point or justify a position rather than make a simple statement of fact.

Learn more »

Northridge helps English language learners

September 1, 2015 — 

Kudos to David Freeman and Mony Monir, the co-owners of Northridge Restaurant in Nevada City, for recently hosting a fundraising dinner for Partners in English Language Learning (PiELL).

Everyone who attended enjoyed great food for a good cause. A percentage of the evenings proceeds was donated to PiELL. It was a great success!

Learn more »

Donna Burley: Dr. Ben Carson wins GOP 'bean poll'

September 1, 2015 — 

We, at the Nevada County Republican Party, want to send our thanks to all the great folks having fun at the fair.

We had a “bean poll” contest and all those who were visitors at our booth had the opportunity to cast “Three Bean Ballots” for their favorite Republican candidate(s).

Learn more »

Ed Sanchez: A sense of community

August 31, 2015 — 

As the new president of Roots and Wings Education Foundation in Penn Valley, I’d like to thank all of the individuals and businesses for your support of our 22nd annual Lake Wildwood Wine Cruise.

My apologies to Sikes Realty for not getting you listed in our thank you publication. We truly appreciate your support. This event was a tremendous success! Proceeds support supplemental funding for local education programs. Thanks to our fantastic event leadership team who made this event terrific!

Learn more »

Edith Lufkin: Climate deniers are the political manipulators

August 31, 2015 — 

To say global warming is “political manipulation,” as Mr. LaMalfa did recently, is to dismiss it as a non-issue, merely self-absorbed pols protecting turf and perk.

To say “I am not a scientist,” is dereliction of duty. Few Congress people are doctors, yet they confidently, avidly, pronounce on women’s health. To say environmental “over regulation” is destroying the economy is blind indifference to the incalculable economic wreckage already occurring worldwide — drought, storms, fire.

Learn more »

Angie Lux: Planned Parenthood plays vital role in providing birth control, education

August 29, 2015 — 

The campaign to defund Planned Parenthood is back again, and Kathryn Jean Lopez, published by The Union, in the last two weeks is again trying to lead the way.

She indicates it is because she is against abortion, but Planned Parenthood prevents abortions by providing birth control to thousands of impoverished women. Birth control has been reported by a Guttmacher Institute to reduce abortions by 13 percent.

Learn more »

Doe Firth: Police blotter humor not appropriate

August 29, 2015 — 

For many years, the popular feature “Police Blotter” has contained amusing stories of absurd police calls. In the Aug. 4 issue,

this item was highlighted in large type: “A man from Robinson Road reported a neighbor was mowing his lawn. He was advised that was not illegal and said he would call the governor.”

Learn more »

Sue Jeffrey: Really, the sanctity of all human life

August 29, 2015 — 

Those calling for the defunding of Planned Parenthood are not demanding its closure, only that it not be funded with their dollars because they believe in the rights of the unborn from both a legal and a religious perspective.

Asking them to be complicit in an act they consider murder is no different than using tax dollars to pay for guns and gun safety classes for every household.

Learn more »

Mike Mooers: Call out falsehoods or don't publish letters

August 29, 2015 — 

A newspaper needs to meet, at the very least, a level of professionalism that distinguishes fact not simply from opinion, but from fiction.

The Union fails to meet that standard with many letters they publish, and it was glaringly apparent in one from Aug. 19 written by Mr. Bob Webster regarding his feelings towards Planned Parenthood.

Learn more »

Itara O'Connell: Planned Parenthood getting a bum rap

August 29, 2015 — 

Dear Bob Webster, in your letter to the editor, “Planned Parenthood Worst of the Bunch,” dated Aug. 19, I feel your anger and applaud your concern for human life.

You failed to mention, however, in your search for blame, that it is the inappropriate sexual behavior of boys and men that cause the pregnancies in the first place.

Learn more »

Louise Carter: Thanks for the grammar correction

August 29, 2015 — 

Kudos to the person who corrected the lighted signs along Zion Street last week cautioning drivers to be aware that school had started.

At first the sign read: DRIVE SAFE. A couple of days later it read: DRIVE SAFELY.

Learn more »

Ray Bryars: Crack down on distracted drivers

August 29, 2015 — 

While driving south on Highway 49 toward Nevada City, I entered a left curve and was shocked to see an oncoming car aiming straight for my driver’s side door.

I did what I could to turn away, but a steep drop off and many trees limited my ability to turn. Luckily the driver “woke up” and turned in time to narrowly miss my car.

Learn more »

Don Rivenes: Global warming not political manipulation

August 29, 2015 — 

The recent article in The Union about Congressman LaMalfa’s town hall meeting in Grass Valley reported that he has publicly critiqued and voted against global warming legislation.

“You’ve actually motivated me to do a lot of organizing in the next polling to organize young people against you,” Nevada City resident John Lorence said. “Because I’m not worried about me, or my neighbor, (but) the younger generation.”

Learn more »

Carol Judd: Trump doesn't speak for me

August 28, 2015 — 

In a recent letter, Mr. Phillips believes Donald Trump is “saying what all Americans have been thinking.” Not true.

Trump has said nothing that I have been thinking. I find Trump’s manner, interactions and disrespect for others to be the antithesis of a strong leader.

Learn more »

Dean Olson: Do we really want another war?

August 28, 2015 — 

Years ago, when Russia invaded Afghanistan, we covertly got involved and created what then became Al Qaeda.

We supplied and supported those who eventually turned on us and brought down the Twin Towers. After this, the one country which had absolutely nothing to do with this terrorist attack, Iraq, is overthrown by the Bush Administration by lying and fabricating false information.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters »
Back to Top